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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair; Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. Hopkins; Leslie L. Lilley; 

E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; 

Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Mark J. Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

January 2017 through February 2018 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

33:10 December 19, 2016 (Monday) January 9, 2017 

33:11 January 4, 2017 January 23, 2017 

33:12 January 18, 2017 February 6, 2017 

33:13 February 1, 2017 February 20, 2017 

33:14 February 15, 2017 March 6, 2017 

33:15 March 1, 2017 March 20, 2017 

33:16 March 15, 2017 April 3, 2017 

33:17 March 29, 2017 April 17, 2017 

33:18 April 12, 2017 May 1, 2017 

33:19 April 26, 2017 May 15, 2017 

33:20 May 10, 2017 May 29, 2017 

33:21 May 24, 2017 June 12, 2017 

33:22 June 7, 2017 June 26, 2017 

33:23 June 21, 2017 July 10, 2017 

33:24 July 5, 2017 July 24, 2017 

33:25 July 19, 2017 August 7, 2017 

33:26 August 2, 2017 August 21, 2017 

34:1 August 16, 2017 September 4, 2017 

34:2 August 30, 2017 September 18, 2017 

34:3 September 13, 2017 October 2, 2017 

34:4 September 27, 2017 October 16, 2017 

34:5 October 11, 2017 October 30, 2017 

34:6 October 25, 2017 November 13, 2017 

34:7 November 8, 2017 November 27, 2017 

34:8 November 21, 2017 (Tuesday) December 11, 2017 

34:9 December 6, 2017 December 25, 2017 

34:10 December 19, 2017 (Tuesday) January 8, 2018 

34:11 January 3, 2018 January 22, 2018 

34:12 January 17, 2018 February 5, 2018 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-260. Water Quality 

Standards. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

33 USC § 1251 et seq.; 40 CFR Part 131. 

Name of Petitioner: McChesney Goodall, IV. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Designate a segment of Laurel 

Fork in Highland County, the majority of which is within the 

property boundary of Rifle Ridge Farm, LP, as Exceptional 

State Waters. 

Agency Decision: Request granted. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The State Water Control 

Board, at its meeting on December 12, 2016, authorized the 

Department of Environmental Quality to initiate a rulemaking 

to consider amending the Water Quality Standards regulation 

(9VAC25-260-30 A 3) to designate the petitioned segment of 

Laurel Fork as exceptional state waters. A Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action will be submitted early in 2017. 

Agency Contact: David Whitehurst, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4121, or email 

david.whitehurst@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-04; Filed December 16, 2016, 1:45 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physical Therapy.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3473 through 

54.1-3483 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Peggy Belmont. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To expand the list of Type I 

approved providers for continuing education to include the 

Virginia Occupational Therapy Association and the American 

Occupational Therapy Association. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition has 

been filed with the Registrar of Regulations and will be 

published on January 9, 2017. Comment on the petition may 

be sent by email or regular mail or posted on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at www.townhall.virginia.gov; 

comment will be requested until February 8, 2017. Following 

receipt of all comments on the petition to amend regulations, 

the board will decide whether to make any changes to the 

regulatory language. This matter will be on the board's 

agenda for its meeting scheduled for February 21, 2017, and 

the petitioner will be informed of the board's decision after 

that meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 8, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, 

or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-08; Filed December 13, 2016, 3:14 p.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Air Pollution Control Board 

intends to consider amending 9VAC5-80, Permits for 

Stationary Sources (Rev. K16). Title V of the 1990 Clean 

Air Act requires that states develop permit fee programs to 

pay for all of the direct and indirect costs of the state's Title V 

Permit Program. Virginia's Title V Permit Program is 

projected to become underfunded in fiscal year (FY) 2018 

because air emission fee revenue is decreasing and because 

the fee schedule does not reflect actual costs of the program. 

The intent of this regulatory action is to comply with state 

and federal requirements to fully fund Virginia's Title V 

Permit Program. The goal of this proposed action is to 

increase Title V fees enough to fully fund the Title V 

program, to restructure the existing Title V fee schedule to 

better reflect actual costs of the program, and to make other 

amendments determined to be necessary including 

clarification of the regulatory text. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; 

§§ 110, 112, 165, 173, 182, and Title V of the federal Clean 

Air Act; 40 CFR Parts 51, 61, 63, 63, 70, and 72. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 8, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Gary E. Graham, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4103, or email 

gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4981; Filed December 16, 2016, 6:42 p.m.  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 

intends to consider amending 9VAC25-860, General 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

(VPDES) Permit for Potable Water Treatment Plants. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to establish appropriate and 

necessary permitting requirements for discharges of 

wastewater from potable water treatment plants. The 

proposed regulation will set forth standard language for 

effluent limitations and monitoring requirements necessary to 

regulate this category of dischargers. These discharges are 

considered to be point sources of pollutants and thus are 

subject to regulation under the VPDES permit program. The 

permit regulation specifies requirements that protect water 

quality below the discharge and that is essential to protect the 

health, safety, or welfare of citizens.  

The primary issue that needs to be addressed is that the 

existing general permit expires on June 30, 2018, and must be 

reissued in order to continue making it available after that 

date. Other issues that need consideration are: whether 

authorization to discharge should consider facilities with 

groundwater contamination, whether the registration 

statement requirements need to be clarified, whether the 

numerical limits and special conditions are still appropriate, 

whether land application requirements for water treatment 

residuals should be added, and whether the whole effluent 

toxicity requirements need to be adjusted. The regulation will 

also be reviewed for clarity based on questions raised during 

the implementation of the 2013 permit, if any additional 

conditions or other revisions are needed to make the potable 

water treatment plant general permit consistent with other 

types of general permits reissued since 2013, or any other 

issues raised during public comment and technical advisory 

committee discussions. 

In addition, pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and § 2.2-

4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the agency is conducting a 

periodic review and small business impact review of this 

regulation to determine whether this regulation should be 

terminated, amended, or retained in its current form. Public 

comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to this 

regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary 

for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for 

the economic performance of important governmental 

functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on small 

businesses in a manner consistent with the stated objectives 

of applicable law; (iii) is designed to achieve its intended 

objective in the most efficient, cost-effective manner; (iv) is 

clearly written and easily understandable; (v) overlaps, 

duplicates, or conflicts with federal or state law or regulation; 

and (vi) whether technology, economic conditions, or other 

factors have changed in the area affected by the regulation 

since the last review. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 8, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Elleanore Daub, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4067, FAX (804) 

698-4032, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 

elleanore.daub@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5011; Filed December 16, 2016, 8:37 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 

Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-141, 

Family Access to Medical Insurance Security Plan. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to update the FAMIS and 

FAMIS MOMS regulations after a periodic review. 

Regulations currently in place describe the implementation 

and oversight of the state's Children's Health Insurance 

Program (CHIP) (known in Virginia as the Family Access to 

Medical Insurance Security (FAMIS) Plan) and the CHIP 

waiver program for pregnant women known as FAMIS 

MOMS. Effective January 1, 2014, the Affordable Care Act 

required eligibility for health coverage under all health 

insurance affordability programs, including CHIP, to be 

based on a new modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) 

methodology. Calculating an applicant's MAGI eligibility 

entails defining household composition and executing 

income-counting procedures based on U.S. Internal Revenue 

Service rules. Federal law requires these changes to be made 

in the State Child Health Plan under Title XXI of the Social 

Security Act. Amendments under consideration would 

incorporate the required changes in eligibility determination 

standards and updates to operational processes supporting 

eligibility and renewal actions. Because the FAMIS MOMS 

program operates as a CHIP waiver, corresponding 

regulations related to FAMIS MOMS are also affected.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 8, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, Policy Division, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4662; Filed December 19, 2016, 11:57 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services intends to consider amending 

22VAC30-80, Auxiliary Grants Program. The purpose of 

the proposed action is to add supportive housing as an option 

for individuals receiving the auxiliary grant. The regulation 

needs to be amended to provide clear guidance regarding the 

supportive housing setting, which is a new living arrangement 

that individuals who receive auxiliary payments may choose, 

in accordance with Chapter 567 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly. The goals of this amended regulation are to (i) add 

information about supportive housing as a new setting for 

auxiliary grants, (ii) define requirements for providers of the 

supportive housing setting, (iii) clarify providers 

responsibilities for each setting, and (iv) update terminology 

and other provisions for the Auxiliary Grant Program. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 51.5-131 and 51.5-160 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 9, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Tishaun Harris-Ugworji, Program 

Consultant, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, 

telephone (804) 662-7531, or email 

tishaun.harrisugworji@dars.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4816; Filed December 16, 2016, 4:22 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-30. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, Etc., of 

Animals (amending 4VAC15-30-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 29.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment allows anglers to legally harvest grass 

carp from public waters of the Commonwealth, except 

from department-owned or department-controlled lakes, 

provided that anglers ensure that harvested grass carp are 

dead. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

4VAC15-30-40. Importation requirements, possession and 

sale of nonnative (exotic) animals.  

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections A through G of 4VAC15-30-

40 are not amended; therefore, the text of those subsections is 

not set out. 

H. Exception for grass carp. Anglers may legally harvest 

grass carp of the family Cyprinidae from public waters of the 

Commonwealth, except from department-owned or 

department-controlled lakes, provided that anglers ensure that 

harvested grass carp are dead.  

I. All other nonnative (exotic) animals. All other nonnative 

(exotic) animals not listed in subsection A of this section may 

be possessed, purchased, and sold; provided, that such 

animals shall be subject to all applicable local, state, and 

federal laws and regulations, including those that apply to 

threatened/endangered species, and further provided, that 

such animals shall not be liberated within the 

Commonwealth.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4796; Filed December 19, 2016, 6:17 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-320. Fish: Fishing Generally 

(amending 4VAC15-320-25, 4VAC15-320-120).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) correctly identify the railroad bridge 

over Big Walker Creek associated with the New River 

smallmouth bass protected slot limit; (ii) create a seasonal 

40-inch to 48-inch protected slot limit on muskellunge on 

the New River from Claytor Dam downstream to the 

Virginia/West Virginia state line; (iii) reduce the 

geographic coverage associated with the limitation on 

harvesting large animals in the daily creel limit for blue 

catfish to the James River below the fall line and its tidal 

tributaries, the York River and its tributaries including the 

Mattaponi River and Pamunkey River, and Kerr Reservoir; 

(iv) implement a five-fish per day creel limit on longnose 

gar and bowfin for anglers using hook and line or 

bowfishing tackle; (v) implement a statewide recreational 

minimum size limit and increase the daily creel limit for 

American eels, while providing an exception to the daily 

creel limit to those individuals holding permits for the 

harvest of eels for sale from Back Bay or North Landing 

River, or both, in the City of Virginia Beach; (vi) remove 

the requirement of a special daily permit for fishing on a 

portion of Big Tumbling Creek on the Clinch Mountain 

Wildlife Management Area (Smyth County) where a 

seasonal catch and release area will be implemented 

effective January 1, 2018; and (vii) incorporate an 

amendment pertaining to American shad and hickory shad 

that was adopted by the board in 2014. 
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Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

 

4VAC15-320-25. Creel and length limits.  

The creel limits (including live possession) and the length limits for the various species of fish shall be as follows, unless 

otherwise excepted by posted rules at department-owned or department-controlled waters (see 4VAC15-320-100 D).  

Type of fish Subtype or location 
Creel and length 

limits 

Geographic 

exceptions 

Creel or length 

limits for exceptions 

largemouth bass, smallmouth 

bass, spotted bass 

  5 per day in the 

aggregate 

(combined);  

No statewide length 

limits 

Lakes 

Briery Creek Lake No bass 16 to 24 

inches, only 1 per day 

longer than 24 inches 

Buggs Island (Kerr) Only 2 of 5 bass less 

than 14 inches 

Claytor Lake No bass less than 12 

inches 

Flannagan Reservoir No bass less than 12 

inches 

Lake Gaston Only 2 of 5 bass less 

than 14 inches 

Leesville Reservoir Only 2 of 5 bass less 

than 14 inches 

Lake Moomaw No bass less than 12 

inches 

Philpott Reservoir No bass less than 12 

inches 

Quantico Marine 

Base waters 

No bass 12 to 15 

inches 

Smith Mt. Lake and 

its tributaries below 

Niagara Dam 

Only 2 of 5 bass less 

than 14 inches 

Rivers 

Clinch River – within 

the boundaries of 

Scott, Wise, Russell, 

or Tazewell counties 

No bass less than 20 

inches, only 1 bass 

per day longer than 

20 inches 

Dan River and 

tributaries 

downstream from the 

Union Street Dam, 

Danville 

Only 2 of 5 bass less 

than 14 inches 
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James River – 

Confluence of the 

Jackson and 

Cowpasture rivers 

(Botetourt County) 

downstream to the 

14th Street Bridge in 

Richmond 

No bass 14 to 22 

inches, only 1 per day 

longer than 22 inches 

New River – Fields 

Dam (Grayson 

County) downstream 

to the VA - WV state 

line and its tributaries 

Little River 

downstream from 

Little River Dam in 

Montgomery County, 

Big Walker Creek 

from the Norfolk and 

Western Southern 

Railroad Bridge 

downstream to the 

New River, and Wolf 

Creek from the 

Narrows dam 

downstream to the 

New River in Giles 

County (This does 

not include Claytor 

Lake, which is 

delineated as: The 

upper end of the 

island at Allisonia 

downstream to the 

dam) 

No bass 14 to 22 

inches, only 1 per day 

longer than 22 inches 

North Fork Holston 

River - Rt. 91 bridge 

upstream of Saltville, 

VA downstream to 

the VA - TN state 

line 

No bass less than 20 

inches, only 1 per day 

longer than 20 inches 

North Fork 

Shenandoah River – 

Rt. 42 bridge, 

Rockingham Co. 

downstream to the 

confluence with S. 

Fork Shenandoah at 

Front Royal 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 

Potomac River - 

Virginia tidal 

tributaries above Rt. 

301 bridge 

No bass less than 15 

inches from March 1 

through June 15 
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Roanoke (Staunton) 

River - and its 

tributaries below 

Difficult Creek, 

Charlotte Co. 

Only 2 of 5 bass less 

than 14 inches 

Shenandoah River –    

Confluence of South 

Fork and North Fork 

rivers, Front Royal, 

downstream, to the 

Warren Dam, near 

Front Royal 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 

Base of Warren Dam, 

near Front Royal 

downstream to Rt. 

17/50 bridge 

No bass 14 to 20 

inches, only 1 per day 

longer than 20 inches 

Rt. 17/50 bridge 

downstream to VA - 

WV state line 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 

South Fork 

Shenandoah River - 

  

Confluence of North 

and South rivers, 

below Port Republic, 

downstream to 

Shenandoah Dam, 

near Town of 

Shenandoah 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 

Base of Shenandoah 

Dam, near Town of 

Shenandoah, 

downstream to Luray 

Dam, near Luray  

No bass 14 to 20 

inches, only 1 per day 

longer than 20 inches 

Base of Luray Dam, 

near Luray, 

downstream to the 

confluence with 

North Fork of 

Shenandoah, Front 

Royal 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 

Staunton River -   

Leesville Dam 

(Campbell County) 

downstream to the 

mouth of Difficult 

Creek, Charlotte 

County 

No smallmouth bass 

less than 20 inches, 

only 1 per day longer 

than 20 inches 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 9, 2017 

988 

striped bass landlocked striped 

bass and landlocked 

striped bass x white 

bass hybrids 

4 per day in the 

aggregate;  

No fish less than 20 

inches 

Buggs Island (Kerr) 

reservoir including 

the Staunton River to 

Leesville Dam and 

the Dan River to 

Union Street Dam 

(Danville) 

October 1 - May 31: 

2 per day in the 

aggregate;  

No striped bass or 

hybrid striped bass 

less than 24 inches; 

June 1 - September 

30: 4 per day in the 

aggregate;  

No length limit 

Smith Mountain Lake 

and its tributaries, 

including the 

Roanoke River 

upstream to Niagara 

Dam 

2 per day in the 

aggregate;  

November 1 - May 

31: No striped bass 

30 to 40 inches; 

June 1 - October 31: 

No length limit 

Lake Gaston 4 per day in the 

aggregate 

October 1 - May 31: 

No striped bass or 

hybrid striped bass 

less than 20 inches 

June 1 - September 

30: No length limit 

anadromous (coastal) 

striped bass above the 

fall line in all coastal 

rivers of the 

Chesapeake Bay 

Creel and length 

limits shall be set by 

the Virginia Marine 

Resources 

Commission for 

recreational fishing in 

tidal waters 

    

anadromous (coastal) 

in the Meherrin, 

Nottoway, Blackwater 

(Chowan Drainage), 

North Landing and 

Northwest Rivers and 

their tributaries plus 

Back Bay 

2 per day;  

No striped bass less 

than 18 inches 

    

white bass   5 per day;  

No statewide length 

limits 
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walleye   5 per day in the 

aggregate;  

No walleye or 

saugeye less than 18 

inches 

New River upstream 

of Buck Dam in 

Carroll County 

No walleye less than 

20 inches 

Claytor Lake and the 

New River upstream 

of Claytor Lake Dam 

to Buck Dam in 

Carroll County 

February 1 - May 31:  

2 walleye per day; no 

walleye 19 to 28 

inches; 

June 1 - January 31:  

5 walleye per day; no 

walleye less than 20 

inches 

sauger   2 per day;  

No statewide length 

limits 

    

yellow perch  No statewide daily 

limit; 

No statewide length 

limits 

Lake Moomaw 10 per day 

chain pickerel   5 per day;  

No statewide length 

limits 

Gaston and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

reservoirs 

No daily limit 

northern pike   2 per day;  

No pike less than 20 

inches 

    

muskellunge   2 per day;  

No muskellunge less 

than 30 inches 

New River - Fields 

Dam (Grayson 

County) downstream 

to the VA - WV state 

line Claytor Dam, 

including Claytor 

Lake 

1 per day  

No muskellunge less 

than 42 inches 

New River - Claytor 

Dam downstream to 

the VA - WV state 

line 

1 per day  

June 1 - last day of 

February: No 

muskellunge [ less 

than 42 40 to 

48 ] inches; 

March 1 - May 31: 

No muskellunge less 

than 48 inches 
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bluegill (bream) and other 

sunfish excluding crappie, 

rock bass (redeye) and 

Roanoke bass 

  50 per day in the 

aggregate;  

No statewide length 

limits 

Gaston and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

reservoirs and that 

portion of the New 

River from the VA - 

NC state line 

downstream to the 

confluence of the 

New and Little 

Rivers in Grayson 

County 

No daily limit 

crappie (black or white)   25 per day in the 

aggregate;  

No statewide length 

limits 

Gaston and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

reservoirs and that 

portion of the New 

River from the VA - 

NC state line 

downstream to the 

confluence of the 

New and Little 

Rivers in Grayson 

County 

No daily limit 

Flannagan and South 

Holston reservoirs 

No crappie less than 

10 inches 

rock bass (redeye)   25 per day;  

No statewide length 

limits 

Gaston and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

reservoirs and that 

portion of the New 

River from the VA - 

NC state line 

downstream to the 

confluence of the 

New and Little 

Rivers in Grayson 

County. 

No daily limit 

Nottoway and 

Meherrin rivers and 

their tributaries 

5 per day in the 

aggregate with 

Roanoke bass;  

No rock bass less 

than 8 inches  

Roanoke bass   No statewide daily 

limit;  

No statewide length 

limits 

Nottoway and 

Meherrin rivers and 

their tributaries 

5 per day in the 

aggregate with rock 

bass;  

No Roanoke bass less 

than 8 inches 

trout See 4VAC15-330. Fish: Trout Fishing. 

catfish channel, white, and 

flathead catfish 

20 per day;  

No length limits 

All rivers below the 

fall line 

No daily limit 
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blue catfish 20 per day, only 1 

blue catfish per day 

longer than 32 

inches; 

No statewide length 

limits 

Kerr Reservoir 20 per day, except 

only 1 blue catfish 

per day longer than 

32 inches 

James River and its 

tributaries below the 

fall line and York 

River and its 

tributaries (including 

the Pamunkey River 

and Mattaponi River) 

below the fall line 

No daily limit, except 

only 1 blue catfish 

per day longer than 

32 inches 

All rivers below the 

fall line other than 

the James River and 

its tributaries and the 

York River and its 

tributaries 

No daily limit, except 

only 1 blue catfish 

per day longer than 

32 inches 

yellow, brown, and 

black bullheads 

No daily limit; 

No length limits 

    

American shad and hickory 

shad 

[ James River above 

the fall line (14th 

Street Bridge), the 

Meherrin River above 

Emporia Dam, the 

Chickahominy River 

above Walkers Dam, 

the Appomattox River 

above Harvell Dam, 

the Pamunkey River 

and the Mattaponi 

River above the Rt. 

360 bridge, and the 

Rappahannock River 

above the Rt. 1 bridge, 

and ] Virginia waters 

of Lake Gaston and 

Buggs Island (Kerr) 

Reservoir and 

tributaries to include 

the Dan and Staunton 

rivers 

No possession (catch 

and release only) 

    

Above and below the 

fall line in all coastal 

rivers of the 

Chesapeake Bay 

Creel and length 

limits shall be the 

same as those set by 

the Virginia Marine 

Resources 

Commission for 

these species in tidal 

rivers 
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Meherrin River below 

Emporia Dam 

Nottoway River, 

Blackwater River 

(Chowan Drainage), 

North Landing and 

Northwest rivers, and 

their tributaries plus 

Back Bay 

10 per day in the 

aggregate 

No length limits 

    

anadromous (coastal) alewife 

and blueback herring 

Above and below the 

fall line in all coastal 

rivers of the 

Chesapeake Bay 

Creel and length 

limits shall be the 

same as those set by 

the Virginia Marine 

Resources 

Commission for 

these species in tidal 

rivers 

    

Meherrin River, 

Nottoway River, 

Blackwater River 

(Chowan Drainage), 

North Landing and 

Northwest rivers, and 

their tributaries plus 

Back Bay 

No possession      

red drum Back Bay and 

tributaries including 

Lake Tecumseh and 

the North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

1 per day;  

No drum less than 18 

inches or greater than 

27 inches 

  

spotted sea trout (speckled 

trout) 

Back Bay and 

tributaries including 

Lake Tecumseh and 

the North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

4 per day;  

No sea trout less than 

14 inches 

  

grey trout (weakfish) Back Bay and 

tributaries including 

Lake Tecumseh and 

North Landing River 

and its tributaries 

1 per day;  

No grey trout less 

than 12 inches 

  

southern flounder Back Bay and 

tributaries including 

Lake Tecumseh and 

the North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

6 per day;  

No flounder less than 

15 inches 

  



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 9, 2017 

993 

northern snakehead  Anglers may possess 

snakeheads taken 

from Virginia waters 

if they immediately 

kill the fish and 

notify the 

headquarters or a 

regional office of the 

department; 

notification may be 

made by telephoning 

(804) 367-2925 

No statewide daily 

limit 

No statewide length 

limits 

    

longnose gar   5 per day; 

No statewide length 

limits 

    

bowfin   5 per day; 

No statewide length 

limits 

    

American eel   25 per day; 

No eel less than 9 

inches 

Back Bay and North 

Landing River 

No possession limit 

for those individuals 

possessing a permit 

obtained under 

4VAC15-340-80 

other native or naturalized 

nongame fish 

See 4VAC15-360-10. Fish: Aquatic Invertebrates, Amphibians, Reptiles, and Nongame Fish. 

Taking aquatic invertebrates, amphibians, reptiles and nongame fish for private use. 

endangered or threatened 

fish 

See 4VAC15-20-130. Definitions and Miscellaneous: In General. Endangered and threatened 

species; adoption of federal list; additional species enumerated. 

nonnative (exotic) fish See 4VAC15-30-40. Definitions and Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, Etc., of 

Animals. Importation requirements, possession and sale of nonnative (exotic) animals. 

4VAC15-320-120. Special daily permit for fishing in 

Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management Area, Douthat 

State Park Lake and, Crooked Creek, and Wilson Creeks 

Creek.  

A. It shall be unlawful to fish in the portion of Big Tumbling 

Creek within the Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management 

Area (except in Little Tumbling Creek and Laurel Bed Lake), 

in Douthat State Park Lake and in Wilson Creek both above 

the lake to the park boundary and downstream to the lower 

USFS boundary, and in the Crooked Creek fee fishing area in 

Carroll County without having first paid to the department for 

such privilege a daily use fee. Such daily use fee shall be in 

addition to all other license fees provided by law. Upon 

payment of the daily use fee the department shall issue a 

special permit that shall be signed and carried by the person 

fishing. 

B. This fee will be required from the first Saturday in April 

through September 30 at for the portion of Big Tumbling 

Creek within the Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management 

Area (except Little Tumbling Creek and Laurel Bed Lake) 

and at Crooked Creek fee fishing area in Carroll County, and 

from the first Saturday in April through June 15 and from 

September 15 through October 31 at Douthat State Park Lake 

and Wilson Creek, except that the director may temporarily 

suspend fee requirements if conditions cause suspension of 

trout stocking. During the remainder of the year, these waters 

Douthat State Park Lake, Wilson Creek, and the Crooked 

Creek fee fishing area in Carroll County will revert to 

designated stocked trout waters and a trout license will be 

required except as provided in 4VAC15-20-190, and 

[ beginning on January 1, 2018, ] the portion of Big Tumbling 

Creek within the Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management 

Area will revert to a seasonal catch and release area subject to 
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4VAC15-330-150. No fishing is permitted in these waters for 

five days preceding the opening day.  

C. Upon payment of the daily use fee the department shall 

issue a special permit that shall be signed and carried by the 

person fishing. 

D. Fishing shall begin at 9 a.m. on opening day at all fee 

areas. After opening day, fishing times will be as posted at 

each fee area.  

E. The department may recognize clearly marked "children 

only" fishing areas within any department fee fishing area. 

Within these "children only" areas, children 12 years old or 

younger may fish without the daily use fee if accompanied by 

a fully licensed adult who has purchased a valid daily permit. 

No person older than 12 years of age may fish in these 

children-only areas. Also, children 12 years of age and 

younger can fish without a permit in all three fee fishing areas 

if under the direct supervision of a permitted adult. However, 

the combined daily creel limit for both adult and 

child/children child or children in such a party shall not 

exceed six trout. During the fee fishing season these waters 

will be subject to 4VAC15-330-60, 4VAC15-330-80, and 

4VAC15-330-90, as it relates to designated stocked trout 

waters.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4797; Filed December 20, 2016, 3:14 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-330. Fish: Trout Fishing 

(amending 4VAC15-330-120, 4VAC15-330-130, 4VAC15-

330-150, 4VAC15-330-160; adding 4VAC15-330-210).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove requirements of 16-inch 

minimum size limits and artificial lures only for fishing for 

trout in a designated section of the South River and 

establish this area for fly fishing only, with a 20-inch 

minimum size for trout; (ii) create a seasonal catch-and-

release section on Big Tumbling Creek (Smyth County) 

open annually to fishing for trout with the use of artificial 

lures only from October 1 until five days prior to the first 

Saturday in April, effective January 2018; (iii) create a 

catch-and-release fishery on a portion of South River in 

the City of Waynesboro, open to fishing for trout with the 

use of artificial lures only; (iv) establish delayed harvest 

trout waters on three streams in Lee, Scott, and Wise 

Counties and remove a portion of South River in the City 

of Waynesboro from the delayed harvest trout program; 

and (v) develop youth-only stocked trout waters where only 

youth 15 years of age and younger can fish specific waters 

from April 1 through June 15. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

4VAC15-330-120. Special provisions applicable to certain 

portions of Buffalo Creek, Dan River, Pound River, 

Roaring Run, South River, and South Fork Holston 

River.  

A. It shall be lawful year around to fish using only artificial 

lures with single hooks in that portion of Buffalo Creek in 

Rockbridge County from the confluence of Colliers Creek 

upstream 2.9 miles to the confluence of North and South 

Buffalo Creeks, in that portion of South River from the N. 

Oak Lane Bridge in Waynesboro upstream to a sign posted 

1.5 miles above the State Route 632 (Shalom Road) Bridge, 

in that portion of the Dan River in Patrick County from 

Talbott Dam approximately six miles downstream to a sign 

posted just upstream from the confluence of Dan River and 

Townes Reservoir, in that portion of the Pound River from a 

sign posted 0.4 miles below the Flannagan Dam, downstream 

1.2 miles to a sign posted just upstream of the confluence of 

the Pound River and the Russell Fork River, in that portion of 

the South Fork Holston River in Smyth County from a sign 

posted at the upper Jefferson National Forest boundary 

downstream approximately four miles to a sign posted 500 

feet upstream of the concrete dam at Buller Fish Culture 

Station, and in that portion of Roaring Run in Botetourt 

County from a sign posted at the third footbridge above the 

Roaring Run Furnace Day Use Area upstream approximately 

one mile to a sign posted at the Botetourt/Alleghany County 

line. 

B. The daily creel limit in these waters shall be two trout a 

day year around and the size limit shall be 16 inches or more 

in length. All trout caught in these waters under 16 inches in 

length shall be immediately returned to the water unharmed. 

It shall be unlawful for any person to have in his possession 

any bait or any trout under 16 inches in length in these areas.  

4VAC15-330-130. Special provision applicable to certain 

portions of Mossy Creek and South River.  

It shall be lawful year around to fish using only artificial 

flies with single hooks in that portion of Mossy Creek in 

Augusta County upstream from the Augusta/Rockingham 

County line to a sign posted at the confluence of Joseph's 

Spring and in that portion of South River from the North Oak 

Lane Bridge in Waynesboro upstream to a sign posted 1.5 

miles above the State Route 632 (Shalom Road) Bridge. The 

daily creel limit in these waters shall be one trout a day year 
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around and the size limit shall be 20 inches or more in length. 

All trout caught in these waters under 20 inches in length 

shall be immediately returned to the water unharmed. It shall 

be unlawful for any person to have in his possession any bait 

or any trout under 20 inches in length in this area.  

4VAC15-330-150. Special provision applicable to Stewarts 

Creek Trout Management Area; certain portions of the 

Dan, Rapidan, South Fork Holston and Staunton rivers, 

the Brumley Creek, East Fork of Chestnut Creek, Little 

Stony Creek, Little Tumbling Creek, Big Tumbling 

Creek, North Creek, Roaring Fork, Spring Run, Stony 

Creek, Venrick Run, South River, and their tributaries. 

It shall be lawful year around to fish for trout using only 

artificial lures with single hooks within:  

1. The Stewarts Creek Trout Management Area in Carroll 

County.  

2. The Rapidan and Staunton rivers and their tributaries 

upstream from a sign at the Lower Shenandoah National 

Park boundary in Madison County.  

3. The Dan River and its tributaries between the Townes 

Dam and the Pinnacles Hydroelectric Project powerhouse 

in Patrick County.  

4. The East Fork of Chestnut Creek (Farmer's (Farmers 

Creek) and its tributaries upstream from the Blue Ridge 

Parkway in Grayson and Carroll Counties.  

5. Roaring Fork and its tributaries upstream from the 

southwest boundary of Beartown Wilderness Area in 

Tazewell County.  

6. That section of the South Fork Holston River and its 

tributaries from the concrete dam at Buller Fish Culture 

Station downstream to the lower boundary of the Buller 

Fish Culture Station in Smyth County.  

7. North Creek and its tributaries upstream from a sign at 

the George Washington National Forest North Creek 

Campground in Botetourt County.  

8. Spring Run from it confluence with Cowpasture River 

upstream to a posted sign at the discharge for Coursey 

Springs Hatchery in Bath County.  

9. Venrick Run and its tributaries within the Big Survey 

Wildlife Management Area and Town of Wytheville 

property in Wythe County.  

10. Brumley Creek and its tributaries from the Hidden 

Valley Wildlife Management Area boundary upstream to 

the Hidden Valley Lake Dam in Washington County.  

11. Stony Creek (Mountain Fork) and its tributaries within 

the Jefferson National Forest in Wise and Scott Counties 

from the outlet of High Knob Lake downstream to the 

confluence of Chimney Rock Fork and Stony Creek.  

12. Little Stony Creek and its tributaries within the 

Jefferson National Forest in Scott County from the Falls of 

Little Stony Creek downstream to a posted sign at the 

Hanging Rock Recreation Area.  

13. Little Tumbling Creek and its tributaries within the 

Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management Area in Smyth and 

Tazewell Counties downstream to the concrete bridge.  

14. [ Effective January 1, 2018, ] Big Tumbling Creek and 

its tributaries within the Clinch Mountain Wildlife 

Management Area in Smyth County from a sign starting at 

the foot of the mountain and extending upstream 

seasonally from October 1 until five days prior to the first 

Saturday in April. 

15. South River in the City of Waynesboro from the Arch 

Avenue Bridge downstream 2.2 miles to the Second Street 

Bridge. 

All trout caught in these waters must be immediately 

returned to the water. No trout or bait may be in possession at 

any time in these areas.  

4VAC15-330-160. Special provisions applicable to certain 

portions of Accotink Creek, Back Creek, Big Moccasin 

Creek, Chestnut Creek, Hardware River, Holliday Creek, 

Holmes Run, Indian Creek, North River, Passage Creek, 

Peak Creek, Pedlar River, North Fork of Pound and 

Pound rivers, Middle Fork of Powell River, and Roanoke 

River, and South River.  

It shall be lawful to fish from October 1 through May 31, 

both dates inclusive, using only artificial lures in Accotink 

Creek (Fairfax County) from King Arthur Road downstream 

3.1 miles to Route 620 (Braddock Road), in Back Creek 

(Bath County) from the Route 600 bridge just below the 

Virginia Power Back Creek Dam downstream 1.5 miles to the 

Route 600 bridge at the lower boundary of the Virginia Power 

Recreational Area, in Big Moccasin Creek (Scott County) 

from the Virginia Department of Transportation foot bridge 

downstream approximately 1.9 miles to the Wadlow Gap 

Bridge, in Chestnut Creek (Carroll County) from the U.S. 

Route 58 bridge downstream 11.4 miles to the confluence 

with New River, in the Hardware River (Fluvanna County) 

from the Route 646 bridge upstream 3.0 miles to Muleshoe 

Bend as posted, in Holliday Creek (Appomattox/Buckingham 

Counties) from the Route 640 crossing downstream 2.8 miles 

to a sign posted at the headwaters of Holliday Lake, in 

Holmes Run (Fairfax County) from the Lake Barcroft Dam 

downstream 1.2 miles to a sign posted at the Alexandria City 

line, in Indian Creek within the boundaries of Wilderness 

Road State Park (Lee County), in the North River (Augusta 

County) from the base of Elkhorn Dam downstream 1.5 miles 

to a sign posted at the head of Staunton City Reservoir, in 

Passage Creek (Warren County) from the lower boundary of 

the Front Royal State Hatchery upstream 0.9 miles to the 

Shenandoah/Warren County line, in Peak Creek (Pulaski 

County) from the confluence of Tract Fork downstream 2.7 

miles to the Route 99 bridge, in the Pedlar River (Amherst 

County) from the City of Lynchburg/George Washington 

National Forest boundary line (below Lynchburg Reservoir) 

downstream 2.7 miles to the boundary line of the George 

Washington National Forest, in North Fork of Pound and 
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Pound rivers from the base of North Fork of Pound Dam 

downstream to the confluence with Indian Creek, in the 

Middle Fork of Powell River (Wise County) from the old 

train trestle at the downstream boundary of Appalachia 

extending approximately 1.9 miles downstream to the trestle 

just upstream of the Town of Big Stone Gap,  in the Roanoke 

River (Roanoke County) from the Route 760 bridge 

(Diuguids Lane) upstream 1.0 miles to a sign posted at the 

upper end of Green Hill Park (Roanoke County), and in the 

Roanoke River (City of Salem) from the Route 419 bridge 

upstream 2.2 miles to the Colorado Street bridge, and in the 

South River from the Second Street Bridge upstream 2.4 

miles to the base of Rife Loth Dam in the City of 

Waynesboro. From October 1 through May 31, all trout 

caught in these waters must be immediately returned to the 

water unharmed, and it shall be unlawful for any person to 

have in possession any bait or trout. During the period of June 

1 through September 30, the above restrictions will not apply.  

4VAC15-330-210. Special provisions applicable to youth-

only stocked trout waters. 

Waters selected by the director for inclusion into the Youth-

Only Stocked Trout Program will be considered youth-only 

stocked trout waters from April 1 through June 15. Only 

youth 15 years of age and younger may participate in the 

program. The daily trout creel limit shall be three. From June 

16 through March 31, statewide fishing regulations and 

licensing requirements apply. Adults (17 years of age and 

older) are not required to have a freshwater fishing license or 

a trout license to assist youth fishing in youth-only stocked 

trout waters. Adults assisting youth (15 years of age and 

younger) while fishing in youth-only stocked trout waters 

may: 

1. Bait the hook; 

2. Assist in casting; and 

3. Assist with removing the fish from the hook or line. 

Adults may not assist with catching a fish (setting the hook 

or retrieving the fish). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4798; Filed December 19, 2016, 11:39 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-340. Fish: Seines and Nets 

(amending 4VAC15-340-30, 4VAC15-340-70, 4VAC15-

340-80).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove the summer portion of the 

Back Bay and North Landing River gill net season, which 

was July 1 through November 1, for "striped" mullet only, 

and allow the harvest of striped mullet during the 

remainder of the gill net season from November 1 through 

March 31; (ii) modify the minimum size and creel limit for 

any American eels that are harvested with eel pots for 

personal use in the waters of Back Bay and the North 

Landing River; and (iii) modify the minimum size for 

American eels harvested with eel pots for commercial 

purposes in the waters of Back Bay and the North Landing 

River. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

4VAC15-340-30. Gill nets.  

A. Authorization to take fish. A gill net permit shall 

authorize the holder thereof to take nongame fish during the 

times and in the waters and for the purposes provided for in 

this section. Such gill net shall not be more than 300 feet in 

length. The mesh size shall be not less than [ 1 inch one-

inch ] bar or square mesh (three-inch stretch mesh). 

Applicants must annually purchase tags for each net the 

applicant intends to operate and attach a department tag to 

each net prior to use. A single permit will be issued to the 

permittee and shall list each tag number the permittee has 

been issued. All nets must be checked daily and all game fish 

returned to the wild.  

B. Permit holder to be present when gill net is being set and 

checked for fish. The holder of a gill net permit must be 

present with the net at all times when it is being set and 

checked for fish. The holder may have others to assist him, 

and such persons assisting are not required to have a permit. 

However, those assisting the permittee must meet the fishing 

license requirements of the Commonwealth.  

C. Times and places permitted in Virginia Beach City; fish 

which may be taken. Gill nets may be used in Virginia Beach 

City in Back Bay and its natural tributaries (not including 

Lake Tecumseh and Red Wing Lake) and North Landing 

River from the North Carolina line to Pungo Ferry (not 

including Blackwater River) for the taking of mullet only for 

table use and also for sale from July 1 through November 1, 

both dates inclusive; and for the taking of other nongame fish, 

except mullet, alewife, and blueback herring, for table use 

and also for sale from November 1 through March 31, both 

dates inclusive. The harvest limit for anadromous American 

and hickory shad shall be 10 per day, in the aggregate. Gill 

nets set in Back Bay waters shall be at least 300 feet from any 

other net and at least 300 feet from the shoreline. All such 

nets must be marked at both ends and at least every 100 feet 
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along the length of the net with a five-inch by 12-inch 

minimum dimensions float.  

4VAC15-340-70. Eel pots for taking American eels for 

personal use. 

A. The director may issue, deny, modify, suspend, or revoke 

annual eel pot permits for American eels designated for 

personal use. Such permits shall authorize the taking of 

American eels for personal use only (not for sale) with eel 

pots from waters designated in this section. Such permits 

shall be valid so long as the harvest of eels in the 

Commonwealth is not prohibited by other state or federal law 

or regulation. 

B. It shall be unlawful for a permit holder to possess elvers. 

C. It shall be unlawful for permit holders fishing eel pots to 

take any species other than American eels. 

D. It shall be unlawful to place, set, or fish any eel pot that 

has a mesh less than 1/2-inch by 1/2-inch and does not 

contain at least one unrestricted 4-inch by 4-inch escape panel 

of 1/2-inch by 1-inch mesh. Buoys of all pots set must be 

marked by permanent means with the permit holder's name, 

address, and phone number. 

E. American eels may be taken with eel pots in Back Bay 

and its natural tributaries (not including Lake Tecumseh and 

Red Wing Lake) and North Landing River and its natural 

tributaries from the North Carolina line to the Great Bridge 

locks. 

F. It shall be unlawful for any permit holder to possess more 

than 50 25 eels daily. When fishing from a boat or vessel 

where the entire catch is held in a common hold or container, 

the daily possession limit shall be for the boat or vessel and 

shall be equal to the number of permit holders on board 

multiplied by 50 25. The captain or operator of the boat or 

vessel shall be responsible for any boat or vessel possession 

limit. Any eel taken after the daily possession limit has been 

reached shall be returned to the water immediately. 

Possession of any quantity of eels that exceeds the daily 

possession limit described in this subsection shall be 

presumed to be for commercial purposes. 

G. For the purposes of this section, the term "elver" shall 

mean any American eel of less than six nine inches in total 

length. 

4VAC15-340-80. Eel pots for taking American eels for 

sale. 

A. The director may issue, deny, modify, suspend, or revoke 

annual eel pot permits designated for the sale of American 

eels. Such permits shall authorize the taking of American eels 

for sale, as specified, with eel pots from waters designated in 

this section. Such permits shall be valid so long as the harvest 

of American eels in the Commonwealth is not prohibited by 

other state or federal law or regulation. To be eligible, 

applicants must document harvest of at least one pound of 

American eels from Back Bay or North Landing River or 

their tributaries via reports submitted through the Virginia 

Marine Resources Commission Mandatory Harvest Reporting 

Program during the period January 1, 2007, to December 31, 

2012, both dates inclusive. Applicants must document the 

reported harvest occurred while the applicant held a valid 

commercial fish pot or eel pot license issued by the Virginia 

Marine Resources Commission. 

B. It shall be unlawful for permit holders to possess elvers 

any American eel less than nine inches [ in ] total length. 

C. It shall be unlawful for permit holders fishing eel pots to 

take any species other than American eels. 

D. It shall be unlawful to place, set, or fish any eel pot that 

has a mesh less than 1/2-inch by 1/2-inch and does not 

contain at least one unrestricted 4-inch by 4-inch escape panel 

consisting of 1/2-inch by 1-inch mesh. 

E. The permit holder's last name and Virginia Department of 

Game and Inland Fisheries American eel pot number must be 

permanently attached to buoys of all eel pots set. The 

maximum number of pots authorized per permit holder under 

this permit shall be 300. 

F. American eels may be taken with eel pots in Back Bay 

and its natural tributaries (not including Lake Tecumseh and 

Red Wing Lake) and in North Landing River and its natural 

tributaries from the North Carolina line to the Great Bridge 

locks. 

G. It shall be unlawful for any person to ship or otherwise 

transport any package, box, or other receptacle containing 

fish taken under an eel pot permit unless the same bears the 

permit holder's name and address. 

H. Failure to comply with the daily harvest and sales 

reporting requirements as detailed in conditions of the permit 

shall be unlawful and may result in immediate permit 

revocation. It shall be the permit holder's responsibility to 

report "No Activity" when no activity occurs during a 

monthly reporting period. 

I. For the purposes of this section, the term "elver" shall 

mean any American eel of less than six inches in total length. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4799; Filed December 19, 2016, 7:03 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-350. Fish: Gigs, Grab Hooks, 

Trotlines, Snares, Etc. (amending 4VAC15-350-70).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 
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Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove longnose gar and bowfin from, 

and add grass carp to, the list of species that can be taken 

in unlimited numbers with bow and arrow or crossbow, 

under certain circumstances, and (ii) establish creel limits 

for longnose gar and bowfin. 

4VAC15-350-70. Taking common carp, grass carp, 

northern snakehead, bowfin, catfish, and gar with bow 

and arrow or crossbow. 

A. Season. Except as otherwise provided by local legislation 

or as posted, it shall be lawful to take common carp, northern 

snakehead, and gar from the public inland waters of the 

Commonwealth, grass carp from public inland waters of the 

Commonwealth except department-owned or department-

controlled lakes, and bowfin and catfish from below the fall 

line in tidal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay, except waters 

stocked with trout, by means of bow and arrow or crossbow.  

B. Poison arrows or explosive-head arrows prohibited. It 

shall be unlawful to use poison arrows or arrows with 

explosive heads at any time for the purpose of taking 

common carp, grass carp, northern snakehead, bowfin, 

catfish, or gar in the public inland waters of the 

Commonwealth.  

C. Fishing license required. All persons taking fish in the 

manner mentioned in this section shall be required to have a 

regular fishing license.  

D. Creel limits. Common carp, grass carp, northern 

snakehead, bowfin, and catfish, and gar – unlimited, provided 

that any angler taking northern snakehead immediately kill 

such fish and notify the department, as soon as practicable, of 

such actions and provided that any angler taking grass carp 

ensure that harvested fish are dead. The creel limit for bowfin 

and longnose gar shall be five fish per day. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4800; Filed December 19, 2016, 7:29 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-360. Fish: Aquatic 

Invertebrates, Amphibians, Reptiles, and Nongame Fish 

(amending 4VAC15-360-10).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove longnose gar and bowfin from the 

list of species that can be taken in unlimited numbers and 

add grass carp to the list of species that can be taken in 

unlimited numbers, except in certain circumstances. 

4VAC15-360-10. Taking aquatic invertebrates, 

amphibians, reptiles, and nongame fish for private use. 

A. Possession limits. Except as otherwise provided for in 

§ 29.1-418 of the Code of Virginia, 4VAC15-20-130, 

[ subdivision 8 of ] 4VAC15-320-40, and the sections of this 

chapter, it shall be lawful to capture and possess live for 

private use and not for sale no more than five individuals of 

any single native or naturalized (as defined in 4VAC15-20-

50) species of amphibian and reptile and 20 individuals of 

any single native or naturalized (as defined in 4VAC15-20-

50) species of aquatic invertebrate and nongame fish unless 

specifically listed below:  

1. The following species may be taken in unlimited 

numbers from inland waters statewide: carp, bowfin, 

longnose gar, mullet, yellow bullhead, brown bullhead, 

black bullhead, flat bullhead, snail bullhead, white sucker, 

northern hogsucker, gizzard shad, threadfin shad, blueback 

herring (see 4VAC15-320-25 for anadromous blueback 

herring limits), white perch, yellow perch, alewife (see 

4VAC15-320-25 for anadromous alewife limits), 

stoneroller (hornyhead), fathead minnow, golden shiner, 

goldfish, and Asian clams. Grass carp may only be 

harvested in unlimited numbers from public inland waters 

of the Commonwealth other than department-owned or 

department-controlled lakes. Anglers taking grass carp 

must ensure that all harvested grass carp are dead. 

2. See 4VAC15-320-25 for American shad, hickory shad, 

channel catfish, white catfish, flathead catfish, and blue 

catfish limits.  

3. For the purpose of this chapter, "fish bait" shall be 

defined as native or naturalized species of minnows and 

chubs (Cyprinidae), salamanders (each under six inches in 

total length), crayfish, and hellgrammites. The possession 

limit for taking "fish bait" shall be 50 individuals in 

aggregate, unless said person has purchased "fish bait" and 

has a receipt specifying the number of individuals 

purchased by species, except salamanders and crayfish 

which cannot be sold pursuant to the provisions of 

4VAC15-360-60 and 4VAC15-360-70. However, 

stonerollers (hornyheads), fathead minnows, golden 

shiners, and goldfish may be taken and possessed in 

unlimited numbers as provided for in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection.  

4. The daily limit for bullfrogs shall be 15 and for snapping 

turtles shall be five. Snapping turtles shall only be taken 

from June 1st 1 to September 30th 30. Bullfrogs and 

snapping turtles may not be taken from the banks or waters 

of designated stocked trout waters.  
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5. The following species may not be taken in any number 

for private use: candy darter, eastern hellbender, 

diamondback terrapin, and spotted turtle.  

6. Native amphibians and reptiles, as defined in 4VAC15-

20-50, that are captured within the Commonwealth and 

possessed live for private use and not for sale may be 

liberated under the following conditions: 

a. Period of captivity does not exceed 30 days; 

b. Animals must be liberated at the site of capture; 

c. Animals must have been housed separately from other 

wild-caught and domestic animals; and 

d. Animals that demonstrate symptoms of disease or 

illness or that have sustained injury during their captivity 

may not be released. 

B. Methods of taking species in subsection A of this section. 

Except as otherwise provided for in the Code of Virginia, 

4VAC15-20-130, 4VAC15-320-40, and other regulations of 

the board, and except in any waters where the use of nets is 

prohibited, the species listed in subsection A of this section 

may only be taken (i) by hand, hook and line,; (ii) with a 

seine not exceeding four feet in depth by 10 feet in length,; 

(iii) with an umbrella type net not exceeding five by five feet 

square,; (iv) by small minnow traps with throat openings no 

larger than one inch in diameter,; (v) with cast nets,; and (vi) 

with hand-held bow nets with diameter not to exceed 20 

inches and handle length not to exceed eight feet (such cast 

net and hand-held bow nets when so used shall not be deemed 

dip nets under the provisions of § 29.1-416 of the Code of 

Virginia). Gizzard shad and white perch may also be taken 

from below the fall line in all tidal rivers of the Chesapeake 

Bay using a gill net in accordance with Virginia Marine 

Resources Commission recreational fishing regulations. 

Bullfrogs may also be taken by gigging or bow and arrow 

and, from private waters, by firearms no larger than .22 

caliber rimfire. Snapping turtles may be taken for personal 

use with hoop nets not exceeding six feet in length with a 

throat opening not exceeding 36 inches. 

C. Areas restricted from taking mollusks. Except as 

provided for in §§ 29.1-418 and 29.1-568 of the Code of 

Virginia, it shall be unlawful to take the spiny riversnail (Io 

fluvialis) in the Tennessee drainage in Virginia (Clinch, 

Powell, and the North, South, and Middle Forks of the 

Holston Rivers and tributaries). It shall be unlawful to take 

mussels from any inland waters of the Commonwealth.  

D. Areas restricted from taking salamanders. Except as 

provided for in §§ 29.1-418 and 29.1-568 of the Code of 

Virginia, it shall be unlawful to take salamanders in Grayson 

Highlands State Park and on National Forest lands in the 

Jefferson National Forest in those portions of Grayson, 

Smyth, and Washington Counties bounded on the east by 

State Route 16, on the north by State Route 603 and on the 

south and west by U.S. Route 58.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4801; Filed December 19, 2016, 8:09 p.m.  

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-252. Pertaining to the Taking 

of Striped Bass (amending 4VAC20-252-150).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-210 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Dates: December 15, 2016, through January 14, 

2017. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

The amendment changes the individual commercial harvest 

quota for the coastal area of Virginia for all open seasons 

and for all legal gear from 138,640 to 136,141 pounds of 

striped bass. 

4VAC20-252-150. Individual commercial harvest quota.  

A. The commercial harvest quota for the Chesapeake area 

shall be determined annually by the Marine Resources 

Commission. The total allowable level of all commercial 

harvest of striped bass from the Chesapeake Bay and its 

tributaries and the Potomac River tributaries of Virginia for 

all open seasons and for all legal gear shall be 1,064,997 

pounds of whole fish. At such time as the total commercial 

harvest of striped bass from the Chesapeake area is projected 

to reach 1,064,997 pounds, and announced as such, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to land or possess striped bass caught 

for commercial purposes from the Chesapeake area.  

B. The commercial harvest quota for the coastal area of 

Virginia shall be determined annually by the Marine 

Resources Commission. The total allowable level of all 

commercial harvest of striped bass from the coastal area for 

all open seasons and for all legal gear shall be 138,640 

136,141 pounds of whole fish. At such time as the total 

commercial harvest of striped bass from the coastal area is 

projected to reach 138,640 136,141 pounds, and announced 

as such, it shall be unlawful for any person to land or possess 

striped bass caught for commercial purposes from the coastal 

area.  

C. For the purposes of assigning an individual's tags for 

commercial harvests in the Chesapeake area as described in 

4VAC20-252-160, the individual commercial harvest quota 

of striped bass in pounds shall be converted to an estimate in 

numbers of fish per individual harvest quota based on the 

average weight of striped bass harvested by the permitted 

individual during the previous fishing year. The number of 

striped bass tags issued to each individual will equal the 

estimated number of fish to be landed by that individual 

harvest quota, plus a number of striped bass tags equal to 

10% of the total allotment determined for each individual.  
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D. For the purposes of assigning an individual's tags for 

commercial harvests in the coastal area of Virginia as 

described in 4VAC20-252-160, the individual commercial 

harvest quota of striped bass in pounds shall be converted to a 

quota in numbers of fish per individual commercial harvest 

quota, based on the reported average coastal area harvest 

weight of striped bass harvested by the permitted individual 

during the previous fishing year, except as described in 

subsection E of this section. The number of striped bass tags 

issued to each individual will equal the estimated number of 

fish to be landed by that individual harvest quota, plus a 

number of striped bass tags equal to 10% of the total 

allotment determined for each individual.  

E. For any individual whose reported average coastal area 

harvest weight of striped bass in the previous fishing year was 

less than 12 pounds, a 12-pound minimum weight shall be 

used to convert that individual's harvest quota of striped bass, 

in pounds of fish, to harvest quota in number of fish. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5003; Filed December 14, 2016, 11:41 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-252. Pertaining to the Taking 

of Striped Bass (amending 4VAC20-252-20, 4VAC20-252-

50, 4VAC20-252-60, 4VAC20-252-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The recreational reporting requirements are amended to 

(i) establish an individual, a charter or headboat, and a 

private vessel recreational permit; (ii) require that the 

permit identification number and the water body where the 

striped bass were caught and harvested or released be 

reported; (iii) require reporting within seven days of the 

trip; and (iv) require recording of lack of participation. 

The same recreational requirements for the regular season 

of striped bass also apply to the trophy-size season. 

4VAC20-252-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meaning unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Chesapeake area" means the area that includes the 

Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries and the Potomac River 

tributaries.  

"Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries" means all tidal waters 

of the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries within Virginia, 

westward of the shoreward boundary of the Territorial Sea, 

excluding the coastal area and the Potomac River tributaries 

as defined by this section.  

"Coastal area" means the area that includes Virginia's 

portion of the Territorial Sea, plus all of the creeks, bays, 

inlets, and tributaries on the seaside of Accomack County, 

Northampton County (including areas east of the causeway 

from Fisherman Island to the mainland), and the City of 

Virginia Beach (including federal areas and state parks, 

fronting on the Atlantic Ocean and east and south of the point 

where the shoreward boundary of the Territorial Sea joins the 

mainland at Cape Henry).  

"Commission" means the Marine Resources Commission.  

"Commercial fishing" or "fishing commercially" or 

"commercial fishery" means fishing by any person where the 

catch is for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose, or 

is intended for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose.  

"Great Wicomico-Tangier Striped Bass Management Area" 

means the area that includes the Great Wicomico River and 

those Virginia waters bounded by a line beginning at 

Dameron Marsh at NAD 83 North Latitude 37-46.9535, West 

Longitude 76-17.1294; thence extending to the southernmost 

point of Tangier Island, and thence north to a point on the 

Virginia-Maryland state boundary at NAD 83 North Latitude 

37-57.0407, West Longitude 75-58.5043, thence westerly 

along the Virginia-Maryland state boundary to Smith Point.  

"Potomac River tributaries" means all the tributaries of the 

Potomac River that are within Virginia's jurisdiction 

beginning with, and including, Flag Pond thence upstream to 

the District of Columbia boundary.  

"Recreational fishing" or "fishing recreationally" or 

"recreational fishery" means fishing by any person, whether 

licensed or exempted from licensing, where the catch is not 

for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose, or is not 

intended for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose.  

"Recreational vessel" means any private vessel, charter 

vessel, or headboat vessel. 

"Share" means a percentage of the striped bass commercial 

harvest quota.  

"Spawning reaches" means sections within the spawning 

rivers as follows:  

1. James River from a line connecting Dancing Point and 

New Sunken Meadow Creek upstream to a line connecting 

City Point and Packs Point.  

2. Pamunkey River from the Route 33 Bridge at West 

Point upstream to a line connecting Liberty Hall and the 

opposite shore.  

3. Mattaponi River from the Route 33 Bridge at West Point 

upstream to the Route 360 bridge at Aylett.  
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4. Rappahannock River from the Route 360 Bridge at 

Tappahannock upstream to the Route 1 Falmouth Bridge.  

"Spear" or "spearing" means to fish while the person is fully 

submerged under the water's surface with a mechanically 

aided device designed to accelerate a barbed spear. 

"Striped bass" means any fish of the species Morone 

saxatilis, including any hybrid of the species Morone 

saxatilis.  

4VAC20-252-50. Concerning recreational fishing: general.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to take, catch, or attempt to take or catch any striped bass by 

any gear or method other than hook and line, rod and reel, 

hand line, or spearing.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to possess any striped bass while fishing in an area where or 

at a time when there is no open recreational striped bass 

season, except as described in 4VAC20-252-115. Striped bass 

caught contrary to this provision shall be returned to the water 

immediately.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to possess, land, and retain any striped bass in excess of the 

possession limit applicable for the area and season being 

fished within the 24-hour period of 12 a.m. through 11:59 

p.m. Striped bass taken in excess of the possession limit shall 

be returned to the water immediately.  

When fishing from a boat or vessel where the entire catch is 

held in a common hold or container, the possession limit shall 

be for the boat or vessel and shall be equal to the number of 

persons on board legally eligible to fish multiplied by the 

applicable personal possession limit. The captain or operator 

of the boat or vessel shall be responsible for any boat or 

vessel possession limit.  

D. It shall be unlawful to combine possession limits when 

there is more than one area or season open at the same time.  

E. It shall be unlawful for any person while actively fishing 

pursuant to a recreational fishery to possess any striped bass 

that are smaller than the minimum size limit or larger than the 

maximum size limit for the area and season then open and 

being fished, except as described in 4VAC20-252-115. Any 

striped bass caught that does not meet the applicable size 

limit shall be returned to the water immediately.  

F. It shall be unlawful for any person to sell, offer for sale, 

trade, or barter any striped bass taken by hook and line, rod 

and reel, hand line, or spearing provided, however, this 

provision shall not apply to persons possessing a commercial 

hook-and-line license and a striped bass permit and meeting 

the other requirements of this chapter.  

G. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to transfer any striped bass to another person, while on the 

water or while fishing from a pier or shore.  

H. It shall be unlawful for the captain of any charter boat or 

charter vessel to take hook-and-line, rod-and-reel, hand line, 

or spear fishermen for hire unless the captain has obtained a 

Striped Bass Charter Boat Permit from the commission and is 

a Coast Guard charter licensee.  

I. Striped bass charter boat permittees shall report to the 

commission, on forms provided by the commission, all daily 

quantities permit identification number, the number of striped 

bass caught and, whether harvested, and daily fishing hours 

for themselves or their customers, respectively or released; 

the water body where any striped bass is caught; and the 

number of anglers on board, captain included, within seven 

days after the trip occurred. The written report shall be 

forwarded It shall be unlawful for any striped bass charter 

boat permittee to fail to report (i) trips where striped bass are 

targeted but not successfully caught or (ii) the permittee's lack 

of participation in the fishery to the commission no later than 

15 days following the last day of any open season. In 

addition, striped bass charter boat permittees engaging in the 

Bay and Coastal Spring Trophy-size Striped Bass 

Recreational Fishery and the Potomac River Tributaries 

Spring Striped Bass Recreational Fishery shall provide the 

report required by 4VAC20-252-60 and 4VAC20-252-70, 

respectively.  

4VAC20-252-60. Bay and Coastal Spring Trophy-size 

Striped Bass Recreational Fisheries.  

A. The open season for the Bay Spring Trophy-size Striped 

Bass Recreational Fishery shall be May 1 through June 15, 

inclusive. 

B. The area open for the Bay Spring Trophy-size Striped 

Bass Recreational Fishery shall be the Chesapeake Bay and 

its tributaries, except the spawning reaches of the James, 

Pamunkey, Mattaponi, and Rappahannock Rivers.  

C. The open season for the Coastal Spring Trophy-size 

Striped Bass Recreational Fishery shall be May 1 through 

May 15, inclusive.  

D. The area open for the Coastal Spring Trophy-size Striped 

Bass Recreational Fishery is the coastal area as described in 

4VAC20-252-20.  

E. The minimum size limit for the fisheries described in this 

section shall be 36 inches total length.  

F. The possession limit for the fisheries described in this 

section shall be one fish per person.  

G. It shall be unlawful for any person, 16 years of age or 

older, participating in the Bay and Coastal Spring Trophy-

size striped bass recreational fisheries to fail to obtain a 

Spring Recreational Striped Bass Trophy Permit from the 

commission prior to any participation, except when fishing 

from a legally licensed headboat or charter boat an Individual, 

Private Vessel, or Charter-Headboat Spring Recreational 

Striped Bass Trophy Permit.  

H. It shall be unlawful for any spring recreational striped 

bass trophy permittee or any charter boat striped bass 

permittee to fail to report the take, harvest, or trips where 

striped bass are caught, whether harvest or released, or the 
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possession of any trophy-size striped bass, as described in 

subsection E of this section, on forms provided by the 

commission within seven days after the trip occurred. It shall 

be unlawful for any permittee to fail to report trips where 

striped bass are targeted but not successfully caught by the 

15th day after the close of the Bay and Coastal Spring 

Trophy-size striped bass recreational fisheries. The report 

requirements shall be as follows: 

1. Any spring recreational striped bass trophy permittees or 

charter boat striped bass permittees individual spring 

recreational striped bass trophy permittee shall provide the 

permittee name, his own commission permit identification 

number,; the commission permit identification number of 

the recreational vessel the individual is fishing from, if 

applicable; the date of any harvest,; the number of 

individuals on board; the water body where the trophy-size 

striped bass was caught,; and number of trophy-size striped 

bass kept or released, and the length of each trophy-size 

striped bass kept or released. Any weight information on 

any kept or released trophy-size striped bass may be 

provided voluntarily by the permittees. 

2. Any private vessel or charter-headboat spring 

recreational striped bass trophy permittee shall provide the 

recreational vessel's commission permit identification 

number, date of any harvest, number of individuals on 

board, and number of trophy-size striped bass kept or 

released. Any such permittee must report all trips made by 

the vessel to which the permit applies where trophy-size 

bass are caught or targeted even if the permittee was not on 

board the vessel during every such trip. 

2. 3. Any spring recreational striped bass trophy permittees 

or charter boat striped bass permittees permittee who did 

not participate in the Bay and Coastal Spring Trophy-size 

striped bass recreational seasons shall notify the 

commission of their his lack of participation by the 15th 

day after the close of the Bay and Coastal Spring Trophy-

size striped bass recreational seasons on forms provided by 

the commission. 

I. It shall be unlawful for any permittee, as described in 

4VAC20-252-50 H and subsection G of this section, to fail to 

report either the harvest of trophy-size striped bass or no 

harvest activity within 15 days of the closing of the Bay and 

Coastal Spring Trophy-size striped bass recreational seasons.  

4VAC20-252-70. Potomac River tributaries spring 

trophy-size striped bass recreational fishery.  

A. The open season for the Potomac River tributaries spring 

striped bass recreational fishery shall correspond to the open 

season as established by the Potomac River Fisheries 

Commission for the mainstem Potomac River spring fishery.  

B. The area open for this fishery shall be those tributaries of 

the Potomac River that are within Virginia's jurisdiction 

beginning with, and including, Flag Pond thence upstream to 

the Route 301 bridge.  

C. The minimum size limit for this fishery shall correspond 

to the minimum size limit as established by the Potomac 

River Fisheries Commission for the mainstem Potomac River 

spring trophy-size fishery.  

D. The possession limit for this fishery shall be one fish per 

person.  

E. It shall be unlawful for any person, 16 years of age or 

older, participating in the Potomac River tributaries spring 

trophy-size striped bass recreational fishery to fail to obtain a 

Spring Recreational Striped Bass Trophy Permit from the 

commission prior to any participation, except when fishing 

from a legally licensed headboat or charter boat an Individual, 

Private Vessel, or Charter-Headboat Spring Recreational 

Striped Bass Trophy Permit.  

F. It shall be unlawful for any spring recreational striped 

bass trophy permittee or any charter boat striped bass 

permittee to fail to report the take, harvest, or trips where 

striped bass are caught, whether harvested or released, or the 

possession of any trophy-size striped bass, as described in this 

section, on forms provided by the commission within seven 

days after the trip occurred. It shall be unlawful for any 

permittee to fail to report trips where striped bass are targeted 

but not successfully caught by the 15th day after the close of 

the Potomac River tributaries spring trophy-size striped bass 

recreational fishery. The report requirements shall be as 

follows: 

1. Any spring recreational striped bass trophy permittees or 

charter boat striped bass permittees individual spring 

recreational striped bass trophy permittee shall provide the 

permittee name, commission permit identification number,; 

the commission permit identification number of the 

recreational vessel the individual is fishing from, if 

applicable; the date of any harvest,; the water body where 

the trophy-size striped bass was caught,; the number of 

individuals on board; and number of trophy-size striped 

bass kept or released, and the length of each trophy-size 

striped bass kept or released. Any weight information on 

any kept or released trophy-size striped bass may be 

provided voluntarily by the permittees. 

2. Any private vessel or charter-headboat spring 

recreational striped bass trophy permittee shall provide the 

vessel's commission permit identification number; the date 

of any harvest; the number of individuals on board; and the 

number of trophy-size striped bass kept or released. Any 

such permittee must report all trips made by the vessel to 

which the permit applies where trophy-size bass are caught 

or targeted even if the permittee was not on board the 

vessel during every such trip. 

2. 3. Any spring recreational striped bass trophy permittees 

or charter boat striped bass permittees permittee who did 

not participate in the Potomac River tributaries spring 

trophy-size striped bass recreational season shall notify the 

commission of their his lack of participation by the 15th 

day after the close of the Potomac River tributaries spring 
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trophy-size striped bass recreational season on forms 

provided by the commission. 

G. It shall be unlawful for any permittee, as described in 

4VAC20-252-50 H and 4VAC20-252-60 G, to fail to report 

either the harvest of trophy-size striped bass or no harvest 

activity within 15 days of the closing of the Potomac River 

tributaries spring trophy-size striped bass recreational season.  

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The form is also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (4VAC20-252) 

2015 Striped Bass Charter Boat Fishing Reporting Form 

(rev. 12/14) 

2015 Trophy-Size Striped Bass Season Charter Boat Fishing 

Reporting Form (rev. 12/14) 

Spring Striped Bass Recreational Trophy-Size Report Form 

(rev. 3/2015) 

2017 Recreational/Charter Reporting Form (undated, filed 

12/2016) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5007; Filed December 20, 2016, 11:05 a.m.  

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-510. Pertaining to Amberjack 

and Cobia (amending 4VAC20-510-25).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-210 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Dates: December 15, 2016, through January 14, 

2017. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

The amendments close the commercial fishing season for 

cobia from December 15, 2016, through December 31, 

2016.  

4VAC20-510-25. Commercial fishery possession limits 

and cobia fishing season. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing commercially 

to possess more than two amberjack or more than two cobia 

at any time, except as described in 4VAC20-510-33. Any 

amberjack or cobia caught after the possession limit has been 

reached shall be returned to the water immediately. When 

fishing from any boat or vessel where the entire catch is held 

in a common hold or container, the possession limit shall be 

for the boat or vessel and shall be equal to the number of 

persons on board legally eligible to fish multiplied by two. 

The captain or operator of the boat or vessel shall be 

responsible for any boat or vessel possession limit. 

B. The 2016 commercial fishery season for cobia shall 

extend from January 1, 2016, through December 14, 2016. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing commercially 

to harvest, possess, or land cobia in 2016 except during the 

lawful 2016 commercial fishery season described in 

subsection B of this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5008; Filed December 14, 2016, 11:42 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-510. Pertaining to Amberjack 

and Cobia (adding 4VAC20-510-12, 4VAC20-510-15).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments define "recreational vessel" and prohibit 

landing of cobia recreationally without a permit. The 

regulation adds the requirements for reporting cobia and 

requires a permittee to report the trips where cobia are 

caught.  

4VAC20-510-12. Definitions. 

The following term when used in this chapter shall have the 

following meaning unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise: 

"Recreational vessel" means any private vessel, charter 

vessel, or headboat vessel. 

4VAC20-510-15. Recreational cobia permit and 

mandatory reporting. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess or land any 

cobia harvested recreationally without first having obtained 

an Individual, Private Vessel, or Charter-Headboat 

Recreational Cobia Permit from the Marine Resources 

Commission (commission).  

B. It shall be unlawful for any permittee to fail to report trips 

where cobia are caught, whether harvested or released, or the 

possession of any cobia in accordance with this section on 

forms provided by the commission within seven days after 

the trip occurred. It shall be unlawful for any permittee to fail 

to report trips where cobia were targeted but not successfully 

caught by the 15th day after the close of the recreational cobia 

fishery season. The reporting requirements shall be as 

follows: 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=73145005007~1&typ=40&actno=005007&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=73145005007~1&typ=40&actno=005007&mime=application/pdf
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1. Any individual recreational cobia permittee shall 

provide his own commission permit identification number; 

the commission permit identification number of the 

recreational vessel the individual is fishing from, if 

applicable; the date of any harvest; and the number of 

cobia kept or released.  

2. Any private vessel or charter-headboat recreational 

cobia permittee shall provide the vessel's commission 

permit identification number; the date of any harvest; the 

number of individuals on board; and the number of cobia 

kept or released. Any such permittee must report all trips 

made by the vessel to which the permit applies where cobia 

are caught or targeted even if the permittee was not on 

board the vessel during every such trip.  

3. Any permittee who did not participate in the recreational 

cobia season shall notify the commission of his lack of 

participation by the 15th day after the close of the 

recreational cobia season on forms provided by the 

commission. 

4. Any permittee who fails to report the harvest of cobia 

shall be ineligible to receive an Individual, Private Vessel, 

or Charter-Headboat Recreational Cobia Permit in the year 

following the year in which that permittee failed to report. 

Any permittee who did not participate in the recreational 

cobia season and fails to report no activity shall also be 

ineligible to receive an Individual, Private Vessel, or 

Charter-Headboat Recreational Cobia Permit in the year 

following the year where that permittee failed to report. 

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of the form 

with a hyperlink to access it. The form is also available from 

the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (4VAC20-510) 

2017 Recreational Reporting Form (filed 12/2016) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5004; Filed December 19, 2016, 2:20 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1090. Pertaining to Licensing 

Requirements and License Fees (amending 4VAC20-1090-

30).  

Statutory Authority: § 28-2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2017.  

 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments increase certain commercial and 

recreational fees effective December 1, 2017. 

4VAC20-1090-30. License fees. 

The following listing of license fees applies to any person 

who purchases a license for the purposes of harvesting for 

commercial purposes, or fishing for recreational purposes, 

during any calendar year. The fees listed below include a 

$1.00 agent fee. 

1. COMMERCIAL LICENSES 

Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License 

$190.00 

$226.00  

Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License for a person 70 years or older 

$90.00 

$107.00 

Delayed Entry Registration  

$190.00 

$226.00 

Delayed Entry Registration License for a 

person 70 years or older  

$90.00 

$107.00 

Seafood Landing License for each boat or 

vessel 

$175.00 

$209.00 

For each Commercial Fishing Pier over or 

upon subaqueous beds (mandatory) 

$83.00 

$99.00 

Seafood Buyer's License -- For each boat 

or motor vehicle 

$63.00 

$75.00 

Seafood Buyer's License -- For each place 

of business 

$126.00 

$150.00 

Clam Aquaculture Product Owner's 

Permit 

$10.00 

$15.00 

Oyster Aquaculture Product Owner's 

Permit 

$10.00 

$15.00 

Clam Aquaculture Harvester's Permit 

$5.00 

$10.00 

Oyster Aquaculture Harvester's Permit 

$5.00 

$10.00 

Nonresident Harvester's License 

$444.00 

$530.00 

2. OYSTER RESOURCE USER FEES 

Any licensed commercial fisherman 

harvesting oysters by hand $50.00 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=83a76005004~1&typ=40&actno=005004&mime=application/pdf
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For any harvester using one or more gear 

types to harvest oysters or for any 

registered commercial fisherman who 

solely harvests or possesses any bushel 

limit described in 4VAC20-720-80, only 

one oyster resource user fee, per year, 

shall be paid $300.00 

On any business shucking or packing no 

more than 1,000 gallons of oysters $500.00 

On any business shucking or packing 

more than 1,000 but no more than 

10,000 gallons of oysters $1,000.00 

On any business shucking or packing 

more than 10,000 but no more than 

25,000 gallons of oysters $2,000.00 

On any business shucking or packing 

more than 25,000 gallons of oysters $4,000.00 

On any oyster buyer using a single truck 

or location $100.00 

On any oyster buyer using multiple 

trucks or locations $300.00 

Commercial aquaculture operation, on 

riparian assignment or general oyster 

planting grounds $50.00 

3. OYSTER HARVESTING, SHUCKING, RELAY, AND 

BUYERS LICENSES 

Any person purchasing oysters caught 

from the public grounds of the 

Commonwealth or the Potomac River, for 

a single place of business with one boat 

or motor vehicle used for buying oysters 

$50.00 

$55.00 

Any person purchasing oysters caught 

from the public grounds of the 

Commonwealth or the Potomac River, for 

a single place of business with multiple 

boats or motor vehicles used for buying 

oysters 

$100.00 

$105.00 

For each person taking oysters by hand, 

or with ordinary tongs 

$10.00 

$33.00 

For each single-rigged patent tong boat 

taking oysters 

$35.00 

$116.00 

For each double-rigged patent tong boat 

taking oysters 

$70.00 

$114.00 

Oyster Dredge Public Ground 

$50.00 

$72.00 

Oyster Hand Scrape 

$50.00 

$72.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for any 

number of gallons under 1,000 

$12.00 

$17.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 1,000 

gallons, up to 10,000 

$33.00 

$39.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 10,000 

gallons, up to 25,000 

$74.00 

$88.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 25,000 

gallons, up to 50,000 

$124.00 

$148.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 50,000 

gallons, up to 100,000 

$207.00 

$247.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 100,000 

gallons, up to 200,000 

$290.00 

$346.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 200,000 

gallons or over 

$456.00 

$544.00 

One-day permit to relay condemned 

shellfish from a general oyster planting 

ground $150.00 

4. BLUE CRAB HARVESTING AND SHEDDING 

LICENSES, EXCLUSIVE OF CRAB POT LICENSES 

For each person taking or catching crabs 

by dip nets 

$13.00 

$18.00 

For ordinary trotlines  

$13.00 

$18.00 

For patent trotlines 

$51.00 

$60.00 

For each single-rigged crab-scrape boat 

$26.00 

$31.00 

For each double-rigged crab-scrape boat 

$53.00 

$63.00 

For up to 210 peeler pots 

$36.00 

$43.00 

For up to 20 tanks and floats for shedding 

crabs 

$9.00 

$14.00 

For more than 20 tanks or floats for 

shedding crabs 

$19.00 

$24.00 

For each crab trap or crab pound 

$8.00 

$13.00 

5. CRAB POT LICENSES 

For up to 85 crab pots 

$48.00 

$57.00 
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For over 85 but not more than 127 crab 

pots 

$79.00 

$94.00 

For over 127 but not more than 170 crab 

pots 

$79.00 

$94.00 

For over 170 but not more than 255 crab 

pots 

$79.00 

$94.00 

For over 255 but not more than 425 crab 

pots 

$127.00 

$151.00 

6. HORSESHOE CRAB AND LOBSTER LICENSES 

For each person harvesting horseshoe 

crabs by hand  $16.00 

For each boat engaged in fishing for or 

landing of lobster using less than 200 pots  

$41.00 

$48.00 

For each boat engaged in fishing for or 

landing of lobster using 200 pots or more  

$166.00 

$198.00 

7. CLAM HARVESTING LICENSES 

For each person taking or harvesting 

clams by hand, rake, or with ordinary 

tongs 

$24.00 

$29.00 

For each single-rigged patent tong boat 

taking clams 

$58.00 

$69.00 

For each double-rigged patent tong boat 

taking clams 

$84.00 

$100.00 

For each boat using clam dredge (hand) 

$19.00 

$24.00 

For each boat using clam dredge (power) 

$44.00 

$52.00 

For each boat using hydraulic dredge to 

catch soft shell clams $83.00 

For each person taking surf clams $124.00 

Water Rake Permit 

$24.00 

$29.00 

8. CONCH (WHELK) HARVESTING LICENSES 

For each boat using a conch dredge 

$58.00 

$69.00 

For each person taking channeled whelk 

by conch pot 

$51.00 

$60.00 

9. FINFISH HARVESTING LICENSES 

Each pound net 

$41.00 

$48.00 

Each stake gill net of 1,200 feet in length 

or under, with a fixed location 

$24.00 

$29.00 

All other gill nets up to 600 feet 

$16.00 

$21.00 

All other gill nets over 600 feet and up to 

1,200 feet  

$24.00 

$29.00 

Each person using a cast net or throw net 

or similar device 

$13.00 

$18.00 

Each fyke net head, weir, or similar 

device 

$13.00 

$18.00 

For fish trotlines 

$19.00 

$24.00 

Each person using or operating a fish dip 

net 

$9.00 

$14.00 

On each haul seine used for catching fish, 

under 500 yards in length 

$48.00 

$57.00 

On each haul seine used for catching fish, 

from 500 yards in length to 1,000 yards in 

length 

$146.00 

$174.00 

For each person using commercial hook 

and line 

$31.00 

$37.00 

For each person using commercial hook 

and line for catching striped bass only 

$31.00 

$37.00 

For up to 100 fish pots  

$19.00 

$24.00 

For over 100 but not more than 300 fish 

pots  

$24.00 

$29.00 

For over 300 fish pots  

$62.00 

$74.00 

For up to 100 eel pots 

$19.00 

$24.00 

For over 100 but not more than 300 eel 

pots 

$24.00 

$29.00 

For over 300 eel pots 

$62.00 

$74.00 

10. MENHADEN HARVESTING LICENSES  

Any person purchasing more than one of the following 

licenses, as described in this subsection, for the same vessel, 

shall pay a fee equal to that for a single license for the same 

vessel. 

On each boat or vessel under 70 gross 

tons fishing for the purse seine 

menhaden reduction sector 

$249.00 

$257.00 

On each vessel 70 gross tons or over 

fishing for the purse seine menhaden 

reduction sector 

$996.00 

$1,029.00 
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On each boat or vessel under 70 gross 

tons fishing for the purse seine 

menhaden bait sector 

$249.00 

$257.00 

On each vessel 70 gross tons or over 

fishing for the purse seine menhaden bait 

sector 

$996.00 

$1,029.00 

11. COMMERCIAL GEAR FOR RECREATIONAL USE 

Up to five crab pots with a terrapin 

excluder device 

$36.00 

$41.00 

Up to five crab pots without a terrapin 

excluder device 

$46.00 

$51.00 

Crab trotline (300 feet maximum) 

$10.00 

$15.00 

One crab trap or crab pound 

$6.00 

$11.00 

One gill net up to 300 feet in length 

$9.00 

$14.00 

Fish dip net 

$7.00 

$12.00 

Fish cast net 

$10.00 

$15.00 

Up to two eel pots 

$10.00 

$15.00 

12. SALTWATER RECREATIONAL FISHING LICENSE 

Individual, resident $17.50 

Individual, nonresident $25.00 

Temporary 10-Day, resident $10.00 

Temporary 10-Day, nonresident $10.00 

Recreational boat, resident $48.00 

Recreational boat, nonresident, provided 

a nonresident may not purchase a 

recreational boat license unless his boat is 

registered in Virginia $76.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, resident, six or 

less passengers $190.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, nonresident, six 

or less passengers $380.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, resident, more 

than six passengers, plus $5.00 per 

person, over six persons $190.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, nonresident, 

more than six passengers, plus $5.00 per 

person, over six persons $380.00 

Rental Boat, resident, per boat, with 

maximum fee of $703 $14.00 

Rental Boat, nonresident, per boat, with 

maximum fee of $1270 $18.00 

Commercial Fishing Pier (Optional) $632.00 

Disabled Resident Lifetime Saltwater 

License $10.00 

Disabled Nonresident Lifetime Saltwater 

License $10.00 

Reissuance of Saltwater Recreational 

Boat License $5.00 

13. COMBINED SPORTFISHING LICENSE 

This license is to fish in all inland waters and tidal waters of 

the Commonwealth during open season. 

Residents $39.50 

Nonresidents $71.00 

14. COMBINED SPORTFISHING TRIP LICENSE 

This license is to fish in all inland waters and tidal waters of 

the Commonwealth during open season for five consecutive 

days. 

Residents $24.00 

Nonresidents $31.00 

15. TIDAL BOAT SPORTFISHING LICENSE 

Residents $126.00 

Nonresidents $201.00 

16. LIFETIME SALTWATER RECREATIONAL 

FISHING LICENSES 

Individual Resident Lifetime License $276.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime License $500.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License age 

45 - 50 $132.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime License 

age 45 - 50 $240.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License age 

51 - 55 $99.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime License 

51 - 55 $180.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License age 

56 - 60 $66.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime License 

age 56 - 60 $120.00 
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Individual Resident Lifetime License age 

61 - 64 $35.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime License 

age 61 - 64 $60.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License age 

65 and older $5.00 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5006; Filed December 14, 2016, 11:42 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1120. Pertaining to Tilefish 

and Grouper (amending 4VAC20-1120-20, 4VAC20-1120-

31, 4VAC20-1120-32).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments divide the recreational permit by 

individual, private, or charter-headboat and modify the 

recreational mandatory harvest reporting requirements. 

Changes to the reporting requirements include reporting of 

tilefish or grouper within seven days after the trip occurs 

and reporting of the Marine Resources Commission permit 

identification number and number of tilefish or grouper 

kept and released. A permittee who does not participate in 

the tilefish and grouper recreational fishery season must 

report that information by the 15th day after the close of 

the recreational fishery season. A permittee who does not 

report or reports no activity will not be eligible to receive 

a permit in the subsequent year. 

4VAC20-1120-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"Commercial fishing" or "fishing commercially" or 

"commercial fishery" means fishing by any person where the 

catch is for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose, or 

is intended for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose. 

"Grouper" means any of the following species: 

Black grouper, Mycteroperca bonaci 

Coney, Cephalopholis fulva 

Gag grouper, Mycteroperca microlepis 

Goliath grouper, Epinephelus itajara 

Graysby, Cephalopholis cruentata 

Misty grouper, Epinephelus mystacinus 

Nassau grouper, Epinephelus striatus 

Red grouper, Epinephelus morio 

Red Hind, Epinephelus guttatus 

Rock Hind, Epinephelus adscensionis 

Scamp, Mycteroperca phenax 

Snowy grouper, Epinephelus niveatus 

Speckled Hind, Epinephelus drummondhayi 

Tiger grouper, Mycteroperca tigris 

Warsaw grouper, Epinephelus nigritus 

Wreckfish, Polyprion americanus 

Yellowedge grouper, Epinephelus flavolimbatus 

Yellowfin grouper, Mycteroperca venenosa 

Yellowmouth grouper, Mycteroperca interstitialis 

"Recreational fishing" or "fishing recreationally" or 

"recreationally fishing" means fishing by any person, whether 

licensed or exempted from licensing, where the catch is not 

for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose, or is not 

intended for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose. 

"Recreational vessel" means any private vessel, charter 

vessel, or headboat vessel. 

"Tilefish" means any of the following species: 

Blueline tilefish, Caulolatilus microps 

Golden tilefish, Lopholatilus chamaeleonticeps 

Sand tilefish, Malacanthus plumieri 

4VAC20-1120-31. Recreational landing permit. 

It shall be unlawful to possess aboard or to land from any 

private recreational fishing vessel, charter boat, or head boat, 

any tilefish or grouper harvested recreationally without first 

having obtained a an Individual, Private Vessel, or Charter-

Headboat Tilefish and Grouper Landing Permit for that vessel 

from the Marine Resources Commission. Such permit shall 

be completed in full by the vessel owner or operator, 

approved by the commissioner or his designee, and a copy 

shall be kept with the permittee while tilefish or grouper is in 

the possession of that permittee. 

4VAC20-1120-32. Recreational mandatory harvest 

reporting. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any registered Tilefish and 

Grouper Landing Permittee tilefish and grouper landing 

permittee, as described in 4VAC20-1120-31, to fail to fully 

report harvests and related information as set forth in this 

chapter and as provided by 4VAC20-610-60 trips where 

tilefish or grouper are caught, whether harvested or released, 

or the possession of any tilefish or grouper in accordance with 

this section, on forms provided by the Marine Resources 

Commission (commission) within seven days after the trip 

occurred. It shall be unlawful for any permittee to fail to 
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report trips where tilefish or grouper were targeted but not 

successfully caught, and reports shall be made using forms 

provided by the commission by the 15th day after the close of 

the tilefish and grouper recreational fishery seasons. 

B. Registered tilefish and grouper Landing Permittees shall 

complete a daily form that accurately enumerates and legibly 

describes that permittee's daily harvest from Virginia tidal 

and federal waters. The form used to record daily harvest 

shall be that provided by the commission or approved by the 

commission.  

C. Registered tilefish and grouper Landing Permittees shall 

submit a monthly harvest report to the commission no later 

than the fifth day of the following month. This report shall be 

accompanied by the daily harvest records described in 

subsection D of this section. Completed forms shall be mailed 

or delivered to the commission or other designated locations. 

D. The monthly harvest report and daily harvest records 

from registered B. Any individual tilefish and grouper 

Landing Permittees landing permittee shall include submit a 

report including the name and signature commission permit 

identification number of the registered tilefish and grouper 

Landing Permittee and his license number landing permittee; 

commission permit identification number of the vessel the 

individual is fishing from, if applicable; date of harvest; city 

or county of landing; water body fished; gear type and 

amount used; number of hours fished; number of individuals 

on board, including captain; species harvested; number of 

discard by species; live weight of each individual species 

harvested; and vessel identification (Coast Guard 

documentation number, Virginia license number, or hull/VIN 

number) and the number of tilefish and grouper, by species, 

kept and released. 

C. Any private vessel or charter-headboat recreational 

tilefish and grouper landing permittee shall provide the 

vessel's commission permit identification number; date of any 

harvest; number of individuals on board; and number of 

tilefish and grouper, by species, kept and released. Any such 

permittee must report all trips made by the vessel to which 

the permit applies where tilefish and grouper are caught or 

targeted even if the permittee was not on board the vessel 

during every such trip. 

D. Any permittee who did not participate in the tilefish and 

grouper recreational fishery season shall notify the 

commission of his lack of participation by the 15th day after 

the close of the tilefish and grouper recreational fishery 

seasons.  

E. Any permittee who fails to report the harvest of any 

tilefish or grouper shall be ineligible to receive the permit in 

the year following the year in which that permittee failed to 

report. Any permittee who did not participate in the 

recreational tilefish and grouper recreational fishery seasons 

and fails to report no activity shall also be ineligible to 

receive the permit in the year following the year in which that 

permittee failed to report. 

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of the form 

with a hyperlink to access it. The form is also available from 

the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (4VAC20-1120) 

2017 Recreational Reporting Form (undated, filed 12/2016) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5005; Filed December 19, 2016, 2:40 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-180. Crime Prevention 

Specialists (amending 6VAC20-180-10, 6VAC20-180-20, 

6VAC20-180-30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 9.1-102 and 9.1-161 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 10, 2017. 

Effective Date: February 27, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law Enforcement 

Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice 

Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 225-4503, FAX (804) 786-0410, or email 

barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 9.1-161 of the Code of Virginia provides that 

the Criminal Justice Services Board shall adopt regulations 

establishing minimum standards for certification of crime 

prevention specialists. Such regulations shall require that the 

chief law-enforcement officer of the locality or the campus 

police departments of institutions of higher education 

established by Article 3 (§ 23.1-809 et seq.) of Chapter 8 of 

Title 23.1 of the Code of Virginia wherein the person serves 

shall approve the certification before a candidate for 

certification may serve as a crime prevention specialist.  

Purpose: The regulation is being amended for the purpose and 

goal of correcting regulatory citations, providing clarifying 

language, and removing redundant language. This regulation 

is essential to protect the health, safety, and welfare of 

citizens. The regulation sets forth the process for becoming a 

certified crime prevention specialist. Certified crime 

prevention specialists work with law enforcement, businesses, 

and citizens in their communities to provide security 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=066e4005005~1&typ=40&actno=005005&mime=application/pdf
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assessments, training on topics such as personal safety, crime 

prevention for seniors, school safety and security, and 

establish Neighborhood Watch programs. The work of crime 

prevention specialists reduces crimes within communities, 

which protects the health, safety, and welfare of citizens. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

Department of Criminal Justice Services and the Criminal 

Justice Services Board anticipate the proposed amendments to 

be noncontroversial and appropriate for a fast-track 

rulemaking action because the amendments do not change the 

current requirements to become a certified crime prevention 

specialist. 

Substance: The amendments clarify the following: (i) 

employees of private colleges and universities are eligible to 

be trained and certified as a crime prevention specialist and 

(ii) agency heads may delegate the authority to designate 

employees to be trained and certified as crime prevention 

specialist. The amendments remove an incorrect citation, 

6VAC20-80-10, referencing the definition section of Rules 

Relating to Certification of Criminal Justice Instructors and 

replace it with 6VAC20-80-20, which identifies the 

requirements for general instructor certification. The 

amendments also change a citation to Title 23 of the Code of 

Virginia to the correct citation in Title 23.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Issues: The advantages to the public and the Commonwealth 

include the ability to reference the correct citations in the 

Virginia Administrative Code and Code of Virginia, 

clarification of confusing language, and the removal of 

redundant language where appropriate. There are no 

disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings:  This 

regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Criminal Justice Services Board (Board) proposes to amend 

its regulation for the crime prevention specialists to update 

out of date references to regulation and to the Code of 

Virginia (COV). The Board also proposes to remove a listing 

of who is eligible to be a trained as a crime prevention 

specialist because the list does not include all eligible groups. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits outweigh costs for all proposed 

changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. This regulation sets forth the 

process to become a certified crime prevention specialist. 

Board staff reports that "Certified crime prevention specialists 

work with law enforcement, businesses and citizens in their 

communities to: provide security assessments and training on 

topics such as personal safety, crime prevention for seniors 

and school safety and security" Crime prevention specialists 

also work in communities to help establish Neighborhood 

Watch programs. 

The Board proposes several changes to this regulation that do 

not change current rules or practice. Specifically, the Board 

proposes to update references to the COV and to regulation 

where referenced standards have been moved since this 

regulation was last updated. The Board also proposes to 

remove language that contains a list of who can receive crime 

prevention specialist training because that list does not 

include all eligible groups and is, therefore, misleading. Other 

language in the regulation specifies that "the agency 

administrator of any local, state or federal government agency 

or college or university" may designate employees for 

certification training. Changes such as these do not impose 

any costs on any affected entity but provide the benefit of 

additional clarity to interested parties reading the regulation.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulatory 

changes will affect all sworn and non-sworn law-enforcement 

officers as well as individuals working in schools, on college 

campuses and in universities who are eligible to be certified 

as crime prevention specialists. Board staff reports that there 

are currently twelve certified crime prevention communities
1
 

and four certified crime prevention campuses
2
 in the 

Commonwealth; all of these are required to have at least one 

certified crime prevention specialist. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The Cities of Galax, 

Hampton, Newport News, Roanoke, and Virginia Beach, the 

Counties of Chesterfield, Fairfax, Hanover and Henrico and 

the Towns of Christianburg, Herndon and Smithfield are 

crime prevention communities and will be particularly 

affected by these proposed regulatory changes.  

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No small businesses will be 

adversely affected by these proposed regulatory changes. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 

businesses will be adversely affected by these proposed 

regulatory changes.  

Adverse Impacts: 
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Businesses. No businesses will be adversely affected by these 

proposed regulatory changes. 

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 

see any adverse impacts on account of these proposed 

regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely 

affected by these proposed changes. 

_________________________________________ 
1 These crime prevention communities are the Cities of Galax, Hampton, 

Newport News, Roanoke, and Virginia Beach, the Counties of Chesterfield, 
Fairfax, Hanover, Henrico and the Towns of Christianburg, Herndon and 

Smithfield. 
2 These four campuses are those for Virginia Commonwealth University, 
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, University of Richmond 

and Christopher Newport University. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) concurs 

generally with the economic impact analysis provided by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. The revisions do not 

change the requirements for becoming a crime prevention 

specialist; therefore, there is no economic impact to certified 

crime prevention specialists, certified crime prevention 

communities, or certified crime prevention campuses. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) clarify that an employee of a private 

college or university is eligible to be trained and certified 

as a crime prevention specialist, (ii) clarify that an agency 

head may delegate the authority to designate employees to 

be trained and certified as a crime prevention specialist, 

and (iii) correct citations to the Virginia Administrative 

Code and the Code of Virginia. 

6VAC20-180-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise.  

"Agency administrator" means any chief of police, sheriff, 

or any agency head of local, state, federal and college or 

university law-enforcement agencies sworn under § 23-232.1 

23.1-810 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Crime prevention services" means providing for the 

anticipation, recognition, and appraisal of a crime risk and the 

initiation of an activity to remove or reduce the opportunity 

for crime.  

"Department" means the Department of Criminal Justice 

Services.  

"Employee" means any sworn or civilian individual, 

including auxiliaries, reserve-deputies, and volunteers 

employed by a local, state, or federal government agency, or 

college or university in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"General law-enforcement instructor" means an individual 

who has complied with all of the applicable standards for 

certification or recertification, whichever applies, contained 

in 6VAC20-80-10 6VAC20-80-20, and is eligible to instruct, 

teach, or lecture approved or mandated training.  

"Local, state, or federal government agency" means any 

political unit or identifiable subunit through which an 

individual or body that governs, exercises its authority, 

performs its functions, and which has as its principal duty or 

duties the administration of public policy.  

6VAC20-180-20. Duties of a crime prevention specialist.  

The duties of crime prevention specialists are shall be in 

accordance with § 9.1-161 of the Code of Virginia and 

include the following:  

1. To provide citizens within their jurisdiction information 

concerning personal safety and the security of property, 

and other matters relating to the reduction of criminal 

opportunity.  

2. To provide business establishments within their 

jurisdiction information concerning business and employee 

security, and other matters relating to the reduction of 

criminal activity, including but not limited to, internal and 

external theft, environmental design, and computer 

security.  

3. To provide citizens or businesses within their 

jurisdiction assistance in forming and maintaining 

neighborhood or business watch groups or other 

community-based crime prevention programs.  

4. To provide assistance to other units of government 

within their jurisdiction in developing plans and 

procedures related to the reduction of criminal activity in 

government and the community.  

5. To promote the reduction and prevention of crime within 

their jurisdiction and the Commonwealth.  

6VAC20-180-30. Eligibility.  

A. Any employee (sworn, nonsworn, or volunteer) of a 

local, state or federal government agency who serves in a 

law-enforcement, crime prevention, or criminal justice 

capacity is eligible to be trained and certified as a crime 

prevention specialist.  

B. A. The agency administrator or his designee of any local, 

state, or federal government agency or college or university 

may designate one or more eligible employees in his 

department or office who serve in a law-enforcement, crime 

prevention, or criminal justice capacity to be trained and 

certified as crime prevention specialists. Applicants for 

recertification shall be recommended by the agency 

administrator or his designee. Application shall be made on 

the Crime Prevention Specialist Certification Application-

Form A.  

C. B. All crime prevention specialist applicants provided for 

in this chapter shall be approved only upon recommendation 

of a law-enforcement agency having jurisdiction where the 

crime prevention specialist shall serve.  
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D. C. This chapter does not limit or prohibit the chief 

executive of any local, state or federal government agency 

from assigning personnel to crime prevention tasks who are 

not certified as crime prevention specialists.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4900; Filed December 8, 2016, 8:38 p.m.  

BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC35-160. Regulations Governing 

Juvenile Record Information and the Virginia Juvenile 

Justice Information System (amending 6VAC35-160-10, 

6VAC35-160-30 through 6VAC35-160-70, 6VAC35-160-

90, 6VAC35-160-100, 6VAC35-160-110, 6VAC35-160-130, 

6VAC35-160-150, 6VAC35-160-170, 6VAC35-160-180, 

6VAC35-160-210, 6VAC35-160-220, 6VAC35-160-260, 

6VAC35-160-280 through 6VAC35-160-360; repealing 

6VAC35-160-390).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-223 and 66-10 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: March 10, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Janet P. Van Cuyk, Legislative and 

Research Manager, Department of Juvenile Justice, 600 East 

Main Street, 20th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 588-3879, FAX (804) 371-6490, or email 

janet.vancuyk@djj.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Board of Juvenile Justice is entrusted with general 

authority to promulgate regulations by § 66-10 of the Code of 

Virginia, which provides that the board may "promulgate 

such regulations as may be necessary to carry out the 

provisions of this title and other laws of the Commonwealth." 

Sections 16.1-222 and 16.1-223 of the Code of Virginia 

specifically address the establishment of the Virginia Juvenile 

Justice Information System and the board's related authority 

to promulgate regulations governing the security and 

confidentiality of any data submission.  

Purpose: The regulation applies to the juvenile record 

information of all juveniles supervised by or in the care and 

custody of the department. The purpose of the proposed 

amendments is to maintain the confidentiality requirements of 

§ 16.1-300 of the Code of Virginia and to ensure that the 

regulation is consistent with the security requirements for 

juvenile information set out in the Commonwealth of Virginia 

Information Technology Resource Management (COV 

ITRM) Standards.  

The proposed amendments will ensure that background 

checks are required for individuals who have access to 

juvenile record information and that Department of Juvenile 

Justice (DJJ) regulations are consistent with the COV ITRM 

statewide technology standards. These standards are intended 

to ensure that juvenile record data are collected, disseminated, 

and processed in a manner that protects the security and 

confidentiality of the data. These amendments are therefore 

necessary to protect the safety and welfare of the general 

public.  

Substance: The proposed amendments (i) require background 

checks for those individuals who will have access to juvenile 

record information; and (ii) as DJJ is subject to COV ITRM 

Standards, replace references to DJJ data policies with 

references to these statewide technology standards. While the 

existing regulation does not mandate background checks 

before individuals may access juvenile records, DJJ's policy 

requires such background checks. In addition, the proposed 

amendments remove antiquated terms and requirements and 

provide clarifying language for previously vague processes. 

Issues: The proposed amendments provide several advantages 

to the general public. The ITRM standards, after which the 

proposed amendments to the regulation are modeled, ensure 

that juvenile record data are collected, disseminated, and 

processed in a manner that protects the security and 

confidentiality of the data and thereby protects the general 

public. The regulation provides a mechanism for individuals 

or their representatives to challenge juvenile record 

information, and the proposed amendments clarify the 

process. 

Additionally, the proposed amendments benefit the 

department, state and locally operated court service units, 

secure juvenile detention centers, juvenile group homes, and 

other public and child welfare agencies by providing them 

with specific, up-to-date guidance regarding (i) the processes 

for requesting juvenile record information, (ii) the manner in 

which challenges concerning juvenile record information 

must be handled, and (iii) the process by which juvenile 

record information may be expunged. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As the 

result of a comprehensive review, the Board of Juvenile 

Justice (Board) proposes to amend its regulation governing 

juvenile records. The Board proposes numerous clarifying 

changes and several substantive changes; the substantive 

changes to this regulation include requiring background 

checks for all individuals who are given access to the Virginia 

Juvenile Justice Information System (VJJIS) and adding 

references to Commonwealth of Virginia Information 

Technology Resource Management (COV ITRM) standards.
1
  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for this 

proposed change. 

Estimated Economic Impact. This regulation governs access 

to the records of juveniles in the care of the Department of 

Juvenile Justice (DJJ). As the result of a comprehensive 

review the Board now proposes many changes to this 

regulation. Most of these amendments will not change any 

rights or obligations for regulated entities but are, instead, 

meant to bring the regulations up to date and clarify current 

requirements. For example, current language includes 
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references to authorized employees who are able to access 

juvenile records. Since private contractors are also authorized, 

in some instances,
2
 to access records, these references were 

not as inclusive as they could be. The Board now proposes to 

replace the word "employees" with "individuals." No entity is 

likely to incur costs on account of this type of change. 

Affected entities will benefit from the additional clarity these 

changes bring. 

In addition to these clarifying changes, the Board proposes 

two substantive changes to this regulation. Currently, the 

regulation allows for, but does not require, background 

checks for all individuals who will have access to juvenile 

records. The Board now proposes to require background 

checks for all such individuals. Board staff reports that, even 

though current regulatory language does not require these 

background checks, DJJ policy does. Because of this, no 

affected entities are likely to incur costs on account of this 

change. To the extent that requiring background checks may 

make authorized individuals less likely to misuse the 

information that they can access, juveniles in custody will 

likely benefit from this change. 

Current regulation contains several specific protocols for 

accessing information. For instance, current regulation 

contains language referencing DJJ's general requirements for 

remote access of records. As DJJ is subject to COV ITRM 

Standards,
3
 the Board now proposes to replace references to 

DJJ data policies with references to these statewide policies. 

No entity is likely to incur costs on account of this change; as 

this change will add clarity and eliminate the possibility that 

DJJ's data requirements would become obsolete as statewide 

requirements change, interested parties will benefit from it. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that this 

regulation sets juvenile data access rules for participating 

agencies. Participating agencies include 34 state and locally 

operated court services units, two DJJ operated juvenile 

correctional facilities, 24 locally operated secure detention 

centers, any juvenile group homes in the Commonwealth that 

are funded (in whole or in part) by the Virginia Juvenile 

Community Crime Control Act and any other entities that 

provide services or treatment to juveniles either through 

contract with DJJ or under the auspices of the Virginia 

Juvenile Community Crime Control Act. All of these entities 

and all juveniles whose information is in the VJJIS will be 

affected by these proposed regulatory changes. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by these regulatory changes.  

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to have any impact on employment in 

the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

proposed regulation is unlikely to have any impact on the use 

or value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This proposed regulation is 

unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No small business is likely to incur 

compliance costs on account of these proposed regulatory 

changes. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 

business is likely to incur compliance costs on account of 

these proposed regulatory changes.  

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. No business is likely to incur compliance costs on 

account of these proposed regulatory changes. 

Localities. No locality is likely to be adversely affected by 

these proposed regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to suffer any 

adverse impact on account of this proposed regulation. 

____________________________________ 
1 These are Virginia Information Technology Agency (VITA) information 

security standards. 
2 For instance, mental health care providers who contract with DJJ would be 

authorized to access the records of their clients. 
3 These standards and a relevant glossary can be accessed at: 
http://vita.virginia.gov/library/default.aspx?id=537 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Juvenile Justice has reviewed the Department of Planning 

and Budget's economic impact analysis. The agency is in 

agreement with the analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments include (i) requiring 

background checks for those individuals who will have 

access to juvenile record information, (ii) replacing 

references to Department of Juvenile Justice data policies 

with references to the Information Technology Resource 

Management standards, which are the technology 

standards for all executive agencies of the Commonwealth, 

(iii) removing outdated terms and requirements, and (iv) 

clarifying processes that were previously vague.  

Part I  

General Provisions  

6VAC35-160-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise.  

"Access" means the ability directly to obtain information 

concerning an individual juvenile contained in manual or 

automated files. 

"Commonwealth of Virginia Information Technology 

Resource Management Standards" or "COV ITRM 

Standards" means the information technology standards 

http://vita.virginia.gov/library/default.aspx?id=537
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applicable to all executive branch agencies that manage, 

develop, purchase, and use information technology resources 

in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Data owner" means a Department of Juvenile Justice 

employee who is responsible for the policy and practice 

decisions regarding data as identified by COV ITRM 

Standard Security (SEC) 501–08. 

"Department" means the Department of Juvenile Justice.  

"Destroy" means to totally eliminate and eradicate by 

various methods, including, but not limited to, shredding, 

incinerating, or pulping.  

"Dissemination" means any transfer of juvenile record 

information, whether orally, in writing, or by electronic 

means to any person other than an employee of a participating 

agency who has a right to the is authorized to receive the 

information under § 16.1-300 of the Code of Virginia and 

who is not barred from receiving the information by other 

applicable law.  

"Expunge" means to destroy all records concerning an 

individual juvenile, or all personal identifying information 

related to an individual juvenile that is included in aggregated 

files and databases, in accordance with a court order or the 

Code of Virginia.  

"Juvenile record information" means any information in the 

possession of a participating agency pertaining to the case of 

a juvenile who is or has been the subject of an action by an 

intake officer as provided by § 16.1-260 of the Code of 

Virginia, as well as to personal identifying information 

concerning such a juvenile in any database or other 

aggregated compilation of records. The term does not apply 

to statistical or analytical records or reports in which 

individuals are not identified and from which their identities 

are not ascertainable.  

"Need to know" means the principle that a user should 

access only the specific information necessary to perform a 

particular function in the exercise of his official duties. Once 

access to an application is authorized, the authorized data user 

is still obligated to assess the appropriateness of each specific 

access on a need-to-know basis only necessary to perform 

official job duties and responsibilities.  

"Participating agency" means the Department of Juvenile 

Justice department, including state-operated court service 

units, or; any locally operated court service unit, secure 

juvenile detention home, center, or juvenile group home or 

emergency shelter; or any public agency, child welfare 

agency, private organization, facility, or person who is 

treating or providing services to a child pursuant to a contract 

with the department or pursuant to the Virginia Juvenile 

Community Crime Control Act as set out in Article 12.1 

(§ 16.1-309.2 et seq.) of Chapter 11 of Title 16.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, that is approved by the department to have direct 

access to juvenile record information through the Virginia 

Juvenile Justice Information System VJJIS or any of its 

component or derivative information systems. The term 

"participating agency" does not include any court. 

"Remote access" means a connection to the department's 

systems from a remote location other than a department 

facility. 

"Telecommunication connection" means the infrastructure 

used to establish a remote access to department information 

technology systems.  

"Virginia Juvenile Justice Information System (VJJIS)" or 

"VJJIS" means the equipment, facilities, agreements and 

procedures used to collect, process, preserve or disseminate 

juvenile record information in accordance with § 16.1-224 or 

§ 16.1-300 of the Code of Virginia. The operations of the 

system may be performed manually or by using electronic 

computers or other automated data processing equipment.  

"VJJIS functional administrator" means a Department of 

Juvenile Justice employee who is responsible for overseeing 

the operation of a specific component of the Virginia Juvenile 

Justice Information System. Such persons are sometimes 

referred to as "functional proponents" of particular 

information reporting systems. The functional administrator 

is not to be confused with the department's overall 

administrator of the VJJIS.  

Part II  

Participating Agencies in the Virginia Juvenile Justice 

Information System VJJIS  

6VAC35-160-30. Designation as a participating agency.  

A. The department, including its central administration, 

department-operated facilities, and state-operated court 

service units, is considered a single participating agency for 

purposes of this regulation.  

B. Locally operated court services units, and secure juvenile 

detention homes and boot camps as defined in § 16.1-228 of 

the Code of Virginia centers shall be participating agencies in 

the Virginia Juvenile Justice Information System VJJIS.  

C. Any other agency that is eligible to receive juvenile 

record information under § 16.1-300 of the Code of Virginia 

may apply to the department for status as a participating 

agency.  

6VAC35-160-40. Signed memorandum of agreement and 

nondisclosure agreement required.  

The department shall develop a written memorandum of 

agreement and a nondisclosure agreement with each other 

participating agency delineating the participating agency's 

access to and responsibility for information contained in the 

Virginia Juvenile Justice Information System VJJIS.  

6VAC35-160-50. Data submissions.  

A. All participating agencies shall submit data and other 

information as required by department policy procedures to 

ensure that juvenile record information is complete, accurate, 

current, and consistent.  
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B. Administrators of participating agencies are responsible 

for ensuring that entries into the juvenile justice information 

system VJJIS are accurate, timely, and in a form prescribed 

by the department.  

C. All information entered into the Virginia Juvenile Justice 

Information System VJJIS shall become part of a juvenile's 

record and shall be subject to the confidentiality provisions of 

§ 16.1-300 of the Code of Virginia.  

6VAC35-160-60. Access provided to participating 

agencies.  

A. In accordance with policies statutes, regulations, and 

procedures governing confidentiality of information and 

system security, the department may limit or expand the 

scope of access granted to participating agencies.  

B. When individuals or participating agencies are providing 

treatment or rehabilitative services to a juvenile as part of an 

agreement with the department, their access to juvenile record 

information shall be limited to that portion of the information 

that is relevant to the provision of the treatment or service. 

Once access to an application is authorized, the authorized 

data user is still obligated to assess the appropriateness of 

each specific access on a need-to-know basis.  

C. An individual's juvenile record information shall be made 

available only to participating agencies currently supervising 

or providing services to the juvenile, and only upon 

presentation of the unique identifying number assigned to the 

juvenile. Once access to an application is authorized, the 

authorized data user is still obligated to assess the 

appropriateness of each specific access on a need-to-know 

basis.  

6VAC35-160-70. Designation of authorized individuals.  

A. Each participating agency shall determine what positions 

in the agency require regular access to juvenile record 

information as part of their job responsibilities and as 

documented in the employee work profile.  

B. In accordance with applicable law and regulations, the 

The department may shall require a background check of any 

individual who will be given access to the VJJIS system 

through any participating agency. The department may deny 

access to any person based on the results of such background 

investigation or due to the person's violation of the provisions 

of these regulations this chapter or other security 

requirements established for the collection, storage, or 

dissemination of juvenile record information.  

C. Only authorized employees individuals shall have direct 

access to juvenile record information.  

D. Use of juvenile record information by an unauthorized 

employee individual, or for a purpose or activity other than 

one for which the person is authorized to receive juvenile 

record information, will shall be considered an unauthorized 

dissemination.  

E. Persons who are given access to juvenile record 

information shall be required to sign an agreement 

information security agreement in accordance with 

department procedure stating that they will use and 

disseminate the information only in compliance with law and 

these regulations, this chapter and that they understand that 

there are criminal and civil penalties for unauthorized 

dissemination.  

6VAC35-160-90. Security of physical records.  

A. A participating agency that possesses physical records or 

files containing juvenile record information shall institute 

procedures to ensure the physical security of such juvenile 

record information from unauthorized access, disclosure, 

dissemination, theft, sabotage, fire, flood, wind, or other 

natural or man-made disasters.  

B. Only authorized persons who are clearly identified shall 

have access to areas where juvenile record information is 

collected, stored, processed, or disseminated. Locks, guards, 

or other appropriate means shall be used to control access.  

6VAC35-160-100. Requirements when records are 

automated.  

Participating agencies having automated juvenile record 

information files shall:  

1. Designate a system administrator data owner to maintain 

and control authorized user accounts, system management, 

and the implementation of security measures;  

2. Maintain "backup" copies of juvenile record 

information, preferably off-site;  

3. Develop a disaster recovery plan, which shall be 

available for inspection and review by the department;  

4. Carefully control system specifications and 

documentation to prevent unauthorized access and 

dissemination 2. Develop and implement a logical access 

procedure to prevent unauthorized access and 

dissemination; and  

5. 3. Develop procedures for discarding old computers to 

ensure that information contained on those computers is 

not available to unauthorized persons. All data must be 

completely erased or otherwise made unreadable in 

accordance with COV ITRM Standard SEC 514–04, 

Removal of Commonwealth Data from Electronic Media 

Standard, or any successor COV ITRM standard that 

addresses the removal of Commonwealth data from 

electronic media. 

6VAC35-160-110. Access controls for computer security.  

A. Where juvenile record information is computerized, 

logical access controls shall be put in place to ensure that 

records can be queried, updated, or destroyed only from 

approved system user accounts. Industry standard levels of 

encryption shall be required to protect all confidential 

juvenile record information moving through any network.  

B. The logical access controls described in subsection A of 

this section shall be known only to the employees of the 

participating agency who are responsible for control of the 
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juvenile record information system or to individuals and 

agencies operating under a specific agreement with the 

participating agency to provide such security programs. The 

access controls shall be kept under maximum security 

conditions secure.  

C. Computer operations, whether dedicated or shared, that 

support juvenile record information shall operate in 

accordance with procedures developed or approved by the 

department.  

D. Juvenile record information shall be stored by the 

computer in such a manner that it cannot be modified, 

destroyed, accessed, changed, purged, or overlaid in any 

fashion except via an approved system user account.  

6VAC35-160-130. Security of telecommunications.  

A. Ordinarily, dedicated telecommunications lines shall be 

required for direct or remote access to computer systems 

containing juvenile record information. However, the The 

department may permit the use of a nondedicated means of 

data transmission to access juvenile record information when 

there are adequate and verifiable safeguards in place to 

restrict access to juvenile record information to authorized 

persons. Industry standard levels of encryption shall be 

required to protect all juvenile record information moving 

through any network.  

B. Where remote access of juvenile record information is 

permitted, remote access devices must be secure. Remote 

access devices capable of receiving or transmitting juvenile 

record information shall be secured during periods of 

operation. When the remote access device is unattended, the 

device shall be made inoperable for purposes of accessing 

juvenile record information by implementing a screen saver 

lockout period after a maximum of 15 minutes of inactivity 

for devices as required by COV ITRM Standards SEC 501–

09 or any successor COV ITRM Standard that addresses 

information security. In addition, appropriate identification of 

the remote access device operator shall be required.  

C. Telecommunications facilities The telecommunications 

connection used in connection with the remote access device 

shall also be secured. The telecommunications facilities 

Telecommunication connections shall be reasonably protected 

from possible tampering or tapping.  

6VAC35-160-150. Correcting errors.  

Participating agencies shall immediately notify the 

appropriate VJJIS functional administrator data owner when 

it is found that incorrect information has been entered into the 

juvenile justice information system VJJIS. The VJJIS 

functional administrator data owner will make arrangements 

to correct the information as soon as practicable in 

accordance with department procedures.  

6VAC35-160-170. Information to be disseminated only in 

accordance with law applicable statutes and regulation 

regulations.  

A. In accordance with § 16.1-223 of the Code of Virginia, 

data stored in the Virginia Juvenile Justice Information 

System VJJIS shall be confidential. Information from such 

data that identifies an individual juvenile may be released 

only in accordance with § 16.1-300 of the Code of Virginia, 

applicable federal law, and this regulation chapter.  

B. Unauthorized dissemination of juvenile record 

information will result in subject the disseminator's being 

subject disseminator to the administrative sanctions described 

in 6VAC35-160-380. Unlawful dissemination also may be 

prosecuted as a Class 3 misdemeanor under § 16.1-309 of the 

Code of Virginia or as a Class 2 misdemeanor under § 16.1-

225 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. Additional disclosure limitations are provided in the 

Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (42 USC 

§§ 1320d-5 and 1320d-6) and the federal substance abuse law 

(42 USC § 290dd2(f)).  

6VAC35-160-180. Fees.  

Participating agencies may charge a reasonable fee for 

search and copying time expended when an individual or a 

nonparticipating agency requests juvenile record information. 

The participating agency shall inform the requester of the fees 

to be charged, and shall obtain written agreement from the 

requester to pay such costs prior to initiating the search for 

requested information. Any release shall be in accordance 

with applicable statutes and regulations. 

6VAC35-160-210. Determining requestor's eligibility to 

receive the information.  

A. Upon receipt of a request for juvenile record information, 

an appropriately designated person shall determine whether 

the requesting agency or individual is eligible to receive 

juvenile record information as provided in § 16.1-300 of the 

Code of Virginia, federal law, and this regulation chapter.  

B. The determination as to whether a person, agency or 

institution has a "legitimate interest" in a juvenile's case shall 

be based on the criteria specified in subdivision A 7 of 

§ 16.1-300 A 7 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. When there is a request to disseminate health records or 

substance abuse treatment records, the person responding to 

the request shall determine whether the requested information 

is protected by the Health Insurance Portability and 

Accountability Act of 1996 or by the federal law on substance 

abuse treatment records (42 USC § 290dd-2 and 42 CFR Part 

2), and may consult with designated department personnel in 

making this determination. Health records and substance 

abuse treatment records shall be disseminated only in strict 

compliance with the applicable federal statutory 

requirements, the Code of Virginia, and this chapter.  
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6VAC35-160-220. Responding to requests.  

A. Once it is determined that a requestor is entitled to 

juvenile record information, a designated individual shall 

inform the requestor of the procedures for reviewing the 

juvenile record information, including the general restrictions 

on the use of the data, when the record will be available, and 

any costs that may be involved.  

B. When the request for juvenile record information is made 

by an individual's parent, guardian, legal custodian or other 

person standing in loco parentis, the request shall be referred 

to designated personnel of the department. (See 6VAC35-

160-230.)  

C. Before beginning the search for the requested juvenile 

record information, a designated individual shall inform the 

requester of any fees that will be charged pursuant to 

6VAC35-160-180 and shall obtain the consent of the 

requester to pay any charges associated with providing the 

requested information.  

D. C. All records containing sensitive data (e.g., name, date 

of birth, social security number, or address) shall be 

encrypted prior to electronic dissemination. Except as 

provided in subsection B of this section, requested records 

shall be provided as soon as practicable, but in any case 

within seven 10 business days unless compliance with other 

applicable regulations requires a longer response time.  

E. D. If the request for information is made to a participating 

agency and the participating agency does not have access to 

the particular information requested, the requestor shall be so 

notified and shall be told how to request the information from 

the appropriate source, if known.  

F. E. Personnel of the participating agency shall provide 

reasonable assistance to the individual or his attorney to help 

understand the record.  

G. F. The person releasing the record shall also inform the 

individual of his right to challenge the record as provided in 

6VAC35-160-280.  

H. G. If no record can be found, a statement shall be 

furnished to this effect.  

6VAC35-160-260. Reporting unauthorized 

disseminations.  

A. Participating agencies shall notify the department when 

they observe any violations of the above dissemination 

regulations contained in this part. The department will shall 

investigate and respond to the violation as provided in law 

and this chapter.  

B. A participating agency that knowingly fails to report a 

violation may be subject to an immediate audit of its entire 

dissemination log and procedures to ensure that 

disseminations are being appropriately managed.  

Part IV  

Challenge To to and Correction of Juvenile Record 

Information  

6VAC35-160-280. Challenge.  

A. Individuals, or persons acting on an individual's behalf as 

provided for by law, may challenge their own juvenile record 

information by completing documentation provided by the 

department and forwarding it to the functional proponent data 

owner who is responsible for the applicable component of the 

the Virginia Juvenile Justice Information System VJJIS as 

prescribed in department procedures.  

B. When a record that is maintained by the VJJIS is 

challenged, both the manual and the automated record shall 

be flagged with the message "CHALLENGED RECORD." 

The individual shall be given an opportunity to make provide 

a brief written statement describing how the information 

contained in the record is alleged to be inaccurate. When a 

challenged record is disseminated while under challenge, the 

record shall carry both the flagged message and the 

individual's statement, if one has been provided.  

C. The VJJIS functional administrator data owner or 

designee shall examine the individual's record to determine if 

a data entry error was made. If a data entry error is not 

obvious, the VJJIS functional administrator data owner shall 

send a copy of the challenge form and any relevant 

information to all agencies that could have originated the 

information under challenge, and shall ask them to examine 

their files to determine the validity of the challenge.  

D. The participating agencies shall examine their source 

data, the contents of the challenge, and information supplied 

by the VJJIS for any discrepancies or errors, and shall advise 

the VJJIS functional administrator data owner of the results 

of the examination.  

E. If a modification of a VJJIS record is required, the VJJIS 

functional administrator data owner shall ensure that the 

required change is made and shall notify all participating 

agencies that were asked to examine their records in 

connection with the challenge.  

F. Participating agencies that, pursuant to 6VAC35-160-220, 

have disseminated an erroneous or incomplete record shall in 

turn notify all entities that have received the erroneous 

juvenile record information as recorded on the agency's 

dissemination log.  

G. The participating agency that received the challenge shall 

notify the individual or person acting on the individual's 

behalf of the results of the challenge and the right to request 

an administrative review and appeal those results.  

6VAC35-160-290. Administrative review of challenge 

results.  

A. If not satisfied with the results of the challenge, the 

individual or those acting on his behalf may, within 30 

calendar days, request in writing an administrative review of 
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the challenge by the Director director of the Department of 

Juvenile Justice department.  

B. Within 30 days of receiving the written request for the 

administrative review, the Director director of the Department 

of Juvenile Justice department, or a designee who is not the 

VJJIS functional administrator data owner who responded to 

the challenge, shall review the challenge, the findings of the 

review, and the action taken by the VJJIS functional 

administrator data owner. If the administrative review 

supports correction of the juvenile record information, the 

correction shall be made as prescribed above in this section.  

6VAC35-160-300. Removal of a challenge designation.  

When juvenile the challenge to the juvenile's record 

information is determined to be correct has been resolved, 

either as a result of a challenge or an administrative review of 

the challenge, the VJJIS functional administrator data owner 

shall notify the affected participating agencies to remove the 

challenge designation from their files.  

Part V  

Expungement  

6VAC35-160-310. Expungement requirements.  

When a court orders or law requires the expungement of an 

individual's juvenile records, all records and personal 

identifying information associated with the expungement 

order shall be destroyed in accordance with the court order or 

statutory requirement. Nonidentifying information may be 

kept in databases or other aggregated files for statistical 

purposes.  

6VAC35-160-320. Notification to participating agencies.  

The VJJIS functional administrator data owner shall notify 

all participating agencies to purge their records of any 

reference to the person whose record has been ordered 

expunged. The notification shall include a copy of the 

applicable court order, along with notice of the penalties 

imposed by law for disclosure of such personal identifying 

information (see § 16.1-309 of the Code of Virginia).  

6VAC35-160-330. Procedures for expunging juvenile 

record information.  

A. Paper versions of records that have been ordered 

expunged shall be destroyed by shredding, incinerating, 

pulping, or otherwise totally eradicating the record.  

B. Computerized versions of records that have been ordered 

expunged shall be deleted from all databases and electronic 

files in such a way that the records cannot be accessed or 

recreated through ordinary use of any equipment or software 

that is part of the Virginia Juvenile Justice Information 

System VJJIS and in accordance with the ITRM SEC 514–03 

Removal of Electronic Data from Electronic Media standard.  

C. If personal identifying information concerning the subject 

individual is included in records that are not ordered 

expunged, the personal identifying information relating to the 

individual whose records have been ordered expunged shall 

be obliterated on the original, or a new document shall be 

created eliminating the personal identifying references to the 

individual whose record has been ordered expunged.  

6VAC35-160-340. Confirmation notice required to VJJIS 

functional administrator data owner.  

Within 30 calendar days of receiving expungement 

instructions from the VJJIS functional administrator data 

owner, the participating agency shall expunge the juvenile 

record information in accordance with 6VAC35-160-330 and 

shall notify the VJJIS functional administrator data owner 

when the records have been expunged. The notification to the 

VJJIS functional administrator data owner shall indicate that 

juvenile records were expunged in accordance with court 

order and shall not identify the juvenile whose records where 

were expunged.  

6VAC35-160-350. Expungement order received directly 

by participating agency.  

When a participating agency receives an expungement order 

directly from a court, the participating agency shall promptly 

comply with the expungement order in accordance with 

6VAC35-160-330 and shall notify the VJJIS functional 

administrator data owner of the court-ordered expungement. 

The VJJIS functional administrator shall data owner, upon 

receipt of such notification, obtain a copy of the order from 

the appropriate court shall contact the appropriate court and 

determine the validity of the notification, as applicable.  

Part VI  

Disposition of Records in the Virginia Juvenile Justice 

Information System  

6VAC35-160-355. Record retention.  

All records in the Virginia Juvenile Justice Information 

System VJJIS shall be retained and disposed of in accordance 

with the applicable records retention schedules approved by 

the Library of Virginia. When a participating agency or a unit 

of a participating agency disposes of records in the physical 

possession of the participating agency or the unit of a 

participating agency, the person who disposes of such records 

shall notify the VJJIS functional administrator data owner to 

remove that same information from VJJIS.  

Part VII  

Enforcement  

6VAC35-160-360. Oversight by the Department of 

Juvenile Justice department.  

A. The Department of Juvenile Justice department shall 

have the responsibility for monitoring compliance with this 

chapter and for taking enforcement action as provided in this 

chapter or by law applicable state and federal statutes and 

regulations.  

B. The department shall have the right to audit, monitor, and 

inspect any facilities, equipment, software, systems, or 

procedures established pursuant to required by this chapter.  
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6VAC35-160-390. Annual report to the board. (Repealed.) 

The department shall annually report to the board on the 

status of the Juvenile Justice Information System, including a 

summary of (i) any known security breaches and corrective 

actions taken; (ii) any audits conducted, whether random or 

for cause; and (iii) any challenges received alleging erroneous 

information and the outcome of any investigation in response 

to such a challenge.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4311; Filed December 15, 2016, 4:02 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 7. ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

DEPARTMENT OF SMALL BUSINESS AND 
SUPPLIER DIVERSITY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Small Business 

and Supplier Diversity is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with subdivision 8 

of § 2.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts 

regulations implementing certification programs for small, 

women-owned, and minority-owned businesses and 

employment services organizations from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to subdivision B 2 of § 2.2-4002 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

Title of Regulation: 7VAC13-20. Regulations to Govern the 

Certification of Small, Women-Owned, and Minority-

Owned Businesses (amending 7VAC13-20-10, 7VAC13-

20-150, 7VAC13-20-190, 7VAC13-20-220).  

Statutory Authority: § 2.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 8, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Reba O'Connor, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Small Business and Supplier Diversity, 101 

North 14th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

593-2005, or email reba.oconnor@sbsd.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) add a definition of "gross receipts," 

(ii) remove incorrect language regarding application of 

the Administrative Process Act, and (iii) remove a 

provision prohibiting a business whose certification has 

been revoked from reapplying for certification after 

revocation. 

7VAC13-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Affiliate" means a business that is connected in some way, 

whether financially or legally, to a business that has applied 

to the department for certification as a small, women-owned, 

or minority-owned business (see the federal Small Business 

Administration regulations, 13 CFR Part 121). The following 

requirements, conditions, and factors are applicable: 

1. Businesses are affiliates of each other when, either 

directly or indirectly: 

a. One business controls or has the power to control the 

other;  

b. A third party controls or has the power to control both;  

c. An identity of interest between or among parties exists 

such that affiliation may be found; or 

d. One business or company has ownership, direct or 

indirect, of 10% or more of the voting stock of another 

business. (See the Investment Company Act, 15 USC 

§ 80a-2.) 

2. In determining whether affiliation exists, it is necessary 

to consider all appropriate factors, including common 

ownership, common management, and contractual 

relationships. Affiliates must be considered together in 

determining whether a concern meets small business size 

criteria and the statutory cap on the participation of firms 

in the small, women-owned, or minority-owned business 

certification program. 

"Agent" means a person that (i) has the authority to act on 

behalf of a principal in transactions with third parties; (ii) is 

subject to the principal's control; and (iii) does not have title 

to the principal's property. 

"Appeal" means a written request by an applicant to 

reconsider a denial or revocation of certification. 

"Applicant" means any business that applies to the 

department for certification or recertification as a small, 

women-owned, or minority-owned business.  

"Application" means the documents the department requires 

the applicant to submit in the course of certification or 

recertification, including the application form the applicant 

submits under penalty of perjury, which may include any 

additional documentation that the department requests that the 

applicant submit, and any information or report that the 

department generates during or upon completion of an onsite 

visit.  

"Broker" means a person who acts as an intermediary 

between a buyer and seller.  

"Business" means any legal entity organized in the United 

States or a commonwealth or territory of the United States 

that regularly engages in lawful commercial transactions for 

profit.  

"Certification" means the same as that term is defined in 

§ 2.2-1604 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Certified" means the status accorded to an applicant upon 

the department's determination that the applicant has satisfied 

the requirements for certification as a small, women-owned, 

or minority-owned business.  
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"Control" means the power to direct the operation and 

management of a business as evidenced through governance 

documents and actual day-to-day operation. 

"Corporation" means a legal entity that is incorporated under 

the law of a state, the United States, or a commonwealth or 

territory of the United States. 

"Day" means any day except Saturday, Sunday, and legal 

state holidays unless otherwise noted.  

"Dealer" means a person or business that has the exclusive 

or nonexclusive authority to sell specified goods or services 

on behalf of another business. 

"Department" means the Department of Small Business and 

Supplier Diversity. 

"Director" means the Director of the Department of Small 

Business and Supplier Diversity or his designee.  

"Expiration" means the date on which the director specifies 

that a certified business will cease to be certified.  

"Franchise" means a contractual arrangement characterized 

by the authorization granted to someone to sell or distribute a 

company's goods or services in a certain area. 

"Franchisee" means a business or group of businesses 

established or operated under a franchise agreement. 

"Gross receipts" means the amount reported as gross 

receipts of sales by the applicant on line 1 or 1(A) of the 

applicable federal income tax return as filed with the United 

States Internal Revenue Service. 

"Individual" means a natural person. 

"Joint venture" means a formal association of two or more 

persons or businesses for the purpose of carrying out a time-

limited, single business enterprise for profit, in which the 

associated persons or businesses combine their property, 

capital, efforts, skills, or knowledge, and in which the 

associated persons or businesses exercise control and 

management and share in profits and losses in proportion to 

their contribution to the business enterprise. 

"Limited liability company" means a specific type of legal 

entity that is in compliance with the applicable requirements 

of the law of its state of formation. 

"Manufacturer's representative" means an agent whose 

principal is a manufacturer or group of manufacturers.  

"Minority individual" means the same as that term is defined 

in § 2.2-1604 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Onsite visit" means a visit by department representatives to 

the applicant's physical place of business to verify the 

applicant's representations submitted to the department in the 

course of certification or recertification.  

"Ownership" means an equity, a partnership, or a 

membership interest in a business.  

"Partnership" means an association of two or more persons 

to carry on as co-owners a business for profit. 

"Person" means a natural person or a business. 

"Principal" means a person who contracts with another to act 

on the contracting person's behalf subject to that person's 

control. 

"Principal place of business" means the physical business 

location where the business maintains its headquarters, where 

the business's books and records are kept, and where the 

natural persons who direct, control, and manage the business's 

day-to-day operations are located. If the offices from which 

management is directed and where the business records are 

kept are in different locations, the department will determine 

the principal place of business. 

"Pro forma" means as a matter of form or assumed 

information. 

"Recertification" means the process by which a business 

applies to the department for renewed or continued status as a 

certified business.  

"Record" means the materials submitted in support of an 

application for certification or recertification, which may 

include the application, supporting documentation, and 

additional materials obtained by the department in the course 

of the application, certification, or recertification process. 

"Sole proprietorship" means a business whose assets are 

wholly owned by a single person.  

"Virginia-based business" means a business that has its 

principal place of business in Virginia. 

7VAC13-20-150. Procedures for initial certification. 

A. Any business that meets the criteria for certification may 

file an official application with the department.  

B. The application will be reviewed initially for 

completeness. The department may conduct an onsite visit of 

the business to obtain or clarify any information. The onsite 

visit may be scheduled or unannounced.  

C. The department may request the applicant to provide 

additional information or documentation to provide 

clarification and substantiation of certain criteria or to resolve 

any ambiguities or inconsistencies in an application.  

D. The department may impose a time limit in which the 

applicant must provide the requested information. A 

reasonable extension may be given by the department for 

good cause shown by the applicant. Requests for time 

extensions must be made to the department in writing and 

should specify the length of time for which the extension is 

being requested and the reasons for the request. Failure to 

provide such information or documentation shall render the 

application administratively closed.  

E. After reviewing the application, the department shall 

issue either a notice of certification or a notice of denial of 

certification stating the reasons for denial and offering the 

applicant the opportunity for an informal hearing pursuant to 

§ 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia.  

F. A business certified by the department under this section 

shall be certified for a period of three years unless (i) the 
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certification is revoked before the end of the three-year 

period, (ii) the business is no longer in business, or (iii) the 

business is no longer eligible as a small, women-owned, or 

minority-owned business.  

G. The applicant shall be responsible for notifying the 

department immediately of any change in legal structure, 

ownership, control, management, or status of the business 

within 30 calendar days of such change. Failure to do so may 

be grounds for revocation of certification.  

H. It shall be the responsibility of the applicant, the certified 

business, or both to notify the department of any change of 

name, address, or contact information and to keep the 

department informed of the current address and contact 

information. Changes of name and address must be reported 

to the department in writing within 30 calendar days of such 

change. Failure to do so within 30 calendar days of such 

change may be grounds for revocation of certification. The 

department shall not be liable or responsible if a certified 

business fails to receive notices, communications, or 

correspondence based upon the certified business's failure to 

notify the department of any change of address or to provide 

correct address and contact information.  

7VAC13-20-190. Notice of denial. 

The department shall notify the applicant of the denial of its 

application for certification or recertification in writing no 

later than 15 days from the date of the decision by the 

department. The notice shall state the reasons for the denial of 

certification or recertification and offer the applicant the 

opportunity to appeal the decision as provided in the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia).  

7VAC13-20-220. Reapplication. 

A. A business whose application for certification has been 

denied may reapply for the same category of certification 12 

months after the date on which the business receives the 

notice of denial if no appeal is filed or 12 months after the 

appeal is exhausted. An applicant denied certification as a 

women-owned or minority-owned business may reapply for 

certification as a small business without delay if otherwise 

eligible. 

B. The applicant may request a waiver of the 12-month 

reapplication period from the department director by 

submitting a written request for reconsideration and providing 

a reasonable basis for the waiver. The director or his 

designee, in his discretion, shall render a final decision 

regarding the request for reconsideration and waiver within 

30 days, which determination shall not constitute a case 

decision subject to appeal. 

C. A business whose certification has been revoked may not 

reapply for certification in the same classification. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4995; Filed December 8, 2016, 3:50 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The State Air Pollution Control 

Board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC5-20. General Provisions (Rev. 

H16) (amending 9VAC5-20-21). 

9VAC5-40. Existing Stationary Sources (Rev. H16) 

(amending 9VAC5-40-5800; adding 9VAC5-40-5925 

through 9VAC5-40-5990).  

Statutory Authority:  

9VAC5-20: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; §§ 108, 

109, and 302 of the federal Clean Air Act; 40 CFR Parts 50, 

53, and 58. 

9VAC5-40: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; §§ 110, 

111, 123, 129, 171, 172, and 182 of the federal Clean Air 

Act; 40 CFR Parts 51 and 60. 

Effective Date: February 22, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 

698-4510, or email karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Currently, air pollution from landfills is regulated in 

Virginia under Article 43, Emission Standards for 

Municipal Solid Waste Landfills (9VAC5-40-5800 et seq.). 

Article 43 was originally designed to control two separate 

pollutants: (i) ozone in the Northern Virginia ozone 

nonattainment area as required by § 110 of the Clean Air 

Act and implemented by 40 CFR Part 51 and (ii) 

nonmethane organic compounds as required by § 111 of 

the federal Clean Air Act and implemented by Subpart Cc 

of 40 CFR Part 60, which is applicable statewide. On 

August 29, 2016 (81 FR 59276), the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency promulgated new emissions guidelines 

for municipal solid waste landfills as Subpart Cf of 40 

CFR Part 60. The amendments were made to reduce 

emissions of landfill gas, which contains both nonmethane 

organic compounds and methane. To adopt the 

requirements of Subpart Cf while maintaining the state-

only requirements specific to the Northern Virginia ozone 

nonattainment area, a new Article 43.1 is being 

promulgated. This action will enable the adoption of the 
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new statewide standards without affecting the more 

restrictive requirements of Article 43 applicable to the 

nonattainment area. 

9VAC5-20-21. Documents incorporated by reference.  

A. The Administrative Process Act and Virginia Register 

Act provide that state regulations may incorporate documents 

by reference. Throughout these regulations, documents of the 

types specified below have been incorporated by reference. 

1. United States Code. 

2. Code of Virginia. 

3. Code of Federal Regulations. 

4. Federal Register. 

5. Technical and scientific reference documents. 

Additional information on key federal regulations and 

nonstatutory documents incorporated by reference and their 

availability may be found in subsection E of this section. 

B. Any reference in these regulations to any provision of the 

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) shall be considered as the 

adoption by reference of that provision. The specific version 

of the provision adopted by reference shall be that contained 

in the CFR (2016) in effect July 1, 2016. For the purposes of 

Article 43.1 (9VAC5-40-5925 et seq.) of 9VAC5-40 

(Existing Stationary Sources), the EPA regulations 

promulgated at Subpart Cf (40 CFR 60.30f et seq., Emission 

Guidelines and Compliance Times for Municipal Solid Waste 

Landfills) of 40 CFR Part 60, as published in the Federal 

Register of August 29, 2016 (81 FR 59276) and effective on 

October 28, 2016, is the version incorporated by reference 

into this article and Article 43.1. In making reference to the 

Code of Federal Regulations, 40 CFR Part 35 means Part 35 

of Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations; 40 CFR 35.20 

means § 35.20 in Part 35 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations. 

C. Failure to include in this section any document referenced 

in the regulations shall not invalidate the applicability of the 

referenced document. 

D. Copies of materials incorporated by reference in this 

section may be examined by the public at the central office of 

the Department of Environmental Quality, Eighth Floor, 629 

East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, between 8:30 a.m. and 

4:30 p.m. of each business day. 

E. Information on federal regulations and nonstatutory 

documents incorporated by reference and their availability 

may be found below in this subsection. 

1. Code of Federal Regulations. 

a. The provisions specified below from the Code of 

Federal Regulations (CFR) are incorporated herein by 

reference. 

(1) 40 CFR Part 50 -- National Primary and Secondary 

Ambient Air Quality Standards. 

(a) Appendix A-1 -- Reference Measurement Principle 

and Calibration Procedure for the Measurement of Sulfur 

Dioxide in the Atmosphere (Ultraviolet Fluorescence 

Method). 

(b) Appendix A-2 -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Sulfur Dioxide in the Atmosphere 

(Pararosaniline Method). 

(c) Appendix B -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Suspended Particulate Matter in the 

Atmosphere (High-Volume Method). 

(d) Appendix C -- Measurement Principle and 

Calibration Procedure for the Continuous Measurement 

of Carbon Monoxide in the Atmosphere (Non-Dispersive 

Infrared Photometry). 

(e) Appendix D -- Measurement Principle and 

Calibration Procedure for the Measurement of Ozone in 

the Atmosphere. 

(f) Appendix E -- Reserved. 

(g) Appendix F -- Measurement Principle and Calibration 

Procedure for the Measurement of Nitrogen Dioxide in 

the Atmosphere (Gas Phase Chemiluminescence). 

(h) Appendix G -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Lead in Suspended Particulate Matter 

Collected from Ambient Air. 

(i) Appendix H -- Interpretation of the National Ambient 

Air Quality Standards for Ozone. 

(j) Appendix I -- Interpretation of the 8-Hour Primary 

and Secondary National Ambient Air Quality Standards 

for Ozone. 

(k) Appendix J -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Particulate Matter as PM10 in the 

Atmosphere. 

(l) Appendix K -- Interpretation of the National Ambient 

Air Quality Standards for Particulate Matter. 

(m) Appendix L -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Fine Particulate Matter as PM2.5 in the 

Atmosphere. 

(n) Appendix M -- Reserved. 

(o) Appendix N -- Interpretation of the National Ambient 

Air Quality Standards for PM2.5. 

(p) Appendix O -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Coarse Particulate Matter as PM in the 

Atmosphere. 

(q) Appendix P -- Interpretation of the Primary and 

Secondary National Ambient Air Quality Standards for 

Ozone. 

(r) Appendix Q -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Lead in Suspended Particulate Matter 

as PM10 Collected from Ambient Air. 

(s) Appendix R -- Interpretation of the National Ambient 

Air Quality Standards for Lead. 
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(t) Appendix S -- Interpretation of the Primary National 

Ambient Air Quality Standards for Oxides of Nitrogen 

(Nitrogen Dioxide). 

(u) Appendix T -- Interpretation of the Primary National 

Ambient Air Quality Standards for Oxides of Sulfur 

(Sulfur Dioxide). 

(v) Appendix U -- Interpretation of the Primary and 

Secondary National Ambient Air Quality Standards for 

Ozone. 

(2) 40 CFR Part 51 -- Requirements for Preparation, 

Adoption, and Submittal of Implementation Plans. 

(a) Appendix M -- Recommended Test Methods for State 

Implementation Plans. 

(b) Appendix S -- Emission Offset Interpretive Ruling. 

(c) Appendix W -- Guideline on Air Quality Models 

(Revised). 

(d) Appendix Y -- Guidelines for BART Determinations 

Under the Regional Haze Rule. 

(3) 40 CFR Part 55 -- Outer Continental Shelf Air 

Regulations. 

(4) 40 CFR Part 58 -- Ambient Air Quality Surveillance. 

Appendix A -- Quality Assurance Requirements for 

SLAMS, SPMs and PSD Air Monitoring. 

(5) 40 CFR Part 59 -- National Volatile Organic 

Compound Emission Standards for Consumer and 

Commercial Products. 

(a) Subpart C -- National Volatile Organic Compound 

Emission Standards for Consumer Products. 

(b) Subpart D -- National Volatile Organic Compound 

Emission Standards for Architectural Coatings, Appendix 

A -- Determination of Volatile Matter Content of 

Methacrylate Multicomponent Coatings Used as Traffic 

Marking Coatings. 

(6) 40 CFR Part 60 -- Standards of Performance for New 

Stationary Sources. 

The specific provisions of 40 CFR Part 60 incorporated 

by reference are found in Article 5 (9VAC5-50-400 et 

seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5-50 (New and Modified 

Stationary Sources). 

(7) 40 CFR Part 61 -- National Emission Standards for 

Hazardous Air Pollutants. 

The specific provisions of 40 CFR Part 61 incorporated 

by reference are found in Article 1 (9VAC5-60-60 et 

seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant 

Sources). 

(8) 40 CFR Part 63 -- National Emission Standards for 

Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories. 

The specific provisions of 40 CFR Part 63 incorporated 

by reference are found in Article 2 (9VAC5-60-90 et 

seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant 

Sources). 

(9) 40 CFR Part 64 -- Compliance Assurance 

Monitoring. 

(10) 40 CFR Part 72 -- Permits Regulation. 

(11) 40 CFR Part 73 -- Sulfur Dioxide Allowance 

System. 

(12) 40 CFR Part 74 -- Sulfur Dioxide Opt-Ins. 

(13) 40 CFR Part 75 -- Continuous Emission Monitoring. 

(14) 40 CFR Part 76 -- Acid Rain Nitrogen Oxides 

Emission Reduction Program. 

(15) 40 CFR Part 77 -- Excess Emissions. 

(16) 40 CFR Part 78 -- Appeal Procedures for Acid Rain 

Program. 

(17) 40 CFR Part 152 Subpart I -- Classification of 

Pesticides. 

(18) 49 CFR Part 172 -- Hazardous Materials Table. 

Special Provisions, Hazardous Materials 

Communications, Emergency Response Information, and 

Training Requirements, Subpart E, Labeling. 

(19) 29 CFR Part 1926 Subpart F -- Fire Protection and 

Prevention. 

b. Copies may be obtained from Superintendent of 

Documents, P.O. Box 371954, Pittsburgh, PA 15250-

7954; telephone (202) 783-3238. 

2. U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. 

a. The following documents from the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency are incorporated herein by reference: 

(1) Reich Test, Atmospheric Emissions from Sulfuric 

Acid Manufacturing Processes, Public Health Service 

Publication No. PB82250721, 1980. 

(2) Compilation of Air Pollutant Emission Factors (AP-

42). Volume I: Stationary and Area Sources, stock 

number 055-000-00500-1, 1995; Supplement A, stock 

number 055-000-00551-6, 1996; Supplement B, stock 

number 055-000-00565, 1997; Supplement C, stock 

number 055-000-00587-7, 1997; Supplement D, 1998; 

Supplement E, 1999. 

(3) "Guidelines for Determining Capture Efficiency" 

(GD-35), Emissions Monitoring and Analysis Division, 

Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards, January 9, 

1995. 

b. Copies of the document identified in subdivision E 2 a 

(1) of this section, and Volume I and Supplements A 

through C of the document identified in subdivision E 2 a 

(2) of this section, may be obtained from U.S. 

Department of Commerce, National Technical 

Information Service, 5285 Port Royal Road, Springfield, 

VA 22161; telephone 1-800-553-6847. Copies of 

Supplements D and E of the document identified in 

subdivision E 2 a (2) of this section may be obtained 

online from EPA's Technology Transfer Network at 

http://www.epa.gov/ttn/index.html. Copies of the 
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document identified in subdivision E 2 a (3) of this 

section are only available online from EPA's Technology 

Transfer Network at 

http://www.epa.gov/ttn/emc/guidlnd.html. 

3. United States government. 

a. The following document from the United States 

government is incorporated herein by reference: Standard 

Industrial Classification Manual, 1987 (U.S. Government 

Printing Office stock number 041-001-00-314-2). 

b. Copies may be obtained from Superintendent of 

Documents, P.O. Box 371954, Pittsburgh, PA 15250-

7954; telephone (202) 512-1800. 

4. American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM). 

a. The documents specified below from the American 

Society for Testing and Materials are incorporated herein 

by reference. 

(1) D323-99a, "Standard Test Method for Vapor Pressure 

of Petroleum Products (Reid Method)." 

(2) D97-96a, "Standard Test Method for Pour Point of 

Petroleum Products." 

(3) D129-00, "Standard Test Method for Sulfur in 

Petroleum Products (General Bomb Method)." 

(4) D388-99, "Standard Classification of Coals by Rank." 

(5) D396-98, "Standard Specification for Fuel Oils." 

(6) D975-98b, "Standard Specification for Diesel Fuel 

Oils." 

(7) D1072-90(1999), "Standard Test Method for Total 

Sulfur in Fuel Gases." 

(8) D1265-97, "Standard Practice for Sampling Liquefied 

Petroleum (LP) Gases (Manual Method)." 

(9) D2622-98, "Standard Test Method for Sulfur in 

Petroleum Products by Wavelength Dispersive X-Ray 

Fluorescence Spectrometry." 

(10) D4057-95(2000), "Standard Practice for Manual 

Sampling of Petroleum and Petroleum Products." 

(11) D4294-98, "Standard Test Method for Sulfur in 

Petroleum and Petroleum Products by Energy-Dispersive 

X-Ray Fluorescence Spectroscopy." 

(12) D523-89, "Standard Test Method for Specular 

Gloss" (1999). 

(13) D1613-02, "Standard Test Method for Acidity in 

Volatile Solvents and Chemical Intermediates Used in 

Paint, Varnish, Lacquer and Related Products" (2002). 

(14) D1640-95, "Standard Test Methods for Drying, 

Curing, or Film Formation of Organic Coatings at Room 

Temperature" (1999). 

(15) E119-00a, "Standard Test Methods for Fire Tests of 

Building Construction Materials" (2000). 

(16) E84-01, "Standard Test Method for Surface Burning 

Characteristics of Building Construction Materials" 

(2001). 

(17) D4214-98, "Standard Test Methods for Evaluating 

the Degree of Chalking of Exterior Paint Films" (1998). 

(18) D86-04b, "Standard Test Method for Distillation of 

Petroleum Products at Atmospheric Pressure" (2004). 

(19) D4359-90, "Standard Test Method for Determining 

Whether a Material is a Liquid or a Solid" (reapproved 

2000). 

(20) E260-96, "Standard Practice for Packed Column 

Gas Chromatography" (reapproved 2001). 

(21) D3912-95, "Standard Test Method for Chemical 

Resistance of Coatings Used in Light-Water Nuclear 

Power Plants" (reapproved 2001). 

(22) D4082-02, "Standard Test Method for Effects of 

Gamma Radiation on Coatings for Use in Light-Water 

Nuclear Power Plants." 

(23) F852-99, "Standard Specification for Portable 

Gasoline Containers for Consumer Use" (reapproved 

2006). 

(24) F976-02, "Standard Specification for Portable 

Kerosine and Diesel Containers for Consumer Use." 

(25) D4457-02, "Standard Test Method for 

Determination of Dichloromethane and 1,1,1-

Trichloroethane in Paints and Coatings by Direct 

Injection into a Gas Chromatograph" (reapproved 2008). 

(26) D3792-05, "Standard Test Method for Water 

Content of Coatings by Direct Injection Into a Gas 

Chromatograph." 

(27) D2879-97, "Standard Test Method for Vapor 

Pressure-Temperature Relationship and Initial 

Decomposition Temperature of Liquids by Isoteniscope" 

(reapproved 2007). 

b. Copies may be obtained from American Society for 

Testing Materials, 100 Barr Harbor Drive, West 

Conshohocken, PA 19428-2959; telephone (610) 

832-9585. 

5. American Petroleum Institute (API). 

a. The following document from the American Petroleum 

Institute is incorporated herein by reference: Evaporative 

Loss from Floating Roof Tanks, API MPMS Chapter 19, 

April 1, 1997. 

b. Copies may be obtained from American Petroleum 

Institute, 1220 L Street, Northwest, Washington, DC 

20005; telephone (202) 682-8000. 

6. American Conference of Governmental Industrial 

Hygienists (ACGIH). 

a. The following document from the ACGIH is 

incorporated herein by reference: 1991-1992 Threshold 

Limit Values for Chemical Substances and Physical 
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Agents and Biological Exposure Indices (ACGIH 

Handbook). 

b. Copies may be obtained from ACGIH, 1330 Kemper 

Meadow Drive, Suite 600, Cincinnati, OH 45240; 

telephone (513) 742-2020. 

7. National Fire Prevention Association (NFPA). 

a. The documents specified below from the National Fire 

Prevention Association are incorporated herein by 

reference. 

(1) NFPA 385, Standard for Tank Vehicles for 

Flammable and Combustible Liquids, 2000 Edition. 

(2) NFPA 30, Flammable and Combustible Liquids 

Code, 2000 Edition. 

(3) NFPA 30A, Code for Motor Fuel Dispensing 

Facilities and Repair Garages, 2000 Edition. 

b. Copies may be obtained from the National Fire 

Prevention Association, One Batterymarch Park, P.O. 

Box 9101, Quincy, MA 02269-9101; telephone (617) 

770-3000. 

8. American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). 

a. The documents specified below from the American 

Society of Mechanical Engineers are incorporated herein 

by reference. 

(1) ASME Power Test Codes: Test Code for Steam 

Generating Units, Power Test Code 4.1-1964 (R1991). 

(2) ASME Interim Supplement 19.5 on Instruments and 

Apparatus: Application, Part II of Fluid Meters, 6th 

edition (1971). 

(3) Standard for the Qualification and Certification of 

Resource Recovery Facility Operators, ASME 

QRO-1-1994. 

b. Copies may be obtained from the American Society of 

Mechanical Engineers, Three Park Avenue, New York, 

NY 10016; telephone (800) 843-2763. 

9. American Hospital Association (AHA). 

a. The following document from the American Hospital 

Association is incorporated herein by reference: An 

Ounce of Prevention: Waste Reduction Strategies for 

Health Care Facilities, AHA Catalog no. W5-057007, 

1993. 

b. Copies may be obtained from American Hospital 

Association, One North Franklin, Chicago, IL 60606; 

telephone (800) 242-2626. 

10. Bay Area Air Quality Management District 

(BAAQMD). 

a. The following documents from the Bay Area Air 

Quality Management District are incorporated herein by 

reference: 

(1) Method 41, "Determination of Volatile Organic 

Compounds in Solvent-Based Coatings and Related 

Materials Containing Parachlorobenzotrifluoride" 

(December 20, 1995). 

(2) Method 43, "Determination of Volatile 

Methylsiloxanes in Solvent-Based Coatings, Inks, and 

Related Materials" (November 6, 1996). 

b. Copies may be obtained from Bay Area Air Quality 

Management District, 939 Ellis Street, San Francisco, 

CA 94109, telephone (415) 771-6000. 

11. South Coast Air Quality Management District 

(SCAQMD). 

a. The following documents from the South Coast Air 

Quality Management District are incorporated herein by 

reference: 

(1) Method 303-91, "Determination of Exempt 

Compounds," in Manual SSMLLABM, "Laboratory 

Methods of Analysis for Enforcement Samples" (1996). 

(2) Method 318-95, "Determination of Weight Percent 

Elemental Metal in Coatings by X-Ray Diffraction," in 

Manual SSMLLABM, "Laboratory Methods of Analysis 

for Enforcement Samples" (1996). 

(3) Rule 1174 Ignition Method Compliance Certification 

Protocol (February 28, 1991). 

(4) Method 304-91, "Determination of Volatile Organic 

Compounds (VOC) in Various Materials," in Manual 

SSMLLABM, "Laboratory Methods of Analysis for 

Enforcement Samples" (1996). 

(5) Method 316A-92, "Determination of Volatile Organic 

Compounds (VOC) in Materials Used for Pipes and 

Fittings" in Manual SSMLLABM, "Laboratory Methods 

of Analysis for Enforcement Samples" (1996). 

(6) "General Test Method for Determining Solvent 

Losses from Spray Gun Cleaning Systems," October 3, 

1989. 

b. Copies may be obtained from South Coast Air Quality 

Management District, 21865 E. Copley Drive, Diamond 

Bar, CA 91765, telephone (909) 396-2000. 

12. California Air Resources Board (CARB). 

a. The following documents from the California Air 

Resources Board are incorporated herein by reference: 

(1) Test Method 510, "Automatic Shut-Off Test 

Procedure for Spill-Proof Systems and Spill-Proof 

Spouts" (July 6, 2000). 

(2) Test Method 511, "Automatic Closure Test Procedure 

for Spill-Proof Systems and Spill-Proof Spouts" (July 6, 

2000). 

(3) Method 100, "Procedures for Continuous Gaseous 

Emission Stack Sampling" (July 28, 1997). 

(4) Test Method 513, "Determination of Permeation Rate 

for Spill-Proof Systems" (July 6, 2000). 

(5) Method 310, "Determination of Volatile Organic 

Compounds (VOC) in Consumer Products and Reactive 
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Organic Compounds in Aerosol Coating Products 

(Including Appendices A and B)" (May 5, 2005). 

(6) California Code of Regulations, Title 17, Division 3, 

Chapter 1, Subchapter 8.5, Article 1, § 94503.5 (2003). 

(7) California Code of Regulations, Title 17, Division 3, 

Chapter 1, Subchapter 8.5, Article 2, §§ 94509 and 

94511 (2003). 

(8) California Code of Regulations, Title 17, Division 3, 

Chapter 1, Subchapter 8.5, Article 4, §§ 94540-94555 

(2003). 

(9) "Certification Procedure 501 for Portable Fuel 

Containers and Spill-Proof Spouts, CP-501" (July 26, 

2006). 

(10) "Test Procedure for Determining Integrity of Spill-

Proof Spouts and Spill-Proof Systems, TP-501" (July 26, 

2006). 

(11) "Test Procedure for Determining Diurnal Emissions 

from Portable Fuel Containers, TP-502" (July 26, 2006). 

b. Copies may be obtained from California Air Resources 

Board, P.O. Box 2815, Sacramento, CA 95812, 

telephone (906) 322-3260 or (906) 322-2990. 

13. American Architectural Manufacturers Association. 

a. The following documents from the American 

Architectural Manufacturers Association are incorporated 

herein by reference: 

(1) Voluntary Specification 2604-02, "Performance 

Requirements and Test Procedures for High Performance 

Organic Coatings on Aluminum Extrusions and Panels" 

(2002). 

(2) Voluntary Specification 2605-02, "Performance 

Requirements and Test Procedures for Superior 

Performing Organic Coatings on Aluminum Extrusions 

and Panels" (2002). 

b. Copies may be obtained from American Architectural 

Manufacturers Association, 1827 Walden Office Square, 

Suite 550, Schaumburg, IL 60173, telephone (847) 

303-5664. 

14. American Furniture Manufacturers Association. 

a. The following document from the American Furniture 

Manufacturers Association is incorporated herein by 

reference: Joint Industry Fabrics Standards Committee, 

Woven and Knit Residential Upholstery Fabric Standards 

and Guidelines (January 2001). 

b. Copies may be obtained from American Furniture 

Manufacturers Association, P.O. Box HP-7, High Point, 

NC 27261; telephone (336) 884-5000.  

15. Petroleum Equipment Institute. 

a. The following document from the Petroleum 

Equipment Institute is incorporated herein by reference: 

Recommended Practices for Installation and Testing of 

Vapor-Recovery Systems at Vehicle-Fueling Sites, 

PEI/RP300-09 (2009). 

b. Copies may be obtained from Petroleum Equipment 

Institute, 6931 S. 66th E. Avenue, Suite 310, Tulsa, OK 

74133; telephone (918) 494-9696; www.pei.org. 

16. American Architectural Manufacturers Association 

(AAMA). 

a. The following documents from the American 

Architectural Manufacturers Association are incorporated 

herein by reference:  

(1) Voluntary Specification, Performance Requirements 

and Test Procedures for High Performance Organic 

Coatings on Aluminum Extrusions and Panels, 

publication number AAMA 2604-05. 

(2) Voluntary Specification, Performance Requirements 

and Test Procedures for Superior Performing Organic 

Coatings on Aluminum Extrusions and Panels, 

publication number AAMA 2605-05. 

b. Copies may be obtained from American Architectural 

Manufacturers Association, 1827 Walden Office Square, 

Suite 550, Schaumburg, IL 60173-4268; telephone (847) 

303-5774.  

Article 43  

Emission Standards for Municipal Solid Waste Landfills 

(Rule 4-43)  

9VAC5-40-5800. Applicability and designation of affected 

facility.  

A. The affected facility to which the provisions of this 

article apply is each municipal solid waste (MSW) landfill 

which commenced construction, reconstruction, or 

modification before May 30, 1991.  

B. The provisions of this article apply throughout the 

Commonwealth of Virginia.  

C. For purposes of obtaining a federal operating permit, the 

owner of an MSW landfill subject to this article with a design 

capacity less than 2.5 million megagrams or 2.5 million cubic 

meters is not subject to the requirement to obtain a federal 

operating permit for the landfill, unless the landfill is 

otherwise subject to federal operating permit requirements. 

For purposes of submitting a timely application for a federal 

operating permit, the owner of an MSW landfill subject to 

this article with a design capacity greater than or equal to 2.5 

million megagrams and 2.5 million cubic meters on the 

effective date of EPA approval of the board's program under 

§ 111(d) of the federal Clean Air Act, and otherwise not 

subject to federal operating permit requirements, shall submit 

an operating permit application as provided in 9VAC5-80-80 

C, even if the design capacity report is submitted earlier.  

D. When an MSW landfill subject to this article becomes 

closed, the owner is no longer subject to the requirement to 

maintain a federal operating permit for the landfill if the 
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landfill is not otherwise subject to federal operating permit 

requirements and if either of the following conditions is met:  

1. The landfill was never subject to the requirement for a 

control system under 9VAC5-40-5820 C 2; or  

2. The owner meets the conditions for control system 

removal specified in 9VAC5-40-5820 C 2 e.  

E. Activities required by or conducted pursuant to a 

CERCLA, RCRA, or board remedial action are not 

considered construction, reconstruction, or modification for 

the purposes of this article.  

F. Each affected facility with a design capacity greater than 

2.5 million megagrams or 2.5 million cubic meters shall 

demonstrate compliance with this article by demonstrating 

compliance with the provisions of Article 43.1 (9VAC5-40-

5925 et seq.) of this chapter. 

Article 43.1 

Emission Standards for Municipal Solid Waste Landfills for 

which Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification was 

Commenced on or before July 17, 2014 (Rule 4-43.1) 

9VAC5-40-5925. Applicability and designation of affected 

facility. 

A. The affected facility to which the provisions of this 

article apply is each existing municipal solid waste (MSW) 

landfill for which construction, reconstruction, or 

modification was commenced on or before July 17, 2014, and 

as further defined in Subpart Cf (40 CFR 60.30f et seq.) of 40 

CFR Part 60. 

B. The provisions of this article apply throughout the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

C. The owner of an MSW landfill shall obtain a federal 

operating permit as required by 40 CFR 60.31f(c). When an 

MSW landfill is closed, the owner is no longer subject to the 

requirement to maintain a federal operating permit if the 

conditions of 40 CFR 60.31f(d) are met. 

D. For each MSW landfill in the closed landfill subcategory, 

the reporting provisions of 9VAC5-40-5975 may be met as 

provided in 40 CFR 60.31f(e). 

9VAC5-40-5930. Definitions. 

A. For the purpose of applying this article in the context of 

the Regulations for the Control and Abatement of Air 

Pollution and related uses, the words or terms shall have the 

meanings given them in subsection C of this section. 

B. As used in this article, all terms not defined herein shall 

have the meanings given them in 9VAC5-10 (General 

Definitions), unless otherwise required by context. 

C. Terms shall have the meanings given them in 40 CFR 

60.41f, except for the following: 

"Administrator" means the board. 

9VAC5-40-5935. Emission limits and emission standards. 

A. The owner of each MSW landfill having a design 

capacity greater than or equal to 2.5 million megagrams by 

mass and 2.5 million cubic meters by volume that meets the 

conditions of 40 CFR 60.33f(a)(1) through (4) shall collect 

and control MSW landfill emissions in accordance with the 

provisions of 40 CFR 60.33f(b)(1) through (3), and 40 CFR 

60.33f(c)(1) through (4) except as provided in 40 CFR 60.24. 

B. The owner of each MSW landfill with a design capacity 

less than 2.5 million megagrams and 2.5 million cubic meters 

shall submit an initial design capacity report to the 

administrator as provided in 40 CFR 60.38f(a).The landfill 

may calculate design capacity in either megagrams or cubic 

meters for comparison with the exemption values. Any 

density conversions shall be documented and submitted with 

the report. Submittal of the initial design capacity report 

fulfills the requirements of this article except as provided in 

40 CFR 60.33f(d)(1) and (2). 

C. The owner of each MSW landfill with a design capacity 

greater than 2.5 million megagrams and 2.5 million cubic 

meters shall either install a collection and control system as 

provided in subsection A of this section or calculate an initial 

NMOC emission rate for the landfill using the procedures 

specified in 40 CFR 60.35f(a). The NMOC emission rate 

shall be recalculated annually, except as provided in 40 CFR 

60.38f(c)(3). The owner shall follow the procedures specified 

in 40 CFR 60.33f(e)(1) through (3). 

D. The owner of each MSW landfill may cap, remove, or 

decommission the collection and control system used to 

comply with subsection A of this section if the criteria of 40 

CFR 60.33f(f)(1) through (4) are met. 

E. An active collection system used to comply with 

subsection A of this section shall meet the specifications for 

active collection system of 40 CFR 60.40f(a) through (c). 

9VAC5-40-5940. Standard for visible emissions and 

fugitive dust/emissions. 

The provisions of Article 1 (9VAC5-40-60 et seq.) of 

9VAC5-40 (Emission Standards for Visible Emissions and 

Fugitive Dust/Emissions, Rule 4-1) apply, with the exception 

of 9VAC5-40-80 (Standard for visible emissions), 9VAC5-

40-100 (Monitoring), 9VAC5-40-110 (Test methods and 

procedures), and 9VAC5-40-120 (Waivers). 

9VAC5-40-5945. Standard for odor. 

The provisions of Article 2 (9VAC5-40-130 et seq.) of 

9VAC5-40 (Emission Standards for Odor, Rule 4-2) apply. 

9VAC5-40-5950. Compliance schedule. 

The provisions of 40 CFR 60.32f apply. 

9VAC5-40-5955. Operating requirements. 

The owner of an MSW landfill with a gas collection and 

control system used to comply with the provisions of 40 CFR 

60.33f(b) and (c) shall meet the requirements of 40 CFR 

60.34f(a) through (g). 
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9VAC5-40-5960. Compliance. 

A. With regard to the emissions limits in 9VAC5-40-5940 

and 9VAC5-40-5945, the provisions of 9VAC5-40-20 

(Compliance) apply. 

B. With regard to the emission limits in 9VAC5-40-5935 

and 9VAC5-40-5955, the following provisions apply: 

1. 9VAC5-40-20 B, C, D, and E; 

2. To the extent specified in the federal regulations cited in 

subdivision 3 of this subsection, 40 CFR 60.7, 40 CFR 

60.8, 40 CFR 60.11, and 40 CFR 60.13; and 

3. 40 CFR 60.32f and 40 CFR 60.36f(a) through (e). 

9VAC5-40-5965. Test methods and procedures, 

monitoring of operations. 

A. With regard to the emissions standards in 9VAC5-40-

5940 and 9VAC5-40-5945, the provisions of 9VAC5-40-30 

(Emission testing) and 9VAC5-40-40 (Monitoring) apply. 

B. With regard to the emission limits in 9VAC5-40-5935 

and 9VAC5-40-5955, the following provisions apply: 

1. 9VAC5-40-30 D and G; 

2. 9VAC5-40-40 A and F; 

3. 40 CFR 60.8(b) through (f), with the exception of 

paragraph (a); 

4. 40 CFR 60.13; and 

5. 40 CFR 60.35f(a) through (e), and 40 CFR 60.37f(a) 

through (h), except as provided in 40 CFR 60.38f(d)(2). 

9VAC5-40-5970. Reporting and recordkeeping. 

A. With regard to the emissions standards in 9VAC5-40-

5940 and 9VAC5-40-5945, the provisions of 9VAC5-40-50 

(Notification, records and reporting) apply. 

B. With regard to the emission limits in 9VAC5-40-5935 

and 9VAC5-40-5955, the following provisions apply: 

1. 9VAC5-40-50 F and H; 

2. 40 CFR 60.7; and 

3. 40 CFR 60.38f(a) through (m) except as provided in 40 

CFR 60.24 and 40 CFR 60.38f(d)(2), and 40 CFR 

60.39f(a) through (j). 

9VAC5-40-5975. Registration. 

The provisions of 9VAC5-20-160 (Registration) apply. 

9VAC5-40-5980. Facility and control equipment 

maintenance or malfunction. 

A. With regard to the emissions standards in 9VAC5-40-

5940 and 9VAC5-40-5945, the provisions of 9VAC5-20-180 

(Facility and control equipment maintenance or malfunction) 

apply. 

B. With regard to the emission limits in 9VAC5-40-5935 

and 9VAC5-40-5955, the following provisions apply: 

1. 9VAC5-20-180 with the exception of subsections E, F, 

and G; and 

2. 40 CFR 60.36f(e) and 40 CFR 60.37f(h). 

9VAC5-40-5985. Other permits. 

A permit may be required prior to beginning any of the 

activities specified below if the provisions of 9VAC5-50 

(New and Modified Stationary Sources) and 9VAC5-80 

(Permits for Stationary Sources) apply. Owners 

contemplating such action should review those provisions and 

contact the appropriate regional office for guidance on 

whether those provisions apply. 

1. Construction of a facility. 

2. Reconstruction (replacement of more than half) of a 

facility. 

3. Modification (any physical change to equipment) of a 

facility. 

4. Relocation of a facility. 

5. Reactivation (re-startup) of a facility. 

6. Operation of a facility. 

9VAC5-40-5990. Documents incorporated by reference. 

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency regulations 

promulgated at Subpart Cf (40 CFR 60.30f et seq., Emission 

Guidelines and Compliance Times for Municipal Solid Waste 

Landfills) of 40 CFR Part 60 are incorporated by reference 

into this article. The specific version of the provisions 

incorporated by reference shall be that contained in the CFR 

in effect as specified in 9VAC5-20-21. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4894; Filed December 16, 2016, 10:51 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The State Air Pollution Control 

Board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC5-50. New and Modified 

Stationary Sources (Rev. J16) (amending 9VAC5-50-400, 

9VAC5-50-410). 

9VAC5-60. Hazardous Air Pollutant Sources (Rev. J16) 

(amending 9VAC5-60-60, 9VAC5-60-70, 9VAC5-60-90, 

9VAC5-60-100).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; 

§§ 110, 111, 123, 129, 171, 172, and 182 of the federal Clean 

Air Act; 40 CFR Parts 51 and 60. 

Effective Date: February 22, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 

698-4510, or email karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 
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The amendments update state regulations that incorporate 

by reference certain federal regulations to reflect the Code 

of Federal Regulations as published on July 1, 2016. The 

new standards in the federal regulations that are being 

incorporated into the regulations by reference include the 

following: 

1. One new (Subpart OOOOa, Standards of Performance 

for Crude Oil and Natural Gas Facilities for which 

Construction, Modification, or Reconstruction Commenced 

after September 18, 2015) source performance standard is 

not being incorporated at this time; this standard is listed 

with a note that enforcement of the standard rests with the 

Environmental Protection Agency. In addition, Subparts T, 

U, V, W, X, CCCC, and OOOO were amended. The date of 

the Code of Federal Regulations book being incorporated 

by reference is being updated to the latest version. 

2. No new National Emissions Standards for Hazardous 

Air Pollutants (NESHAPs) are being incorporated; 

however, a number of typographical errors have been 

corrected under Subpart M. The date of the Code of 

Federal Regulations book being incorporated by reference 

is being updated to the latest version. 

3. Three new maximum achievable control technology 

standards are being added: Subpart NN, Wool Fiberglass 

Manufacturing at Area Sources (40 CFR 63.880 through 

40 CFR 63.899); Subpart JJJJJ, Brick and Structural Clay 

Products Manufacturing (40 CFR 63.8380 through 40 

CFR 63.8515); and Subpart KKKKK, Ceramics 

Manufacturing (40 CFR 63.8530 through 40 CFR 

63.8665). In addition, Subparts AA, BB, CC, and DD are 

amended. The date of the Code of Federal Regulations 

book being incorporated by reference is being updated to 

the latest version. 

Article 5  

Environmental Protection Agency Standards of Performance 

for New Stationary Sources (Rule 5-5)  

9VAC5-50-400. General. 

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Regulations on 

Standards of Performance for New Stationary Sources 

(NSPSs), as promulgated in 40 CFR Part 60 and designated in 

9VAC5-50-410 are, unless indicated otherwise, incorporated 

by reference into the regulations of the board as amended by 

the word or phrase substitutions given in 9VAC5-50-420. The 

complete text of the subparts in 9VAC5-50-410 incorporated 

herein by reference is contained in 40 CFR Part 60. The 

40 CFR section numbers appearing under each subpart in 

9VAC5-50-410 identify the specific provisions of the subpart 

incorporated by reference. The specific version of the 

provision adopted by reference shall be that contained in the 

CFR (2015) (2016) in effect July 1, 2015 2016. In making 

reference to the Code of Federal Regulations, 40 CFR Part 60 

means Part 60 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations; 

40 CFR 60.1 means 60.1 in Part 60 of Title 40 of the Code of 

Federal Regulations.  

9VAC5-50-410. Designated standards of performance.  

Subpart A - General Provisions.  

40 CFR 60.1 through 40 CFR 60.3, 40 CFR 60.7, 40 CFR 

60.8, 40 CFR 60.11 through 40 CFR 60.15, 40 CFR 60.18 

through 40 CFR 60.19  

(applicability, definitions, units and abbreviations, 

notification and recordkeeping, performance tests, 

compliance, circumvention, monitoring requirements, 

modification, reconstruction, general control device 

requirements, and general notification and reporting 

requirements)  

Subpart B - Not applicable.  

Subpart C - Not applicable.  

Subpart Ca - Reserved.  

Subpart Cb - Not applicable.  

Subpart Cc - Not applicable.  

Subpart Cd - Not applicable.  

Subpart Ce - Not applicable.  

Subpart D - Fossil Fuel-Fired Steam Generators.  

40 CFR 60.40 through 40 CFR 60.46  

(fossil fuel-fired steam generating units of more than 250 

million Btu per hour heat input rate and fossil fuel-fired 

and wood residue-fired steam generating units capable of 

firing fossil fuel at a heat input rate of more than 250 

million Btu per hour)  

Subpart Da - Electric Utility Steam Generating Units.  

40 CFR 60.40Da through 40 CFR 60.52Da 

(electric utility steam generating units capable of 

combusting more than 250 million Btu per hour heat input 

of fossil fuel (either alone or in combination with any other 

fuel), and for which construction, reconstruction, or 

modification is commenced after September 18, 1978)  

Subpart Db - Industrial-Commercial-Institutional Steam 

Generating Units.  

40 CFR 60.40b through 40 CFR 60.49b  

(industrial-commercial-institutional steam generating units 

which have a heat input capacity from combusted fuels of 

more than 100 million Btu per hour)  

Subpart Dc - Small Industrial-Commercial-Institutional 

Steam Generating Units.  

40 CFR 60.40c through 40 CFR 60.48c  

(industrial-commercial-institutional steam generating units 

which have a heat input capacity of 100 million Btu per 

hour or less, but greater than or equal to 10 million Btu per 

hour)  

Subpart E - Incinerators.  

40 CFR 60.50 through 40 CFR 60.54  

(incinerator units of more than 50 tons per day charging 

rate)  
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Subpart Ea - Municipal Waste Combustors for which 

Construction is Commenced after December 20, 1989, and on 

or before September 20, 1994.  

40 CFR 60.50a through 40 CFR 60.59a  

(municipal waste combustor units with a capacity greater 

than 250 tons per day of municipal-type solid waste or 

refuse-derived fuel)  

Subpart Eb - Large Municipal Combustors for which 

Construction is Commenced after September 20, 1994, or for 

which Modification or Reconstruction is Commenced after 

June 19, 1996.  

40 CFR 60.50b through 40 CFR 60.59b  

(municipal waste combustor units with a capacity greater 

than 250 tons per day of municipal-type solid waste or 

refuse-derived fuel)  

Subpart Ec - Hospital/Medical/Infectious Waste Incinerators 

for which Construction is Commenced after June 20, 1996.  

40 CFR 60.50c through 40 CFR 60.58c  

(hospital/medical/infectious waste incinerators that 

combust any amount of hospital waste and 

medical/infectious waste or both)  

Subpart F - Portland Cement Plants.  

40 CFR 60.60 through 40 CFR 60.66  

(kilns, clinker coolers, raw mill systems, finish mill 

systems, raw mill dryers, raw material storage, clinker 

storage, finished product storage, conveyor transfer points, 

bagging and bulk loading and unloading systems)  

Subpart G - Nitric Acid Plants.  

40 CFR 60.70 through 40 CFR 60.74  

(nitric acid production units)  

Subpart Ga - Nitric Acid Plants for which Construction, 

Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced after October 

14, 2011. 

40 CFR 60.70a through 40 CFR 60.77a 

(nitric acid production units producing weak nitric acid by 

either the pressure or atmospheric pressure process) 

Subpart H - Sulfuric Acid Plants.  

40 CFR 60.80 through 40 CFR 60.85  

(sulfuric acid production units)  

Subpart I - Hot Mix Asphalt Facilities.  

40 CFR 60.90 through 40 CFR 60.93  

(dryers; systems for screening, handling, storing and 

weighing hot aggregate; systems for loading, transferring 

and storing mineral filler; systems for mixing asphalt; and 

the loading, transfer and storage systems associated with 

emission control systems)  

Subpart J - Petroleum Refineries.  

40 CFR 60.100 through 40 CFR 60.106  

(fluid catalytic cracking unit catalyst regenerators, fluid 

catalytic cracking unit incinerator-waste heat boilers and 

fuel gas combustion devices)  

Subpart Ja - Petroleum Refineries for which Construction, 

Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced after May 14, 

2007. 

40 CFR 60.100a through 40 CFR 60.109a 

(fluid catalytic cracking units, fluid coking units, delayed 

coking units, fuel gas combustion devices, including flares 

and process heaters, and sulfur recovery plants) 

Subpart K - Storage Vessels for Petroleum Liquids for which 

Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced 

after June 11, 1973, and prior to May 19, 1978.  

40 CFR 60.110 through 40 CFR 60.113  

(storage vessels with a capacity greater than 40,000 

gallons)  

Subpart Ka - Storage Vessels for Petroleum Liquids for 

which Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification 

Commenced after May 18, 1978, and prior to July 23, 1984.  

40 CFR 60.110a through 40 CFR 60.115a  

(storage vessels with a capacity greater than 40,000 

gallons)  

Subpart Kb - Volatile Organic Liquid Storage Vessels 

(Including Petroleum Liquid Storage Vessels) for which 

Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced 

after July 23, 1984.  

40 CFR 60.110b through 40 CFR 60.117b  

(storage vessels with capacity greater than or equal to 

10,566 gallons)  

Subpart L - Secondary Lead Smelters.  

40 CFR 60.120 through 40 CFR 60.123  

(pot furnaces of more than 550 pound charging capacity, 

blast (cupola) furnaces and reverberatory furnaces)  

Subpart M - Secondary Brass and Bronze Production Plants.  

40 CFR 60.130 through 40 CFR 60.133  

(reverberatory and electric furnaces of 2205 pound or 

greater production capacity and blast (cupola) furnaces of 

550 pounds per hour or greater production capacity)  

Subpart N - Primary Emissions from Basic Oxygen Process 

Furnaces for which Construction is Commenced after June 

11, 1973.  

40 CFR 60.140 through 40 CFR 60.144  

(basic oxygen process furnaces)  

Subpart Na - Secondary Emissions from Basic Oxygen 

Process Steelmaking Facilities for which Construction is 

Commenced after January 20, 1983.  

40 CFR 60.140a through 40 CFR 60.145a  
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(facilities in an iron and steel plant: top-blown BOPFs and 

hot metal transfer stations and skimming stations used with 

bottom-blown or top-blown BOPFs)  

Subpart O - Sewage Treatment Plants.  

40 CFR 60.150 through 40 CFR 60.154  

(incinerators that combust wastes containing more than 

10% sewage sludge (dry basis) produced by municipal 

sewage treatment plants or incinerators that charge more 

than 2205 pounds per day municipal sewage sludge (dry 

basis))  

Subpart P - Primary Copper Smelters.  

40 CFR 60.160 through 40 CFR 60.166  

(dryers, roasters, smelting furnaces, and copper converters)  

Subpart Q - Primary Zinc Smelters.  

40 CFR 60.170 through 40 CFR 60.176  

(roasters and sintering machines)  

Subpart R - Primary Lead Smelters  

40 CFR 60.180 through 40 CFR 60.186  

(sintering machines, sintering machine discharge ends, 

blast furnaces, dross reverberatory furnaces, electric 

smelting furnaces and converters)  

Subpart S - Primary Aluminum Reduction Plants.  

40 CFR 60.190 through 40 CFR 60.195  

(potroom groups and anode bake plants)  

Subpart T - Phosphate Fertilizer Industry: Wet-Process 

Phosphoric Acid Plants.  

40 CFR 60.200 through 40 CFR 60.204  40 CFR 60.205 

(reactors, filters, evaporators, and hot wells)  

Subpart U - Phosphate Fertilizer Industry: Superphosphoric 

Acid Plants.  

40 CFR 60.210 through 40 CFR 60.214 40 CFR 60.215  

(evaporators, hot wells, acid sumps, and cooling tanks)  

Subpart V - Phosphate Fertilizer Industry: Diammonium 

Phosphate Plants.  

40 CFR 60.220 through 40 CFR 60.224 40 CFR 60.225  

(reactors, granulators, dryers, coolers, screens, and mills)  

Subpart W - Phosphate Fertilizer Industry: Triple 

Superphosphate Plants.  

40 CFR 60.230 through 40 CFR 60.234 40 CFR 60.235  

(mixers, curing belts (dens), reactors, granulators, dryers, 

cookers, screens, mills, and facilities which store run-of-

pile triple superphosphate)  

Subpart X - Phosphate Fertilizer Industry: Granular Triple 

Superphosphate Storage Facilities.  

40 CFR 60.240 through 40 CFR 60.244 40 CFR 60.245  

(storage or curing piles, conveyors, elevators, screens and 

mills)  

Subpart Y - Coal Preparation and Processing Plants.  

40 CFR 60.250 through 40 CFR 60.258 

(plants which process more than 200 tons per day: thermal 

dryers, pneumatic coal-cleaning equipment (air tables), 

coal processing and conveying equipment (including 

breakers and crushers), coal storage systems, and coal 

transfer and loading systems)  

Subpart Z - Ferroalloy Production Facilities.  

40 CFR 60.260 through 40 CFR 60.266  

(electric submerged arc furnaces which produce silicon 

metal, ferrosilicon, calcium silicon, silicomanganese 

zirconium, ferrochrome silicon, silvery iron, high-carbon 

ferrochrome, charge chrome, standard ferromanganese, 

silicomanganese, ferromanganese silicon or calcium 

carbide; and dust-handling equipment)  

Subpart AA - Steel Plants: Electric Arc Furnaces Constructed 

after October 21, 1974, and on or before August 17, 1983.  

40 CFR 60.270 through 40 CFR 60.276  

(electric arc furnaces and dust-handling systems that 

produce carbon, alloy or specialty steels)  

Subpart AAa - Steel Plants: Electric Arc Furnaces and Argon-

Oxygen Decarburization Vessels Constructed after August 

17, 1983.  

40 CFR 60.270a through 40 CFR 60.276a  

(electric arc furnaces, argon-oxygen decarburization 

vessels, and dust-handling systems that produce carbon, 

alloy, or specialty steels)  

Subpart BB - Kraft Pulp Mills.  

40 CFR 60.280 through 40 CFR 60.285  

(digester systems, brown stock washer systems, multiple 

effect evaporator systems, black liquor oxidation systems, 

recovery furnaces, smelt dissolving tanks, lime kilns, 

condensate strippers and kraft pulping operations)  

Subpart BBa - Kraft Pulp Mill Affected Sources for which 

Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced 

after May 23, 2013. 

40 CFR 60.280a through 40 CFR 60.288a 

(digester systems, brown stock washer systems, multiple 

effect evaporator systems, black liquor oxidation systems, 

recovery furnaces, smelt dissolving tanks, lime kilns, 

condensate strippers, and kraft pulping operations) 

Subpart CC - Glass Manufacturing Plants.  

40 CFR 60.290 through 40 CFR 60.296  

(glass melting furnaces)  

Subpart DD - Grain Elevators.  

40 CFR 60.300 through 40 CFR 60.304  

(grain terminal elevators/grain storage elevators: truck 

unloading stations, truck loading stations, barge and ship 

unloading stations, barge and ship loading stations, railcar 
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unloading stations, railcar loading stations, grain dryers, 

and all grain handling operations)  

Subpart EE - Surface Coating of Metal Furniture.  

40 CFR 60.310 through 40 CFR 60.316  

(metal furniture surface coating operations in which 

organic coatings are applied)  

Subpart FF - Reserved.  

Subpart GG - Stationary Gas Turbines.  

40 CFR 60.330 through 40 CFR 60.335  

(stationary gas turbines with a heat input at peak load equal 

to or greater than 10 million Btu per hour, based on the 

lower heating value of the fuel fired)  

Subpart HH - Lime Manufacturing Plants.  

40 CFR 60.340 through 40 CFR 60.344  

(each rotary lime kiln)  

Subparts II through JJ - Reserved.  

Subpart KK - Lead-Acid Battery Manufacturing Plants.  

40 CFR 60.370 through 40 CFR 60.374  

(lead-acid battery manufacturing plants that produce or 

have the design capacity to produce in one day (24 hours) 

batteries containing an amount of lead equal to or greater 

than 6.5 tons: grid casting facilities, paste mixing facilities, 

three-process operation facilities, lead oxide manufacturing 

facilities, lead reclamation facilities, and other lead-

emitting operations)  

Subpart LL - Metallic Mineral Processing Plants.  

40 CFR 60.380 through 40 CFR 60.386  

(each crusher and screen in open-pit mines; each crusher, 

screen, bucket elevator, conveyor belt transfer point, 

thermal dryer, product packaging station, storage bin, 

enclosed storage area, truck loading station, truck 

unloading station, railcar loading station, and railcar 

unloading station at the mill or concentrator with the 

following exceptions. All facilities located in underground 

mines are exempted from the provisions of this subpart. At 

uranium ore processing plants, all facilities subsequent to 

and including the beneficiation of uranium ore are 

exempted from the provisions of this subpart)  

Subpart MM - Automobile and Light Duty Truck Surface 

Coating Operations.  

40 CFR 60.390 through 40 CFR 60.397  

(prime coat operations, guide coat operations, and top-coat 

operations)  

Subpart NN - Phosphate Rock Plants.  

40 CFR 60.400 through 40 CFR 60.404  

(phosphate rock plants which have a maximum plant 

production capacity greater than four tons per hour: dryers, 

calciners, grinders, and ground rock handling and storage 

facilities, except those facilities producing or preparing 

phosphate rock solely for consumption in elemental 

phosphorous production)  

Subpart OO - Reserved. 

Subpart PP - Ammonium Sulfate Manufacture.  

40 CFR 60.420 through 40 CFR 60.424  

(ammonium sulfate dryer within an ammonium sulfate 

manufacturing plant in the caprolactam by-product, 

synthetic, and coke oven by-product sectors of the 

ammonium sulfate industry)  

Subpart QQ - Graphic Arts Industry: Publication Rotogravure 

Printing.  

40 CFR 60.430 through 40 CFR 60.435  

(publication rotogravure printing presses, except proof 

presses)  

Subpart RR - Pressure Sensitive Tape and Label Surface 

Coating Operations.  

40 CFR 60.440 through 40 CFR 60.447  

(pressure sensitive tape and label material coating lines)  

Subpart SS - Industrial Surface Coating: Large Appliances.  

40 CFR 60.450 through 40 CFR 60.456  

(surface coating operations in large appliance coating 

lines)  

Subpart TT - Metal Coil Surface Coating.  

40 CFR 60.460 through 40 CFR 60.466  

(metal coil surface coating operations: each prime coat 

operation, each finish coat operation, and each prime and 

finish coat operation combined when the finish coat is 

applied wet on wet over the prime coat and both coatings 

are cured simultaneously)  

Subpart UU - Asphalt Processing and Asphalt Roofing 

Manufacture.  

40 CFR 60.470 through 40 CFR 60.474  

(each saturator and each mineral handling and storage 

facility at asphalt roofing plants; and each asphalt storage 

tank and each blowing still at asphalt processing plants, 

petroleum refineries, and asphalt roofing plants)  

Subpart VV - Equipment Leaks of Volatile Organic 

Compounds in the Synthetic Organic Chemicals 

Manufacturing Industry for which Construction, 

Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced after January 5, 

1981, and on or before November 7, 2006.  

40 CFR 60.480 through 40 CFR 60.489  

(all equipment within a process unit in a synthetic organic 

chemicals manufacturing plant) 

Subpart VVa - Equipment Leaks of VOC in the Synthetic 

Organic Chemicals Manufacturing Industry for which 

Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced 

after November 7, 2006. 

40 CFR 60.480a through 40 CFR 60.489a 
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(all equipment within a process unit in a synthetic organic 

chemicals manufacturing plant) 

Subpart WW - Beverage Can Surface Coating Industry.  

40 CFR 60.490 through 40 CFR 60.496  

(beverage can surface coating lines: each exterior base coat 

operation, each overvarnish coating operation, and each 

inside spray coating operation)  

Subpart XX - Bulk Gasoline Terminals.  

40 CFR 60.500 through 40 CFR 60.506  

(total of all loading racks at a bulk gasoline terminal which 

deliver liquid product into gasoline tank trucks)  

Subparts YY through ZZ - Reserved.  

Subpart AAA - New Residential Wood Heaters.  

40 CFR 60.530 through 40 CFR 60.539b  

(NOTE: In accordance with Chapter 471 of the 2015 Acts 

of Assembly, authority to enforce the above standard is 

being retained by EPA and the standard is not incorporated 

by reference into these regulations. A state permit may be 

required of certain facilities if the provisions of 9VAC5-50 

and 9VAC5-80 apply. Owners should review those 

provisions and contact the appropriate regional office for 

guidance on whether those provisions apply.) 

Subpart BBB - Rubber Tire Manufacturing Industry.  

40 CFR 60.540 through 40 CFR 60.548  

(each undertread cementing operation, each sidewall 

cementing operation, each tread end cementing operation, 

each bead cementing operation, each green tire spraying 

operation, each Michelin-A operation, each Michelin-B 

operation, and each Michelin-C automatic operation)  

Subpart CCC - Reserved.  

Subpart DDD - Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) 

Emissions from the Polymer Manufacturing Industry.  

40 CFR 60.560 through 40 CFR 60.566  

(for polypropylene and polyethylene manufacturing using a 

continuous process that emits continuously or 

intermittently: all equipment used in the manufacture of 

these polymers. For polystyrene manufacturing using a 

continuous process that emits continuously: each material 

recovery section. For poly(ethylene terephthalate) 

manufacturing using a continuous process that emits 

continuously: each polymerization reaction section; if 

dimethyl terephthalate is used in the process, each material 

recovery section is also an affected facility; if terephthalic 

acid is used in the process, each raw materials preparation 

section is also an affected facility. For VOC emissions 

from equipment leaks: each group of fugitive emissions 

equipment within any process unit, excluding 

poly(ethylene terephthalate) manufacture.)  

Subpart EEE - Reserved. 

Subpart FFF - Flexible Vinyl and Urethane Coating and 

Printing.  

40 CFR 60.580 through 40 CFR 60.585  

(each rotogravure printing line used to print or coat flexible 

vinyl or urethane products)  

Subpart GGG - Equipment Leaks of VOC in Petroleum 

Refineries for which Construction, Reconstruction, or 

Modification Commenced after January 4, 1983, and on or 

before November 7, 2006.  

40 CFR 60.590 through 40 CFR 60.593  

(each compressor, valve, pump pressure relief device, 

sampling connection system, open-ended valve or line, and 

flange or other connector in VOC service)  

Subpart GGGa - Equipment Leaks of VOC in Petroleum 

Refineries for which Construction, Reconstruction, or 

Modification Commenced after November 7, 2006. 

40 CFR 60.590a through 40 CFR 60.593a 

(each compressor, valve, pump pressure relief device, 

sampling connection system, open-ended valve or line, and 

flange or other connector in VOC service) 

Subpart HHH - Synthetic Fiber Production Facilities.  

40 CFR 60.600 through 40 CFR 60.604  

(each solvent-spun synthetic fiber process that produces 

more than 500 megagrams of fiber per year)  

Subpart III - Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) Emissions 

from the Synthetic Organic Chemical Manufacturing Industry 

(SOCMI) Air Oxidation Unit Processes.  

40 CFR 60.610 through 40 CFR 60.618  

(each air oxidation reactor not discharging its vent stream 

into a recovery system and each combination of an air 

oxidation reactor or two or more air oxidation reactors and 

the recovery system into which the vent streams are 

discharged)  

Subpart JJJ - Petroleum Dry Cleaners.  

40 CFR 60.620 through 40 CFR 60.625  

(facilities located at a petroleum dry cleaning plant with a 

total manufacturers' rated dryer capacity equal to or greater 

than 84 pounds: petroleum solvent dry cleaning dryers, 

washers, filters, stills, and settling tanks)  

Subpart KKK - Equipment Leaks of VOC from Onshore 

Natural Gas Processing Plants for which Construction, 

Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced after January 

20, 1984, and on or before August 23, 2011.  

40 CFR 60.630 through 40 CFR 60.636  

(each compressor in VOC service or in wet gas service; 

each pump, pressure relief device, open-ended valve or 

line, valve, and flange or other connector that is in VOC 

service or in wet gas service, and any device or system 

required by this subpart)  

Subpart LLL - Sulfur Dioxide Emissions from Onshore 

Natural Gas Processing for which Construction, 
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Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced after January 

20, 1984, and on or before August 23, 2011.  

40 CFR 60.640 through 40 CFR 60.648  

(facilities that process natural gas: each sweetening unit, 

and each sweetening unit followed by a sulfur recovery 

unit)  

Subpart MMM - Reserved. 

Subpart NNN - Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) 

Emissions from Synthetic Organic Chemical Manufacturing 

Industry (SOCMI) Distillation Operations.  

40 CFR 60.660 through 40 CFR 60.668  

(each distillation unit not discharging its vent stream into a 

recovery system, each combination of a distillation unit or 

of two or more units and the recovery system into which 

their vent streams are discharged)  

Subpart OOO - Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plants.  

40 CFR 60.670 through 40 CFR 60.676  

(facilities in fixed or portable nonmetallic mineral 

processing plants: each crusher, grinding mill, screening 

operation, bucket elevator, belt conveyor, bagging 

operation, storage bin, enclosed truck or railcar loading 

station)  

Subpart PPP - Wool Fiberglass Insulation Manufacturing 

Plants.  

40 CFR 60.680 through 40 CFR 60.685  

(each rotary spin wool fiberglass insulation manufacturing 

line)  

Subpart QQQ - VOC Emissions from Petroleum Refinery 

Wastewater Systems.  

40 CFR 60.690 through 40 CFR 60.699  

(individual drain systems, oil-water separators, and 

aggregate facilities in petroleum refineries)  

Subpart RRR - Volatile Organic Compound Emissions from 

Synthetic Organic Chemical Manufacturing Industry 

(SOCMI) Reactor Processes.  

40 CFR 60.700 through 40 CFR 60.708  

(each reactor process not discharging its vent stream into a 

recovery system, each combination of a reactor process 

and the recovery system into which its vent stream is 

discharged, and each combination of two or more reactor 

processes and the common recovery system into which 

their vent streams are discharged)  

Subpart SSS - Magnetic Tape Coating Facilities.  

40 CFR 60.710 through 40 CFR 60.718  

(each coating operation and each piece of coating mix 

preparation equipment)  

Subpart TTT - Industrial Surface Coating: Surface Coating of 

Plastic Parts for Business Machines.  

40 CFR 60.720 through 40 CFR 60.726  

(each spray booth in which plastic parts for use in the 

manufacture of business machines receive prime coats, 

color coats, texture coats, or touch-up coats)  

Subpart UUU - Calciners and Dryers in Mineral Industries.  

40 CFR 60.730 through 40 CFR 60.737  

(each calciner and dryer at a mineral processing plant)  

Subpart VVV - Polymeric Coating of Supporting Substrates 

Facilities.  

40 CFR 60.740 through 40 CFR 60.748  

(each coating operation and any onsite coating mix 

preparation equipment used to prepare coatings for the 

polymeric coating of supporting substrates)  

Subpart WWW - Municipal Solid Waste Landfills.  

40 CFR 60.750 through 40 CFR 60.759  

(municipal solid waste landfills for the containment of 

household and Resource Conservation and Recovery Act 

(RCRA) Subtitle D wastes)  

Subpart AAAA - Small Municipal Waste Combustors for 

which Construction is Commenced after August 30, 1999, or 

for which Modification or Reconstruction is Commenced 

after June 6, 2001.  

40 CFR 60.1000 through 40 CFR 60.1465  

(municipal waste combustor units with a capacity less than 

250 tons per day and greater than 35 tons per day of 

municipal solid waste or refuse-derived fuel)  

Subpart BBBB - Not applicable.  

Subpart CCCC - Commercial/Industrial Solid Waste 

Incinerators for which Construction is Commenced after 

November 30, 1999, or for which Modification or 

Construction is Commenced on or after June 1, 2001.  

40 CFR 60.2000 through 40 CFR 60.2265  

(an enclosed device using controlled flame combustion 

without energy recovery that is a distinct operating unit of 

any commercial or industrial facility, or an air curtain 

incinerator without energy recovery that is a distinct 

operating unit of any commercial or industrial facility)  

Subpart DDDD - Not applicable.  

Subpart EEEE - Other Solid Waste Incineration Units for 

which Construction is Commenced after December 9, 2004, 

or for which Modification or Reconstruction is Commenced 

on or after June 16, 2006.  

40 CFR 60.2880 through 40 CFR 60.2977  

(very small municipal waste combustion units with the 

capacity to combust less than 35 tons per day of municipal 

solid waste or refuse-derived fuel, and institutional waste 

incineration units owned or operated by an organization 

having a governmental, educational, civic, or religious 

purpose)  

Subpart FFFF - Reserved. 

Subpart GGGG - Reserved. 
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Subpart HHHH - Reserved. 

Subpart IIII - Stationary Compression Ignition Internal 

Combustion Engines. 

40 CFR 60.4200 through 40 CFR 60.4219 

(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 

retained by EPA and the standard is not incorporated by 

reference into these regulations for any source that is not 

(i) a major source as defined in 9VAC5-80-60 and subject 

to Article 1 (9VAC5-80-50 et seq., Federal Operating 

Permits for Stationary Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80 

(Permits for Stationary Sources) or (ii) an affected source 

as defined in 9VAC5-80-370 and subject to Article 3 

(9VAC5-80-360 et seq., Federal Operating Permits for 

Acid Rain Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80.) 

Subpart JJJJ - Stationary Spark Ignition Internal Combustion 

Engines. 

40 CFR 60.4230 through 40 CFR 60.4248 

(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 

retained by EPA and the standard is not incorporated by 

reference into these regulations for any source that is not 

(i) a major source as defined in 9VAC5-80-60 and subject 

to Article 1 (9VAC5-80-50 et seq., Federal Operating 

Permits for Stationary Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80 

(Permits for Stationary Sources) or (ii) an affected source 

as defined in 9VAC5-80-370 and subject to Article 3 

(9VAC5-80-360 et seq., Federal Operating Permits for 

Acid Rain Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80.) 

Subpart KKKK - Stationary Combustion Turbines. 

40 CFR 60.4300 through 40 CFR 60.4420 

(stationary combustion turbine with a heat input at peak 

load equal to or greater than 10.7 gigajoules (10 MMBtu) 

per hour) 

Subpart LLLL - Sewage Sludge Incineration Units. 

40 CFR 60.4760 through 40 CFR 60.4925 

(an incineration unit combusting sewage sludge for the 

purpose of reducing the volume of the sewage sludge by 

removing combustible matter, including the sewage sludge 

feed system, auxiliary fuel feed system, grate system, flue 

gas system, waste heat recovery equipment, and bottom 

ash system; and all ash handling systems connected with 

the bottom ash handling system) 

Subpart MMMM - Reserved. 

Subpart NNNN - Reserved. 

Subpart OOOO - Crude Oil and Natural Gas Production, 

Transmission and Distribution for which Construction, 

Modification, or Reconstruction Commenced after August 23, 

2011, and on or before September 18, 2015. 

40 CFR 60.5360 through 40 CFR 60.5430 40 CFR 60.5499 

(facilities that operate gas wells, centrifugal compressors, 

reciprocating compressors, pneumatic controllers, and 

storage vessels) 

Subpart OOOOa - Crude Oil and Natural Gas Facilities for 

which Construction, Modification, or Reconstruction 

Commenced after September 18, 2015. 

40 CFR 60.5360a through 40 CFR 60.5499a 

(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 

retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 

into these regulations for any source that is not (i) a major 

source as defined in 9VAC5-80-60 and subject to Article 1 

(9VAC5-80-50 et seq., Federal Operating Permits for 

Stationary Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80 (Permits for 

Stationary Sources) or (ii) an affected source as defined in 

9VAC5-80-370 and subject to Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et 

seq., Federal Operating Permits for Acid Rain Sources) of 

Part II of 9VAC5-80.) 

Subpart PPPP - Reserved. 

Subpart QQQQ - New Residential Hydronic Heaters and 

Forced-Air Furnaces 

40 CFR 60.5472 through 40 CFR 60.5483  

(NOTE: In accordance with Chapter 471 of the 2015 Acts 

of Assembly, authority to enforce the above standard is 

being retained by EPA and the standard is not incorporated 

by reference into these regulations. A state permit may be 

required of certain facilities if the provisions of 9VAC5-50 

and 9VAC5-80 apply. Owners should review those 

provisions and contact the appropriate regional office for 

guidance on whether those provisions apply.) 

Subpart RRRR - Reserved. 

Subpart SSSS - Reserved. 

Subpart TTTT - Reserved. 

Appendix A - Test methods.  

Appendix B - Performance specifications.  

Appendix C - Determination of Emission Rate Change.  

Appendix D - Required Emission Inventory Information.  

Appendix E - Reserved. 

Appendix F - Quality Assurance Procedures.  

Appendix G - Not applicable. 

Appendix H - Reserved.  

Appendix I - Removable label and owner's manual.  

Part II  

Emission Standards  

Article 1  

Environmental Protection Agency National Emission 

Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants (Rule 6-1)  

9VAC5-60-60. General.  

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Regulations 

on National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants 

(NESHAP), as promulgated in 40 CFR Part 61 and 

designated in 9VAC5-60-70 are, unless indicated otherwise, 

incorporated by reference into the regulations of the board as 

amended by the word or phrase substitutions given in 
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9VAC5-60-80. The complete text of the subparts in 9VAC5-

60-70 incorporated herein by reference is contained in 40 

CFR Part 61. The 40 CFR section numbers appearing under 

each subpart in 9VAC5-60-70 identify the specific provisions 

of the subpart incorporated by reference. The specific version 

of the provision adopted by reference shall be that contained 

in the CFR (2015) (2016) in effect July 1, 2015 2016. In 

making reference to the Code of Federal Regulations, 40 CFR 

Part 61 means Part 61 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations; 40 CFR 61.01 means 61.01 in Part 61 of Title 40 

of the Code of Federal Regulations.  

9VAC5-60-70. Designated emission standards.  

Subpart A—General Provisions.  

40 CFR 61.01 through 40 CFR 61.03, 40 CFR 61.05 

through 40 CFR 61.10, 40 CFR 61.12 through 40 CFR 

61.15, and 40 CFR 61.19  

(applicability, definitions, units and abbreviations, 

compliance, prohibited activities, determination of 

construction or modification, application for approval of 

construction or modification, approval of construction or 

modification, notification of startup, source reporting and 

waiver request, emission tests, monitoring, modification, 

and circumvention)  

Subpart B—Radon Emissions from Underground Uranium 

Mines.  

40 CFR 61.20 through 40 CFR 61.26  

(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 

retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 

into these regulations.)  

Subpart C—Beryllium.  

40 CFR 61.30 through 40 CFR 61.34  

Subpart D—Beryllium Rocket Motor Firing.  

40 CFR 61.40 through 40 CFR 61.44  

Subpart E—Mercury.  

40 CFR 61.50 through 40 CFR 61.55  

Subpart F—Vinyl Chloride.  

40 CFR 61.60 through 40 CFR 61.71  

Subpart G—(Reserved).  

Subpart H—Emissions of Radionuclides Other than Radon 

from Department of Energy (DOE) Facilities.  

40 CFR 61.90 through 40 CFR 61.97  

(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 

retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 

into these regulations.)  

Subpart I—Radionuclide Emissions from Facilities Licensed 

by the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) and Federal 

Facilities Not Covered by Subpart H.  

40 CFR 61.100 through 40 CFR 61.109  

(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 

retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 

into these regulations.)  

Subpart J—Equipment Leaks (Fugitive Emission Sources) 

of Benzene.  

40 CFR 61.110 through 40 CFR 61.112  

Subpart K—Radionuclide Emissions From from Elemental 

Phosphorus Plants.  

40 CFR 61.120 through 40 CFR 61.127  

(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 

retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 

into these regulations.)  

Subpart L—Benzene Emissions From from Coke By-

Product Recovery Plants.  

40 CFR 61.130 through 40 CFR 61.139  

Subpart M—Asbestos.  

40 CFR 61.140 through 40 CFR 61.157  

(NOTE: Under § 40.1-51.20 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Virginia Department of Labor and Industry also holds 

authority to enforce the following: 40 CFR 61.140, 

Applicability; 40 CFR 61.141, Definitions; 40 CFR Part 

145 40 CFR 61.145, Standard for demolition and 

renovation; 40 CFR 61.146, Standard for spraying; 60 CFR 

Part 148 40 CFR 61.148, Standard for insulating materials; 

60 CFR Part 150 40 CFR 61.150, Standard for waste 

disposal for manufacturing, fabricating, demolition, 

renovation, and spraying operations except subsection 

(a)(4); and 40 CFR Part 154 40 CFR 61.154, Standard for 

active waste disposal, except subsection (d); and 40 CFR 

Part 156 40 CFR 61.156, Cross-reference to other asbestos 

regulations.)  

Subpart N—Inorganic Arsenic Emissions from Glass 

Manufacturing Plants.  

40 CFR 61.160 through 40 CFR 61.165  

Subpart O—Inorganic Arsenic Emissions from Primary 

Copper Smelters.  

40 CFR 61.170 through 40 CFR 61.177  

Subpart P—Inorganic Arsenic Emissions from Arsenic 

Trioxide and Metallic Arsenic Production Facilities.  

40 CFR 61.180 through 40 CFR 61.186  

Subpart Q—Radon Emissions from Department of Energy 

Facilities.  

40 CFR 61.190 through 40 CFR 61.193  

(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 

retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 

into these regulations.)  

Subpart R—Radon Emissions from Phosphogypsum Stacks.  

40 CFR 61.200 through 40 CFR 61.205  
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(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 

retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 

into these regulations.)  

Subpart S—(Reserved).  

Subpart T—Radon Emissions from the Disposal of Uranium 

Mill Tailings.  

40 CFR 61.220 through 40 CFR 61.225  

(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 

retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 

into these regulations.)  

Subpart U—(Reserved).  

Subpart V—Equipment Leaks (Fugitive Emission Sources).  

40 CFR 61.240 through 40 CFR 61.247  

Subpart W—Radon Emissions from Operating Mill 

Tailings.  

40 CFR 61.250 through 40 CFR 61.252  

(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 

retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 

into these regulations.)  

Subpart X—(Reserved).  

Subpart Y—Benzene Emissions From from Benzene 

Storage Vessels.  

40 CFR 61.270 through 40 CFR 61.277  

Subpart Z—(Reserved).  

Subpart AA—(Reserved).  

Subpart BB—Benzene Emissions from Benzene Transfer 

Operations.  

40 CFR 61.300 through 40 CFR 61.306  

Subpart CC—(Reserved).  

Subpart DD—(Reserved).  

Subpart EE—(Reserved).  

Subpart FF—Benzene Waste Operations.  

40 CFR 61.340 through 40 CFR 61.358  

Appendix A—Not applicable.  

Appendix B—Test Methods.  

(NOTE: Authority to enforce the following test methods is 

being retained by EPA and they are not incorporated by 

reference into the Regulations for the Control and 

Abatement of Air Pollution.)  

Method 111—Determination of polonium-210 emissions 

from stationary sources. Method 114—Test methods for 

measuring radionuclide emissions from stationary sources.  

Method 115—Monitoring for radon-222 emissions.  

Appendix C—Quality assurance procedures.  

Appendix D—Methods for estimating radionuclide 

emissions.  

(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above methods is being 

retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 

into the Regulations for the Control and Abatement of Air 

Pollution.)  

Appendix E—Compliance procedures methods for 

determining compliance with Subpart I.  

(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above methods is being 

retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 

into the Regulations for the Control and Abatement of Air 

Pollution.)  

Article 2  

Environmental Protection Agency National Emission 

Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories 

(Rule 6-2)  

9VAC5-60-90. General.  

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) National 

Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source 

Categories (Maximum Achievable Control Technologies, or 

MACTs) as promulgated in 40 CFR Part 63 and designated in 

9VAC5-60-100 are, unless indicated otherwise, incorporated 

by reference into the regulations of the board as amended by 

the word or phrase substitutions given in 9VAC5-60-110. The 

complete text of the subparts in 9VAC5-60-100 incorporated 

herein by reference is contained in 40 CFR Part 63. The 40 

CFR section numbers appearing under each subpart in 

9VAC5-60-100 identify the specific provisions of the subpart 

incorporated by reference. The specific version of the 

provision adopted by reference shall be that contained in the 

CFR (2015) (2016) in effect July 1, 2015 2016. In making 

reference to the Code of Federal Regulations, 40 CFR Part 63 

means Part 63 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations; 

40 CFR 63.1 means 63.1 in Part 63 of Title 40 of the Code of 

Federal Regulations.  

9VAC5-60-100. Designated emission standards. 

Subpart A - General Provisions.  

40 CFR 63.1 through 40 CFR 63.11; 40 CFR 63.16  

(applicability, definitions, units and abbreviations, 

prohibited activities and circumvention, construction and 

reconstruction, compliance with standards and 

maintenance requirements, performance testing 

requirements, monitoring requirements, notification 

requirements, recordkeeping and reporting requirements, 

control device requirements, performance track provisions)  

Subpart B - Not applicable.  

Subpart C - List of Hazardous Air Pollutants, Petitions 

Process, Lesser Quantity Designations, Source Category List.  

40 CFR 63.60, 40 CFR 63.61, 40 CFR 63.62 and 40 CFR 

63.63  

(deletion of caprolactam from the list of hazardous air 

pollutants, deletion of methyl ethyl ketone from the list of 

hazardous air pollutants, redefinition of glycol ethers listed 

as hazardous air pollutants, deletion of ethylene glycol 

monobutyl ether)  

Subpart D - Not applicable.  
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Subpart E - Not applicable.  

Subpart F - Organic Hazardous Air Pollutants from the 

Synthetic Organic Chemical Manufacturing Industry. 

40 CFR 63.100 through 40 CFR 63.106  

(chemical manufacturing process units that manufacture as 

a primary product one or more of a listed chemical; use as 

a reactant or manufacture as a product, by-product, or co-

product, one or more of a listed organic hazardous air 

pollutant; and are located at a plant site that is a major 

source as defined in § 112 of the federal Clean Air Act)  

Subpart G - Organic Hazardous Air Pollutants From from the 

Synthetic Organic Chemical Manufacturing Industry for 

Process Vents, Storage Vessels, Transfer Operations, and 

Wastewater.  

40 CFR 63.110 through 40 CFR 63.152  

(all process vents, storage vessels, transfer operations, and 

wastewater streams within a source subject to Subpart F, 

40 CFR 63.100 through 40 CFR 63.106)  

Subpart H - Organic Hazardous Air Pollutants for Equipment 

Leaks.  

40 CFR 63.160 through 40 CFR 63.182  

(pumps, compressors, agitators, pressure relief devices, 

sampling connection systems, open-ended valves or lines, 

valves, connectors, surge control vessels, bottoms 

receivers, instrumentation systems, and control devices or 

systems that are intended to operate in organic hazardous 

air pollutant service 300 hours or more during the calendar 

year within a source subject to the provisions of a specific 

subpart in 40 CFR Part 63)  

Subpart I - Organic Hazardous Air Pollutants for Certain 

Processes Subject to the Negotiated Regulation for 

Equipment Leaks.  

40 CFR 63.190 through 40 CFR 63.192  

(emissions of designated organic hazardous air pollutants 

from processes specified in this subpart that are located at a 

plant site that is a major source as defined in § 112 of the 

federal Clean Air Act)  

Subpart J - Polyvinyl Chloride and Copolymers Production. 

40 CFR 63.210 through 40 CFR 63.217 

(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 

retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 

into these regulations.)  

Subpart K - Reserved.  

Subpart L - Coke Oven Batteries.  

40 CFR 63.300 through 40 CFR 63.313  

(existing by-product coke oven batteries at a coke plant, 

and existing nonrecovery coke oven batteries located at a 

coke plant)  

Subpart M - Perchlorethylene Dry Cleaning Facilities.  

40 CFR 63.320 through 40 CFR 63.325  

(each dry cleaning facility that uses perchlorethylene)  

Subpart N - Chromium Emissions from Hard and Decorative 

Chromium Electroplating and Chromium Anodizing Tanks.  

40 CFR 63.340 through 40 CFR 63.347  

(each chromium electroplating or chromium anodizing 

tank at facilities performing hard chromium electroplating, 

decorative chromium electroplating, or chromium 

anodizing)  

Subpart O - Ethylene Oxide Commercial Sterilization and 

Fumigation Operations.  

40 CFR 63.360 through 40 CFR 63.367  

(sterilization sources using ethylene oxide in sterilization 

or fumigation operations)  

Subpart P - Reserved.  

Subpart Q - Industrial Process Cooling Towers.  

40 CFR 63.400 through 40 CFR 63.406  

(industrial process cooling towers that are operated with 

chromium-based water treatment chemicals)  

Subpart R - Gasoline Distribution Facilities.  

40 CFR 63.420 through 40 CFR 63.429  

(bulk gasoline terminals and pipeline breakout stations)  

Subpart S - Pulp and Paper Industry.  

40 CFR 63.440 through 40 CFR 63.458  

(processes that produce pulp, paper, or paperboard, and use 

the following processes and materials: kraft, soda, sulfite, 

or semi-chemical pulping processes using wood; or 

mechanical pulping processes using wood; or any process 

using secondary or nonwood fibers)  

Subpart T - Halogenated Solvent Cleaning.  

40 CFR 63.460 through 40 CFR 63.469  

(each individual batch vapor, in-line vapor, in-line cold, 

and batch cold solvent cleaning machine that uses any 

solvent containing methylene chloride, perchlorethylene, 

trichloroethylene, 1,1,1-trichloroethane, carbon 

tetrachloride, or chloroform)  

Subpart U - Group I Polymers and Resins.  

40 CFR 63.480 through 40 CFR 63.506  

(elastomer product process units that produce butyl rubber, 

halobutyl rubber, epichlorohydrin elastomers, ethylene 

propylene rubber, Hypalon™, neoprene, nitrile butadiene 

rubber, nitrile butadiene latex, polysulfide rubber, 

polybutadiene rubber/styrene butadiene rubber by solution, 

styrene butadiene latex, and styrene butadiene rubber by 

emulsion)  

Subpart V - Reserved.  

Subpart W - Epoxy Resins Production and Non-Nylon 

Polyamides Production.  

40 CFR 63.520 through 40 CFR 63.527  
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(manufacturers of basic liquid epoxy resins and wet 

strength resins)  

Subpart X - Secondary Lead Smelting.  

40 CFR 63.541 through 40 CFR 60.552 

(at all secondary lead smelters: blast, reverberatory, rotary, 

and electric smelting furnaces; refining kettles; 

agglomerating furnaces; dryers; process fugitive sources; 

and fugitive dust sources)  

Subpart Y - Marine Tank Vessel Tank Loading Operations.  

40 CFR 63.560 through 40 CFR 63.567  

(marine tank vessel unloading operations at petroleum 

refineries)  

Subpart Z - Reserved.  

Subpart AA - Phosphoric Acid Manufacturing Plants.  

40 CFR 63.600 through 40 CFR 63.610 40 CFR 63.611  

(wet-process phosphoric acid process lines, evaporative 

cooling towers, rock dryers, rock calciners, 

superphosphoric acid process lines, purified acid process 

lines)  

Subpart BB - Phosphate Fertilizers Production Plants.  

40 CFR 63.620 through 40 CFR 63.631 40 CFR 63.632  

(diammonium and monoammonium phosphate process 

lines, granular triple superphosphate process lines, and 

granular triple superphosphate storage buildings)  

Subpart CC - Petroleum Refineries.  

40 CFR 63.640 through 40 CFR 63.654 40 CFR 63.671  

(storage tanks, equipment leaks, process vents, and 

wastewater collection and treatment systems at petroleum 

refineries)  

Subpart DD - Off-Site Waste and Recovery Operations.  

40 CFR 63.680 through 40 CFR 63.697  

(operations that treat, store, recycle, and dispose of waste 

received from other operations that produce waste or 

recoverable materials as part of their manufacturing 

processes)  

Subpart EE - Magnetic Tape Manufacturing Operations.  

40 CFR 63.701 through 40 CFR 63.708  

(manufacturers of magnetic tape)  

Subpart FF - Reserved.  

Subpart GG - Aerospace Manufacturing and Rework 

Facilities.  

40 CFR 63.741 through 40 CFR 63.752 40 CFR 63.759  

(facilities engaged in the manufacture or rework of 

commercial, civil, or military aerospace vehicles or 

components)  

Subpart HH - Oil and Natural Gas Production Facilities.  

40 CFR 63.760 through 40 CFR 63.779  

(facilities that process, upgrade, or store hydrocarbon 

liquids or natural gas; ancillary equipment and 

compressors intended to operate in volatile hazardous air 

pollutant service)  

Subpart II - Shipbuilding and Ship Repair (Surface Coating).  

40 CFR 63.780 through 40 CFR 63.788  

(shipbuilding and ship repair operations)  

Subpart JJ - Wood Furniture Manufacturing Operations.  

40 CFR 63.800 through 40 CFR 63.819  

(finishing materials, adhesives, and strippable spray booth 

coatings; storage, transfer, and application of coatings and 

solvents)  

Subpart KK - Printing and Publishing Industry.  

40 CFR 63.820 through 40 CFR 63.831  

(publication rotogravure, product and packaging 

rotogravure, and wide-web printing processes)  

Subpart LL - Primary Aluminum Reduction Plants.  

40 CFR 63.840 through 40 CFR 63.859  

(each pitch storage tank, potline, paste production plant, or 

anode bulk furnace associated with primary aluminum 

production)  

Subpart MM - Chemical Recovery Combustion Sources at 

Kraft, Soda, Sulfite and Stand-Alone Semichemical Pulp 

Mills.  

40 CFR 63.860 through 40 CFR 63.868  

(chemical recovery systems, direct and nondirect contact 

evaporator recovery furnace systems, lime kilns, sulfite 

combustion units, semichemical combustion units)  

Subpart NN - Reserved Wool Fiberglass Manufacturing at 

Area Sources.  

40 CFR 63.880 through 40 CFR 63.899 

(manufacture of wool fiberglass insulation materials 

composed of glass fibers made from glass produced or 

melted at the same facility where the manufacturing line is 

located) 

Subpart OO - Tanks--Level 1.  

40 CFR 63.900 through 40 CFR 63.907  

(for off-site waste and recovery operations, fixed-roof 

tanks)  

Subpart PP - Containers.  

40 CFR 63.920 through 40 CFR 63.928  

(for off-site waste and recovery operations, containers)  

Subpart QQ - Surface Impoundments.  

40 CFR 63.940 through 40 CFR 63.948  

(for off-site waste and recovery operations, surface 

impoundment covers and vents)  

Subpart RR - Individual Drain Systems.  

40 CFR 63.960 through 40 CFR 63.966  
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(for off-site waste and recovery operations, inspection and 

maintenance of individual drain systems)  

Subpart SS - Closed Vent Systems, Control Devices, 

Recovery Devices and Routing to a Fuel Gas System or a 

Process.  

40 CFR 63.980 through 40 CFR 63.999  

(closed vent systems, control devices, recovery devices, 

and routing to a fuel gas system or a process, when 

associated with facilities subject to a referencing subpart)  

Subpart TT - Equipment Leaks - Control Level 1.  

40 CFR 63.1000 through 40 CFR 63.1018  

(control of air emissions from equipment leaks when 

associated with facilities subject to a referencing subpart)  

Subpart UU - Equipment Leaks - Control Level 2.  

40 CFR 63.1019 through 40 CFR 63.1039  

(control of air emissions from equipment leaks when 

associated with facilities subject to a referencing subpart: 

pumps, compressors, agitators, pressure relief devices, 

sampling connection systems, open-ended valves or lines, 

valves, connectors, instrumentation systems, closed vent 

systems and control devices)  

Subpart VV - Oil-Water Separators and Organic-Water 

Separators.  

40 CFR 63.1040 through 40 CFR 63.1049  

(for off-site waste and recovery operations, oil-water 

separators and organic-water separator roofs and vents)  

Subpart WW - Storage Vessels (Tanks) - Control Level 2.  

40 CFR 63.1060 through 40 CFR 63.1066  

(storage vessels associated with facilities subject to a 

referencing subpart)  

Subpart XX - Ethylene Manufacturing Process Units: Heat 

Exchange Systems and Waste.  

40 CFR 63.1080 through 40 CFR 63.1098  

(any cooling tower system or once-through cooling water 

system)  

Subpart YY - Generic Maximum Achievable Control 

Technology Standards.  

40 CFR 63.1100 through 40 CFR 63.1113  

(acetal resins production, acrylic and modacrylic fibers 

production, hydrogen fluoride production, polycarbonate 

production)  

Subpart ZZ - Reserved.  

Subpart AAA - Reserved.  

Subpart BBB - Reserved.  

Subpart CCC - Steel Pickling - Hydrogen Chloride Process 

Facilities and Hydrochloric Acid Regeneration Plants.  

40 CFR 63.1155 through 40 CFR 63.1174  

(steel pickling facilities that pickle carbon steel using 

hydrochloric acid solution, hydrochloric acid regeneration 

plants)  

Subpart DDD - Mineral Wool Production.  

40 CFR 63.1175 through 40 CFR 63.1199  

(cupolas and curing ovens at mineral wool manufacturing 

facilities)  

Subpart EEE - Hazardous Waste Combustors.  

40 CFR 63.1200 through 40 CFR 63.1221  

(hazardous waste combustors)  

Subpart FFF - Reserved.  

Subpart GGG - Pharmaceutical Production.  

40 CFR 63.1250 through 40 CFR 63.1261  

(pharmaceutical manufacturing operations)  

Subpart HHH - Natural Gas Transmission and Storage 

Facilities.  

40 CFR 63.1270 through 40 CFR 63.1289  

(natural gas transmission and storage facilities that 

transport or store natural gas prior to entering the pipeline 

to a local distribution company or to a final end user)  

Subpart III - Flexible Polyurethane Foam Production.  

40 CFR 63.1290 through 40 CFR 63.1309  

(flexible polyurethane foam or rebond processes)  

Subpart JJJ - Group IV Polymers and Resins.  

40 CFR 63.1310 through 40 CFR 63.1335  

(facilities which manufacture acrylonitrile butadiene 

styrene resin, styrene acrylonitrile resin, methyl 

methacrylate butadiene styrene resin, polystyrene resin, 

poly(ethylene terephthalate) resin, or nitrile resin)  

Subpart KKK - Reserved.  

Subpart LLL - Portland Cement Manufacturing.  

40 CFR 63.1340 through 40 CFR 63.1359  

(kilns; in-line kilns/raw mills; clinker coolers; raw mills; 

finish mills; raw material dryers; raw material, clinker, or 

finished product storage bins; conveying system transfer 

points; bagging systems; bulk loading or unloading 

systems)  

Subpart MMM - Pesticide Active Ingredient Production.  

40 CFR 63.1360 through 40 CFR 63.1369  

(pesticide active ingredient manufacturing process units, 

waste management units, heat exchange systems, and 

cooling towers)  

Subpart NNN - Wool Fiberglass Manufacturing.  

40 CFR 63.1380 through 40 CFR 63.1399  

(glass melting furnaces, rotary spin wool fiberglass 

manufacturing lines producing bonded wool fiberglass 

building insulation or bonded heavy-density product)  
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Subpart OOO - Amino/Phenolic Resins Production.  

40 CFR 63.1400 through 40 CFR 63.1419  

(unit operations, process vents, storage vessels, equipment 

subject to leak provisions)  

Subpart PPP - Polyether Polyols Production.  

40 CFR 63.1420 through 40 CFR 63.1439  

(polyether polyol manufacturing process units)  

Subpart QQQ - Primary Copper Smelting.  

40 CFR 63.1440 through 40 CFR 63.1-1459  

(batch copper converters, including copper concentrate 

dryers, smelting furnaces, slag cleaning vessels, copper 

converter departments, and the entire group of fugitive 

emission sources)  

Subpart RRR - Secondary Aluminum Production.  

40 CFR 63.1500 through 40 CFR 63.1520  

(scrap shredders; thermal chip dryers; scrap 

dryers/delacquering kilns/decoating kilns; group 2, sweat, 

dross-only furnaces; rotary dross coolers; processing units)  

Subpart SSS - Reserved.  

Subpart TTT - Primary Lead Smelting.  

40 CFR 63.1541 through 40 CFR 63.1550  

(sinter machines, blast furnaces, dross furnaces, process 

fugitive sources, fugitive dust sources)  

Subpart UUU - Petroleum Refineries: Catalytic Cracking 

Units, Catalytic Reforming Units, and Sulfur Recovery Units.  

40 CFR 63.1560 through 40 CFR 63.1579  

(petroleum refineries that produce transportation and 

heating fuels or lubricants, separate petroleum, or separate, 

crack, react, or reform an intermediate petroleum stream, 

or recover byproducts from an intermediate petroleum 

stream)  

Subpart VVV - Publicly Owned Treatment Works.  

40 CFR 63.1580 through 40 CFR 63.1595  

(intercepting sewers, outfall sewers, sewage collection 

systems, pumping, power, and other equipment)  

Subpart WWW - Reserved.  

Subpart XXX - Ferroalloys Production: Ferromanganese and 

Silicomanganese.  

40 CFR 63.1620 through 40 CFR 63.1679  

(submerged arc furnaces, metal oxygen refining processes, 

crushing and screening operations, fugitive dust sources)  

Subpart YYY - Reserved.  

Subpart ZZZ - Reserved.  

Subpart AAAA - Municipal Solid Waste Landfills.  

40 CFR 63.1930 through 40 CFR 63.1990  

(municipal solid waste landfills that have accepted waste 

since November 8, 1987, or have additional capacity for 

waste deposition)  

Subpart BBBB - Reserved.  

Subpart CCCC - Manufacturing of Nutritional Yeast.  

40 CFR 63.2130 through 40 CFR 63.2192  

(fermentation vessels)  

Subpart DDDD - Plywood and Composite Wood Products.  

40 CFR 63.2230 through 40 CFR 63.2292  

(manufacture of plywood and composite wood products by 

bonding wood material or agricultural fiber with resin 

under heat and pressure to form a structural panel or 

engineered wood product)  

Subpart EEEE - Organic Liquids Distribution (Nongasoline).  

40 CFR 63.2330 through 40 CFR 63.2406  

(transfer of noncrude oil liquids or liquid mixtures that 

contain organic hazardous air pollutants, or crude oils 

downstream of the first point of custody, via storage tanks, 

transfer racks, equipment leak components associated with 

pipelines, and transport vehicles) 

Subpart FFFF - Miscellaneous Organic Chemical 

Manufacturing.  

40 CFR 63.2430 through 40 CFR 63.2550  

(reaction, recovery, separation, purification, or other 

activity, operation, manufacture, or treatment that is used 

to produce a product or isolated intermediate)  

Subpart GGGG - Solvent Extraction for Vegetable Oil 

Production.  

40 CFR 63.2830 through 40 CFR 63.2872  

(vegetable oil production processes)  

Subpart HHHH - Wet-formed Fiberglass Mat Production.  

40 CFR 63.2980 through 63.3079  

(wet-formed fiberglass mat drying and curing ovens)  

Subpart IIII - Surface Coating of Automobiles and Light-

Duty Trucks.  

40 CFR 63.3080 through 40 CFR 63.3176.  

(application of topcoat to new automobile or new light-

duty truck bodies or body parts)  

Subpart JJJJ - Paper and Other Web Coating.  

40 CFR 63.3280 through 40 CFR 63.3420  

(web coating lines engaged in the coating of metal webs 

used in flexible packaging and in the coating of fabric 

substrates for use in pressure-sensitive tape and abrasive 

materials)  

Subpart KKKK - Surface Coating of Metal Cans.  

40 CFR 63.3480 through 40 CFR 63.3561  

(application of coatings to a substrate using spray guns or 

dip tanks, including one-piece and two-piece draw and iron 

can body coating; sheetcoating; three-piece can body 

assembly coating; and end coating)  

Subpart LLLL - Reserved.  
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Subpart MMMM - Surface Coating of Miscellaneous Metal 

Parts and Products.  

40 CFR 63.3880 through 40 CFR 63.3981  

(application of coatings to industrial, household, and 

consumer products)  

Subpart NNNN - Surface Coating of Large Appliances.  

40 CFR 63.4080 through 40 CFR 63.4181  

(surface coating of a large appliance part or product, 

including cooking equipment; refrigerators, freezers, and 

refrigerated cabinets and cases; laundry equipment; 

dishwashers, trash compactors, and water heaters; and 

HVAC units, air-conditioning, air-conditioning and heating 

combination units, comfort furnaces, and electric heat 

pumps)  

Subpart OOOO - Printing, Coating, and Dyeing of Fabrics 

and Other Textiles.  

40 CFR 63.4280 through 40 CFR 63.4371  

(printing, coating, slashing, dyeing, or finishing of fabric 

and other textiles)  

Subpart PPPP - Surface Coating of Plastic Parts and Products.  

40 CFR 63.4480 through 40 CFR 63.4581  

(application of coating to a substrate using spray guns or 

dip tanks, including motor vehicle parts and accessories for 

automobiles, trucks, recreational vehicles; sporting and 

recreational goods; toys; business machines; laboratory and 

medical equipment; and household and other consumer 

products)  

Subpart QQQQ - Surface Coating of Wood Building 

Products.  

40 CFR 63.4680 through 40 CFR 63.4781  

(finishing or laminating of wood building products used in 

the construction of a residential, commercial, or 

institutional building)  

Subpart RRRR - Surface Coating of Metal Furniture.  

40 CFR 63.4880 through 40 CFR 63.4981  

(application of coatings to substrate using spray guns and 

dip tanks)  

Subpart SSSS - Surface Coating of Metal Coil.  

40 CFR 63.5080 through 40 CFR 63.5209  

(organic coating to surface of metal coil, including web 

unwind or feed sections, work stations, curing ovens, wet 

sections, and quench stations)  

Subpart TTTT - Leather Finishing Operations.  

40 CFR 63.5280 through 40 CFR 63.5460  

(multistage application of finishing materials to adjust and 

improve the physical and aesthetic characteristics of 

leather surfaces)  

Subpart UUUU - Cellulose Products Manufacturing.  

40 CFR 63.5480 through 40 CFR 63.5610  

(cellulose food casing, rayon, cellulosic sponge, cellophane 

manufacturing, methyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl methyl 

cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, hydroxyethyl cellulose, 

and carboxymethyl cellulose manufacturing industries)  

Subpart VVVV - Boat Manufacturing.  

40 CFR 63.5680 through 40 CFR 63.5779  

(resin and gel coat operations, carpet and fabric adhesive 

operations, aluminum recreational boat surface coating 

operations)  

Subpart WWWW - Reinforced Plastic Composites 

Production.  

40 CFR 63.5780 through 40 CFR 63.5935  

(reinforced or nonreinforced plastic composites or plastic 

molding compounds using thermostat resins and gel coats 

that contain styrene)  

Subpart XXXX - Rubber Tire Manufacturing.  

40 CFR 63.5980 through 40 CFR 63.6015  

(production of rubber tires and components including 

rubber compounds, sidewalls, tread, tire beads, tire cord 

and liners)  

Subpart YYYY - Stationary Combustion Turbines.  

40 CFR 63.6080 through 40 CFR 63.6175  

(simple cycle, regenerative/recuperative cycle, 

cogeneration cycle, and combined cycle stationary 

combustion turbines)  

Subpart ZZZZ - Stationary Reciprocating Internal 

Combustion Engines.  

40 CFR 63.6580 through 40 CFR 63.6675.  

(any stationary internal combustion engine that uses 

reciprocating motion to convert heat energy into 

mechanical work)  

(NOTE: Authority to enforce provisions related to affected 

facilities located at a major source as defined in 40 CFR 

63.6675 is being retained by the Commonwealth. 

Authority to enforce the area source provisions of the 

above standard is being retained by EPA and are not 

incorporated by reference into these regulations for any 

source that is not (i) a major source as defined in 9VAC5-

80-60 and subject to Article 1 (9VAC5-80-50 et seq., 

Federal Operating Permits for Stationary Sources) of Part 

II of 9VAC5-80 (Permits for Stationary Sources) or (ii) an 

affected source as defined in 9VAC5-80-370 and subject to 

Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et seq., Federal Operating 

Permits for Acid Rain Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80.) 

Subpart AAAAA - Lime Manufacturing Plants.  

40 CFR 63.7080 through 40 CFR 63.7143.  

(manufacture of lime product, including calcium oxide, 

calcium oxide with magnesium oxide, or dead burned 

dolomite, by calcination of limestone, dolomite, shells or 

other calcareous substances)  
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Subpart BBBBB - Semiconductor Manufacturing.  

40 CFR 63.7180 through 40 CFR 63.7195  

(semiconductor manufacturing process units used to 

manufacture p-type and n-type semiconductors and active 

solid-state devices from a wafer substrate)  

Subpart CCCCC - Coke Ovens: Pushing, Quenching, and 

Battery Stacks.  

40 CFR 63.7280 through 40 CFR 63.7352  

(pushing, soaking, quenching, and battery stacks at coke 

oven batteries)  

Subpart DDDDD - Industrial, Commercial, and Institutional 

Boilers and Process Heaters. 

40 CFR 63.7480 through 40 CFR 63.7575 

(industrial, commercial, and institutional boilers and 

process heaters) 

Subpart EEEEE - Iron and Steel Foundries.  

40 CFR 63.7680 through 40 CFR 63.7765  

(metal melting furnaces, scrap preheaters, pouring areas, 

pouring stations, automated conveyor and pallet cooling 

lines, automated shakeout lines, and mold and core making 

lines)  

Subpart FFFFF - Integrated Iron and Steel Manufacturing.  

40 CFR 63.7780 through 40 CFR 63.7852  

(each sinter plant, blast furnace, and basic oxygen process 

furnace at an integrated iron and steel manufacturing 

facility)  

Subpart GGGGG - Site Remediation.  

40 CFR 63.7880 through 40 CFR 63.7957  

(activities or processes used to remove, destroy, degrade, 

transform, immobilize, or otherwise manage remediation 

material)  

Subpart HHHHH - Miscellaneous Coating Manufacturing.  

40 CFR 63.7980 through 40 CFR 63.8105  

(process vessels; storage tanks for feedstocks and products; 

pumps, compressors, agitators, pressure relief devices, 

sampling connection systems, open-ended valves or lines, 

valves, connectors, and instrumentation systems; 

wastewater tanks and transfer racks)  

Subpart IIIII - Mercury Cell Chlor-Alkali Plants.  

40 CFR 63.8180 through 40 CFR 63.8266  

(byproduct hydrogen streams, end box ventilation system 

vents, and fugitive emission sources associated with cell 

rooms, hydrogen systems, caustic systems, and storage 

areas for mercury-containing wastes)  

Subpart JJJJJ - Brick and Structural Clay Products 

Manufacturing. 

40 CFR 63.8380 through 40 CFR 63.8515 

(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 

retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 

into these regulations. (facilities that manufacture brick, 

clay pipe, roof tile, extruded floor and wall tile, and other 

extruded, dimensional clay products, and typically process 

raw clay and shale, form the processed materials into 

bricks or shapes, and dry and fire the bricks or shapes) 

Subpart KKKKK - Ceramics Manufacturing. 

40 CFR 63.8530 through 40 CFR 63.8665 

(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 

retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 

into these regulations. (facilities that manufacture pressed 

floor tile, pressed wall tile, other pressed tile, or 

sanitaryware, and typically process clay, shale, and various 

additives, form the processed materials into tile or 

sanitaryware shapes, and dry and fire the ceramic products) 

Subpart LLLLL - Asphalt Processing and Asphalt Roof 

Manufacturing.  

40 CFR 63.8680 through 40 CFR 63.8698  

(preparation of asphalt flux at stand-alone asphalt 

processing facilities, petroleum refineries, and asphalt 

roofing facilities)  

Subpart MMMMM - Flexible Polyurethane Foam Fabrication 

Operations.  

40 CFR 63.8780 through 40 CFR 63.8830  

(flexible polyurethane foam fabrication plants using flame 

lamination or loop slitter adhesives)  

Subpart NNNNN - Hydrochloric Acid Production.  

40 CFR 63.8980 through 40 CFR 63.9075  

(HCl production facilities that produce a liquid HCl 

product)  

Subpart OOOOO - Reserved.  

Subpart PPPPP - Engine Test Cells and Stands.  

40 CFR Subpart 63.9280 through 40 CFR 63.9375  

(any apparatus used for testing uninstalled stationary or 

uninstalled mobile (motive) engines)  

Subpart QQQQQ - Friction Materials Manufacturing 

Facilities.  

40 CFR 63.9480 through 40 CFR 63.9579  

(friction materials manufacturing facilities that use a 

solvent-based process)  

Subpart RRRRR - Taconite Iron Ore Processing.  

40 CFR 63.9580 through 40 CFR 63.9652  

(ore crushing and handling, ore dryer stacks, indurating 

furnace stacks, finished pellet handling, and fugitive dust)  

Subpart SSSSS - Refractory Products Manufacturing.  

40 CFR 63.9780 through 40 CFR 63.9824  

(manufacture of refractory products, including refractory 

bricks and shapes, monolithics, kiln furniture, crucibles, 

and other materials for liming furnaces and other high 

temperature process units)  
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Subpart TTTTT - Primary Magnesium Refining.  

40 CFR 63.9880 through 40 CFR 63.9942  

(spray dryer, magnesium chloride storage bin scrubber, 

melt/reactor system, and launder off-gas system stacks)  

Subpart UUUUU - Coal-fired and Oil-fired Electric Utility 
Steam Generating Units. 

40 CFR 63.9980 through 40 CFR 63.10042 

(any furnace, boiler, or other device used for combusting 

fuel for the purpose of producing steam, including fossil 

fuel-fired steam generators associated with integrated 

gasification combined cycle gas turbines and excluding 

nuclear steam generators, for the purpose of powering a 

generator to produce electricity or electricity and other 

thermal energy) 

Subpart VVVVV - Reserved.  

Subpart WWWWW - Hospital Ethylene Oxide Sterilizer Area 

Sources. 

40 CFR 63.10382 through 40 CFR 63.10448 

(any enclosed vessel that is filled with ethylene oxide gas 

or an ethylene oxide/inert gas mixture for the purpose of 

sterilization)  

Subpart XXXXX - Reserved.  

Subpart YYYYY - Electric Arc Furnace Steelmaking Facility 

Area Sources.  

40 CFR 63.10680 through 40 CFR 63.10692 

(a steel plant that produces carbon, alloy, or specialty steels 

using an electric arc furnace) 

Subpart ZZZZZ - Iron and Steel Foundries Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.10880 through 40 CFR 63.10906 

(a facility that melts scrap, ingot, and/or other forms of iron 

and/or steel and pours the resulting molten metal into 

molds to produce final or near final shape products for 

introduction into commerce) 

Subpart AAAAAA - Reserved. 

Subpart BBBBBB - Gasoline Distribution Bulk Terminals, 

Bulk Plants, and Pipeline Facilities, Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11080 through 40 CFR 63.11100 

(gasoline storage tanks, gasoline loading racks, vapor 

collection-equipped gasoline cargo tanks, and equipment 

components in vapor or liquid gasoline service) 

Subpart CCCCCC - Gasoline Dispensing Facilities, Area 

Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11110 through 40 CFR 63.11132 

(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 

retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 

into these regulations for any source that is not (i) a major 

source as defined in 9VAC5-80-60 and subject to Article 1 

(9VAC5-80-50 et seq., Federal Operating Permits for 

Stationary Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80 (Permits for 

Stationary Sources) or (ii) an affected source as defined in 

9VAC5-80-370 and subject to Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et 

seq., Federal Operating Permits for Acid Rain Sources) of 

Part II of 9VAC5-80.) 

Subpart DDDDDD - Polyvinyl Chloride and Copolymers 

Production Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11140 through 40 CFR 63.11145 

(plants that produce polyvinyl chloride or copolymers) 

Subpart EEEEEE - Primary Copper Smelting Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11146 through 40 CFR 63.11152 

(any installation or any intermediate process engaged in the 

production of copper from copper sulfide ore concentrates 

through the use of pyrometallurgical techniques) 

Subpart FFFFFF - Secondary Copper Smelting Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11153 through 40 CFR 63.11159 

(a facility that processes copper scrap in a blast furnace and 

converter or that uses another pyrometallurgical 

purification process to produce anode copper from copper 

scrap, including low-grade copper scrap) 

Subpart GGGGGG - Primary Nonferrous Metals Area 

Sources--Zinc, Cadmium, and Beryllium. 

40 CFR 63.11160 through 40 CFR 63.11168  

(cadmium melting furnaces used to melt cadmium or 

produce cadmium oxide from the cadmium recovered in 

the zinc production; primary beryllium production facilities 

engaged in the chemical processing of beryllium ore to 

produce beryllium metal, alloy, or oxide, or performing 

any of the intermediate steps in these processes; and 

primary zinc production facilities engaged in the 

production, or any intermediate process in the production, 

of zinc or zinc oxide from zinc sulfide ore concentrates 

through the use of pyrometallurgical techniques) 

Subpart HHHHHH - Paint Stripping and Miscellaneous 

Surface Coating Operations Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11169 through 40 CFR 63.11180 

(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 

retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 

into these regulations for any source that is not (i) a major 

source as defined in 9VAC5-80-60 and subject to Article 1 

(9VAC5-80-50 et seq., Federal Operating Permits for 

Stationary Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80 (Permits for 

Stationary Sources) or (ii) an affected source as defined in 

9VAC5-80-370 and subject to Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et 

seq., Federal Operating Permits for Acid Rain Sources) of 

Part II of 9VAC5-80.) 

Subpart IIIIII - Reserved. 

Subpart JJJJJJ - Industrial, Commercial, and Institutional 

Boiler Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11193 through 40 CFR 63.11226 
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(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 

retained by EPA and is not incorporated by reference into 

these regulations for any source that is not (i) a major 

source as defined in 9VAC5-80-60 and subject to Article 1 

(9VAC5-80-50 et seq., Federal Operating Permits for 

Stationary Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80 (Permits for 

Stationary Sources) or (ii) an affected source as defined in 

9VAC5-80-370 and subject to Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et 

seq., Federal Operating Permits for Acid Rain Sources) of 

Part II of 9VAC5-80.) 

Subpart KKKKKK - Reserved. 

Subpart LLLLLL - Acrylic and Modacrylic Fibers Production 

Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11393 through 40 CFR 63.11399 

(production of either of the following synthetic fibers 

composed of acrylonitrile units: acrylic fiber or modacrylic 

fiber) 

Subpart MMMMMM - Carbon Black Production Area 

Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11400 through 40 CFR 63.11406 

(carbon black production process units including all waste 

management units, maintenance wastewater, and 

equipment components that contain or contact HAP that 

are associated with the carbon black production process 

unit) 

Subpart NNNNNN - Chemical Manufacturing Area Sources: 

Chromium Compounds. 

40 CFR 63.11407 through 40 CFR 63.11413 

(any process that uses chromite ore as the basic feedstock 

to manufacture chromium compounds, primarily sodium 

dichromate, chromic acid, and chromic oxide) 

Subpart OOOOOO - Flexible Polyurethane Foam Production 

and Fabrication Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11414 through 40 CFR 63.11420 

(a facility where pieces of flexible polyurethane foam are 

cut, bonded, and/or laminated together or to other 

substrates) 

Subpart PPPPPP - Lead Acid Battery Manufacturing Area 

Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11421 through 40 CFR 63.11427 

(grid casting facilities, paste mixing facilities, three-

process operation facilities, lead oxide manufacturing 

facilities, lead reclamation facilities, and any other lead-

emitting operation that is associated with the lead acid 

battery manufacturing plant) 

Subpart QQQQQQ - Wood Preserving Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11428 through 40 CFR 63.11434 

(pressure or thermal impregnation of chemicals into wood 

to provide effective long-term resistance to attack by fungi, 

bacteria, insects, and marine borers) 

Subpart RRRRRR - Clay Ceramics Manufacturing Area 

Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11435 through 40 CFR 63.11447 

(manufacture of pressed tile, sanitaryware, dinnerware, or 

pottery with an atomized glaze spray booth or kiln that 

fires glazed ceramic ware) 

Subpart SSSSSS - Glass Manufacturing Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11448 through 40 CFR 63.11461 

(manufacture of flat glass, glass containers, or pressed and 

blown glass by melting a mixture of raw materials to 

produce molten glass and form the molten glass into 

sheets, containers, or other shapes) 

Subpart TTTTTT - Secondary Nonferrous Metals Processing 

Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11462 through 40 CFR 63.11474  

(all crushing and screening operations at a secondary zinc 

processing facility and all furnace melting operations 

located at any secondary nonferrous metals processing 

facility) 

Subpart UUUUUU - Reserved. 

Subpart VVVVVV - Chemical Manufacturing Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11494 through 40 CFR 11503 

(each chemical manufacturing process unit that uses as 

feedstocks, generates as byproducts, or produces as 

products any of the following: 1,3-butadiene; 1,3-

dichloropropene; acetaldehyde; chloroform; ethylene 

dichloride; methylene chloride; hexachlorobenzene; 

hydrazine; quinoline; or compounds of arsenic, cadmium, 

chromium, lead, manganese, or nickel) 

Subpart WWWWWW - Plating and Polishing Operations, 

Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11504 through 40 CFR 63.11513 

(new and existing tanks, thermal spraying equipment, and 

mechanical polishing equipment used in non-chromium 

electroplating, electroless or non-electrolytic plating, non-

electrolytic metal coating, dry mechanical polishing, 

electroforming, and electropolishing) 

Subpart XXXXXX - Nine Metal Fabrication and Finishing 

Source Categories, Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11514 through 40 CFR 63.11523 

(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 

retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 

into these regulations for any source that is not (i) a major 

source as defined in 9VAC5-80-60 and subject to Article 1 

(9VAC5-80-50 et seq., Federal Operating Permits for 

Stationary Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80 (Permits for 
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Stationary Sources) or (ii) an affected source as defined in 

9VAC5-80-370 and subject to Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et 

seq., Federal Operating Permits for Acid Rain Sources) of 

Part II of 9VAC5-80.) 

Subpart YYYYYY - Ferroalloys Production Facilities, Area 

Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11524 through 40 CFR 63.11543 

(manufacture of silicon metal, ferrosilicon, ferrotitanium 

using the aluminum reduction process, ferrovanadium, 

ferromolybdenum, calcium silicon, silicomanganese 

zirconium, ferrochrome silicon, silvery iron, high-carbon 

ferrochrome, charge chrome, standard ferromanganese, 

silicomanganese, ferromanganese silicon, calcium carbide 

or other ferroalloy products using electrometallurgical 

operations including electric arc furnaces or other reaction 

vessels) 

Subpart ZZZZZZ - Aluminum, Copper, and Other 

Nonferrous Foundries, Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11544 through 40 CFR 63.11558 

(melting operations at aluminum, copper, and other 

nonferrous foundries, including the collection of induction, 

reverberatory, crucible, tower, or dry hearth furnaces used 

to melt metal ingot, alloyed ingot and/or metal scrap to 

produce molten metal that is poured into molds to make 

castings) 

Subpart AAAAAAA - Asphalt Processing and Asphalt 

Roofing Manufacturing Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11559 through 40 CFR 63.11567 

(asphalt processing operations that prepare asphalt flux at 

standalone asphalt processing facilities, petroleum 

refineries, and asphalt roofing facilities that include one or 

more asphalt flux blowing stills; and asphalt roofing 

manufacturing operations that manufacture asphalt roofing 

products through a series of sequential process steps 

depending upon whether the type of substrate used is 

organic or inorganic) 

Subpart BBBBBBB - Chemical Preparations Industry Area 

Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11579 through 40 CFR 63.11588  

(any facility-wide collection of chemical preparation 

operations, including the collection of mixing, blending, 

milling, and extruding equipment used to manufacture 

chemical preparations that contain metal compounds for 

chromium, lead, manganese, and nickel) 

Subpart CCCCCCC - Paints and Allied Products 

Manufacturing Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11599 through 40 CFR 63.11638  

(paints and allied products manufacturing processes, 

including, weighing, blending, mixing, grinding, tinting, 

dilution or other formulation, as well as cleaning 

operations, material storage and transfer, and piping) 

Subpart DDDDDDD - Prepared Feeds Manufacturing Area 

Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11619 through 40 CFR 63.11638 

(production of animal feed from the point in the process 

where a material containing chromium or manganese is 

added, to the point where the finished product leaves the 

facility, including areas where materials containing 

chromium and manganese are stored, areas where materials 

containing chromium and manganese are temporarily 

stored prior to addition to the feed at the mixer, mixing and 

grinding processes, pelleting and pellet cooling processes, 

packing and bagging processes, crumblers and screens, 

bulk loading operations, and all conveyors and other 

equipment that transfer feed materials) 

Subpart EEEEEEE - Gold Mine Ore Processing and 

Production Area Sources 

40 CFR 63.11640 through 40 CFR 63.11653 

(any industrial facility engaged in the processing of gold 

mine ore that uses any of the following processes: roasting 

operations, autoclaves, carbon kilns, preg tanks, 

electrowinning, mercury retorts, or melt furnaces) 

Subpart FFFFFFF - Reserved. 

Subpart GGGGGGG - Reserved. 

Subpart HHHHHHH - Polyvinyl Chloride and Copolymers 

Production. 

40 CFR 63.11860 through 40 CFR 63.12000 

(facility-wide collection of PVCPU, storage vessels, heat 

exchange systems, surge control vessels, wastewater and 

process wastewater treatment systems that are associated 

with producing polyvinyl chloride and copolymers) 

Appendix A - Test Methods.  

Appendix B - Sources Defined for Early Reduction 

Provisions.  

Appendix C - Determination of the Fraction Biodegraded 

(Fbio) in a Biological Treatment Unit.  

Appendix D - Alternative Validation Procedure for EPA 

Waste and Wastewater Methods.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4898; Filed December 16, 2016, 10:48 a.m.  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of 

Virginia, which exempts general permits issued by the State 

Water Control Board pursuant to State Water Control Law 

(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.) and Chapters 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) and 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 9, 2017 

1047 

25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1, if the board (i) provides 

a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in conformance with 

the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01, (ii) following the passage of 

30 days from the publication of the Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action forms a technical advisory committee 

composed of relevant stakeholders, including potentially 

affected citizens groups, to assist in the development of the 

general permit, (iii) provides notice and receives oral and 

written comment as provided in § 2.2-4007.03, and (iv) 

conducts at least one public hearing on the proposed general 

permit.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-194. General Permit for 

Vehicle Wash Facilities and Laundry Facilities (amending 

9VAC25-194-10, 9VAC25-194-15, 9VAC25-194-40 

through 9VAC25-194-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, and 

124. 

Public Hearing Information: 

February 9, 2017 - 2 p.m. - Department of Environmental 

Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, 

Glen Allen, VA 24060 

Public Comment Deadline: March 10, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Elleanore Daub, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4111, FAX (804) 

698-4032, or email elleanore.daub@deq.virginia.gov. 

Announcement of Periodic Review and Small Business 

Impact Review: Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and 

§ 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the agency is 

conducting a periodic review and small business impact 

review of this regulation to determine whether this regulation 

should be terminated, amended, or retained in its current 

form. Public comment is sought on the review of any issue 

relating to this regulation, including whether the regulation (i) 

is necessary for the protection of public health, safety, and 

welfare or for the economical performance of important 

governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact 

on small businesses in a manner consistent with the stated 

objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and 

easily understandable. 

Summary: 

The regulatory action amends and reissues the existing 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

general permit that expires October 15, 2017. The general 

permit contains limitations and monitoring requirements 

for point source discharge of wastewaters from vehicle 

wash facilities and laundry facilities. The general permit 

regulation is being reissued to continue making it 

available for these facilities to continue to discharge.  

Substantive changes (i) clarify that vehicle washing 

includes towed small recreational boats (less than 8.6 feet 

beam and 25 feet in length); (ii) require permittees to 

notify the municipal separate storm sewer system (MS4) 

owners before obtaining coverage under the general 

permit if their discharges are into an MS4; (iii) clarify that 

inspections of the effluent include sheen, floating solids, 

visible foam, examination date and time, and examination 

personnel; and (iv) require the effluent to be free of sheens.  

CHAPTER 194  

VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 

SYSTEM (VPDES) GENERAL PERMIT REGULATION 

FOR VEHICLE WASH FACILITIES AND LAUNDRY 

FACILITIES 

9VAC25-194-10. Definitions.  

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 

meanings defined in the State Water Control Law and 

9VAC25-31-10 et seq. (VPDES Permit Regulation) unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise, except that for the 

purposes of this chapter:  

"Construction equipment" means trenchers, backhoes, 

boring equipment, bulldozers, and any other piece of 

earthmoving equipment; equipment used in the paving 

industry; and dump trucks. 

"Department" or "DEQ" means the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

"Laundry" means any self-service facility where the washing 

of clothes is conducted as designated by SIC 7215. It does not 

include facilities that engage in dry cleaning.  

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means a 

calculation of the maximum amount of a pollutant that a 

waterbody can receive and still meet water quality standards 

and an allocation of that amount to the pollutant's sources. A 

TMDL includes wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point 

source discharges, and load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint 

sources or natural background or both, and must include a 

margin of safety (MOS) and account for seasonal variations.  

"Vehicle maintenance" means vehicle and equipment 

rehabilitation, mechanical repairs, painting, fueling, and 

lubrication. 

"Vehicle wash" means any fixed or mobile facility where the 

manual, automatic, or self-service exterior washing of 

vehicles is conducted. It includes, but is not limited to, 

automobiles, trucks (except below), motor homes, buses, 

motorcycles, ambulances, fire trucks, tractor trailers, and 

other devices that convey passengers or goods on streets or 

highways. This definition also includes golf course 

equipment, and lawn maintenance equipment, and 

recreational boats less than 8.6 feet beam and 25 feet in 

length towed by a vehicle. It also includes any incidental floor 

cleaning wash waters associated with facilities that wash 

vehicles where the floor wash water also passes through the 

vehicle wash water treatment system. Vehicle wash does not 

mean engine, acid caustic metal brightener, or steam heated 

water washing. It does not include cleaning the interior of 

bulk carriers. It does not include tanker trucks, garbage 
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trucks, logging trucks, livestock trucks, construction 

equipment, trains, boats and ships that are more than 8.6 feet 

beam and 25 feet in length, or aircraft. It does not include 

floor cleaning wash waters from vehicle maintenance areas. 

9VAC25-194-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) set forth in Title 40 

of the Code of Federal Regulations is referenced or adopted 

herein in this chapter and incorporated by reference, that 

regulation shall be as it exists and has been published as a 

final regulation in the Federal Register prior to as of July 1, 

2012, with the effective date as published in the Federal 

Register notice or October 16, 2012, whichever is later 2016. 

9VAC25-194-40. Effective date of the permit.  

This general permit will become effective on October 16, 

2012 2017. This general permit will expire on October 15, 

2017 2022. This general permit is effective for any covered 

owner upon compliance with all the provisions of 9VAC25-

194-50.  

9VAC25-194-50. Authorization to discharge.  

A. Any owner governed by this general permit is hereby 

authorized to discharge wastewater as described in 9VAC25-

194-20 to surface waters of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

provided that the owner submits and receives acceptance by 

the board of the registration statement of 9VAC25-194-60, 

submits the required permit fee, complies with the effluent 

limitations and other requirements of 9VAC25-194-70, and 

provided that the board has not notified the owner that the 

discharge is not eligible for coverage in accordance with 

subsection B of this section.: 

1. The owner files a registration statement in accordance 

with 9VAC25-194-60, and that registration statement is 

accepted by the board; 

2. The owner submits the required permit fee; 

3. The owner complies with the applicable effluent 

limitations and other requirements of 9VAC25-194-70; and 

4. The owner has not been notified by the board that the 

discharge is not eligible for coverage under this permit in 

accordance with subsection B of this section. 

B. The board will notify an owner that the discharge is not 

eligible for coverage under this general permit in the event of 

any of the following: 

1. The owner is required to obtain an individual permit in 

accordance with 9VAC25-31-170 B 3 of the VPDES 

Permit Regulation;  

2. Other board regulations prohibit such discharges The 

owner is proposing to discharge to state waters specifically 

named in other board regulations that prohibit such 

discharges; 

3. The discharge violates or would violate the 

antidegradation policy in the Water Quality Standards at 

9VAC25-260-30; 

4. The discharge is not consistent with the assumptions and 

requirements of an approved TMDL; or  

5. The discharge is to surface waters where there are 

central wastewater treatment facilities reasonably 

available, as determined by the board. 

C. Mobile vehicle wash owners shall operate such that there 

is no discharge to surface waters and storm sewers unless 

they have coverage under this permit.  

D. Compliance with this general permit constitutes 

compliance, for purposes of enforcement, with §§ 301, 302, 

306, 307, 318, 403, and 405(a) through (b) of the federal 

Clean Water Act, and the State Water Control Law, and 

applicable regulations under either with the exceptions stated 

in 9VAC25-31-60 of the VPDES Permit Regulation. 

Approval for coverage under this general permit does not 

relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with any 

other applicable federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, or 

regulation.  

E. Continuation of permit coverage. 

1. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 

car wash facilities general permit issued in 2007 2012, and 

that submits a complete registration statement on or before 

October 16, 2012 2017, is authorized to continue to 

discharge under the terms of the 2007 2012 general permit 

until such time as the board either: 

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit; 

or 

b. Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 

coverage under this permit is denied. 

2. When the owner that was covered under the expiring or 

expired general permit has violated or is violating the 

conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any 

or all of the following: 

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the 2012 

general permit that has been continued; 

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 

amended reissued general permit. If the general permit 

coverage is denied, the owner would then be required to 

cease the discharges authorized by coverage under the 

2012 continued general permit or be subject to 

enforcement action for  discharging without a permit; 

c. Issue an individual permit with appropriate conditions; 

or 

d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES Permit 

Regulation (9VAC25-31).  

9VAC25-194-60. Registration statement. 

A. Deadlines for submitting registration statements. The 

Any owner seeking coverage under this general permit shall 

submit a complete VPDES general permit registration 
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statement in accordance with this section, which shall serve 

as a notice of intent for coverage under the general VPDES 

permit for vehicle wash facilities and laundry facilities. 

1. New facilities. Any owner proposing a new discharge 

shall submit a complete registration statement at least 30 

days prior to the date planned for commencing operation of 

the new commencement of the discharge. 

2. Existing facilities. 

a. Any owner covered by an individual VPDES permit 

who that is proposing to be covered by this general 

permit shall submit a complete registration statement at 

least 210 240 days prior to the expiration date of the 

individual VPDES permit. 

b. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 

general VPDES permit for coin-operated laundries 

(9VAC25-810) that became effective on February 9, 

2011, and who intends to continue coverage under this 

general permit, shall submit a complete registration 

statement to the board prior to September 16, 2012. 

c. b. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under 

the general VPDES permit for car wash vehicle wash 

facilities (9VAC25-194) that became effective on 

October 16, 2007 2012, and who that intends to continue 

coverage under this general permit, shall submit a 

complete registration statement to the board prior to 

September 16, 2012 15, 2017. 

d. c. Any owner of a vehicle wash facility covered under 

this permit who that had a monthly average flow rate of 

less than 5,000 gallons per day, and the flow rate 

increases above a monthly average flow rate of 5,000 

gallons per day, shall submit an amended registration 

statement within 30 days of the increased flow.  

B. Late registration statements. Registration statements for 

existing facilities covered under subdivision A 2 b of this 

section will be accepted, after October 15, 2017, but 

authorization to discharge will not be retroactive. Owners 

described in subdivisions subdivision A 2 b and c of this 

section that submit late registration statements after 

September 15, 2017, are authorized to discharge under the 

provisions of 9VAC25-194-50 E if a complete registration 

statement is submitted on or before October 16, 2012 2017.  

C. The required registration statement shall contain the 

following information: 

1. Facility name and mailing address, owner name and 

mailing address, telephone number, and email address (if 

available);  

2. Facility street address (if different from mailing 

address);  

3. Facility operator (local contact) name, address, 

telephone number, and email address (if available) if 

different than owner;  

4. Does the facility discharge to surface waters? If "yes," 

name of receiving stream; if "no," describe the discharge;  

5. Does the facility discharge to a Municipal Separate 

Storm Sewer System (MS4)? If "yes," the facility owner 

must notify the owner of the municipal separate storm 

sewer system of the existence of the discharge within 30 

days of coverage under the general permit and provide the 

following information at the time of registration under this 

permit and include that notification with the registration 

statement. The notice shall include the following 

information: the name of the facility, a contact person and 

phone number, the location of the discharge, the nature of 

the discharge, and the facility's VPDES general permit 

number; 

6. Does the facility have a current VPDES Permit? If 

"yes," provide permit number;  

7. Does your locality require connection to central 

wastewater treatment facilities? 

8. Are central wastewater treatment facilities available to 

serve the site? If "yes," the option of discharging to the 

central wastewater facility must be evaluated and the result 

of that evaluation reported here; 

9. A USGS 7.5 minute topographic map or equivalent 

computer generated map showing the facility discharge 

location(s) and receiving stream;  

10. Provide a brief description of the type of washing 

activity. Include (as applicable) the type of vehicles 

washed, number of vehicle washing bays, and the number 

of laundry machines; 

11. Highest average monthly flow rate for each washing 

activity or combined washing activity, reported as gallons 

per day;  

12. Facility line (water balance) drawing;  

13. Description of wastewater treatment;  

14. Information on use of chemicals at the facility. Include 

detergents, soaps, waxes, and other chemicals;  

15. Will detergent used for washing vehicles contain more 

than 0.5% phosphorus by weight? and 

16. The following certification:  

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to 

assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the system or those 

persons directly responsible for gathering the 

information, the information submitted is to the best of 

my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and complete. I 

am aware that there are significant penalties for 

submitting false information including the possibility of 

fine and imprisonment for knowing violations." 
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The registration statement shall be signed in accordance 

with 9VAC25-31-110 of the VPDES Permit Regulation.  

9VAC25-194-70. General permit.  

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the 

board will receive the following permit and shall comply with 

the requirements therein of the general permit and be subject 

to all requirements of 9VAC25-31 9VAC25-31-170 of the 

VPDES Permit Regulation.  

General Permit No.: VAG75  

Effective Date: October 16, 2012 2017 

Expiration Date: October 15, 2017 2022 

GENERAL PERMIT FOR VEHICLE WASH FACILITIES 

AND LAUNDRY FACILITIES  

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 

VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 

SYSTEM AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER 

CONTROL LAW  

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, 

as amended, and pursuant to the State Water Control Law and 

regulations adopted pursuant thereto, owners of vehicle wash 

facilities and laundry facilities are authorized to discharge to 

surface waters within the boundaries of the Commonwealth 

of Virginia, except those specifically named in board 

regulations which prohibit such discharges.  

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the 

information submitted with the registration statement, this 

cover page, Part I - Effluent Limitations and Monitoring 

Requirements, Part II - Conditions Applicable to All VPDES 

Permits, as set forth herein in this general permit.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS  

1. During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 

expiration date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater originating from vehicle wash facilities that discharge a 

monthly average flow rate less than or equal to 5,000 gallons per day from outfall(s) outfalls:  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 
DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Minimum Maximum Frequency
(3)

 Sample Type 

Flow (GPD) NA NL 1/Year Estimate 

pH (S.U.) 6.0
(1)

 9.0
(1)

 1/Year Grab 

TSS (mg/l) NA 60
(2)

  1/Year 5G/8HC 

Oil and Grease (mg/l) NA 15 1/Year Grab 

NL - No Limitation, monitoring requirement only  

NA - Not applicable  

5G/8HC - Eight Hour Composite—Consisting of five grab samples collected at hourly intervals until the discharge ceases, or 

until a minimum of five grab samples have been collected. 
(1)

Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in waters receiving the discharge, 

those standards shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations.  
(2)

Limit given is expressed in two significant figures. 
(3)

Discharge Monitoring Reports (DMRs) of yearly monitoring (January 1 to December 31) shall be submitted to the DEQ 

regional office no later than the 10th day of January of each year. The first DMR is due January 10, 2014. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS  

2. During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 

expiration date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater originating from vehicle wash facilities that discharge a 

monthly average flow rate greater than 5,000 gallons per day from outfall(s) outfalls:  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 
DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Minimum Maximum Frequency
(3)

 Sample Type 

Flow (GPD) NA NL 1/6 Months Estimate 
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pH (S.U.) 6.0
(1)

 9.0
(1)

 1/6 Months Grab 

TSS (mg/l) NA 60
(2)

 1/6 Months 5G/8HC 

Oil and Grease (mg/l) NA 15 1/6 Months Grab 

NL - No Limitation, monitoring requirement only  

NA - Not applicable  

5G/8HC - Eight Hour Composite - Consisting of five grab samples collected at hourly intervals until the discharge ceases, or 

until a minimum of five grab samples have been collected. 
(1)

Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in waters receiving the discharge, 

those standards shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations.  
(2)

Limit given is expressed in two significant figures. 
(3)

Samples shall be collected by December 31 and June 30 of each year and reported on the facility's Discharge Monitoring 

Report (DMR). DMRs shall be submitted by January 10 and July 10 of each year.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

3. During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 

expiration date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater originating from a laundry facility from outfall(s) 

outfalls:  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Minimum Maximum Frequency
(3)

 Sample Type 

Flow (GPD) NA NL 1/Quarter Estimate 

pH (S.U.) 6.0
(1)

 9.0
(1)

  1/Quarter Grab 

TSS (mg/l) NA 60
(2)

 1/Quarter Grab 

BOD5 (mg/l) NA 60
(1), (2)

 1/Quarter Grab 

Dissolved Oxygen (mg/l) 6.0
(1)

 NA 1/Quarter Grab 

Temperature °C NA 32
 (1), (4)

 1/6 Months 
Immersion 

Stabilization 

Total Residual Chlorine (mg/l) NA .011
(1)

 1/Quarter Grab 

E. Coli
(5)

 NA 235 CFU/100 ml  1/6 Months  Grab  

Enterococci
(6)

 NA 104 CFU/100 ml 1/6 Months Grab 

Fecal Coliform
(7)

 NA 200 CFU/100 ml 1/6 Months Grab 

NL - No Limitation, monitoring requirement only  

NA - Not applicable 

CFU – Colony Forming Units forming units 
(1)

Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH, BOD5, DO, TRC and temperature 

in waters receiving the discharge, those standards shall be, as appropriate, the maximum and minimum effluent limitations.  
(2)

Limit given is expressed in two significant figures. 
(3)

Reports of quarterly monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no later than the 10th day of April, July, 

October, and January. Reports of once per six months shall be submitted no later than the 10th day of January and the 10th 

day of July for samples collected by December 31 and June 30 of each year.  
(4)

The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, 31°C 

for mountain and upper piedmont waters, 21°C for put and take trout waters, or 20°C for natural trout waters. For estuarine 
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waters, nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, mountain and upper piedmont waters, and put and take trout waters, the effluent 

shall not cause an increase in temperature of the receiving stream of more than 3°C above the natural water temperature. For 

natural trout waters, the temperature of the effluent shall not cause an increase of 1°C above natural water temperature. The 

effluent shall not cause the temperature in the receiving stream to change more than 2°C per hour, except in the case of 

natural trout waters where the hourly temperature change shall not exceed 0.5°C. 
(5)

Applies only when the discharge is into freshwater (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters and boundary 

designations).  
(6)

Applies only when the discharge is into saltwater or the transition zone (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters 

and boundary designations).  
(7)

Applies only when the discharge is into shellfish waters (see 9VAC25-260-160 for the description of what are shellfish 

waters).  

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS.  

4. During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 

expiration date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater originating from a combined vehicle wash and laundry 

facility from outfall(s) outfalls:  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Minimum Maximum Frequency
(3)

 Sample Type 

Flow (GPD) NA NL 1/Quarter Estimate 

pH (S.U.) 6.0
(1)

 9.0
(1)

 1/Quarter Grab 

TSS (mg/l) NA 60
(2)

 1/Quarter 5G/8HC 

BOD5 (mg/l) NA 60
(1), (2)

 1/Quarter Grab 

Oil & and Grease NA 15 1/6 Months Grab 

Dissolved Oxygen (mg/l) 6.0
(1)

 NA 1/Quarter Grab 

Temperature °C NA 32
 (1), (4)

 1/6 Months 
Immersion 

Stabilization 

Total Residual Chlorine (mg/l) NA .011
(1)

 1/Quarter Grab 

E. Coli
(5)

 NA 235 CFU/100 ml  1/6 Months  Grab  

Enterococci
(6)

 NA 104 CFU/100 ml 1/6 Months Grab 

Fecal Coliform
(7)

  NA 200 CFU/100 ml 1/6 Months Grab 

NL - No Limitation, monitoring requirement only  

NA - Not applicable  

CFU – Colony Forming Unit forming units 
(1)

Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH, BOD5, DO, TRC and temperature 

in waters receiving the discharge, those standards shall be, as appropriate, the maximum and minimum effluent limitations.  
(2)

Limit given is expressed in two significant figures. 
(3)

Reports of quarterly monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no later than the 10th day of April, July, 

October, and January. Reports of once per six months shall be submitted no later than the 10th day of January and the 10th 

day of July for samples collected by December 31 and June 30 of each year.  
(4)

The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, 31°C 

for mountain and upper piedmont waters, 21°C for put and take trout waters, or 20°C for natural trout waters. For estuarine 

waters, nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, mountain and upper piedmont waters, and put and take trout waters, the effluent 

shall not cause an increase in temperature of the receiving stream of more than 3°C above the natural water temperature. For 
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natural trout waters, the temperature of the effluent shall not cause an increase of 1°C above natural water temperature. The 

effluent shall not cause the temperature in the receiving stream to change more than 2°C per hour, except in the case of 

natural trout waters where the hourly temperature change shall not exceed 0.5°C. 
(5)

Applies only when the discharge is into freshwater (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters and boundary 

designations).  
(6)

Applies only when the discharge is into saltwater or the transition zone (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters 

and boundary designations).  
(7)

Applies only when the discharge is into shellfish waters (see 9VAC25-260-160 for the description of what are shellfish 

waters). 

B. Special conditions.  

1. The permittee of a vehicle wash facility shall perform 

inspections visual examinations of the effluent including 

sheens, floating solids, or visible foam and maintenance of 

the wastewater treatment facilities at least once per week 

and document activities on this visual examination in the 

operational log. This operational log shall include the 

examination date and time, examination personnel, and the 

visual quality of the discharge and shall be made available 

for review by the department personnel upon request.  

2. The effluent shall be free of sheens. There shall be no 

discharge of floating solids or visible foam in other than 

trace amounts. 

3. No sewage shall be discharged from a point source to 

surface waters from this facility except under the 

provisions of another VPDES permit specifically issued for 

that purpose.  

4. There shall be no chemicals added to the water or waste 

which may be discharged other than those listed on the 

owner's accepted registration statement, unless prior 

approval of the chemical(s) chemical is granted by the 

board.  

5. Wastewater should be reused or recycled whenever 

feasible.  

6. The permittee of a vehicle wash facility shall comply 

with the following solids management plan:  

a. All settling basins shall be cleaned frequently in order 

to achieve effective treatment.  

b. All solids shall be handled, stored, and disposed of so 

as to prevent a discharge to state waters of such solids.  

7. Washing of vehicles or containers bearing residue of 

animal manure or toxic chemicals (fertilizers, organic 

chemicals, etc.) into the wastewater treatment system is 

prohibited. If the facility is a self-service operation, the 

permittee shall post this prohibition on a sign prominently 

located and of sufficient size to be easily read by all 

patrons.  

8. If the facility has a vehicle wash discharge with a 

monthly average flow rate of less than 5,000 gallons per 

day, and the flow rate increases above a monthly average 

flow rate of 5,000 gallons per day, an amended registration 

statement shall be filed within 30 days of the increased 

flow. 

9. Any A permittee submitting a registration statement in 

accordance with Part II M and discharging into a municipal 

separate storm sewer shall notify the owner of the 

municipal separate storm sewer system of the existence of 

the discharge within 30 days of coverage under the general 

permit and provide at the time of registration under this 

permit and include that notification with the registration 

statement. The notice shall include the following 

information: the name of the facility, a contact person and 

phone number, the location of the discharge, the nature of 

the discharge, and the facility's VPDES general permit 

number.  

10. Approval for coverage under this general permit does 

not relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with 

any other federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, or 

regulation. 

11. The permittee shall notify the department as soon as 

they know the permittee knows or have has reason to 

believe:  

a. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 

result in the discharge, on a routine or frequent basis, of 

any toxic pollutant that is not limited in this permit, if 

that discharge will exceed the highest of the following 

notification levels:  

(1) One hundred micrograms per liter of the toxic 

pollutant;  

(2) Two hundred micrograms per liter for acrolein and 

acrylonitrile; five hundred micrograms per liter for 2,4-

dinitrophenol and for 2-methyl-4,6-dinitrophenol; and 

one milligram per liter for antimony;  

(3) Five times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the permit application; or  

(4) The level established by the board.  

b. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 

result in any discharge, on a nonroutine or infrequent 

basis, of a toxic pollutant that is not limited in this 

permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest of the 

following notification levels:  

(1) Five hundred micrograms per liter of the toxic 

pollutant;  

(2) One milligram per liter for antimony;  

(3) Ten times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the permit application; or  
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(4) The level established by the board.  

12. Operation and maintenance manual requirement. The 

permittee shall develop and maintain an accurate 

operations and maintenance (O&M) manual for the vehicle 

wash wastewater treatment works. This manual shall detail 

the practices and procedures that will be followed to ensure 

compliance with the requirements of this permit. The 

permittee shall operate the treatment works in accordance 

with the O&M manual. The O&M manual shall be 

reviewed and updated at least annually and shall be signed 

and certified in accordance with Part II K of this permit. 

The O&M manual shall be made available for review by 

the department personnel upon request. The O&M manual 

shall include, but not necessarily be limited to, the 

following items, as appropriate:  

a. Techniques to be employed in the collection, 

preservation, and analysis of effluent samples;  

b. Discussion of best management practices, if 

applicable;  

c. Treatment system operation, routine preventive 

maintenance of units within the treatment system, critical 

spare parts inventory, and recordkeeping;  

d. A sludge/solids disposal management plan as required 

by Part I B 6; and  

e. Procedures for performing the visual examination and 

maintenance required by Part I B 1 including example 

log sheets; and 

e. Date(s) f. Date when the O&M manual was updated or 

reviewed and any changes that were made. 

13. Compliance Reporting reporting under Part I A 1- 4.  

a. The quantification levels (QL) shall be as follows:  

  Effluent 

Characteristic 
Quantification Level 

  BOD5 2 mg/l 

  TSS 

Oil and Grease 

1.0 mg/l 

5.0 mg/l 

  Chlorine 0.10 mg/l 

The QL is defined as the lowest concentration used to 

calibrate a measurement system in accordance with the 

procedures published for the test method. 

b. Reporting. Any single datum required shall be reported 

as "<QL" if it is less than the QL in subdivision 13 a of 

this subdivision subsection. Otherwise, the numerical 

value shall be reported. The QL must be less than or 

equal to the QL in subdivision 13 a of this subsection. 

c. Monitoring results shall be reported using the same 

number of significant digits as listed in the permit. 

Regardless of the rounding convention used by the 

permittee (e.g., five always rounding up or to the nearest 

even number), the permittee shall use the convention 

consistently and shall ensure that consulting laboratories 

employed by the permittee use the same convention. 

14. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be 

analyzed in accordance with 1VAC30-45, Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories, or 1VAC30-

46, Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 

Laboratories. 

15. 14. The discharges authorized by this permit shall be 

controlled as necessary to meet applicable water quality 

standards in 9VAC25-260. 

16. 15. Discharges to waters with an approved total 

maximum daily load (TMDL). Owners of facilities that are 

a source of the specified pollutant of concern to waters 

where an approved TMDL has been established shall 

implement measures and controls that are consistent with 

the assumptions and requirements of the TMDL.  

17. 16. Notice of Termination termination.  

a. The owner may terminate coverage under this general 

permit by filing a complete notice of termination. The 

notice of termination may be filed after one or more of 

the following conditions have been met:  

(1) Operations have ceased at the facility and there are no 

longer wastewater discharges from vehicle wash or 

laundry activities from the facility; 

(2) A new owner has assumed responsibility for the 

facility (NOTE: A notice of termination does not have to 

be submitted if a VPDES Change of Ownership 

Agreement form has been submitted);  

(3) All discharges associated with this facility have been 

covered by an individual or an alternative VPDES 

permit; or 

(4) Notice of termination Termination of coverage is 

requested for another reason provided the board agrees 

that coverage under this general permit is no longer 

needed.  

b. The notice of termination shall contain the following 

information:  

(1) Owner's name, mailing address, telephone number, 

and email address (if available);  

(2) Facility name and location;  

(3) VPDES vehicle wash facilities and laundry facilities 

general permit number; and  

(4) The basis for submitting the notice of termination, 

including:  

i. (a) A statement indicating that a new owner has 

assumed responsibility for the facility;  

ii. (b) A statement indicating that operations have ceased 

at the facility and there are no longer wastewater 

discharges from vehicle wash or laundry activities from 

the facility;  
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iii. (c) A statement indicating that all wastewater 

discharges from vehicle wash facilities and laundry 

facilities have been covered by an individual VPDES 

permit; or  

iv. (d) A statement indicating that termination of 

coverage is being requested for another reason (state the 

reason).  

c. The following certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that all wastewater 

discharges from vehicle wash or laundry facilities from 

the identified facility that are authorized by this VPDES 

general permit have been eliminated, or covered under a 

VPDES individual or alternative permit, or that I am no 

longer the owner of the industrial activity, or permit 

coverage should be terminated for another reason listed 

above. I understand that by submitting this notice of 

termination, that I am no longer authorized to discharge 

wastewater from vehicle wash facilities or laundry 

facilities in accordance with the general permit, and that 

discharging pollutants in wastewater from vehicle wash 

facilities or laundry facilities to surface waters is 

unlawful where the discharge is not authorized by a 

VPDES permit. I also understand that the submittal of 

this notice of termination does not release an owner from 

liability for any violations of this permit or the Clean 

Water Act."  

d. The notice of termination shall be signed in 

accordance with Part II K.  

e. The notice of termination shall be submitted to the 

DEQ regional office serving the area where the vehicle 

wash or laundry facility is located. 

Part II 

CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL VPDES PERMITS  

A. Monitoring.  

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 

permit shall be representative of the monitored activity.  

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 

approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 

unless other procedures have been specified in this permit.  

3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 

maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 

measurements.  

4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be 

analyzed in accordance with 1VAC30-45, Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories, or 1VAC30-

46, Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 

Laboratories. 

B. Records.  

1. Records of monitoring information shall include:  

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements;  

b. The individuals who performed the sampling or 

measurements;  

c. The dates and times analyses were performed;  

d. The individuals who performed the analyses;  

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and  

f. The results of such analyses.  

2. Except for records of monitoring information required 

by this permit related to the permittee's sewage sludge use 

and disposal activities, which shall be retained for a period 

of at least five years, the permittee shall retain records of 

all monitoring information, including all calibration and 

maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings 

for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by this permit, and records of all data used 

to complete the registration statement for this permit, for a 

period of at least three years from the date of the sample, 

measurement, report or request for coverage. This period 

of retention shall be extended automatically during the 

course of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated 

activity or regarding control standards applicable to the 

permittee, or as requested by the board.  

C. Reporting monitoring results.  

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 

required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 

month after monitoring takes place, unless another 

reporting schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. 

Monitoring results shall be submitted to the department's 

regional office.  

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge 

Monitoring Report (DMR) or on forms provided, approved 

or specified by the department.  

3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 

addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 

this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 

Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the 

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 

specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 

be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 

submitted in the DMR or reporting form specified by the 

department.  

4. Calculations for all limitations which require averaging 

of measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 

otherwise specified in this permit.  

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 

to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 

which the board may request to determine whether cause 

exists for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating 

this permit or to determine compliance with this permit. The 

board may require the permittee to furnish, upon request, such 

plans, specifications, and other pertinent information as may 
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be necessary to determine the effect of the wastes from his 

discharge on the quality of state waters, or such other 

information as may be necessary to accomplish the purposes 

of the State Water Control Law. The permittee shall also 

furnish to the department upon request, copies of records 

required to be kept by this permit.  

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 

noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 

final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 

this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 

each schedule date.  

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 

permit or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to:  

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or  

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological 

properties of such state waters and make them detrimental 

to the public health, or to animal or aquatic life, or to the 

use of such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, 

or for recreation, or for other uses.  

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee who 

discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, 

industrial waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious 

substance into or upon state waters in violation of Part II F;, 

or who discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may 

reasonably be expected to enter state waters in violation of 

Part II F, shall notify the department of the discharge 

immediately upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case 

later than 24 hours after said discovery. A written report of 

the unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the 

department within five days of discovery of the discharge. 

The written report shall contain:  

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge;  

2. The cause of the discharge;  

3. The date on which the discharge occurred;  

4. The length of time that the discharge continued;  

5. The volume of the discharge;  

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 

continue;  

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 

volume of the discharge will be; and  

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate and 

prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 

discharges not authorized by this permit.  

Discharges reportable to the department under the 

immediate reporting requirements of other regulations are 

exempted from this requirement.  

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 

unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or 

upset should occur from a treatment works and the discharge 

enters or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee 

shall promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, the 

department by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. 

This notification shall provide all available details of the 

incident, including any adverse affects effects on aquatic life 

and the known number of fish killed. The permittee shall 

submit the report to the department in writing within five 

days of discovery of the discharge in accordance with Part II I 

2. Unusual and extraordinary discharges include but are not 

limited to any discharge resulting from:  

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 

indirectly from processing operations;  

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment;  

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the 

treatment works; and  

4. Flooding or other acts of nature.  

I. Reports of noncompliance. The permittee shall report any 

noncompliance which may adversely affect state waters or 

may endanger public health.  

1. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from 

the time the permittee becomes aware of the 

circumstances. The following shall be included as 

information which shall be reported within 24 hours under 

this subsection:  

a. Any unanticipated bypass; and  

b. Any upset which causes a discharge to surface waters.  

2. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 

shall contain:  

a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause;  

b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates 

and times, and if the noncompliance has not been 

corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 

and  

c. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance.  

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 

basis for reports of noncompliance under Part II I if the 

oral report has been received within 24 hours and no 

adverse impact on state waters has been reported.  

3. The permittee shall report all instances of 

noncompliance not reported under Parts II I 1 or 2, in 

writing, at the time the next monitoring reports are 

submitted. The reports shall contain the information listed 

in Part II I 2.  

NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 

in Part II G, H and I may be made to the department's 

regional office. Reports may be made by telephone, FAX, 

or online at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/prep/h2rpt.html 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponseP

reparedness/MakingaReport.aspx. For reports outside 

normal working hours, leave a message and this shall 

fulfill the immediate reporting requirement. For 

emergencies, the Virginia Department of Emergency 
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Management maintains a 24-hour telephone service at 1-

800-468-8892.  

J. Notice of planned changes.  

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as 

soon as possible of any planned physical alterations or 

additions to the permitted facility. Notice is required only 

when:  

a. The permittee plans alteration or addition to any 

building, structure, facility, or installation from which 

there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 

construction of which commenced:  

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance 

under § 306 of the Clean Water Act which are applicable 

to such source; or  

(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 

accordance with § 306 of the Clean Water Act which are 

applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 

promulgated in accordance with § 306 within 120 days of 

their proposal;  

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change 

the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants 

discharged. This notification applies to pollutants which 

are subject neither to effluent limitations nor to 

notification requirements specified elsewhere in this 

permit; or  

c. The alteration or addition results in a significant 

change in the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices, 

and such alteration, addition, or change may justify the 

application of permit conditions that are different from or 

absent in the existing permit, including notification of 

additional use or disposal sites not reported during the 

permit application process or not reported pursuant to an 

approved land application plan.  

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the 

department of any planned changes in the permitted facility 

or activity which may result in noncompliance with permit 

requirements.  

K. Signatory requirements.  

1. Registration statement. All registration statements shall 

be signed as follows:  

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 

For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 

officer means: (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or 

vice-president of the corporation in charge of a principal 

business function, or any other person who performs 

similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 

the corporation, or (ii) the manager of one or more 

manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, 

provided the manager is authorized to make management 

decisions that govern the operation of the regulated 

facility including having the explicit or implicit duty of 

making major capital investment recommendations, and 

initiating and directing other comprehensive measures to 

assure long-term environmental compliance with 

environmental laws and regulations; the manager can 

ensure that the necessary systems are established or 

actions taken to gather complete and accurate 

information for permit application requirements; and 

where authority to sign documents has been assigned or 

delegated to the manager in accordance with corporate 

procedures;  

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; or  

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 

executive officer of a public agency includes: (i) the 

chief executive officer of the agency, or (ii) a senior 

executive officer having responsibility for the overall 

operations of a principal geographic unit of the agency.  

2. Reporting requirements. All reports required by permits 

and other information requested by the board shall be 

signed by a person described in Part II K 1 or by a duly 

authorized representative of that person. A person is a duly 

authorized representative only if:  

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 

described in Part II K 1;  

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 

the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 

plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 

superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or 

an individual or position having overall responsibility for 

environmental matters for the company. A duly 

authorized representative may thus be either a named 

individual or any individual occupying a named position; 

and  

c. The written authorization is submitted to the 

department.  

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part 

II K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual 

or position has responsibility for the overall operation of 

the facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements 

of Part II K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to 

or together with any reports or information to be signed by 

an authorized representative.  

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under Part 

II K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification:  

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to 

ensure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the system, or 

those persons directly responsible for gathering the 

information, the information submitted is, to the best of 
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my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I 

am aware that there are significant penalties for 

submitting false information, including the possibility of 

fine and imprisonment for knowing violations."  

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 

constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 

Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 

provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the 

State Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 

noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action; for permit 

termination, revocation and reissuance, or modification; or 

denial of a permit renewal application.  

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 

prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water 

Act for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge 

use or disposal established under § 405(d) of the Clean Water 

Act within the time provided in the regulations that establish 

these standards or prohibitions or standards for sewage sludge 

use or disposal, even if this permit has not yet been modified 

to incorporate the requirement.  

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 

activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of 

this permit, the permittee shall submit a new registration 

statement at least 30 days before the expiration date of the 

existing permit, unless permission for a later date has been 

granted by the board. The board shall not grant permission for 

registration statements to be submitted later than the 

expiration date of the existing permit.  

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 

property rights in either real or personal property or any 

exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 

private property or invasion of personal rights, or any 

infringement of federal, state or local law or regulations.  

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 

preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 

the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 

established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 

under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 

Except as provided in permit conditions on "bypassing" (Part 

II U) and "upset" (Part II V), nothing in this permit shall be 

construed to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal 

penalties for noncompliance.  

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 

legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 

liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 

subject under Article 11 (§ 62.1-44.34:14 et seq.) of the State 

Water Control Law.  

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 

all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 

systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 

which are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper 

operation and maintenance also includes effective plant 

performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 

adequate laboratory and process controls, including 

appropriate quality assurance procedures. This provision 

requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or 

similar systems which are installed by the permittee only 

when the operation is necessary to achieve compliance with 

the conditions of this permit.  

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges or other 

pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 

of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 

any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters.  

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 

disposal in violation of this permit which has a reasonable 

likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 

environment.  

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 

be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 

would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 

activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 

of this permit.  

U. Bypass.  

1. The permittee may allow any bypass to occur which 

does not cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only 

if it also is for essential maintenance to assure efficient 

operation. These bypasses are not subject to the provisions 

of Part II U 2 and U 3.  

2. Notice.  

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 

of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, 

if possible, at least 10 days before the date of the bypass.  

b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit 

notice of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part II I.  

3. Prohibition of bypass.  

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 

enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, 

unless:  

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 

personal injury, or severe property damage;  

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 

such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 

of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 

periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 

satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 

been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 

judgment to prevent a bypass which occurred during 

normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 

maintenance; and  

(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under 

Part II U 2.  
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b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass, after 

considering its adverse effects, if the board determines 

that it will meet the three conditions listed in Part II U 3 

a.  

V. Upset.  

1. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 

brought for noncompliance with technology based permit 

effluent limitations if the requirements of Part II V 2 are 

met. A determination made during administrative review of 

claims that noncompliance was caused by upset, and 

before an action for noncompliance, is not a final 

administrative action subject to judicial review.  

2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 

defense of upset shall demonstrate through properly 

signed, contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant 

evidence that:  

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 

the causes of the upset;  

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 

operated;  

c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 

in Part II I; and  

d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 

required under Part II S.  

3. In any enforcement proceeding the permittee seeking to 

establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of 

proof.  

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 

director, or an authorized representative, upon presentation of 

credentials and other documents as may be required by law 

to:  

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 

facility or activity is located or conducted, or where 

records must be kept under the conditions of this permit;  

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 

records that must be kept under the conditions of this 

permit;  

3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 

(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 

operations regulated or required under this permit; and  

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 

of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized 

by the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law, 

any substances or parameters at any location.  

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 

deemed reasonable during regular business hours, and 

whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained 

herein shall make an inspection unreasonable during an 

emergency.  

X. Permit actions. Permits may be modified, revoked and 

reissued, or terminated for cause. The filing of a request by 

the permittee for a permit modification, revocation and 

reissuance, or termination, or a notification of planned 

changes or anticipated noncompliance does not stay any 

permit condition.  

Y. Transfer of permits.  

1. Permits are not transferable to any person except after 

notice to the department. Except as provided in Part II Y 2, 

a permit may be transferred by the permittee to a new 

owner or operator only if the permit has been modified or 

revoked and reissued, or a minor modification made, to 

identify the new permittee and incorporate such other 

requirements as may be necessary under the State Water 

Control Law and the Clean Water Act.  

2. As an alternative to transfers under Part II Y 1, this 

permit may be automatically transferred to a new permittee 

if:  

a. The current permittee notifies the department within 

30 days of the transfer of the title to the facility or 

property;  

b. The notice includes a written agreement between the 

existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 

transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 

between them; and  

c. The board does not notify the existing permittee and 

the proposed new permittee of its intent to modify or 

revoke and reissue the permit. If this notice is not 

received, the transfer is effective on the date specified in 

the agreement mentioned in Part II Y 2 b.  

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 

and, if any provision of this permit or the application of any 

provision of this permit to any circumstance, is held invalid, 

the application of such provision to other circumstances, and 

the remainder of this permit, shall not be affected thereby.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4617; Filed December 19, 2016, 10:44 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of 

Virginia, which exempts general permits issued by the State 

Water Control Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law 

(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.) and Chapters 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) and  

25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 if the board (i) provides a 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in conformance with 

the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01; (ii) following the passage of 

30 days from the publication of the Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action forms a technical advisory committee 

composed of relevant stakeholders, including potentially 

affected citizens groups, to assist in the development of the 

general permit; (iii) provides notice and receives oral and 

written comment as provided in § 2.2-4007.03; and (iv) 

conducts at least one public hearing on the proposed general 

permit. 
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Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-820. General Virginia 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

Watershed Permit Regulation for Total Nitrogen and 

Total Phosphorus Discharges and Nutrient Trading in the 

Chesapeake Bay Watershed in Virginia (amending 

9VAC25-820-10 through 9VAC25-820-80; adding 

9VAC25-820-15).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 8, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Allan Brockenbrough, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4147, FAX (804) 

698-4032, or email allan.brockenbrough@deq.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 

regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

Summary: 

This action amends and reissues the general permit for 

total nitrogen (TN) and total phosphorus (TP) discharges 

and nutrient trading in the Chesapeake Bay watershed in 

Virginia. The regulation provides for the permitting of TN 

and TP discharges in the Chesapeake Bay watershed and 

allows for trading of nutrient credits to minimize costs to 

the regulated facilities and allow for future growth. The 

amendments to the existing regulation update and clarify 

definitions, effective dates, monitoring frequencies and 

sample types, quantification level requirements, trading 

ratio provisions, and new wasteload allocations for some 

facilities as required by the December 29, 2010, 

Chesapeake Bay total maximum daily load with associated 

compliance schedule requirements and conditions 

applicable to all Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System permits.  

9VAC25-820-10. Definitions. 

Except as defined below, the words and terms used in this 

chapter shall have the meanings defined in the Virginia 

Pollution Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

Permit Regulation (9VAC25-31). 

"Annual mass load of total nitrogen" (expressed in pounds 

per year) means the sum of the total monthly loads for all of 

the months in one calendar year. See Part I E 4 of the general 

permit in 9VAC25-820-70 for calculating total monthly load. 

"Annual mass load of total phosphorus" (expressed in 

pounds per year) means the sum of the total monthly loads for 

all of the months in one calendar year. See Part I E 4 of the 

general permit in 9VAC25-820-70 for calculating total 

monthly load. 

"Association" means the Virginia Nutrient Credit Exchange 

Association authorized by § 62.1-44.19:17 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Attenuation" means the rate at which nutrients are reduced 

through natural processes during transport in water. 

"Board" means the Virginia State Water Control Board or 

State Water Control Board. 

"Delivered total nitrogen load" means the discharged mass 

load of total nitrogen from a point source that is adjusted by 

the delivery factor for that point source. 

"Delivered total phosphorus load" means the discharged 

mass load of total phosphorus from a point source that is 

adjusted by the delivery factor for that point source. 

"Delivery factor" means an estimate of the number of 

pounds of total nitrogen or total phosphorus delivered to tidal 

waters for every pound discharged from a permitted facility, 

as determined by the specific geographic location of the 

permitted facility, to account for attenuation that occurs 

during riverine transport between the permitted facility and 

tidal waters. Delivery factors shall be calculated using the 

Chesapeake Bay Program watershed model. For the purpose 

of this regulation, delivery factors with a value greater than 

1.00 in the Chesapeake Bay Program watershed model shall 

be considered to be equal to 1.00. 

"Department" or "DEQ" means the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

"Director" means the director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

"Eastern Shore trading ratio" means the number ratio of 

pounds of point source credits from another tributary that can 

be acquired and applied by the owner of a facility in the 

Eastern Coastal Shore Basin for every pound of point source 

total nitrogen or total phosphorus discharged from the Eastern 

Shore Basin facility. Trading ratios are expressed in the form 

"credits supplied: credits received." 

"Equivalent load" means: 

2,300 pounds per year of total nitrogen or 300 pounds per 

year of total phosphorus discharged by an industrial facility 

are considered equivalent to the load discharged from 

sewage treatment works with a design capacity of 0.04 

million gallons per day, 

5,700 pounds per year of total nitrogen or 760 pounds per 

year of total phosphorus discharged by an industrial facility 

are considered equivalent to the load discharged from 

sewage treatment works with a design capacity of 0.1 

million gallons per day, and 

28,500 pounds per year of total nitrogen or 3,800 pounds 

per year of total phosphorus discharged by an industrial 

facility are considered equivalent to the load discharged 

from sewage treatment works with a design capacity of 0.5 

million gallons per day. 

"Existing facility" means a facility holding (i) subject to a 

current individual VPDES permit that from which a discharge 

has either commenced discharge from, or for which its owner 

has received a Certificate to Construct (for sewage treatment 
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works, or equivalent DEQ approval for discharges from 

industrial facilities) for the treatment works used to derive its 

waste load wasteload allocation on or before July 1, 2005, or 

(ii) for which the owner has a waste load wasteload allocation 

listed in 9VAC25-720-50 C, 9VAC25-720-60 C, 9VAC25-

720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 C, and 9VAC25-720-120 C of 

the Water Quality Management Planning Regulation. 

Existing facility shall also mean and include any facility, 

without not subject to an individual VPDES permit, for which 

its owner holds a separate waste load wasteload allocation in 

9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water Quality Management 

Planning Regulation. 

"Expansion" or "expands" means (i) initiating construction 

at an existing treatment works after July 1, 2005, to increase 

design flow capacity, except that the term does not apply in 

those cases where a Certificate to Construct (for sewage 

treatment works, or equivalent DEQ approval for discharges 

from industrial facilities) was issued on or before July 1, 

2005, or (ii) industrial production process changes or the use 

of new treatment products at industrial facilities that increase 

the annual mass load of total nitrogen or total phosphorus 

above the waste load wasteload allocation. 

"Facility" means a point source discharging from which a 

discharge or proposing to proposed discharge of total nitrogen 

or total phosphorus to the Chesapeake Bay or its tributaries 

exists. This term does not include confined animal feeding 

operations, discharges of storm water, return flows from 

irrigated agriculture, or vessels. 

"General permit" means this general permit authorized by 

§ 62.1-44.19:14 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Industrial facility" means any facility (as defined above) 

other than sewage treatment works. 

"Local water quality-based limitations" means limitations 

intended to protect local water quality including applicable 

total maximum daily load (TMDL) allocations, applicable 

Virginia Pollution Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

permit limits, applicable limitations set forth in water quality 

standards established under § 62.1-44.15 (3a) of the Code of 

Virginia, or other limitations as established by the State 

Water Control Board.  

"New discharge" means any discharge from a facility that 

did not commence the discharge of pollutants prior to July 1, 

2005, except that the term does not apply in those cases 

where a Certificate to Construct (for sewage treatment works, 

or equivalent DEQ approval for discharges from industrial 

facilities) was issued to the facility on or before July 1, 2005. 

"Nonsignificant discharger" means (i) a sewage treatment 

works discharging to the Chesapeake Bay watershed 

downstream of the fall line with a design capacity of less than 

0.1 million gallons per day, or less than an equivalent load 

discharged from industrial facilities, or (ii) a sewage 

treatment works discharging to the Chesapeake Bay 

watershed upstream of the fall line with a design capacity of 

less than 0.5 million gallons per day, or less than an 

equivalent load discharged from industrial facilities. 

"Offset" means to acquire an annual waste load wasteload 

allocation of total nitrogen or total phosphorus by for a new 

or expanding facility to ensure that there is no net increase of 

nutrients into the affected tributary of the Chesapeake Bay. 

"Permitted design capacity" or "permitted capacity" means 

the allowable load (pounds per year) assigned to an existing 

facility that is a nonsignificant discharger, and that does not 

have a waste load wasteload allocation listed in 9VAC25-

720-50 C, 9VAC25-720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-

720-110 C, and 9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water Quality 

Management Planning Regulation. The permitted design 

capacity is calculated based on the design flow and installed 

nutrient removal technology (for sewage treatment works, or 

equivalent discharge from industrial facilities) at a facility 

that has either commenced discharge, or for which an owner 

has received a Certificate to Construct (for sewage treatment 

works, or equivalent DEQ approval for discharges from 

industrial facilities) prior to July 1, 2005. This mass load is 

used for (i) determining whether the owner of the expanding 

facility must offset additional mass loading of nitrogen and 

phosphorus and (ii) determining whether the owner of the 

facility must acquire credits at the end of a calendar year. For 

the purpose of this regulation chapter, owners of facilities that 

have installed secondary wastewater treatment (intended to 

achieve BOD and TSS monthly average concentrations equal 

to or less than 30 milligrams per liter) are assumed to achieve 

an annual average total nitrogen effluent concentration of 

18.7 milligrams per liter and an annual average total 

phosphorus effluent concentration of 2.5 milligrams per liter. 

Permitted design capacities for facilities that, before July 1, 

2005, were required to comply with more stringent nutrient 

limits shall be calculated using the more stringent values. 

"Permitted facility" means a facility whose owner is 

authorized by this general permit to discharge total nitrogen 

or total phosphorus. For the sole purpose of generating point 

source nitrogen credits or point source phosphorus credits, 

"permitted facility" shall also mean the Blue Plains 

wastewater treatment facility operated by the District of 

Columbia Water and Sewer Authority. 

"Permittee" means a person authorized by this general 

permit to discharge total nitrogen or total phosphorus. 

"Point source nitrogen credit" means the difference between 

(i) the waste load wasteload allocation for a permitted facility 

specified as an annual mass load of total nitrogen and (ii) the 

monitored annual mass load of total nitrogen discharged by 

from that facility, where clause (ii) is less than clause (i), and 

where the difference is adjusted by the applicable delivery 

factor and expressed as pounds per year of delivered total 

nitrogen load. 

"Point source phosphorus credit" means the difference 

between (i) the waste load wasteload allocation for a 

permitted facility specified as an annual mass load of total 
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phosphorus and (ii) the monitored annual mass load of total 

phosphorus discharged by from that facility, where clause (ii) 

is less than clause (i), and where the difference is adjusted by 

the applicable delivery factor and expressed as pounds per 

year of delivered total phosphorus load.  

"Quantification level (QL)" or "QL" means the minimum 

levels, concentrations, or quantities of a target variable (e.g., 

target analyte) that can be reported with a specified degree of 

confidence in accordance with 1VAC30-45, Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories, or 1VAC30-46, 

Accreditation for Commercial Environmental Laboratories.  

"Registration list" means a list maintained by the department 

indicating all facilities that have are registered for coverage 

under this general permit, by tributary, including their waste 

load wasteload allocations, permitted design capacities, and 

delivery factors as appropriate. 

"Significant discharger" means the owner of (i) a sewage 

treatment works discharging to the Chesapeake Bay 

watershed upstream of the fall line with a design capacity of 

0.5 million gallons per day or greater, or an equivalent load 

discharged from industrial facilities; (ii) a sewage treatment 

works discharging to the Chesapeake Bay watershed 

downstream of the fall line with a design capacity of 0.1 

million gallons per day or greater, or an equivalent load 

discharged from industrial facilities; (iii) a planned or newly 

expanding sewage treatment works discharging to the 

Chesapeake Bay watershed upstream of the fall line that is 

was expected to be in operation by December 31, 2010, with 

a permitted design of 0.5 million gallons per day or greater, or 

an equivalent load to be discharged from industrial facilities; 

or (iv) a planned or newly expanding sewage treatment works 

discharging to the Chesapeake Bay watershed downstream of 

the fall line that is was expected to be in operation by 

December 31, 2010, with a design capacity of 0.1 million 

gallons per day or greater, or an equivalent load to be 

discharged from industrial facilities. 

"State-of-the-art nutrient removal technology" means (i) 

technology that will achieve an annual average total nitrogen 

effluent concentration of three milligrams per liter and an 

annual average total phosphorus effluent concentration of 0.3 

milligrams per liter or (ii) equivalent load reductions in total 

nitrogen and total phosphorus through recycle or reuse of 

wastewater as determined by the department. 

"Tributaries" means those river basins for which separate 

tributary strategies were prepared pursuant to § 2.2-218 of the 

Code of Virginia listed in the Chesapeake Bay TMDL and 

includes the Potomac, Rappahannock, York, and James River 

Basins, and the Eastern Coastal Shore Basin, which 

encompasses the creeks and rivers of the Eastern Shore of 

Virginia that are west of Route 13 and drain into the 

Chesapeake Bay. 

"VPDES" means Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System. 

"Waste load "Wasteload allocation" means  the most 

limiting of (i) the water quality-based annual mass load of 

total nitrogen or annual mass load of total phosphorus 

allocated to individual facilities pursuant to 9VAC25-720-50 

C, 9VAC25-720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 

C, and 9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water Quality 

Management Planning Regulation or its successor, or 

permitted capacity in the case of nonsignificant dischargers; 

(ii) the water quality-based annual mass load of total nitrogen 

or annual mass load of total phosphorus acquired pursuant to 

§ 62.1-44.19:15 of the Code of Virginia for new or expanded 

facilities; or (iii) applicable total nitrogen or total phosphorus 

waste load wasteload allocations under the Chesapeake Bay 

total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) to restore or protect the 

water quality and beneficial uses of the Chesapeake Bay or its 

tidal tributaries. 

9VAC25-820-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the 

Code of Federal Regulations is referenced or adopted in this 

chapter and incorporated by reference that regulation shall be 

as it exists and has been published as of July 1, 2014. 

9VAC25-820-20. Purpose, applicability, delegation of 

authority. 

A. This regulation fulfills the statutory requirement for the 

General VPDES Watershed Permit for Total Nitrogen and 

Total Phosphorus discharges and nutrient trading in the 

Chesapeake Bay watershed issued by the board pursuant to 

the Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.) and § 62.1-

44.19:14 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. This general permit regulation governs owners of 

facilities holding individual VPDES permits or that otherwise 

meet meeting the definition of "existing facility" that 

discharge or propose to discharge total nitrogen or total 

phosphorus to the Chesapeake Bay or its tributaries. 

C. The director may perform any act of the board provided 

under this regulation, except as limited by § 62.1-44.14 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

9VAC25-820-30. Relation to existing VPDES permits 

issued in accordance with 9VAC25-31.  

A. This general permit shall control in lieu of conflicting or 

duplicative mass loading effluent limitations, monitoring or 

reporting requirements for total nitrogen and total phosphorus 

contained in individual VPDES permits for facilities covered 

by this general permit, where these requirements are based 

upon standards, criteria, waste load wasteload allocations, 

policy, or guidance established to restore or protect the water 

quality and beneficial uses of the Chesapeake Bay or its tidal 

tributaries.  

B. This general permit shall not control in lieu of more 

stringent water quality-based effluent limitations for total 

nitrogen or total phosphorus in individual permits where 
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those limitations are necessary to protect local water quality, 

or more stringent technology-based effluent concentration 

limitations in the individual permit for any facility that has 

installed technology for the control of nitrogen and 

phosphorus whether by new construction, expansion, or 

upgrade.  

C. The compliance schedule in this general permit shall 

control in lieu of conflicting or duplicative schedule 

requirements contained in individual VPDES permits for 

facilities covered by this general permit, where those 

requirements address mass loading of total nitrogen or total 

phosphorus and are based upon standards, criteria, waste load 

wasteload allocations, policy, or guidance established to 

restore or protect the water quality and beneficial uses of the 

Chesapeake Bay or its tidal tributaries.  

9VAC25-820-40. Compliance plans.  

A. By July 1, 2012 2017, every owner or operator of a 

facility subject to reduced individual total nitrogen or total 

phosphorus waste load allocations in the Chesapeake Bay 

Total Maximum Daily Load for Nitrogen, Phosphorus and 

Sediment dated December 29, 2010, (as identified in 

9VAC25-820-80) 9VAC25-820-80 and subject to a limit 

effective date after January 1, 2017, as defined in Part I C 1 of 

9VAC25-820-70 shall either individually or through the 

Virginia Nutrient Credit Exchange Association submit 

compliance plans to the department for approval. 

1. The compliance plans shall contain any capital projects 

and implementation schedules needed to achieve total 

nitrogen and phosphorus reductions sufficient to comply 

with the individual and combined waste load wasteload 

allocations of all the permittees in the tributary as soon as 

possible. Permittees submitting individual plans are not 

required to account for other facilities' activities.  

2. As part of the compliance plan development, permittees 

shall either: 

a. Demonstrate that the additional capital projects in 

anticipated by subdivision 1 of this subsection are 

necessary to ensure continued compliance with these 

allocations through by the applicable deadline for the 

tributary to which the facility discharges (Part I C of the 

permit), or  

b. Request that their individual waste load wasteload 

allocations become effective on January 1, 2012 2017.  

3. The compliance plans may rely on the exchange of point 

source credits in accordance with this general permit, but 

not the acquisition of credits through payments into the 

Water Quality Improvement Nutrient Offset Fund (§ 10.1-

2128 et seq. 10.1-2128.2 of the Code of Virginia), to 

achieve compliance with the individual and combined 

waste load wasteload allocations in each tributary.  

B. Every owner [ or operator ] of a facility required to 

submit a registration statement shall either individually or 

through the Virginia Nutrient Credit Exchange Association 

submit annual compliance plan updates to the department for 

approval as required by Part I D of this the general permit.  

9VAC25-820-50. Transfer of permit coverage.  

A. This Coverage under the general permit shall be 

transferred by the current permittee to a new owner [ or 

operator ] concurrently with the transfer of the individual 

permit(s) permit or permits in accordance with 9VAC25-31-

380. If the current permittee holds an aggregated [ waste load 

wasteload ] allocation for multiple facilities in accordance 

with Part I B 2 of this the general permit, the current 

permittee shall submit a revised registration statement for any 

facilities retained and the new owner shall submit a 

registration statement for the facilities transferred.  

B. All conditions of this the general permit, including, but 

not limited to, the submittal of a registration statement, 

annual nutrient allocation compliance and reporting 

requirements, shall apply to the new owner [ or operator ] 

immediately upon the transfer date.  

9VAC25-820-60. Termination of permit coverage.  

The owner [ or operator ] shall terminate coverage under this 

general permit concurrently with any request for termination 

of the individual permit(s) permit or permits in accordance 

with 9VAC25-31-370.  

9VAC25-820-70. General permit. 

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the 

board will receive the following general permit and shall 

comply with the requirements therein of the general permit. 

General Permit No.: VAN000000  

Effective Date: January 1, 2012 2017 

Amended Effective Date: November 21, 2012 

Expiration Date: December 31, 2016 2021 

GENERAL PERMIT FOR TOTAL NITROGEN AND 

TOTAL PHOSPHORUS DISCHARGES AND NUTRIENT 

TRADING IN THE CHESAPEAKE WATERSHED IN 

VIRGINIA  

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 

VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 

SYSTEM AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER 

CONTROL LAW  

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, 

as amended, and pursuant to the State Water Control Law and 

regulations adopted pursuant thereto to it, owners of facilities 

holding a VPDES individual permit or owners of facilities 

that otherwise meet the definition of an existing facility, with 

total nitrogen and/or or total phosphorus discharges, or both 

to the Chesapeake Bay or its tributaries, are authorized to 

discharge to surface waters and exchange credits for total 

nitrogen and/or or total phosphorus, or both. 

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the 

registration statement filed with DEQ, this cover page, Part I-

Special Conditions Applicable to All Facilities, Part II-

Special Conditions Applicable to New and Expanded 
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Facilities, and Part III-Conditions Applicable to All VPDES 

Permits, as set forth herein. 

PART I  

SPECIAL CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL 

FACILITIES 

A. Authorized activities.  

1. Authorization to discharge for owners of facilities 

required to register. 

a. Every owner [ or operator ] of a facility required to 

submit a registration statement to the department by 

November 1, 2011 2016, and thereafter upon the 

reissuance of this general permit, shall be authorized to 

discharge total nitrogen and total phosphorus subject to 

the requirements of this general permit upon the 

department's approval of the registration statement.  

b. Any owner [ or operator ] of a facility required to 

submit a registration statement with the department at the 

time he makes application with the department for a new 

discharge or expansion that is subject to an offset or 

technology-based requirement in Part II of this general 

permit, shall be authorized to discharge total nitrogen and 

total phosphorus subject to the requirements of this 

general permit upon the department's approval of the 

registration statement.  

c. Upon the department's approval of the registration 

statement, a facility will be included in the registration 

list maintained by the department. 

2. Authorization to discharge for owners of facilities not 

required to register. Any owner of a facility authorized by 

a Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System VPDES 

permit and not required by this general permit to submit a 

registration statement shall be deemed to be authorized to 

discharge total nitrogen and total phosphorus under this 

general permit at the time it is issued. Owners [ or 

operators ] of facilities that are deemed to be permitted 

under this subsection shall have no obligation under this 

general permit prior to submitting a registration statement 

and securing coverage under this general permit based 

upon such registration statement. 

3. Continuation of permit coverage. 

a. Any owner authorized to discharge under this general 

permit and who submits a complete registration 

statement for the reissued general permit by November 1, 

2016 2021, in accordance with Part III A M or who is not 

required to register in accordance with Part I A 2 is 

authorized to continue to discharge under the terms of 

this general permit until such time as the board either: 

(1) Issues coverage to the owner under the reissued 

general permit, or 

(2) Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible 

for coverage under the reissued this general permit is 

denied.  

b. When the owner that was covered under the expiring 

or expired general permit has violated or is violating the 

conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any 

or all of the following: 

(1) Initiate enforcement action based upon the 2012 

general permit that has been continued, 

(2) Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 

amended reissued general permit if. If the general permit 

coverage is denied, the owner would then be required to 

cease the activities discharges authorized by the 

administratively continued coverage under the terms of 

the 2012 general permit or be subject to enforcement 

action for operating without a permit, or 

(3) Take other actions authorized by the State Water 

Control Law. 

B. Waste load Wasteload allocations. 

1. Waste load Wasteload allocations allocated to permitted 

facilities pursuant to 9VAC25-720-50 C, 9VAC25-720-60 

C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 C, and 9VAC25-

720-120 C of the Water Quality Management Planning 

Regulation, or applicable total maximum daily loads 

TMDLs, or waste load wasteload allocations acquired by 

owners of new and expanding facilities to offset new or 

increased delivered total nitrogen and delivered total 

phosphorus loads from a new discharge or expansion under 

Part II B of this general permit, and existing loads 

calculated from the permitted design capacity of expanding 

facilities not previously covered by this general permit, 

shall be incorporated into the registration list maintained 

by the department. The waste load wasteload allocations 

contained in this list shall be enforceable as annual mass 

load limits in this general permit. Credits shall not be 

generated by facilities whose operations were previously 

authorized by a Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) 

permit that was issued before July 1, 2005. 

2. Except as described in subdivisions 2 c and 2 d of this 

subsection, an owner [ or operator ] of two or more 

facilities covered by this general permit and located in 

discharging to the same tributary may apply for and 

receive an aggregated mass load limit for delivered total 

nitrogen and an aggregated mass load limit for delivered 

total phosphorus reflecting the total of the water quality-

based total nitrogen and total phosphorus waste load 

wasteload allocations or permitted design capacities 

established for such facilities individually. 

a. The permittee (and all of the individual facilities 

covered under a single registration) shall be deemed to be 

in compliance when the aggregate mass load discharged 

by the facilities is less than the aggregate load limit. 

b. The permittee will be eligible to generate credits only 

if the aggregate mass load discharged by the facilities is 

less than the total of the waste load wasteload allocations 

assigned to any of the affected facilities. 
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c. The aggregation of mass load limits shall not affect 

any requirement to comply with local water quality-

based limitations. 

d. Facilities whose operations were previously authorized 

by a Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) permit that 

was issued before July 1, 2005, cannot be aggregated 

with other facilities under common ownership or 

operation. 

e. Operation under an aggregated mass load limit in 

accordance with this section shall not be deemed credit 

acquisition as described in Part I J 2 of this general 

permit. 

3. An owner who that consolidates two or more facilities 

located in discharging to the same tributary into a single 

regional facility may apply for and receive an aggregated 

mass load limit for delivered total nitrogen and an 

aggregated mass load limit for delivered total phosphorus, 

subject to the following conditions: 

a. If all of the affected facilities have waste load 

wasteload allocations in 9VAC25-720-50 C, 9VAC25-

720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 C, and 

9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water Quality Management 

Planning Regulation, the aggregate mass load limit shall 

be calculated by adding the waste load wasteload 

allocations of the affected facilities. The regional facility 

shall be eligible to generate credits. 

b. If any, but not all, of the affected facilities has a waste 

load wasteload allocation in 9VAC25-720-50 C, 

9VAC25-720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-

110 C, and 9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water Quality 

Management Planning Regulation, the aggregate mass 

load limit shall be calculated by adding: 

(1) Waste load Wasteload allocations of those facilities 

that have waste load wasteload allocations in 9VAC25-

720-50 C, 9VAC25-720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 

9VAC25-720-110 C, and 9VAC25-720-120 C of the 

Water Quality Management Planning Regulation; 

(2) Permitted design capacities assigned to affected 

industrial facilities; and 

(3) Loads from affected sewage treatment works that do 

not have a waste load wasteload allocation in 9VAC25-

720-50 C, 9VAC25-720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 

9VAC25-720-110 C, and 9VAC25-720-120 C of the 

Water Quality Management Planning Regulation, defined 

as the lesser of a previously calculated permitted design 

capacity, or the values calculated by the following 

formulae: 

Nitrogen Load (lbs/day) = flow x 8.0 mg/l x 8.345 x 365 

days/year 

Phosphorus Load (lbs/day) = flow x 1.0 mg/l x 8.345 x 

365 days/year 

Flows used in the preceding formulae shall be the design 

flow of the treatment works from which the affected 

facility currently discharges. 

The regional facility shall be eligible to generate credits. 

c. If none of the affected facilities have a waste load 

wasteload allocation in 9VAC25-720-50 C, 9VAC25-

720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 C, and 

9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water Quality Management 

Planning Regulation, the aggregate mass load limit shall 

be calculated by adding the respective permitted design 

capacities for the affected facilities. The regional facility 

shall not be eligible to generate credits. 

d. Facilities whose operations were previously authorized 

by a Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) permit that 

was issued before July 1, 2005, may be consolidated with 

other facilities under common ownership or operation, 

but their allocations cannot be transferred to the regional 

facility. 

e. Facilities whose operations were previously authorized 

by a VPA permit that was issued before July 1, 2005, can 

become regional facilities, but they cannot receive 

additional allocations beyond those permitted in Part II B 

1 d of this general permit. 

4. Unless otherwise noted, the nitrogen and phosphorus 

waste load wasteload allocations assigned to permitted 

facilities are considered total loads, including nutrients 

present in the intake water from the river, as applicable. On 

a case-by-case basis, an industrial discharger may 

demonstrate to the satisfaction of the board that a portion 

of the nutrient load originates in its intake water. This 

demonstration shall be consistent with the assumptions and 

methods used to derive the allocations through the 

Chesapeake Bay models. In these cases, the board may 

limit the permitted discharge to the net nutrient load 

portion of the assigned waste load wasteload allocation. 

5. Bioavailability. Unless otherwise noted, the entire 

nitrogen and phosphorus waste load wasteload allocations 

assigned to permitted facilities are considered to be 

bioavailable to organisms in the receiving stream. On a 

case-by-case basis, a discharger may demonstrate to the 

satisfaction of the board that a portion of the nutrient load 

is not bioavailable; this demonstration shall not be based 

on the ability of the nutrient to resist degradation at the 

wastewater treatment plant, but instead, on the ability of 

the nutrient to resist degradation within a natural 

environment for the amount of time that it is expected to 

remain in the [ bay Chesapeake Bay ] watershed. This 

demonstration shall also be consistent with the 

assumptions and methods used to derive the allocations 

through the Chesapeake Bay models. In these cases, the 

board may limit the permitted discharge to the bioavailable 

portion of the assigned waste load wasteload allocation. 
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C. Schedule of compliance. 

1. The following schedule of compliance pertaining to the 

load allocations for total nitrogen and total phosphorus 

applies to the facilities listed in 9VAC25-820-80. 

a. Compliance shall be achieved as soon as possible, but 

no later than the following dates, subject to any 

compliance plan-based adjustment by the board pursuant 

to subdivision 1 b of this subsection, for each parameter 

upgrade phase:  

Tributary Parameter 

Final Effluent Limits 

Effective Date 

James River Nitrogen January 1, 2017 

York River Phosphorus January 1, 2016 

  

Upgrade Phase Limit Effective Date 

Phase I Total Nitrogen January 1, 2017 

Phase 2 Total Nitrogen January 1, 2022 

Phase 2 Total Phosphorus January 1, 2017 

b. Following submission of compliance plans and 

compliance plan updates required by 9VAC25-820-40, 

the board shall reevaluate the schedule of compliance in 

subdivision 1 a of this subsection, taking into account the 

information in the compliance plans and the factors in 

§ 62.1-44.19:14 C 2 of the Code of Virginia. When 

warranted based on such information and factors, the 

board shall adjust the schedule in subdivision 1 a of this 

subsection as appropriate by modification or reissuance 

of this general permit.  

2. The registration list shall contain individual dates for 

compliance (as defined in Part I J 1 a-b of this general 

permit) with wasteload allocations for dischargers, as 

follows:  

a. Facilities Owners of facilities listed in 9VAC25-820-

80 will have individual dates for compliance based on 

their respective compliance plans, that may be earlier 

than the basin upgrade phase schedule listed in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

b. Facilities Owners of facilities listed in 9VAC25-820-

70 9VAC25-820-80 that waive their compliance 

schedules in accordance with 9VAC25-820-40 A 2 b 

shall have an individual compliance date of January 1, 

2012 2017. 

c. Upon completion of the projects contained in their 

compliance plans, owners of facilities listed in 9VAC25-

820-80 may receive a revised individual compliance date 

of January 1 for the calendar year immediately following 

the year in which a Certificate to Operate was issued for 

the capital projects, but not later than the basin upgrade 

phase schedule listed in subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

d. New Owners of new and expanded facilities will have 

individual dates for compliance corresponding to the date 

that coverage under this general permit was extended to 

discharges from the facility.  

3. The 39 significant dischargers in the James River Basin 

shall meet aggregate discharged waste load wasteload 

allocations of 8,968,864 lbs/yr TN and 545,558 lbs/yr TP 

by January 1, 2023. 

D. Annual update of compliance plan. Every owner [ or 

operator ] of a facility required to submit a registration 

statement shall either individually or through the Virginia 

Nutrient Credit Exchange Association submit updated 

compliance plans to the department no later than February 1 

of each year. The compliance plans shall contain sufficient 

information to document a plan for the facility to achieve and 

maintain compliance with applicable total nitrogen and total 

phosphorus individual waste load wasteload allocations on 

the registration list and aggregate waste load wasteload 

allocations in Part I C 3. Compliance plans for owners of 

facilities that were required to submit a registration statement 

with the department under Part I G 1 a may rely on the 

acquisition of point source credits in accordance with Part I J 

of this general permit, but not the acquisition of credits 

through payments into the Water Quality Improvement 

Nutrient Offset Fund, to achieve compliance with the 

individual and combined waste load wasteload allocations in 

each tributary. Compliance plans for expansions or new 

discharges for owners of facilities that are required to submit 

a registration statement with the department under Part I G 1 

b and c may rely on the acquisition of allocation in 

accordance with Part II B of this general permit to achieve 

compliance with the individual and combined waste load 

wasteload allocations in each tributary.  

E. Monitoring requirements.  

1. Discharges shall be monitored by the permittee during 

weekdays as specified [ in the table ] below unless the 

department determines that weekday only sampling results 

in a non-representative load. Weekend monitoring and/or 

or alternative monthly load calculations to address 

production schedules or seasonal flows shall be submitted 

to the department for review and approval on a case-by-

case basis. Facilities that exhibit instantaneous discharge 

flows that vary from the daily average discharge flow by 

less than 10% may submit a proposal to the department to 

use an alternative sample type; such proposals shall be 

reviewed and approved by the department on a case-by-

case basis. 
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Parameter Sample Type and Collection Frequency 

STP design flow ≥20.0 MGD 

[ 5.0 - 

19.999 

MGD ]  

[ 1.0 - 19.999 1.0 

- 4.999 ] MGD 

0.5 - 0.999 

MGD 

0.040 - 

0.999 

0.040 - 

0.499 MGD 

< 0.040 

MGD 

Effluent TN load 

limit for 

industrial 

facilities 

  

[ >350,000 

lb/yr ] 

>100,000 

100,000 - 

[ 349,999 

> 350,000 ] lb/yr  

50,000 - 99,999 

lb/yr 
487 - 99,999 

487 - 49,999 

lb/yr 

< 487 lb/yr 

Effluent TP load 

limit for 

industrial 

facilities 

  

[ >35,000 

lb/yr ]  
>10,000 10,000 - 

[ 34,999 

> 35,000 ] lb/yr  

5,000 - 9,999 

lb/yr 
37 - 9,999 

37 - 4,999 

lb/yr 

< 37 lb/yr 

Flow Totalizing, Indicating, and Recording 

1/Day, see 

individual 

VPDES 

permit for 

sample type 

Nitrogen 

Compounds 

(Total Nitrogen 

= TKN + NO2- 

(as N) + NO3- 

(as N)) 

24 HC  

3 Days/Week 

[ 24 HC 

2/Week* ] 

24 HC  

[ 1/Week 2 

Days/Week* ] 

8 HC 

[ 4/Month** 2 

Days/Week* ] 

8 HC  

2/Month, 

>  7 days 

apart 

1/Month 

Grab 

Total Phosphorus  
24 HC  

3 Days/Week 

[ 24 HC 

2/Week* ]  

24 HC  

[ 1/Week 2 

Days/Week* ] 

8 HC 

[ 4/Month** 2 

Days/Week* ] 

8 HC  

2/Month, > 7 

days apart 

1/Month 

Grab 

*Two [ 24-hour ] flow composited samples taken in the same calendar week that are then composited by flow into a single 

weekly composite sample for analysis shall be considered to be in compliance with this requirement. 

[ **Two sets of two 8-hour flow composited samples taken at least one day apart but in the same calendar week that are then 

composited by flow into two weekly composite samples per month for analysis shall be considered to be in compliance with 

this requirement. ]  

2. Monitoring for compliance with effluent limitations 

shall be performed in a manner identical to that used to 

determine compliance with effluent limitations established 

in the individual VPDES permit unless specified otherwise 

in subdivisions 3, 4, and 5 of Part I E. Monitoring or 

sampling shall be conducted according to analytical 

laboratory methods approved under 40 CFR Part 136, 

unless other test or sample collection procedures have been 

requested by the permittee and approved by the department 

in writing. All analysis for compliance with effluent 

limitations shall be conducted in accordance with 

1VAC30-45, Certification for Noncommercial 

Environmental Laboratories, or 1VAC30-46, Accreditation 

for Commercial Environmental Laboratories. Monitoring 

may be performed by the permittee at frequencies more 

stringent than listed above in subdivision 1 of Part I E; 

however, the permittee shall report all results of such 

monitoring. 

3. Loading values greater than or equal to 10 pounds 

reported in accordance with Part I E and F of this general 

permit shall be calculated and reported to the nearest 

pound without regard to mathematical rules of precision. 

Loading values of less than 10 pounds reported in 

accordance with Part I E and F of this general permit shall 

be calculated and reported to at least two significant digits 

with the exception that all complete calendar year annual 

loads shall be reported to the nearest pound. 

4. Data shall be reported on a form provided by the 

department, by the same date each month as is required by 

the facility's owner's individual VPDES permit. The total 

monthly load shall be calculated in accordance with the 

following formula:  

 

where:  
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ML = total monthly load (lb/mo) = average daily load for 

the calendar month multiplied by the number of days of 

the calendar month on which a discharge occurred  

DL = daily load = daily concentration (expressed as mg/l 

to the nearest 0.01 mg/l) multiplied by the flow volume 

of effluent discharged during the 24-hour period 

(expressed as MGD to at least the nearest 0.01 MGD and 

in no case less than two significant digits), multiplied by 

8.345. Daily loads greater than or equal to 10 pounds 

may be rounded to the nearest whole number to convert 

to pounds per day (lbs/day). Daily loads less than or 

equal to 10 pounds may be rounded to no fewer than two 

significant [ fiqures figures ].  

s = number of days in the calendar month in which a 

sample was collected and analyzed 

d = number of discharge days in the calendar month 

For total phosphorus, all daily concentration data below the 

quantification level (QL) for the analytical method used 

should shall be treated as half the QL. All daily 

concentration data equal to or above the QL for the 

analytical method used shall be treated as it is reported. If 

all data are below the QL, then the average shall be 

reported as half the QL. 

For total nitrogen (TN), if none of the daily concentration 

data for the respective species (i.e., TKN, nitrates/nitrites) 

are equal to or above the QL for the respective analytical 

methods used, the daily TN concentration value reported 

shall equal one half of the largest QL used for the 

respective species. If one of the data is equal to or above 

the QL, the daily TN concentration value shall be treated 

as that data point as reported. If more than one of the data 

is above the QL, the daily TN concentration value shall 

equal the sum of the data points as reported. 

The quantification levels shall be less than or equal to the 

following concentrations: 

Parameter Quantification Level 

TKN 0.50 mg/l 

Nitrite 0.10 mg/l 

Nitrate 0.20 mg/l 

Nitrite + Nitrate 0.20 mg/l 

Higher QLs may be approved on a case-by-case basis 

where a higher QL routinely results in reportable results of 

the species in question or is otherwise technically 

appropriate based on standard lab practices.  

The total year-to-date mass load shall be calculated in 

accordance with the following formula:  

 

where:  

AL-YTD = calendar year-to-date annual load (lb/yr)  

ML = total monthly load (lb/mo) 

The total annual mass load shall be calculated in 

accordance with the following formula: 

 

where: 

AL = calendar year annual load (lb/yr) 

ML = total monthly load (lb/mo) 

5. The department may authorize a chemical usage 

evaluation as an alternative means of determining nutrient 

loading for outfalls where the only source of nutrients is 

those that found in the surface water intake and chemical 

additives used by the facility. Such an evaluation shall be 

submitted to the department for review and approval on a 

case-by-case basis. Implementation of approved chemical 

usage evaluations shall satisfy the requirements specified 

under Part I E 1 and 2. 

F. Annual reporting. On or before February 1, annually, 

each permittee shall file a discharge monitoring report with 

the department identifying the annual mass load of total 

nitrogen and the annual mass load of total phosphorus 

discharged by the permitted facility during the previous 

calendar year.  

G. Requirement to register; exclusions.  

1. The following owners [ or operators ] are required to 

register for coverage under this general permit:  

a. Every owner [ or operator ] of an existing facility 

authorized by a Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System VPDES permit to discharge 100,000 gallons or 

more per day from a sewage treatment work, or an 

equivalent load from an industrial facility, directly into 

tidal waters, or 500,000 gallons or more per day from a 

sewage treatment work works, or an equivalent load from 

an industrial facility, directly into nontidal waters [ , ] 

shall submit a registration statement to the department by 

November 1, 2011 2016, and thereafter upon the 

reissuance of this general permit in accordance with Part 

III B M. The conditions of this general permit will apply 

to such owner [ and operator ] upon approval of a 

registration statement.  

b. Any owner [ or operator ] of a facility authorized by a 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System permit 

to discharge 40,000 gallons or more per day from a 

sewage treatment work works, or an equivalent load from 

an industrial facility, directly into tidal or nontidal waters 

shall submit a registration statement with the department 

at the time he makes application for an individual permit 

with the department for a new discharge or expansion 

that is subject to an offset requirement in Part II of this 

general permit or to a technology-based requirement in 

9VAC25-40-70, and thereafter upon the reissuance of 

this general permit in accordance with Part III B M. The 

conditions of this general permit will apply to such 
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owner [ or operator ] beginning on the start January 1 of 

the calendar year immediately following approval of a 

registration statement and issuance or modification of the 

individual permit. 

c. Any owner [ or operator ] of a facility treating 

domestic sewage authorized by a Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System VPDES permit with a 

discharge greater than 1,000 gallons per day up to and 

including 39,999 gallons per day that has did not 

commenced commence the discharge of pollutants prior 

to January 1, 2011, shall submit a registration statement 

with the department at the time he makes application for 

an individual permit with the department or prior to 

commencing a discharge, which ever whichever occurs 

first, and thereafter upon the reissuance of this general 

permit in accordance with Part III B M. 

2. All other categories of discharges are excluded from 

registration under this general permit.  

H. Registration statement.  

1. The registration statement shall contain the following 

information:  

a. Name, mailing address and telephone number, e-mail 

email address and fax number of the owner (and facility 

operator, if different from the owner) applying for permit 

coverage;  

b. Name (or other identifier), address, city or county, 

contact name, phone number, e-mail email address and 

fax number for the facility for which the registration 

statement is submitted;  

c. VPDES permit numbers for all permits assigned to the 

facility, or pursuant to which the discharge is authorized;  

d. If applying for an aggregated waste load wasteload 

allocation in accordance with Part I B 2 of this permit, a 

list of all affected facilities and the VPDES permit 

numbers assigned to these facilities;  

e. For new and expanded facilities, a plan to offset new 

or increased delivered total nitrogen and delivered total 

phosphorus loads, including the amount of waste load 

wasteload allocation acquired. Waste load Wasteload 

allocations or credits sufficient to offset projected 

nutrient loads must be provided for period of at least five 

years; and  

f. For existing facilities, the amount of a facility's waste 

load wasteload allocation transferred to or from another 

facility to offset new or increased delivered total nitrogen 

and delivered total phosphorus loads from a new 

discharge or expansion.  

2. The registration statement shall be submitted to the DEQ 

Central Office, Office of Water VPDES Permits and 

Compliance Assistance.  

3. An amended registration statement shall be submitted to 

DEQ immediately upon the acquisition or transfer of a 

facility's waste load wasteload allocation to offset new or 

increased delivered total nitrogen and delivered total 

phosphorus loads from a new discharge or expansion.  

I. Public notice for registration statements proposing 

modifications or incorporations of new [ waste load 

wasteload ] allocations or delivery factors.  

1. All public notices issued pursuant to a proposed 

modification or incorporation of a (i) new waste load 

wasteload allocation to offset new or increased delivered 

total nitrogen and delivered total phosphorus loads from a 

new discharge or expansion, or (ii) delivery factor, shall be 

published once a week for two consecutive weeks in a 

major local newspaper of general circulation serving the 

locality where the facility is located informing the public 

that the owner of the facility intends to apply for coverage 

under this general permit. At a minimum, the notice shall 

include:  

a. A statement of the owner owner's [ or operator's ] 

intent to register for coverage under this general permit;  

b. A brief description of the facility and its location;  

c. The amount of waste load wasteload allocation that 

will be acquired or transferred if applicable;  

d. The delivery factor for a new discharge or expansion;  

e. If applicable, any proposed nonpoint source to point 

source trading ratio less than 2:1 proposed under Part II 

B 1 b (1). 

e. f. A statement that the purpose of the public 

participation is to acquaint the public with the technical 

aspects of the facility and how the standards and the 

requirements of this chapter will be met, to identify 

issues of concern, to facilitate communication, and to 

establish a dialogue between the owner [ or operator ] 

and persons who may be affected by the discharge from 

the facility;  

f. g. An announcement of a 30-day comment period and 

the name, telephone number, and address of the owner's 

[ or operator's ] representative who can be contacted by 

the interested persons to answer questions;  

g. h. The name, telephone number, and address of the 

DEQ representative who can be contacted by the 

interested persons to answer questions, or where 

comments shall be sent; and  

h. i. The location where copies of the documentation to 

be submitted to the department in support of this general 

permit notification and any supporting documents can be 

viewed and copied.  

2. The owner [ or operator ] shall place a copy of the 

documentation and support documents in a location 

accessible to the public in the vicinity of the proposed 

facility.  

3. The public shall be provided 30 days to comment on the 

technical and the regulatory aspects of the proposal. The 
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comment period will begin on the date the notice is 

published in the local newspaper.  

J. Compliance with waste load wasteload allocations.  

1. Methods of compliance. The owner of the permitted 

facility shall comply with its waste load wasteload 

allocation contained in the registration list maintained by 

the department. The owner of the permitted facility shall be 

in compliance with its waste load wasteload allocation if:  

a. The annual mass load is less than or equal to the 

applicable waste load wasteload allocation assigned to 

the facility in this general permit (or permitted design 

capacity for expanded facilities without allocations);  

b. The owner of the permitted facility acquires sufficient 

point source nitrogen or phosphorus credits in 

accordance with subdivision 2 of this subsection; 

provided, however, that the acquisition of nitrogen or 

phosphorus credits pursuant to this section shall not alter 

or otherwise affect the individual waste load wasteload 

allocations for each permitted facility; or  

c. In the event it he is unable to meet the individual waste 

load wasteload allocation pursuant to subdivision 1 a or 1 

b of this subsection, the owner of the permitted facility 

acquires sufficient nitrogen or phosphorus credits 

through payments made into the Water Quality 

Improvement Nutrient Offset Fund pursuant to 

subdivision 3 of this subsection; provided, however, that 

the acquisition of nitrogen or phosphorus credits pursuant 

to this section shall not alter or otherwise affect the 

individual waste load wasteload allocations for each 

permitted facility.  

2. Credit acquisition from owners of permitted facilities. A 

permittee may acquire point source nitrogen credits or 

point source phosphorus credits from one or more owners 

of permitted facilities only if:  

a. The credits are generated and applied to a compliance 

obligation in the same calendar year;  

b. The credits are generated by one or more permitted 

facilities in the same tributary, except that owners of 

permitted facilities in the Eastern Coastal Shore Basin 

may also acquire credits from owners of permitted 

facilities in the Potomac and Rappahannock tributaries. 

Owners of Eastern Coastal Shore Basin facilities may 

acquire credits from the owners of Potomac tributary 

facilities at a trading ratio of 1:1. A trading ratio of 1.3:1 

shall apply to the acquisition of credits from the owners 

of a Rappahannock tributary facility by the owner of an 

Eastern Coastal Shore Basin facility;  

c. The exchange or acquisition of credits does not affect 

any requirement to comply with local water quality-

based limitations as determined by the board;  

d. The credits are acquired no later than June 1 

immediately following the calendar year in which the 

credits are applied;  

e. The credits are generated by a facility that has been 

constructed, and has discharged from treatment works 

whose design flow or equivalent industrial activity is the 

basis for the facility's waste load wasteload allocations 

(until a facility is constructed and has commenced 

operation, such credits are held, and may be sold, by the 

Water Quality Improvement Nutrient Offset Fund; and  

f. No later than June 1 immediately following the 

calendar year in which the credits are applied, the 

permittee certifies on a credit exchange notification form 

supplied by the department that he has acquired sufficient 

credits to satisfy his compliance obligations. The 

permittee shall comply with the terms and conditions 

contained in the credit exchange notification form 

submitted to the department.  

3. Credit acquisitions from the Water Quality Improvement 

Nutrient Offset Fund. Until such time as the board finds 

that no allocations are reasonably available in an individual 

tributary, permittees that cannot meet their total nitrogen or 

total phosphorus effluent limit may acquire nitrogen or 

phosphorus credits through payments made into the 

Virginia Water Quality Improvement Nutrient Offset Fund 

established in § 10.1-2128 10.1-2128.2 of the Code of 

Virginia only if, no later than June 1 immediately 

following the calendar year in which the credits are to be 

applied, the permittee certifies on a form supplied by the 

department that he has diligently sought, but has been 

unable to acquire, sufficient credits to satisfy his 

compliance obligations through the acquisition of point 

source nitrogen or phosphorus credits with other permitted 

facilities, and that he has acquired sufficient credits to 

satisfy his compliance obligations through one or more 

payments made in accordance with the terms of this 

general permit. Such certification may include, but not be 

limited to, providing a record of solicitation or 

demonstration that point source allocations are not 

available for sale in the tributary in which the permittee 

permittee's facility is located. Payments to the Water 

Quality Improvement Nutrient Offset Fund shall be in the 

amount of $6.04 $4.60 for each pound of nitrogen and 

$15.08 $10.10 for each pound of phosphorus and shall be 

subject to the following requirements:  

a. The credits are generated and applied to a compliance 

obligation in the same calendar year. 

b. The credits are generated in the same tributary, except 

that owners of permitted facilities in the Eastern Coastal 

Shore Basin may also acquire credits from the owners of 

facilities that discharge to the Potomac and 

Rappahannock tributaries. Owners of Eastern Coastal 

Shore Basin facilities may acquire credits from the 

owners of facilities that discharge to a Potomac tributary 

at a trading ratio of 1:1. A trading ratio of 1.3:1 shall 

apply to the acquisition of credits from the owners of 
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facilities that discharge to a Rappahannock tributary by 

the owners of an Eastern Coastal Shore Basin facility. 

c. The acquisition of credits does not affect any 

requirement to comply with local water quality-based 

limitations, as determined by the board.  

4. This general permit neither requires [ , ] nor prohibits a 

municipality or regional sewerage authority's development 

and implementation of trading programs among industrial 

users, which are consistent with the pretreatment 

regulatory requirements at 40 CFR Part 403 and the 

municipality's or authority's individual VPDES permit.  

PART II 

SPECIAL CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO NEW AND 

EXPANDED FACILITIES  

A. Offsetting mass loads discharged by new and expanded 

facilities.  

1. An owner [ or operator ] of a new or expanded facility 

shall comply with the applicable requirements of this 

section as a condition of the facility's coverage under this 

general permit.  

a. An owner [ or operator ] of a facility authorized by a 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System VPDES 

permit first issued before July 1, 2005, that expands his 

the facility to discharge 40,000 gallons or more per day, 

or an equivalent load, shall demonstrate to the 

department that he has acquired waste load wasteload 

allocations sufficient to offset any increase in his 

delivered total nitrogen and delivered total phosphorus 

loads resulting from any expansion beyond his permitted 

capacity as of July 1, 2005.  

b. An owner [ or operator ] of a facility authorized by a 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System VPDES 

permit first issued on or after July 1, 2005, to discharge 

40,000 gallons or more per day, or an equivalent load, 

shall demonstrate to the department that he has acquired 

waste load wasteload allocations sufficient to offset his 

delivered total nitrogen and delivered total phosphorus 

loads.  

c. An owner [ or operator ] of a facility treating domestic 

sewage authorized by a Virginia Pollutant Discharge 

Elimination System VPDES permit with a discharge 

greater than 1,000 gallons per day up to and including 

39,999 gallons per day that has did not commenced 

commence the discharge of pollutants prior to January 1, 

2011, shall demonstrate to the department that he has 

acquired waste load wasteload allocations sufficient to 

offset his delivered total nitrogen and delivered 

phosphorus loads prior to commencing the discharge, 

except when the facility is for short-term temporary use 

only as determined by the department or when treatment 

of domestic sewage is not the primary purpose of the 

facility. 

2. Offset calculations shall address the proposed discharge 

that exceeds:  

a. The applicable waste load wasteload allocation 

assigned to discharges from the facility in this general 

permit, for expanding significant dischargers with a 

waste load wasteload allocation listed in 9VAC25-720-

50 C, 9VAC25-720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-

720-110 C, and 9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water 

Quality Management Planning Regulation;  

b. The permitted design capacity, for all other expanding 

dischargers; and  

c. Zero, for facilities with a new discharge.  

3. An owner [ or operator ] of multiple facilities located in 

that discharge into the same tributary, and assigned an 

aggregate mass load limit in accordance with Part I B 2 of 

this general permit, that undertakes construction of new or 

expanded facilities [ , ] shall be required to acquire waste 

load wasteload allocations sufficient to offset any increase 

in delivered total nitrogen and delivered total phosphorus 

loads resulting from any expansion beyond the aggregate 

mass load limit assigned these facilities.  

B. Acquisition of waste load wasteload allocations. Waste 

load wasteload allocations required by this section to offset 

new or increased delivered total nitrogen and delivered total 

phosphorus loads shall be acquired in accordance with this 

section.  

1. Such allocations may be acquired from one or a 

combination of the following:  

a. Acquisition of all or a portion of the waste load 

wasteload allocations or point source nitrogen or point 

source phosphorus credits from the owners of one or 

more permitted facilities, based on delivered pounds by 

the respective trading parties as listed by the department;  

b. Acquisition of credits certified by the board pursuant 

to § 62.1-44.19:20 of the Code of Virginia or certified by 

the Soil and Water Conservation Board pursuant to § 

10.1-603.15:2 of the Code of Virginia. Credits used to 

offset new or increased nutrient loads under this 

subdivision shall be:  

(1) Subject to a trading ratio of two pounds reduced for 

every pound to be discharged if certified as a nonpoint 

source credit by the Soil and Water Conservation Board 

board pursuant to § 10.1-603.15:2 62.1-44.19:20 of the 

Code of Virginia;. On a case-by-case basis the board may 

approve nonpoint source to source trading ratios of less 

than 2:1 (but not less than 1:1) when the applicant 

demonstrates factors that ameliorate the presumed 2:1 

uncertainty ratio for credits generation by nonpoint 

sources such as: 

(a) When direct and representative monitoring of the 

pollutant loadings from a nonpoint source is performed in 

a manner and at a frequency similar to that performed at 

VPDES point sources and there is consistency in the 
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effectiveness of the operation of the nonpoint source best 

management practice (BMP) approaching that of a 

conventional point source. 

(b) When nonpoint source credits are generated from 

land conservation that ensures permanent protection 

through a conservation easement or other instrument 

attached to the deed and when load reductions can be 

reliably determined [ .; ] 

(2) Calculated using best management practices 

efficiency rates and attenuation rates, as established by 

the latest science and relevant technical information, and 

approved by the board;  

(3) Based on appropriate delivery factors, as established 

by the latest science and relevant technical information, 

and approved by the board;  

(4) Demonstrated to have achieved reductions beyond 

those already required by or funded under federal or state 

law, or by Virginia's Chesapeake Bay TMDL Watershed 

Implementation Plan;  

(5) Included as Generated in accordance with conditions 

of the facility's individual Virginia Pollutant Discharge 

Elimination System VPDES permit; and 

(6) In the case of allocations credits generated by land 

use conversions and urban source reduction controls 

(BMPs), the credits shall represent nutrient reductions 

beyond those in place as of July 1, 2005; 

c. Until such time as the board finds that no allocations 

are reasonably available in an individual tributary, 

acquisition of allocations through payments made into 

the Virginia Water Quality Improvement Nutrient Offset 

Fund established in § 10.1-2128 10.1-2128.2 of the Code 

of Virginia; or  

d. Acquisition of allocations through such other means as 

may be approved by the department on a case-by-case 

basis. This includes allocations granted by the board to 

an owner [ or operator ] of a facility that is authorized by 

a VPA permit to land apply domestic sewage if: 

(1) The VPA permit was issued before July 1, 2005; 

(2) The allocation does not exceed the facility's permitted 

design capacity as of July 1, 2005; 

(3) The waste treated by the facility that is covered under 

the VPA permit will be treated and discharged pursuant 

to a VPDES permit for a new discharge; and 

(4) The owner [ or operator ] installs state-of-the-art 

nutrient removal technology at such a facility. 

2. Acquisition of allocations or point source nitrogen or 

point source phosphorus credits is subject to the following 

conditions:  

a. The allocations or credits shall be generated and 

applied to an offset obligation in the same calendar year 

in which the credit is generated;  

b. The allocations or credits shall be generated in the 

same tributary;  

c. Such acquisition does not affect any requirement to 

comply with local water quality-based limitations, as 

determined by the board;  

d. The allocations are authenticated (i.e., verified to have 

been generated) by the permittee as required by the 

facility's individual Virginia Pollutant Discharge 

Elimination VPDES permit, utilizing procedures 

approved by the board, no later than February 1 

immediately following the calendar year in which the 

allocations are applied; and 

e. If obtained from the owner of a permitted point source, 

the allocations shall be generated by a facility that has 

been constructed, and has discharged from treatment 

works whose design flow or equivalent industrial activity 

is the basis for the facility's waste load wasteload 

allocations. 

f. Such allocations or credits shall be provided secured 

for a period of five years with each registration under the 

general permit. 

3. Priority of options. The board shall give priority to 

allocations or credits acquired in accordance with 

subdivisions 1 a, b, and d of this subsection. The board 

shall approve allocations acquired in accordance with 

subdivision 1 c of this subsection only after the owner [ or 

operator ] has demonstrated that he has made a good faith 

effort to acquire sufficient allocations in accordance with 

subdivisions 1 a and 1 b of this subsection, and that such 

allocations are not reasonably available taking into account 

timing, cost and other relevant factors. Such demonstration 

may include, but not be limited to, providing a record of 

solicitation, or other demonstration that point source 

allocations or nonpoint source allocations are not available 

for sale in the tributary in which the permittee permittee's 

facility discharge is located.  

4. Annual allocation acquisitions from the Water Quality 

Improvement Nutrient Offset Fund. The cost for each 

pound of nitrogen and each pound of phosphorus shall be 

determined at the time payment is made to the WQIF 

Nutrient Offset Fund, based on the higher of (i) the 

estimated cost of achieving a reduction of one pound of 

nitrogen or phosphorus at the facility that is securing the 

allocation, or comparable facility, for each pound of 

allocation acquired; or (ii) the average cost, as determined 

by the Department of Conservation and Recreation 

department on an annual basis, of reducing two pounds of 

nitrogen or phosphorus from nonpoint sources in the same 

tributary for each pound of allocation acquired.  

PART III 

CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL VPDES PERMITS  

A. Duty to comply. The permittee must comply with all 

conditions of the permit. Any permit noncompliance 
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constitutes a violation of the law and the Clean Water Act, 

except that noncompliance with certain provisions of the 

permit may constitute a violation of the law but not the Clean 

Water Act. Permit noncompliance is grounds for enforcement 

action; for permit termination, revocation and reissuance, or 

modification; or denial of a permit renewal application. 

B. Duty to register for reissued general permit. If the 

permittee wishes to continue an activity regulated by the 

general permit after its expiration date, the permittee must 

register for coverage under the new general permit, when it is 

reissued by the department. 

C. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 

be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 

would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 

activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 

of the permit. 

D. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any discharge in violation of the 

permit that has a reasonable likelihood of adversely affecting 

human health or the environment. 

E. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 

all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 

systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 

that are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of the permit. Proper 

operation and maintenance also includes adequate laboratory 

controls and appropriate quality assurance procedures. This 

provision requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary 

facilities or similar systems that are installed by a permittee 

only when the operation is necessary to achieve compliance 

with the conditions of the permit. 

F. Permit actions. Permits may be modified, revoked and 

reissued, or terminated for cause. The filing of a request by 

the permittee for a permit modification, revocation and 

reissuance, or termination, or a notification of planned 

changes or anticipated noncompliance does not stay any 

permit condition. 

G. Property rights. Permits do not convey any property 

rights of any sort, or any exclusive privilege. 

H. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 

to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 

that the board may request to determine whether cause exists 

for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating the 

permit or to determine compliance with the permit. The board 

may require the permittee to furnish, upon request, such 

plans, specifications, and other pertinent information as may 

be necessary to determine the effect of the wastes from his 

discharge on the quality of state waters, or such other 

information as may be necessary to accomplish the purposes 

of the law. The permittee shall also furnish to the department 

upon request, copies of records required to be kept by the 

permit, pertaining to activities related to the permitted 

facility. 

I. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 

director, or an authorized representative (including an 

authorized contractor acting as a representative of the 

administrator), upon presentation of credentials and other 

documents as may be required by law, to: 

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 

facility or activity is located or conducted, or where 

records must be kept under the conditions of the permit; 

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 

records that must be kept under the conditions of the 

permit; 

3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 

(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 

operations regulated or required under the permit; and 

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 

of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized 

by the Clean Water Act and the law, any substances or 

parameters at any location. 

J. Monitoring and records. 

1. Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of 

monitoring shall be representative of the monitored 

activity. 

2. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 

information, including all calibration and maintenance 

records and all original strip chart recordings for 

continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by the permit, and records of all data used 

to complete the application for the permit, for a period of at 

least three years from the date of the sample, measurement, 

report or application. This period of retention shall be 

extended automatically during the course of any 

unresolved litigation regarding the regulated activity or 

regarding control standards applicable to the permittee, or 

as requested by the board.  

3. Records of monitoring information shall include: 

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements; 

b. The individual(s) who performed the sampling or 

measurements; 

c. The date(s) analyses were performed; 

d. The individual(s) who performed the analyses; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and 

f. The results of such analyses. 

4. Monitoring results must be conducted according to test 

procedures approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative 

EPA-approved methods, unless other test procedures have 

been specified in the permit. 

K. Signatory requirements. All applications, reports, or 

information submitted to the department shall be signed and 

certified as required by 9VAC25-31-110. 

L. Reporting requirements. 
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1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as 

soon as possible of any planned physical alterations or 

additions to the permitted facility. Notice is required only 

when: 

a. The alteration or addition to a permitted facility may 

meet one of the criteria for determining whether a facility 

is a new source in 9VAC25-31-180 A; or 

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change 

the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants 

discharged. This notification applies to pollutants that are 

subject neither to effluent limitations in the permit, nor to 

notification requirements under 9VAC25-31-200 A 1. 

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the 

department of any planned changes in the permitted facility 

or activity that may result in noncompliance with permit 

requirements. 

3. Permits are not transferable to any person except after 

notice to the department. The board may require 

modification or revocation and reissuance of permits to 

change the name of the permittee and incorporate such 

other requirements as may be necessary under the law or 

the Clean Water Act. 

4. Monitoring results shall be reported at the intervals 

specified in the permit. 

a. Monitoring results must be reported on a Discharge 

Monitoring Report (DMR). 

b. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 

addressed by the permit more frequently than required by 

the permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 

Part 136, or as specified in the permit, the results of this 

monitoring shall be included in the calculation and 

reporting of the data submitted in the DMR specified by 

the department. 

c. Calculations for all limitations that require averaging 

of measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 

otherwise specified in the permit. 

5. Reports of compliance or noncompliance with, or any 

progress reports on, interim and final requirements 

contained in any compliance schedule of the permit shall 

be submitted no later than 14 days following each schedule 

date. 

6. If any unusual or extraordinary discharge including a 

bypass or upset should occur from a facility and such 

discharge enters or could be expected to enter state waters, 

the owner shall promptly notify, in no case later than 24 

hours, the department by telephone after the discovery of 

such discharge. This notification shall provide all available 

details of the incident, including any adverse affects on 

aquatic life and the known number of fish killed. The 

permittee shall reduce the report to writing and shall 

submit it to the department within five days of discovery of 

the discharge in accordance with subdivision 7 a of this 

subsection. Unusual and extraordinary discharges include 

but are not limited to any discharge resulting from: 

a. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 

indirectly from processing operations; 

b. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment; 

c. Failure or taking out of service of the treatment work 

or auxiliary facilities (such as sewer lines or wastewater 

pump stations); and 

d. Flooding or other acts of nature. 

7. Twenty-four-hour reporting. 

a. The permittee shall report any noncompliance that may 

endanger health or the environment. Any information 

shall be provided orally within 24 hours from the time 

the permittee becomes aware of the circumstances. A 

written submission shall also be provided within five 

days of the time the permittee becomes aware of the 

circumstances. The written submission shall contain a 

description of the noncompliance and its cause; the 

period of noncompliance, including exact dates and 

times, and if the noncompliance has not been corrected, 

the anticipated time it is expected to continue; and steps 

taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and prevent 

reoccurrence of the noncompliance. 

b. The following shall be included as information that 

must be reported within 24 hours under this subdivision. 

(1) Any unanticipated bypass that exceeds any effluent 

limitation in the permit. 

(2) Any upset that exceeds any effluent limitation in the 

permit. 

(3) Violation of a maximum daily discharge limitation 

for any of the pollutants listed in the permit to be 

reported within 24 hours. 

c. The board may waive the written report on a case-by-

case basis for reports under this subdivision if the oral 

report has been received within 24 hours. 

8. The permittee shall report all instances of 

noncompliance not reported under subdivisions 4, 5, 6, and 

7 of this subsection, in writing at the time the next 

monitoring reports are submitted. The reports shall contain 

the information listed in subdivision 7 of this subsection. 

9. Where the permittee becomes aware that it failed to 

submit any relevant facts in a permit application, or 

submitted incorrect information in a permit application or 

in any report to the department, it shall promptly submit 

such facts or information. 

M. Bypass.  

1. The permittee may allow any bypass to occur that does 

not cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only if it 

also is for essential maintenance to assure efficient 

operation. These bypasses are not subject to the provisions 

of subdivisions 2 and 3 of this subsection. 
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2. Notice. 

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 

of the need for a bypass, it shall submit prior notice, if 

possible at least 10 days before the date of the bypass. 

b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit 

notice of an unanticipated bypass as required in 

subdivision L 7 of this section (24-hour notice). 

3. Prohibition of bypass. 

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 

enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, 

unless:  

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 

personal injury, or severe property damage; 

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 

such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 

of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 

periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 

satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 

been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 

judgment to prevent a bypass that occurred during 

normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 

maintenance; and  

(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under 

subdivision 2 of this subsection. 

b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass, after 

considering its adverse effects, if the board determines 

that it will meet the three conditions listed above in 

subdivision 3 a of this subsection. 

N. Upset.  

1. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 

brought for noncompliance with such technology-based 

permit effluent limitations if the requirements of 

subdivision 2 of this subsection are met. No determination 

made during administrative review of claims that 

noncompliance was caused by upset, and before an action 

for noncompliance, is final administrative action subject to 

judicial review. 

2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 

defense of upset shall demonstrate, through properly 

signed, contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant 

evidence that: 

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 

the cause(s) of the upset; 

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 

operated; 

c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 

in subdivision L 7 b (2) of this section (24-hour notice); 

and 

d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 

required under subsection D of this section. 

3. In any enforcement proceeding, the permittee seeking to 

establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of 

proof. 

A. Monitoring.  

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 

permit shall be representative of the monitored activity.  

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 

approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 

unless other procedures have been specified in this permit.  

3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 

maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 

measurements.  

4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be 

analyzed in accordance with 1VAC30-45 (Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories) or 1VAC30-

46 (Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 

Laboratories). 

B. Records.  

1. Records of monitoring information shall include:  

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements;  

b. The individuals who performed the sampling or 

measurements;  

c. The dates and times analyses were performed;  

d. The individuals who performed the analyses;  

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and  

f. The results of such analyses.  

2. Except for records of monitoring information required 

by this permit related to the permittee's sewage sludge use 

and disposal activities, which shall be retained for a period 

of at least five years, the permittee shall retain records of 

all monitoring information, including all calibration and 

maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings 

for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by this permit, and records of all data used 

to complete the registration statement for this permit, for a 

period of at least three years from the date of the sample, 

measurement, report, or request for coverage. This period 

of retention shall be extended automatically during the 

course of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated 

activity or regarding control standards applicable to the 

permittee or as requested by the board.  

C. Reporting monitoring results. [ Monitoring results under 

this permit are not required to be submitted to the department. 

However, should the board request that the permittee submit 

monitoring results, the following subdivisions apply: ] 

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 

required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 

month after monitoring takes place, unless another 
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reporting schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. 

Monitoring results shall be submitted to the department's 

regional office.  

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge 

Monitoring Report (DMR) or on forms provided, 

approved, or specified by the department.  

3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 

addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 

this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 

Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the 

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 

specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 

be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 

submitted on the DMR or reporting form specified by the 

department.  

4. Calculations for all limitations that require averaging of 

measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 

otherwise specified in this permit.  

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 

to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 

that the board may request to determine whether cause exists 

for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating 

coverage under this permit or to determine compliance with 

this permit. The board may require the permittee to furnish, 

upon request, such plans, specifications, and other pertinent 

information as may be necessary to determine the effect of 

the wastes from the discharge on the quality of state waters or 

such other information as may be necessary to accomplish the 

purposes of the State Water Control Law. The permittee shall 

also furnish to the department, upon request, copies of records 

required to be kept by this permit.  

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 

noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 

final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 

this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 

each schedule date.  

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 

permit or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to:  

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or  

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical, or biological 

properties of such state waters and make them detrimental 

to the public health, to animal or aquatic life, or to the use 

of such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, for 

recreation, or for other uses.  

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee that 

discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, 

industrial waste, other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious 

substance into or upon state waters in violation of Part III F, 

or that discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may 

reasonably be expected to enter state waters in violation of 

Part III F, shall notify the department of the discharge 

immediately upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case 

later than 24 hours after said discovery. A written report of 

the unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the 

department within five days of discovery of the discharge. 

The written report shall contain:  

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge;  

2. The cause of the discharge;  

3. The date on which the discharge occurred;  

4. The length of time that the discharge continued;  

5. The volume of the discharge;  

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 

continue;  

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 

volume of the discharge will be; and  

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 

discharge not authorized by this permit.  

Discharges reportable to the department under the 

immediate reporting requirements of other regulations are 

exempted from this requirement.  

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 

unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or 

upset should occur from a treatment works and the discharge 

enters or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee 

shall promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, the 

department by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. 

This notification shall provide all available details of the 

incident, including any adverse effects on aquatic life and the 

known number of fish killed. The permittee shall reduce the 

report to writing and shall submit it to the department within 

five days of discovery of the discharge in accordance with 

Part III I 2. Unusual and extraordinary discharges include, but 

are not limited to, any discharge resulting from:  

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 

indirectly from processing operations;  

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment;  

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the 

treatment works; and  

4. Flooding or other acts of nature.  

I. Reports of noncompliance. The permittee shall report any 

noncompliance that may adversely affect state waters or may 

endanger public health.  

1. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from 

the time the permittee becomes aware of the 

circumstances. The following shall be included as 

information that shall be reported within 24 hours under 

this paragraph:  

a. Any unanticipated bypass; and  

b. Any upset that causes a discharge to surface waters.  

2. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 

shall contain:  
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a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause;  

b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates 

and times, and if the noncompliance has not been 

corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 

and  

c. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance.  

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 

basis for reports of noncompliance under Part III I if the 

oral report has been received within 24 hours and no 

adverse impact on state waters has been reported.  

3. The permittee shall report all instances of 

noncompliance not reported under Part III I 1 or 2, in 

writing, at the time the next monitoring reports are 

submitted. The reports shall contain the information listed 

in Part III I 2.  

NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 

in Part III G, H, and I may be made to the department's 

regional office. Reports may be made by telephone, FAX, 

or online at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponseP

reparedness/MakingaReport.aspx. For reports outside 

normal working hours, a message may be left and this shall 

fulfill the immediate reporting requirement. For 

emergencies, the Virginia Department of Emergency 

Management maintains a 24-hour telephone service at 1-

800-468-8892.  

J. Notice of planned changes.  

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as 

soon as possible of any planned physical alterations or 

additions to the permitted facility. Notice is required only 

when:  

a. The permittee plans alteration or addition to any 

building, structure, facility, or installation from which 

there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 

construction of which commenced:  

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance 

under § 306 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et 

seq.) that are applicable to such source; or  

(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 

accordance with § 306 of the Clean Water Act that are 

applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 

promulgated in accordance with § 306 within 120 days of 

their proposal;  

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change 

the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants 

discharged. This notification applies to pollutants that are 

subject neither to effluent limitations nor to notification 

requirements specified elsewhere in this permit; or  

c. The alteration or addition results in a significant 

change in the permittee's sludge use or of disposal 

practices, and such alteration, addition, or change may 

justify the application of permit conditions that are 

different from or absent in the existing permit, including 

notification of additional use or of disposal sites not 

reported during the permit application process or not 

reported pursuant to an approved land application plan.  

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the 

department of any planned changes in the permitted facility 

or activity that may result in noncompliance with permit 

requirements.  

K. Signatory requirements.  

1. Registration statement. All registration statements shall 

be signed as follows:  

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 

For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 

officer means (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-

president of the corporation in charge of a principal 

business function, or any other person who performs 

similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 

the corporation or (ii) the manager of one or more 

manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, 

provided the manager is authorized to make management 

decisions that govern the operation of the regulated 

facility including having the explicit or implicit duty of 

making major capital investment recommendations and 

initiating and directing other comprehensive measures to 

assure [ long term long-term ] environmental compliance 

with environmental laws and regulations; the manager 

can ensure that the necessary systems are established or 

other actions taken to gather complete and accurate 

information for permit registration requirements; and 

where authority to sign documents has been assigned or 

delegated to the manager in accordance with corporate 

procedures;  

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; or  

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 

executive officer of a public agency includes (i) the chief 

executive officer of the agency or (ii) a senior executive 

officer having responsibility for the overall operations of 

a principal geographic unit of the agency.  

2. Reports, etc. All reports required by permits and other 

information requested by the board shall be signed by a 

person described in Part III K 1 or by a duly authorized 

representative of that person. A person is a duly authorized 

representative only if:  

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 

described in Part III K 1;  

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 

the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 

plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 
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superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or 

an individual or position having overall responsibility for 

environmental matters for the company. A duly 

authorized representative may thus be either a named 

individual or any individual occupying a named position; 

and  

c. The written authorization is submitted to the 

department.  

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part 

III K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual 

or position has responsibility for the overall operation of 

the facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements 

of Part III K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to 

or together with any reports, or information to be signed by 

an authorized representative.  

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under Part 

III K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification:  

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to 

assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the system, or 

those persons directly responsible for gathering the 

information, the information submitted is, to the best of 

my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I 

am aware that there are significant penalties for 

submitting false information, including the possibility of 

fine and imprisonment for knowing violations."  

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 

constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 

Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 

provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the 

State Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 

noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action; for permit 

termination, revocation and reissuance, or modification; or 

denial of a permit coverage renewal application.  

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 

prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water 

Act for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge 

use or disposal established under § 405(d) of the Clean Water 

Act within the time provided in the regulations that establish 

these standards or prohibitions or standards for sewage sludge 

use or disposal, even if this permit has not yet been modified 

to incorporate the requirement.  

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 

activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of 

this permit, the permittee shall submit a new registration 

statement at least 60 days before the expiration date of the 

existing permit, unless permission for a later date has been 

granted by the board. The board shall not grant permission for 

registration statements to be submitted later than the 

expiration date of the existing permit.  

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 

property rights in either real or personal property or any 

exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 

private property or invasion of personal rights or any 

infringement of federal, state, or local law or regulations.  

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 

preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 

the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 

established pursuant to, any other state law or regulation or 

under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 

Except as provided in permit conditions on "bypassing" (Part 

III U) and "upset" (Part III V), nothing in this permit shall be 

construed to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal 

penalties for noncompliance.  

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 

legal action or relieve the permittee from responsibilities, 

liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 

subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the 

State Water Control Law.  

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 

all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 

systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 

that are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper 

operation and maintenance also include effective plant 

performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 

adequate laboratory and process controls, including 

appropriate quality assurance procedures. This provision 

requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or 

similar systems that are installed by the permittee only when 

the operation is necessary to achieve compliance with the 

conditions of this permit.  

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges, or other 

pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 

of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 

any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters.  

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 

disposal in violation of this permit that has a reasonable 

likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 

environment.  

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 

be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 

would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 

activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 

of this permit.  

U. Bypass.  

1. "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste 

streams from any portion of a treatment facility. The 

permittee may allow any bypass to occur that does not 

cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only if it also 

is for essential maintenance to ensure efficient operation. 
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These bypasses are not subject to the provisions of Part III 

U 2 and 3.  

2. Notice.  

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 

of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, 

if possible, at least 10 days before the date of the bypass.  

b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit 

notice of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part III I.  

3. Prohibition of bypass.  

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 

enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, 

unless:  

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 

personal injury, or severe property damage;  

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 

such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 

of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 

periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 

satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 

been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 

judgment to prevent a bypass that occurred during 

normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 

maintenance; and  

(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under 

Part III U 2.  

b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass after 

considering its adverse effects if the board determines 

that it will meet the three conditions listed in Part III U 3 

a.  

V. Upset.  

1. An upset, defined in 9VAC25-31-10, constitutes an 

affirmative defense to an action brought for noncompliance 

with technology-based permit effluent limitations if the 

requirements of Part III V 2 are met. A determination made 

during administrative review of claims that noncompliance 

was caused by upset, and before an action for 

noncompliance, is not a final administrative action subject 

to judicial review.  

2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 

defense of upset shall demonstrate through properly 

signed, contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant 

evidence that:  

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 

the cause or causes of the upset;  

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 

operated;  

c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 

in Part III I; and  

d. The permittee complied with remedial measures 

required under Part III S.  

3. In any enforcement proceeding the permittee seeking to 

establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of 

proof.  

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 

director, or an authorized representative, upon presentation of 

credentials and other documents as may be required by law, 

to:  

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 

facility or activity is located or conducted, or where 

records must be kept under the conditions of this permit;  

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 

records that must be kept under the conditions of this 

permit;  

3. Inspect at reasonable times facilities, equipment 

(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 

operations regulated or required under this permit; and  

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 

of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized 

by the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law, 

substances or parameters at any location.  

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 

deemed reasonable during regular business hours and 

whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained 

herein shall make an inspection unreasonable during an 

emergency.  

X. Permit actions. Permits may be modified, revoked and 

reissued, or terminated for cause. The filing of a request by 

the permittee for a permit modification, revocation and 

reissuance, termination, or notification of planned changes or 

anticipated noncompliance does not stay any permit 

condition.  

Y. Transfer of permits. Permits are not transferable to any 

person except after notice to the department. Coverage under 

this permit may be automatically transferred to a new 

permittee if:  

1. The current permittee notifies the department within 30 

days of the transfer of the title to the facility or property, 

unless permission for a later date has been granted by the 

board;  

2. The notice includes a written agreement between the 

existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 

transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 

between them; and  

3. The board does not notify the existing permittee and the 

proposed new permittee of its intent to deny the new 

permittee coverage under the permit. If this notice is not 

received, the transfer is effective on the date specified in 

the agreement described in Part III Y 2.  

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 

and if any provision of this permit or the application of any 

provision of this permit to any circumstance is held invalid, 
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the application of such provision to other circumstances, and 

the remainder of this permit, shall not be affected thereby. 
 

9VAC25-820-80. Facilities subject to reduced individual total nitrogen and total phosphorus waste load wasteload 

allocations. 

The [ James River ] facilities identified in this section are subject to reduced individual total nitrogen and total phosphorus 

waste load wasteload allocations as indicated. 

Facility Registration No. Basin Reduced Waste Load Allocation  

Caroline Co. Regional STP VAN030045 York 609 lbs/yr TP 

Gordonsville STP VAN030046 York 1,145 lbs/yr TP 

Hanover County Aggregate
1
  VAN030051 York 11,390 lbs/yr TP (delivered)  

White Birch Paper - Bear Island LLC Division VAN030133 York 10,233 lbs/yr TP 

Western Refinery - Yorktown  VAN030047 York 17,689 lbs/yr TP 

HRSD York River Aggregate
2
  VAN030052 York 19,315 lbs/yr TP (delivered)  

Parham Landing WWTP VAN030048 York 2,436 lbs/yr TP 

RockTenn CP LLC - West Point  VAN030049 York 56,038 lbs/yr TP 

HRSD James River Aggregate
3
  VAN040090 James  4,400,000 lbs/yr TN (delivered)  

1
Hanover County Aggregate includes Ashland STP (VA0024899), Doswell WWTP (VA0029521), and Totopotomoy WWTP 

(VA0089915) 
2
HRSD York River Aggregate includes York River STP (VA0081311), West Point STP (VA0075434), and King William 

STP (VA0028819). 

Facility VPDES No. 

Phase 1 

Total Nitrogen 

(lbs/yr) 

Phase 2 

Total Nitrogen 

(lbs/yr) 

Phase 2  

Total Phosphorus 

(lbs/yr) 

Buena Vista STP VA0020991 N/A N/A 2,778 

Covington STP VA0025542 N/A N/A 3,705 

GP Big Island LLC VA0003026 N/A N/A 40,273 

Mohawk Industries, Inc. VA0004677 N/A N/A 9,880 

Lexington - Rockbridge 

Regional WQCF VA0088161 N/A N/A 3,705 

Alleghany County - Low Moor 

STP VA0027979 N/A N/A 617 

Lower Jackson River STP VA0090671 N/A N/A 1,852 

Clifton Forge STP VA0022772 N/A N/A 2,470 

MeadWestvaco VA0003646 N/A N/A 96,771 

Amherst - Rutledge Creek 

WWTP VA0031321 N/A N/A 741 

BWX Technologies Inc. VA0003697 N/A N/A 1,235 

Greif Inc. VA0006408 N/A N/A 24,082 

Lake Monticello STP VA0024945 N/A N/A 1,229 
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Lynchburg STP (DWF only) VA0024970 N/A N/A 27,169 

RWSA - Moores Creek 

Regional STP VA0025518 N/A N/A 18,525 

Powhatan CC STP VA0020699 N/A N/A 581 

Crewe WWTP VA0020303 N/A N/A 617 

Farmville WWTP VA0083135 N/A N/A 2,964 

Richmond WWTP (DWF 

only) VA0063177 N/A N/A 55,574 

E. I. DuPont - Spruance  VA0004669 N/A N/A 6,339 

Chesterfield County - Falling 

Creek WWTP VA0024996 N/A N/A 12,473 

Chesterfield County - Proctors 

Creek WWTP VA0060194 N/A N/A 33,344 

Dominion - Chesterfield (Net) VA0004146 N/A N/A 170 

Henrico County WWTP VA0063690 N/A N/A 92,623 

The Sustainability Park LLC VA0002780 N/A N/A 1,556 

Philip Morris USA - Park 500 VA0026557 N/A N/A 2,149 

Honeywell - Hopewell VA0005291 N/A N/A 41,841 

Hopewell Regional WTF VA0066630 N/A N/A 61,749 

South Central WW Authority 

WWTF VA0025437 N/A N/A 28,404 

Tyson Foods - Glen Allen VA0004031 N/A N/A 409 

Chickahominy WWTP VA0088480 N/A N/A 123 

HRSD - Boat Harbor STP VA0081256 N/A N/A 43,177 

HRSD - James River STP VA0081272 N/A N/A 34,541 

HRSD - Williamsburg STP VA0081302 N/A N/A 38,859 

HRSD - Nansemond STP VA0081299 N/A N/A 51,812 

HRSD - Army Base STP VA0081230 N/A N/A 31,087 

HRSD - Virginia Initiative 

Plant WWTP VA0081281 N/A N/A 69,083 

HRSD - Chesapeake - 

Elizabeth STP VA0081264 N/A N/A 41,450 

HRSD Aggregate Nutrient 

Discharge* N/A 4,400,000 3,400,000 310,010 

JH Miles and Company VA0003263 N/A N/A 17,437 

3*
HRSD James River Aggregate includes Boat Harbor STP (VA0081256), James River STP (VA0081272), Williamsburg 

STP (VA0081302), Nansemond STP (VA0081299), Army Base STP (VA0081230), Virginia Initiative STP (VA0081281), 

and Chesapeake - Elizabeth STP (VA0081264). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4273; Filed December 19, 2016, 10:34 a.m.  
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  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 11. GAMING 

VIRGINIA RACING COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Racing Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 

Act pursuant to subdivision B 21 of § 2.2-4002 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations relating to the 

Virginia Breeders Fund created pursuant to § 59.1-372. 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC10-130. Virginia Breeders Fund 

(amending 11VAC10-130-10).  

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: David S. Lermond, Jr., Regulatory 

Coordinator, Virginia Racing Commission, 5707 Huntsman 

Road, Suite 201-B, Richmond, VA 23250, telephone (804) 

966-7404, or email david.lermond@vrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulatory action amends the definition of "Virginia-

bred Standardbred horse." 

Part I  

Definitions  

11VAC10-130-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Breeding season" means a period of time beginning on 

February 1 and ending on August 1 of each year. For 

Standardbreds, the breeding season means a period of time 

beginning February 15 and ending on July 15 of each year.  

"Registered" means the completion of the process of filing 

an application with the commission or its designee to satisfy 

the requirements for participation in the Virginia Breeders 

Fund.  

"Stallion owner" means an owner or lessee of record of a 

stallion that covered mares in the Commonwealth of Virginia 

during the breeding season in which it sired a Virginia-bred 

horse.  

"Virginia-bred Arabian horse" means a registered Arabian 

horse foaled in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"Virginia Arabian horse breeder" means the owner or lessee 

of record of the mare at the time of foaling of a Virginia-bred 

Arabian horse.  

"Virginia Arabian sire" means a registered Arabian stallion 

that covered mares only in the Commonwealth of Virginia 

during the breeding season in which it sired a Virginia-bred 

Arabian horse.  

"Virginia-bred Quarter Horse" means a registered Quarter 

Horse foaled or conceived in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"Virginia Quarter Horse breeder" means the owner or lessee 

of record of the mare at the time of conception of a Virginia-

bred Quarter Horse.  

"Virginia Quarter Horse sire" means a registered Quarter 

Horse stallion or registered Virginia Thoroughbred stallion 

that covered mares only in the Commonwealth of Virginia 

during the breeding season in which it sired a Virginia-bred 

Quarter Horse.  

"Virginia resident" means a person legally required to file a 

resident income tax return with the Commonwealth of 

Virginia or a partnership, corporation, stable name or other 

entity that is solely owned by Virginia residents and owners 

legally required to file resident income tax returns with the 

Commonwealth.  

"Virginia-bred Standardbred horse" means a registered 

Standardbred horse sired by a Virginia Standardbred sire, a 

registered Standardbred horse foaled in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia provided that the foal-producing mare is domiciled 

in the Commonwealth from July 15 through December 31 of 

the year in which the horse is foaled, or a registered 

Standardbred horse foaled in the Commonwealth provided 

that the foal-producing mare is bred back that same breeding 

season to a Virginia Standardbred sire with the following 

exceptions:  

1. A registered Standardbred horse that is purchased in its 

two-year-old year by a Virginia resident before April 1, 

2007, prior to making its first start in a nonqualifying race 

foal of a mare that is solely owned by a Virginia resident at 

the time of conception; or 

2. A registered Standardbred horse that is purchased or 

owned by a Virginia resident after December 31, 2004, and 

before April 30, 2007, provided that the horse was sired by 

a Virginia Standardbred sire; or foal of a mare purchased 

solely by a Virginia resident at a public auction. 

3. A registered Standardbred horse that was foaled in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia prior to April 30, 2007.  

"Virginia Standardbred horse breeder" means the owner or 

lessee of record of the mare at the time of conception of a 

Virginia-bred Standardbred horse.  

"Virginia Standardbred sire" means a registered 

Standardbred stallion that stood only in the Commonwealth 

of Virginia during the breeding season in which it sired a 

Virginia-bred Standardbred horse. Shipment of semen for the 

breeding of mares outside the Commonwealth shall be 

permitted so long as any resulting foals meet the requirements 

of this chapter in all other respects.  

"Virginia-bred Thoroughbred horse" means a registered 

Thoroughbred horse foaled in Virginia. 

"Virginia-sired Thoroughbred horse" means a registered 

Thoroughbred horse sired by a Virginia Thoroughbred sire, 
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but not foaled in Virginia or not otherwise satisfying the 

requirements for a Virginia-bred Thoroughbred horse.  

"Virginia Thoroughbred horse breeder" means the owner or 

lessee listed on The Jockey Club registration papers as the 

owner or lessee of record of the mare at the time of foaling a 

Virginia-bred Thoroughbred horse.  

"Virginia Thoroughbred sire" means a registered 

Thoroughbred stallion that covers mares, other than test 

mares, only in the Commonwealth during the breeding season 

in which it sires a Virginia-bred Thoroughbred horse, or only 

during that part of the breeding season after entering the 

Commonwealth.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4843; Filed December 14, 2016, 2:46 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-115. Regulations to Assure 

the Rights of Individuals Receiving Services from 

Providers Licensed, Funded, or Operated by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (amending 12VAC35-115-10, 12VAC35-115-30, 

12VAC35-115-50, 12VAC35-115-60, 12VAC35-115-90, 

12VAC35-115-100, 12VAC35-115-110, 12VAC35-115-130, 

12VAC35-115-145, 12VAC35-115-150, 12VAC35-115-180, 

12VAC35-115-190, 12VAC35-115-200, 12VAC35-115-210, 

12VAC35-115-230; adding 12VAC35-115-105, 12VAC35-

115-175, 12VAC35-115-260, 12VAC35-115-270; repealing 

12VAC35-115-140, 12VAC35-115-170, 12VAC35-115-

250).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 37.2-203 and 37.2-400 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 9, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Deb Lochart, Director, Office of Human 

Rights, Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank Street, 13th Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-0032, FAX (804) 

371-2308, or email deb.lochart@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) increase the availability and flexibility 

of human rights advocates for direct involvement with 

individuals receiving services and other critical functions 

by clarifying the administrative responsibilities of the 

department with regards to the operation of the human 

rights system and clarifying the roles of the human rights 

advocate, the local human rights committee (LHRC), and 

the State Human Rights Committee (SHRC); (ii) modify the 

regulatory responsibilities of LHRCs, which will no longer 

handle administrative tasks but will have more authority to 

oversee treatment plans that contain restrictions on human 

rights; (iii) simplify the administrative processes regarding 

the dispute resolution process, the behavior treatment plan 

review, and substitute decision-making and eliminate 

redundant or duplicative activities; (iv) consolidate 

complaint processes into one section of the regulation; and 

(v) prohibit the use of prone restraints. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  

General Provisions  

12VAC35-115-10. Authority and applicability.  

A. The Code of Virginia authorizes these regulations to 

further define and protect the rights of individuals receiving 

services from providers of mental health, mental retardation 

developmental, or substance abuse services in Virginia. The 

regulations require This chapter requires providers of services 

to take specific actions to protect the rights of each individual. 

The regulations establish This chapter establishes remedies 

when rights are violated or are in dispute, and provide 

provides a structure for support of these rights. 

B. Providers subject to these regulations this chapter 

include: 

1. Facilities operated by the department under Chapters 3 

(§ 37.2-300 et seq.) and 7 (§ 37.2-700 et seq.) of Title 37.2 

of the Code of Virginia; 

2. Sexually violent predator programs established under 

§ 37.2-909 of the Code of Virginia; 

3. Community services boards that provide services under 

Chapter 5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of 

Virginia; 

4. Behavioral health authorities that provide services under 

Chapter 6 (§ 37.2-600 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of 

Virginia; 

5. Public or private providers that operate programs or 

facilities licensed by the department under Article 2 

(§ 37.2-403 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 37.2 of the Code 

of Virginia except those operated by the Department of 

Corrections; and 

6. Any other providers receiving funding from the 

department. Providers of services under Part C of the 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), 20 

USC §§ 1431-1444, that are subject to these regulations 

this chapter solely by receipt of Part C funds from or 

through the department shall comply with all applicable 

IDEA regulations found in 34 CFR Part 303 in lieu of 

these regulations this chapter.  

C. Unless another law takes precedence otherwise provided 

by law, these regulations apply this chapter applies to all 
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individuals who are receiving services from a public or 

private provider of services operated, licensed, or funded by 

the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, except those operated by the Department of 

Corrections. 

D. These regulations apply This chapter applies to 

individuals under forensic status and individuals committed 

to the custody of the department as sexually violent predators, 

except to the extent that the commissioner may determine 

these regulations are this chapter is not applicable to them. 

The exemption must shall be in writing and based solely on 

the need to protect individuals receiving services, employees, 

or the general public. The commissioner shall give the State 

Human Rights Committee (SHRC) chairperson prior notice 

of all exemptions and provide the written exemption to the 

SHRC for its information. These exemptions shall be time 

limited and services shall not be compromised. 

12VAC35-115-30. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Abuse" means any act or failure to act by an employee or 

other person responsible for the care of an individual in a 

facility or program operated, licensed, or funded by the 

department, excluding those operated by the Department of 

Corrections, that was performed or was failed to be 

performed knowingly, recklessly, or intentionally, and that 

caused or might have caused physical or psychological harm, 

injury, or death to a person receiving care or treatment for 

mental illness, mental retardation intellectual disability, or 

substance abuse. Examples of abuse include acts such as: 

1. Rape, sexual assault, or other criminal sexual behavior; 

2. Assault or battery; 

3. Use of language that demeans, threatens, intimidates, or 

humiliates the person; 

4. Misuse or misappropriation of the person's assets, goods, 

or property; 

5. Use of excessive force when placing a person in 

physical or mechanical restraint; 

6. Use of physical or mechanical restraints on a person that 

is not in compliance with federal and state laws, 

regulations, and policies,; professionally accepted 

standards of practice,; or the person's individualized 

services plan; and 

7. Use of more restrictive or intensive services or denial of 

services to punish the person or that is not consistent with 

his individualized services plan. See § 37.2-100 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

[ "Administrative hearing" means an administrative 

proceeding held pursuant to Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) 

of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. ]  

"Advance directive" means a document voluntarily executed 

in accordance with § 54.1-2983 of the Code of Virginia or the 

laws of another state where executed (§ 54.1-2993 of the 

Code of Virginia). This may include a wellness recovery 

action plan (WRAP) or similar document as long as it is 

executed in accordance with § 54.1-2983 of the Code of 

Virginia or the laws of another state. A WRAP or similar 

document may identify the health care agent who is 

authorized to act as the individual's substitute decision maker. 

"Authorization" means a document signed by the individual 

receiving services or that individual's authorized 

representative that authorizes the provider to disclose 

identifying information about the individual. An authorization 

must shall be voluntary. To be voluntary, the authorization 

must shall be given by the individual receiving services or his 

authorized representative freely and without undue 

inducement,; any element of force, fraud, deceit, or duress,; 

or any form of constraint or coercion. 

"Authorized representative" means a person permitted by 

law or these regulations this chapter to authorize the 

disclosure of information or to consent to treatment and 

services or participation in human research. The decision-

making authority of an authorized representative recognized 

or designated under these regulations this chapter is limited to 

decisions pertaining to the designating provider. Legal 

guardians, attorneys-in-fact, or health care agents appointed 

pursuant to § 54.1-2983 of the Code of Virginia may have 

decision-making authority beyond such provider. 

"Behavior intervention" means those principles and methods 

employed by a provider to help an individual to achieve a 

positive outcome and to address challenging behavior in a 

constructive and safe manner. Behavior management 

principles and methods must be employed in accordance with 

the individualized services plan and written policies and 

procedures governing service expectations, treatment goals, 

safety, and security. 

"Behavioral treatment plan," "functional plan," or 

"behavioral support plan" means any set of documented 

procedures that are an integral part of the individualized 

services plan and are developed on the basis of a systematic 

data collection, such as a functional assessment, for the 

purpose of assisting an individual to achieve the following: 

1. Improved behavioral functioning and effectiveness; 

2. Alleviation of symptoms of psychopathology; or 

3. Reduction of challenging behaviors. 

"Board" means the Board of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services. 

"Caregiver" means an employee or contractor who provides 

care and support services; medical services; or other 

treatment, rehabilitation, or habilitation services. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services. 
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"Community services board" or "CSB" means the public 

body established pursuant to § 37.2-501 of the Code of 

Virginia that provides mental health, mental retardation 

developmental, and substance abuse services to individuals 

within each city and county that established it. For the 

purpose of these regulations, community services board also 

includes a behavioral health authority established pursuant to 

§ 37.2-602 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Complaint" means an allegation of a violation of these 

regulations this chapter or a provider's policies and 

procedures related to these regulations this chapter.  

"Consent" means the voluntary agreement of an individual 

or that individual's authorized representative to specific 

services.  

Consent must shall be given freely and without undue 

inducement,; any element of force, fraud, deceit, or duress,; 

or any form of constraint or coercion. Consent may be 

expressed through any means appropriate for the individual, 

including verbally, through physical gestures or behaviors, in 

Braille or American Sign Language, in writing, or through 

other methods. 

"Department" means the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services. 

"Director" means the chief executive officer of any provider 

delivering services. In organizations that also include services 

not covered by these regulations this chapter, the director is 

the chief executive officer of the services or services licensed, 

funded, or operated by the department.  

"Discharge plan" means the written plan that establishes the 

criteria for an individual's discharge from a service and 

identifies and coordinates delivery of any services needed 

after discharge. 

"Disclosure" means the release by a provider of information 

identifying an individual. 

"Emergency" means a situation that requires a person to take 

immediate action to avoid harm, injury, or death to an 

individual or to others. 

"Exploitation" means the misuse or misappropriation of the 

individual's assets, goods, or property. Exploitation is a type 

of abuse. (See § 37.2-100 of the Code of Virginia.) 

Exploitation also includes the use of a position of authority to 

extract personal gain from an individual. Exploitation 

includes violations of 12VAC35-115-120 (Work) and 

12VAC35-115-130 (Research). Exploitation does not include 

the billing of an individual's third party payer for services. 

Exploitation also does not include instances of use or 

appropriation of an individual's assets, goods or property 

when permission is given by the individual or his authorized 

representative: 

1. With full knowledge of the consequences; 

2. With no inducements; and 

3. Without force, misrepresentation, fraud, deceit, duress of 

any form, constraint, or coercion. 

"Governing body of the provider" means the person or group 

of persons with final authority to establish policy. For the 

purpose of these regulations, the governing body of a CSB 

means the public body established according to Chapter 5 (§ 

37.2-500 et seq.) or Chapter 6 (§ 37.2-600 et seq.) of Title 

37.2 of the Code of Virginia, and shall include administrative 

policy community services boards, operating community 

services boards, local government departments with policy-

advisory boards, and the board of a behavioral health 

authority.  

"Habilitation" means the provision of individualized 

services conforming to current acceptable professional 

practice that enhance the strengths of, teach functional skills 

to, or reduce or eliminate challenging behaviors of an 

individual. These services occur in an environment that suits 

the individual's needs, responds to his preferences, and 

promotes social interaction and adaptive behaviors.  

"Health care operations" means any activities of the provider 

to the extent that the activities are related to its provision of 

health care services. Examples include: 

1. Conducting quality assessment and improvement 

activities, case management and care coordination, 

contacting of health care providers and patients with 

information about treatment alternatives, and related 

functions that do not include treatment; 

2. Reviewing the competence or qualifications of health 

care professionals, evaluating practitioner and provider 

performance, and training, licensing or credentialing 

activities; 

3. Conducting or arranging for medical review, legal 

services, and auditing functions, including fraud and abuse 

detection and compliance programs; and 

4. Other activities contained within the definition of health 

care operations in the Standards for Privacy of Individually 

Identifiable Health Information, 45 CFR 164.501. 

"Health plan" means an individual or group plan that 

provides or pays the cost of medical care, including any entity 

that meets the definition of "health plan" in the Standards for 

Privacy of Individually Identifiable Health Information, 

45 CFR 160.103. 

"Historical research" means the review of information that 

identifies individuals receiving services for the purpose of 

evaluating or otherwise collecting data of general historical 

significance. [ See 12VAC35-115-80 B ] (Confidentiality).  

"Human research" means any systematic investigation, 

including research development, testing, and evaluation, 

utilizing human subjects, that is designed to develop or 

contribute to generalized knowledge. Human research shall 

not include research exempt from federal research regulations 

pursuant to 45 CFR 46.101(b). 
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"Human rights advocate" means a person employed by the 

commissioner upon recommendation of the State Human 

Rights Director to help individuals receiving services exercise 

their rights under this chapter. See [ 12VAC35-115-250 

12VAC35-115-260 ] C. 

"Independent review committee" means a committee 

appointed or accessed by a provider to review and approve 

the clinical efficacy of the provider's behavioral treatment 

plans and associated data collection procedures. An 

independent review committee shall be composed of 

professionals with training and experience in applied 

behavioral analysis who are not involved in the development 

of the plan or directly providing services to the individual. 

"Individual" means a person who is receiving services. This 

term includes the terms "consumer," "patient," "resident," 

"recipient," and "client." 

"Individualized services plan" or "ISP" means a 

comprehensive and regularly updated written plan that 

describes the individual's needs, the measurable goals and 

objectives to address those needs, and strategies to reach the 

individual's goals. An ISP is person-centered, empowers the 

individual, and is designed to meet the needs and preferences 

of the individual. The ISP is developed through a partnership 

between the individual and the provider and includes an 

individual's treatment plan, habilitation plan, person-centered 

plan, or plan of care.  

"Informed consent" means the voluntary written agreement 

of an individual, or that individual's authorized representative 

[ , ] to surgery, electroconvulsive treatment, use of 

psychotropic medications, or any other treatment or service 

that poses a risk of harm greater than that ordinarily 

encountered in daily life or for participation in human 

research. To be voluntary, informed consent must be given 

freely and without undue inducement,; any element of force, 

fraud, deceit, or duress,; or any form of constraint or 

coercion. 

"Inspector general" means a person appointed by the 

Governor to provide oversight by inspecting, monitoring, and 

reviewing the quality of services that providers deliver. 

"Investigating authority" means any person or entity that is 

approved by the provider to conduct investigations of abuse 

and neglect. 

"Licensed professional" means a [ licensed ] physician, 

licensed clinical psychologist, licensed professional 

counselor, licensed clinical social worker, licensed or 

certified substance abuse treatment practitioner, or certified 

[ licensed ] psychiatric nurse specialist practitioner. 

"Local Human Rights Committee human rights committee" 

or "LHRC" means a group of at least five people appointed 

by the State Human Rights Committee. See [ 12VAC35-115-

250 D 12VAC35-115-270 A ] for membership and duties. 

"Neglect" means failure by a person, program, or facility 

operated, licensed, or funded by the department, excluding 

those operated by the Department of Corrections, responsible 

for providing services to do so, including nourishment, 

treatment, care, goods, or services necessary to the health, 

safety, or welfare of a person an individual receiving care or 

treatment for mental illness, mental retardation intellectual 

disability, or substance abuse. See § 37.2-100 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Next friend" means a person designated in accordance with 

12VAC35-115-146 B to serve as the authorized 

representative of an individual who has been determined to 

lack capacity to consent or authorize the disclosure of 

identifying information, when required under these 

regulations this chapter. 

"Peer-on-peer aggression" means a physical act, verbal 

threat, or demeaning expression by an individual against or to 

another individual that causes physical or emotional harm to 

that individual. Examples include hitting, kicking, scratching, 

and other threatening behavior. Such instances may constitute 

potential neglect. 

"Person centered" means focusing on the needs and 

preferences of the individual, empowering and supporting the 

individual in defining the direction for his life, and promoting 

self-determination, community involvement, and recovery.  

"Program rules" means the operational rules and 

expectations that providers establish to promote the general 

safety and well-being of all individuals in the program and to 

set standards for how individuals will interact with one 

another in the program. Program rules include any 

expectation that produces a consequence for the individual 

within the program. Program rules may be included in a 

handbook or policies and shall be available to the individual. 

"Protection and advocacy agency" means the state agency 

designated under the federal Protection and Advocacy for 

Individuals with Mental Illness Act (PAIMI) Act and the 

Developmental Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights Act 

(DD) Act. The protection and advocacy agency is the 

Virginia Office for Protection and Advocacy disAbility Law 

Center of Virginia (dLCV). 

"Provider" means any person, entity, or organization 

offering services that is licensed, funded, or operated by the 

department. 

"Psychotherapy notes" means comments, recorded in any 

medium by a health care provider who is a mental health 

professional, documenting and analyzing the contents of 

conversation during a private counseling session with an 

individual or a group, joint, or family counseling session that 

are separated from the rest of the individual's health record. 

"Psychotherapy notes" shall not include annotations relating 

to medication and prescription monitoring, counseling session 

start and stop times, treatment modalities and frequencies, 

clinical test results, or any summary of any symptoms, 

diagnosis, prognosis, functional status, treatment plan, or the 

individual's progress to date. 
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"Research review committee" or "institutional review board" 

means a committee of professionals that provides complete 

and adequate review of research activities. The committee 

shall be sufficiently qualified through maturity, experience, 

and diversity of its members, including consideration of race, 

gender, and cultural background, to promote respect for its 

advice and counsel in safeguarding the rights and welfare of 

participants in human research. (See § 37.2-402 of the Code 

of Virginia and 12VAC35-180.) 

"Restraint" means the use of a mechanical device, 

medication, physical intervention, or hands-on hold to 

prevent an individual from moving his body to engage in a 

behavior that places him or others at imminent risk. There are 

three kinds of restraints: 

1. Mechanical restraint means the use of a mechanical 

device that cannot be removed by the individual to restrict 

the freedom of movement or functioning of a limb or a 

portion of an individual's body when that behavior places 

him or others at imminent risk. 

2. Pharmacological restraint means the use of a medication 

that is administered involuntarily for the emergency 

control of an individual's behavior when that individual's 

behavior places him or others at imminent risk and the 

administered medication is not a standard treatment for the 

individual's medical or psychiatric condition. 

3. Physical restraint, also referred to as manual hold, means 

the use of a physical intervention or hands-on hold to 

prevent an individual from moving his body when that 

individual's behavior places him or others at imminent risk. 

"Restraints for behavioral purposes" means using a physical 

hold, medication, or a mechanical device to control behavior 

or involuntarily restrict the freedom of movement of an 

individual in an instance when all of the following conditions 

are met: (i) there is an emergency, (ii) nonphysical 

interventions are not viable, and (iii) safety issues require an 

immediate response. 

"Restraints for medical purposes" means using a physical 

hold, medication, or mechanical device to limit the mobility 

of an individual for medical, diagnostic, or surgical purposes, 

such as routine dental care or radiological procedures and 

related postprocedure care processes, when use of the 

restraint is not the accepted clinical practice for treating the 

individual's condition. 

"Restraints for protective purposes" means using a 

mechanical device to compensate for a physical or cognitive 

deficit when the individual does not have the option to 

remove the device. The device may limit an individual's 

movement, for example, bed rails or a gerichair, and prevent 

possible harm to the individual or it may create a passive 

barrier, such as a helmet to protect the individual.  

"Restriction" means anything that limits or prevents an 

individual from freely exercising his rights and privileges. 

"SCC" means a specially constituted committee serving an 

intermediate care facility [ for individuals with intellectual 

disabilities ] as described in the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS) Conditions of Participation 

(42 CFR 483.440(f)(3)). 

"Seclusion" means the involuntary placement of an 

individual alone in an area secured by a door that is locked or 

held shut by a staff person, by physically blocking the door, 

or by any other physical or verbal means, so that the 

individual cannot leave it. 

"Serious injury" means any injury resulting in bodily hurt, 

damage, harm, or loss that requires medical attention by a 

licensed physician. 

"Services" means care, treatment, training, habilitation, 

interventions, or other supports, including medical care, 

delivered by a provider licensed, operated or funded by the 

department. 

"Services record" means all written and electronic 

information that a provider keeps about an individual who 

receives services. 

"State Human Rights Committee" or "SHRC" means a 

committee of nine members appointed by the board that is 

accountable for the duties prescribed in 12VAC35-115-250 E 

12VAC35-115-270 [ C ]. [ See ] 12VAC35-115-250 E 

[ 12VAC35-115-270 C 8 for membership and duties ]. 

"State Human Rights Director human rights director" means 

the person employed by and reporting to the commissioner 

who is responsible for carrying out the functions prescribed 

[ for the position ] in 12VAC35-115-250 F 12VAC35-115-

260 D. 

"Time out" means the involuntary removal of an individual 

by a staff person from a source of reinforcement to a 

different, open location for a specified period of time or until 

the problem behavior has subsided to discontinue or reduce 

the frequency of problematic behavior. 

"Treatment" means the individually planned, sound, and 

therapeutic interventions that are intended to improve or 

maintain functioning of an individual receiving services 

delivered by providers licensed, funded, or operated by the 

department. In order to be considered sound and therapeutic, 

the treatment must shall conform to current acceptable 

professional practice. 

Part III  

Explanation of Individual Rights and Provider Duties  

12VAC35-115-50. Dignity.  

A. Each individual has a right to exercise his legal, civil, and 

human rights, including constitutional rights, statutory rights, 

and the rights contained in these regulations this chapter, 

except as specifically limited herein in this chapter or 

otherwise by law. Each individual has a right to have services 

that he receives respond to his needs and preferences and be 

person-centered. Each individual also has the right to be 

protected, respected, and supported in exercising these rights. 
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Providers shall not partially or totally take away or limit these 

rights solely because an individual has a mental illness, 

mental retardation, health or substance use disorder or an 

intellectual disability and is receiving services for these 

conditions or has any physical or sensory condition that may 

pose a barrier to communication or mobility. 

B. In receiving all services, each individual has the right to: 

1. Use his preferred or legal name. The use of an 

individual's preferred name may be limited when a 

licensed professional makes the determination that the use 

of the name will result in demonstrable harm or have 

significant negative impact on the program itself or the 

individual's treatment, progress, and recovery. The director 

or his designee shall discuss the issue with the individual 

and inform the human rights advocate of the reasons for 

any restriction prior to implementation and the reasons for 

the restriction shall be documented in the individual's 

services record. The need for the restriction shall be 

reviewed by the team every month and documented in the 

services record. 

2. Be protected from harm including abuse, neglect, and 

exploitation. 

3. Have help in learning about, applying for, and fully 

using any public service or benefit to which he may be 

entitled. These services and benefits include educational or 

vocational services, housing assistance, services or benefits 

under Titles II, XVI, XVIII, and XIX of the Social Security 

Act, United States Veterans Benefits, and services from 

legal and advocacy agencies. 

4. Have opportunities to communicate in private with 

lawyers, judges, legislators, clergy, licensed health care 

practitioners, authorized representatives, advocates, the 

Office of the State Inspector General (§ 2.2-308 of the 

Code of Virginia), and employees of the protection and 

advocacy agency. 

5. Be provided with general information about program 

services, policies, and rules in writing and in the manner, 

format and language easily understood by the individual. 

6. Be afforded the opportunity to have an individual of his 

choice notified of his general condition, location, and 

transfer to another facility. 

C. In services provided in residential and inpatient settings, 

each individual has the right to: 

1. Have sufficient and suitable clothing for his exclusive 

use. 

2. Receive nutritionally adequate, varied, and appetizing 

meals that are prepared and served under sanitary 

conditions, are served at appropriate times and 

temperatures, and are consistent with any individualized 

diet program. 

3. Live in a humane, safe, sanitary environment that gives 

each individual, at a minimum: 

a. Reasonable privacy and private storage space; 

b. An adequate number of private, operating toilets, 

sinks, showers, and tubs that are designed to 

accommodate individuals' physical needs; 

c. Direct outside air provided by a window that opens or 

by an air conditioner; 

d. Windows or skylights in all major areas used by 

individuals; 

e. Clean air, free of bad odors; and 

f. Room temperatures that are comfortable year round 

and compatible with health requirements. 

4. Practice a religion and participate in religious services 

subject to their availability, provided that such services are 

not dangerous to the individual or others and do not 

infringe on the freedom of others. 

a. Religious services or practices that present a danger of 

bodily injury to any individual or interfere with another 

individual's religious beliefs or practices may be limited. 

The director or his designee shall discuss the issue with 

the individual and inform the human rights advocate of 

the reasons for any restriction prior to implementation. 

The reasons for the restriction shall be documented in the 

individual's services record.  

b. Participation in religious services or practices may be 

reasonably limited by the provider in accordance with 

other general rules limiting privileges or times or places 

of activities. 

5. Have paper, pencil and stamps provided free of charge 

for at least one letter every day upon request. However, if 

an individual has funds to buy paper, pencils, and stamps 

to send a letter every day, the provider does not have to 

pay for them. 

6. Communicate privately with any person by mail and 

have help in writing or reading mail as needed. 

a. An individual's access to mail may be limited only if 

the provider has reasonable cause to believe that the mail 

contains illegal material or anything dangerous. If so, the 

director or his designee may open the mail, but not read 

it, in the presence of the individual. 

b. An individual's ability to communicate by mail may be 

limited if, in the judgment of a licensed professional, the 

individual's communication with another person or 

persons will result in demonstrable harm to the 

individual's mental health. 

c. The director or his designee shall discuss the issue 

with the individual and inform the human rights advocate 

of the reasons for any restriction prior to implementation 

and the reasons for the restriction shall be documented in 

the individual's services record. The need for the 

restriction shall be reviewed by the team every month 

and documented in the services record. 
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7. Communicate privately with any person by telephone 

and have help in doing so. Use of the telephone may be 

limited to certain times and places to make sure that other 

individuals have equal access to the telephone and that 

they can eat, sleep, or participate in an activity without 

being disturbed. 

a. An individual's access to the telephone may be limited 

only if, in the judgment of a licensed professional, 

communication with another person or persons will result 

in demonstrable harm to the individual or significantly 

affect his treatment. 

b. The director or his designee shall discuss the issue 

with the individual and inform the human rights advocate 

of the reasons for any restriction prior to implementation 

and the reasons for the restriction shall be documented in 

the individual's services record. The need for the 

restriction shall be reviewed by the team every month 

and documented in the individual's services record. 

c. Residential substance abuse services providers that are 

not inpatient hospital settings or crisis stabilization 

programs may develop policies and procedures that limit 

the use of the telephone during the initial phase of 

treatment when sound therapeutic practice requires 

restriction, subject to the following conditions: 

(1) Prior to implementation and when it proposes any 

changes or revisions, the provider shall submit policies 

and procedures, program handbooks, or program rules to 

the LHRC and the human rights advocate for review and 

approval. 

(2) When an individual applies for admission, the 

provider shall notify him of these restrictions. 

8. Have or refuse visitors. 

a. An individual's access to visitors may be limited or 

supervised only when, in the judgment of a licensed 

professional, the visits result in demonstrable harm to the 

individual or significantly affect the individual's 

treatment or when the visitors are suspected of bringing 

contraband or threatening harm to the individual in any 

other way. 

b. The director or his designee shall discuss the issue 

with the individual and inform the human rights advocate 

of the reasons for any restriction prior to implementation 

and the restriction shall be documented in the individual's 

services record. The need for the restriction shall be 

reviewed by the team every month and documented in 

the individual's services record. 

c. Residential substance abuse service providers that are 

not inpatient hospital settings or crisis stabilization 

programs may develop policies and procedures that limit 

visitors during the initial phase of treatment when sound 

therapeutic practice requires the restriction, subject to the 

following conditions: 

(1) Prior to implementation and when proposing any 

changes or revisions, the provider shall submit policies 

and procedures, program handbooks, or program rules to 

the LHRC and the human rights advocate for review and 

approval. 

(2) The provider shall notify individuals who apply for 

admission of these restrictions. 

9. Nothing in these provisions shall prohibit a provider 

from stopping, reporting, or intervening to prevent any 

criminal act. 

D. The provider's duties. 

1. Providers shall recognize, respect, support, and protect 

the dignity rights of each individual at all times. In the case 

of a minor, providers shall take into consideration the 

expressed preferences of the minor and the parent or 

guardian. 

2. Providers shall develop, carry out, and regularly monitor 

policies and procedures that assure the protection of each 

individual's rights. 

3. Providers shall assure the following relative to abuse, 

neglect, and exploitation: 

a. Policies and procedures governing harm, abuse, 

neglect, and exploitation of individuals receiving their 

services shall require that, as a condition of employment 

or volunteering, any employee, volunteer, consultant, or 

student who knows of or has reason to believe that an 

individual may have been abused, neglected, or exploited 

at any location covered by these regulations, this chapter 

shall immediately report this information directly to the 

director. 

b. The director shall immediately take necessary steps to 

protect the individual until an investigation is complete. 

This may include the following actions: 

(1) Direct the employee or employees involved to have 

no further contact with the individual. In the case of 

incidents of peer-on-peer aggression, protect the 

individuals from the aggressor in accordance with sound 

therapeutic practice and these regulations this chapter. 

(2) Temporarily reassign or transfer the employee or 

employees involved to a position that has no direct 

contact with individuals receiving services. 

(3) Temporarily suspend the involved employee or 

employees pending completion of an investigation. 

c. The director shall immediately notify the human rights 

advocate and the individual's authorized representative. 

In no case shall notification be later than 24 hours after 

the receipt of the initial allegation of abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation. 

d. In no case shall the director punish or retaliate against 

an employee, volunteer, consultant, or student for 

reporting an allegation of abuse, neglect, or exploitation 

to an outside entity. 
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e. The director shall initiate an impartial investigation 

within 24 hours of receiving a report of potential abuse or 

neglect. The investigation shall be conducted by a person 

trained to do investigations and who is not involved in 

the issues under investigation. 

(1) The investigator shall make a final report to the 

director or the investigating authority and to the human 

rights advocate within 10 working days of appointment. 

Exceptions to this time frame may be requested and 

approved by the department if submitted prior to the 

close of the sixth day. 

(2) The director or investigating authority shall, based on 

the investigator's report and any other available 

information, decide whether the abuse, neglect or 

exploitation occurred. Unless otherwise provided by law, 

the standard for deciding whether abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation has occurred is preponderance of the 

evidence. 

(3) If abuse, neglect or exploitation occurred, the director 

shall take any action required to protect the individual 

and other individuals. All actions must be documented 

and reported as required by 12VAC35-115-230. 

(4) In all cases, the director shall provide his written 

decision, including actions taken as a result of the 

investigation, within seven working days following the 

completion of the investigation to the individual or the 

individual's authorized representative, the human rights 

advocate, the investigating authority, and the involved 

employee or employees. The decision shall be in writing 

and in the manner, format, and language that is most 

easily understood by the individual.  

(5) If the individual affected by the alleged abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation or his authorized representative is 

not satisfied with the director's actions, he or his 

authorized representative, or anyone acting on his behalf, 

may file a petition for an LHRC hearing under 

12VAC35-115-180. 

f. The director shall cooperate with any external 

investigation, including those conducted by the Office of 

the State Inspector General (§ 2.2-308 of the Code of 

Virginia), the protection and advocacy agency, or other 

regulatory or enforcement agencies. 

g. If at any time the director has reason to suspect that an 

individual may have been abused or neglected, the 

director shall immediately report this information to the 

appropriate local Department of Social Services (see 

§§ 63.2-1509 and 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia) and 

cooperate fully with any investigation that results. 

h. If at any time the director has reason to suspect that the 

abusive, neglectful or exploitive act is a crime, the 

director or his designee shall immediately contact the 

appropriate law-enforcement authorities and cooperate 

fully with any investigation that results. 

4. Providers shall afford the individual the opportunity to 

have an individual of his choice notified of his general 

condition, location, and transfer to another facility. 

12VAC35-115-60. Services.  

A. Each individual receiving services shall receive those 

services according to law and sound therapeutic practice. 

B. The provider's duties. 

1. Providers shall develop, carry out, and regularly monitor 

policies and procedures prohibiting discrimination in the 

provision of services. Providers shall comply with all state 

and federal laws, including any applicable provisions of 

the Americans with Disabilities Act (42 USC § 12101 et 

seq.), that prohibit discrimination [ on the basis of race, 

color, religion, ethnicity, age, sex, disability, or ability to 

pay ]. These policies and procedures shall require, at a 

minimum, the following: 

a. An individual or anyone acting on his behalf may 

complain to the director if he believes that his services 

have been limited or denied due to discrimination. 

b. If an individual complains of discrimination, the 

director shall assure that an appropriate investigation is 

conducted immediately. The director shall make a 

decision, take action, and document the action within 10 

working days of receipt of the complaint. 

c. A written copy of the decision and the director's action 

shall be forwarded to the individual and his authorized 

representative, the human rights advocate, and any 

employee or employees involved. 

d. If the individual or his authorized representative is not 

satisfied with the director's decision or action, he may 

file a petition for an LHRC hearing under 12VAC35-

115-180. 

2. Providers shall ensure that all services, including 

medical services and treatment, are at all times delivered in 

accordance with sound therapeutic practice. Providers may 

deny or limit an individual's access to services if sound 

therapeutic practice requires limiting the service to 

individuals of the same sex or similar age, disability, or 

legal status. 

3. Providers shall develop and implement policies and 

procedures that address emergencies. These policies and 

procedures shall: 

a. Identify what caregivers may do to respond to an 

emergency; 

b. Identify qualified clinical staff who are accountable for 

assessing emergency conditions and determining the 

appropriate intervention; 

c. Require that the director immediately notify the 

individual's authorized representative and the advocate if 

an emergency results in harm or injury to any individual; 

and 
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d. Require documentation in the individual's services 

record of all facts and circumstances surrounding the 

emergency. 

4. Providers shall assign a specific person or group of 

persons to carry out each of the following activities: 

a. Medical, mental health, and behavioral screenings and 

assessments, as applicable, upon admission and during 

the provision of services; 

b. Preparation, implementation, and appropriate changes 

modifications to an individual's services plan ISP based 

on the ongoing review of the medical, mental, and 

behavioral needs of the individual;  

c. Preparation and implementation of an individual's 

discharge plan; and 

d. Review of every use of seclusion or restraint by a 

qualified professional who is involved in providing 

services to the individual. 

5. Providers shall not deliver any service to an individual 

without a services plan an ISP that is tailored specifically 

to the needs and expressed preferences of the individual 

and, in the case of a minor, the minor and the minor's 

parent or guardian or other person authorized to consent to 

treatment pursuant to § 54.1-2969 A of the Code of 

Virginia. Services provided in response to emergencies or 

crises shall be deemed part of the services plan ISP and 

thereafter documented in the individual's services plan ISP. 

6. Providers shall write the services plan ISP and discharge 

plan in clear, understandable language. 

7. When preparing or changing an individual's services ISP 

or discharge plan, providers shall ensure that all services 

received by the individual are integrated. With the 

individual's or the individual's authorized representative's 

authorization, providers may involve family members in 

services and discharge planning. When the individual or 

his authorized representative requests such involvement, 

the provider shall take all reasonable steps to do so. In the 

case of services to minors, the parent or guardian or other 

person authorized to consent to treatment pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2969 A of the Code of Virginia shall be involved in 

service and discharge planning. 

8. Providers shall ensure that the entries in an individual's 

services record are at all times authentic, accurate, 

complete, timely, and pertinent. 

12VAC35-115-90. Access to and amendment of services 

records.  

A. With respect to his own services record, each individual 

and his authorized representative has the right to: 

1. See, read, and get a copy of his own services record, 

except information that is privileged pursuant to § 8.01-

581.17 of the Code of Virginia, and information compiled 

by the provider in reasonable anticipation of or for use in a 

civil, criminal, or administrative action or proceeding; 

2. Let certain other people see, read, or get a copy of his 

own services record if the individual is restricted by law 

from seeing, reading, or receiving a copy; 

3. Challenge, request to amend, or receive an explanation 

of anything in his services record; and  

4. Let anyone who sees his record, regardless of whether 

amendments to the record have been made, know that the 

individual has tried to amend the record or explain his 

position and what happened as a result. 

B. Except in the following circumstances, With respect to 

the services records of minors must have their parent's or 

guardian's permission before they can access their services 

record: 

1. A minor must have the permission of a parent, guardian, 

or other person standing in loco parentis before he can 

access his services record. He may access his services 

record without the this permission of a parent only if the 

records pertain to treatment for sexually transmitted or 

reportable contagious diseases, family planning or 

pregnancy, outpatient care, treatment or rehabilitation for 

substance use disorders, mental illness or emotional 

disturbance, or inpatient psychiatric hospitalization when a 

minor is 14 years of age or older and has consented to the 

admission. 

2. A parent may access his minor child's services record 

unless prohibited by 42 CFR Part 2, parental rights have 

been terminated, a court order provides otherwise, or the 

minor's treating physician or clinical psychologist has 

determined, in the exercise of professional judgment, that 

the disclosure to the parent would be reasonably likely to 

cause substantial harm to the minor or another person. 

C. The provider's duties. 

1. Providers shall tell each individual and his authorized 

representative how he can access and request amendment 

of his own services record. 

2. Providers shall permit each individual to see his services 

record when he requests it and to request amendments if 

necessary. 

a. Access to all or a part of an individual's services record 

may be denied or limited only if a physician or a clinical 

psychologist involved in providing services to the 

individual talks to the individual, examines the services 

record as a result of the individual's request for access, 

and signs and puts in the services record permanently a 

written statement that he thinks access to the services 

record by the individual at this time would be reasonably 

likely to endanger the life or physical safety of the 

individual or another person or that the services record 

makes reference to a person other than a health care 

provider and the access requested would be reasonably 

likely to cause substantial harm to the referenced person. 

The physician or clinical psychologist must shall also tell 
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the individual as much about his services record as he 

can without risking harm to the individual. 

b. If access is denied in whole or in part, the provider 

shall give the individual or his authorized representative 

a written statement that explains the basis for the denial, 

the individual's review rights, as set forth in the 

following subdivisions, how he may exercise them, and 

how the individual may file a complaint with the 

provider or the United States U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services, if applicable. If restrictions or time 

limits are placed on access, the individual shall be 

notified of the restrictions and time limits and conditions 

for their removal. These time limits [ restrictions and ] 

conditions also shall be specified in the services record. 

(1) If the individual requests a review of denial of access, 

the provider shall designate a physician or clinical 

psychologist who was not directly involved in the denial 

to review the decision to deny access. The physician or 

clinical psychologist must shall determine within a 

reasonable period of time whether or not to deny the 

access requested in accordance with the standard in 

subdivision 2 a of this subsection. The provider must 

shall promptly provide the individual notice of the 

physician's or psychologist's determination and provide 

or deny access in accordance with that determination. 

(2) At the individual's option, the individual may 

designate at his own expense a reviewing physician or 

clinical psychologist who was not directly involved in the 

denial to review the decision to deny access in 

accordance with the standard in subdivision 2 a of this 

subsection. If the individual chooses this option, the 

provider is not required to designate a physician or 

clinical psychologist to review the decision.  

c. If the provider limits or refuses to let an individual see 

his services record, the provider shall also notify the 

advocate and tell the individual that he can ask to have a 

lawyer or authorized insurer of his choice see his record. 

If the individual makes this request, the provider shall 

disclose the record to that lawyer or authorized insurer 

(§ 8.01-413 of the Code of Virginia). 

3. Providers shall, without charge, give individuals any 

help they may need to read and understand their services 

record and request amendments to it. 

4. If an individual asks to challenge, amend, or explain any 

information contained in his services record, the provider 

shall investigate and file in the services record a written 

report concerning the individual's request. 

a. If the report finds that the services record is 

incomplete, inaccurate, not pertinent, not timely, or not 

necessary, the provider shall: 

(1) Either mark that part of the services record clearly to 

say so, or else remove that part of the services record and 

file it separately with an appropriate cross reference to 

indicate that the information was removed; 

(2) Not disclose the original services record without 

separate specific authorization or legal authority (e.g., if 

compelled by subpoena or other court order); 

(3) Obtain the individual's identification of and 

agreement to have the provider notify the relevant 

persons of the amendment; and  

(4) Promptly notify in writing all persons who have 

received the incorrect information and all persons 

identified by the individual that the services record has 

been corrected. 

b. If a request to amend the services record is denied, the 

provider shall give the individual a written statement 

containing the basis for the denial and notify the 

individual of his right to submit a statement of 

disagreement and how to submit such a statement. The 

provider shall also give the individual (i) a statement that 

if a statement of disagreement is not submitted that the 

individual may request the provider to disclose the 

request for amendment and the denial with future 

disclosures of information and (ii) a description of how 

the individual may complain to the provider or the 

Secretary of Health and Human Services, if applicable. 

Upon request, the provider shall file in the services 

record the individual's statement explaining his position 

of disagreement. If needed, the provider shall help the 

individual to write this statement. If a statement is filed, 

the provider shall: 

(1) Give all persons who have copies of the record a copy 

of the individual's statement. 

(2) Clearly note in any later disclosure of the record that 

it is disputed and include a copy of the statement with the 

disputed record. 

12VAC35-115-100. Restrictions on freedoms of everyday 

life.  

A. From admission until discharge from a service, each 

individual is entitled to: 

1. Enjoy all the freedoms of everyday life that are 

consistent with his need for services, his protection, and 

the protection of others, and that do not interfere with his 

services or the services of others. These freedoms include: 

a. Freedom to move within the service setting, its 

grounds, and the community; 

b. Freedom to communicate, associate, and meet 

privately with anyone the individual chooses; 

c. Freedom to have and spend personal money; 

d. Freedom to see, hear, or receive television, radio, 

books, and newspapers, whether privately owned or in a 

library or public area of the service setting; 

e. Freedom to keep and use personal clothing and other 

personal items; 
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f. Freedom to use recreational facilities and enjoy the 

outdoors; and 

g. Freedom to make purchases in canteens, vending 

machines, or stores selling a basic selection of food and 

clothing. 

2. Receive services in that setting and under those 

conditions that are least restrictive of his freedom. 

B. The provider's duties. 

1. Providers shall encourage each individual's participation 

in normal activities and conditions of everyday living and 

support each individual's freedoms. 

2. Providers shall not limit or restrict any individual's 

freedom more than is needed to achieve a therapeutic 

benefit, maintain a safe and orderly environment, or 

intervene in an emergency. 

3. Providers shall not impose any restriction on an 

individual unless the restriction is justified and carried out 

according to these regulations this chapter or otherwise 

required by law. If a provider imposes a restriction 

pursuant to this chapter, except as provided in 12VAC35-

115-50, the following conditions shall be met: 

a. A qualified professional involved in providing services 

has, in advance, assessed and documented all possible 

alternatives to the proposed restriction, taking into 

account the individual's medical and mental condition, 

behavior, preferences, nursing and medication needs, and 

ability to function independently. 

b. A qualified professional involved in providing services 

has, in advance, determined that the proposed restriction 

is necessary for effective treatment of the individual or to 

protect him or others from personal harm, injury, or 

death. 

c. A qualified professional involved in providing services 

has, in advance, documented in the individual's services 

record the specific reason for the restriction. 

d. A qualified professional involved in providing services 

has explained, and provided written notice so that the 

individual can understand, the reason for the restriction, 

the criteria for removal, and the individual's right to a fair 

review of whether the restriction is permissible. 

e. A qualified professional regularly reviews the 

restriction and that the restriction is discontinued when 

the individual has met the criteria for removal. 

f. 4. If a court has ordered the provider to impose the 

restriction or if the provider is otherwise required by law to 

impose the restriction, the restriction shall be documented 

in the individual's services record. 

5. Providers shall obtain approval of the LHRC of any 

restriction imposed on an individual's rights under this 

subsection or 12VAC35-115-50 that lasts longer than 

seven days or is imposed [ multiple three or more ] times 

during a 30-day time period. If the LHRC finds that the 

restriction is not being implemented in accordance with 

this chapter, the director shall be notified, and the LHRC 

shall provide recommendations. 

4. 6. Providers may develop and enforce written program 

rules, but only if the rules do not conflict with these 

regulations this chapter or any individual's services plan 

ISP and are needed to maintain a safe and orderly 

environment. 

5. 7. Providers shall, in the development of these program 

rules: 

a. Get as many suggestions as possible from all 

individuals who are expected to obey the rules; 

b. Apply these rules in the same way to each individual; 

c. Give the rules to and review them with each individual 

and his authorized representative in a way that the 

individual can understand them, including explaining 

possible consequences for violating them; 

d. Post the rules in summary form in all areas to which 

individuals and their families have regular access; 

e. Submit the rules to the LHRC for review and approval 

upon request of the advocate or LHRC; and 

f. Prohibit individuals from disciplining other 

individuals, except as part of an organized self-

government program conducted according to a written 

policy approved in advance by the LHRC. 

12VAC35-115-105. Behavioral treatment plans. 

A. A behavioral treatment plan is used to assist an individual 

to improve participation in normal activities and conditions of 

everyday living, reduce challenging behaviors, alleviate 

symptoms of psychopathology, and maintain a safe and 

orderly environment. 

B. Providers may use individualized restrictions such as 

restraint or time out in a behavioral treatment plan to address 

challenging behaviors that present an immediate danger to the 

individual or others, but only after a licensed professional has 

conducted a detailed and systematic assessment of the 

behavior and the situations in which the behavior occurs. 

Providers shall document in the individual's services record 

that the lack of success or probable success of less restrictive 

procedures attempted or considered, and the risks associated 

with not treating the behavior, are greater than any risks 

associated with the use of the proposed restrictions. 

C. Providers shall develop any behavioral treatment plan 

according to their policies and procedures, which [ shall ] 

ensure that: 

1. Behavioral treatment plans are initiated, developed, 

carried out, and monitored by professionals who are 

qualified by expertise, training, education, or credentials to 

do so; 

2. Behavioral treatment plans include nonrestrictive 

procedures and environmental modifications that address 

the targeted behavior; and 
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3. Behavioral treatment plans are submitted to an 

independent review committee, prior to implementation, 

for review and approval of the technical adequacy of the 

plan and data collection procedures. 

D. [ Providers In addition to any other requirements of 

42 CFR 483.440(f)(3), providers that are intermediate care 

facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities ] shall 

submit any behavioral treatment plan that involves the use of 

restraint or time out [ in an intermediate care facility ], and its 

independent review committee approval, to the SCC under 

42 CFR 483.440(f)(3) for the SCC's approval prior to 

implementation.  

E. Providers [ other than intermediate care facilities for 

individuals with intellectual disabilities ] shall submit any 

behavioral treatment plan that [ does not require SCC 

approval involves the use of restraint or time out ], and its 

independent review committee approval, to the LHRC, which 

shall determine whether the plan is in accordance with this 

chapter prior to implementation.  

F. If either the LHRC or SCC finds that the behavioral 

treatment plan violates the rights of the individual or is not 

being implemented in accordance with this chapter, the 

LHRC or SCC shall notify the director and provide 

recommendations regarding the proposed plan. 

G. Behavioral treatment plans involving the use of restraint 

or time out shall be reviewed quarterly by the independent 

review committee and the LHRC or SCC to determine if the 

use of restraint has resulted in improvements in functioning 

of the individual. 

H. Providers shall not use seclusion in a behavioral 

treatment plan. 

12VAC35-115-110. Use of seclusion, restraint, and time 

out.  

A. Each individual is entitled to be completely free from any 

unnecessary use of seclusion, restraint, or time out. 

B. The voluntary use of mechanical supports to achieve 

proper body position, balance, or alignment so as to allow 

greater freedom of movement or to improve normal body 

functioning in a way that would not be possible without the 

use of such a mechanical support, and the voluntary use of 

protective equipment are not considered restraints. 

C. The provider's duties. 

1. Providers shall meet with the individual or his 

authorized representative upon admission to the service to 

discuss and document in the individual's services record 

[ , ] his preferred interventions in the event his behaviors or 

symptoms become a danger to himself or others and under 

what circumstances, if any, the intervention may include 

seclusion, restraint, or time out. 

2. Providers shall document in the individual's services 

record all known contraindications to the use of seclusion, 

time out, or any form of physical or mechanical restraint, 

including medical contraindications and a history of 

trauma [ , ] and shall flag the record to alert and 

communicate this information to staff. 

3. Only residential facilities for children that are licensed 

under the Regulations for Children's Residential Facilities 

(12VAC35-46) and inpatient hospitals may use seclusion 

and only in an emergency. 

4. Providers shall not use seclusion, restraint, or time out as 

a punishment or reprisal or for the convenience of staff. 

5. Providers shall not use seclusion or restraint solely 

because criminal charges are pending against the 

individual. 

6. Providers shall not use a restraint that places the 

individual's body in a prone (face down) position. 

6. 7. Providers shall not use seclusion or restraint for any 

behavioral, medical, or protective purpose unless other less 

restrictive techniques have been considered and 

documentation is placed in the individual's services plan 

ISP that these less restrictive techniques did not or would 

not succeed in reducing or eliminating behaviors that are 

self-injurious or dangerous to other people or that no less 

restrictive measure was possible in the event of a sudden 

emergency. 

7. 8. Providers that use seclusion, restraint, or time out 

shall develop written policies and procedures that comply 

with applicable federal and state laws and regulations, 

accreditation, and certification standards, third party payer 

requirements, and sound therapeutic practice. These 

policies and procedures shall include at least the following 

requirements: 

a. Individuals shall be given the opportunity for motion 

and exercise, to eat at normal meal times and take fluids, 

to use the restroom, and to bathe as needed. 

b. Trained, qualified staff shall monitor the individual's 

medical and mental condition continuously while the 

restriction is being used. 

c. Each use of seclusion, restraint, or time out shall end 

immediately when criteria for removal are met. 

d. Incidents of seclusion and restraint, including the 

rationale for and the type and duration of the restraint, 

are shall be reported to the department as provided in 

12VAC35-115-230 C. 

8. Providers shall submit all proposed seclusion, restraint, 

and time out policies and procedures to the LHRC for 

review and comment before implementing them, when 

proposing changes, or upon request of the human rights 

advocate, the LHRC, or the SHRC. 

9. Providers shall comply with all applicable state and 

federal laws and regulations, certification and accreditation 

standards, and third party requirements as they relate to 

seclusion and restraint. 

a. Whenever an inconsistency exists between these 

regulations this chapter and federal laws or regulations, 
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accreditation or certification standards, or the 

requirements of third party payers, the provider shall 

comply with the higher standard. 

b. Providers shall notify the department whenever a 

regulatory, accreditation, or certification agency or third 

party payer identifies problems in the provider's 

compliance with any applicable seclusion and restraint 

standard. 

10. Providers shall ensure that only staff who have been 

trained in the proper and safe use of seclusion, restraint, 

and time out techniques may initiate, monitor, and 

discontinue their use. 

11. Providers shall ensure that a qualified professional who 

is involved in providing services to the individual reviews 

every use of physical restraint as soon as possible after it is 

carried out and [ document documents ] the results of his 

review in the individual's services record. 

12. Providers shall ensure that review and approval by a 

qualified professional for the use or continuation of 

restraint for medical or protective purposes is documented 

in the individual's services record. Documentation 

includes: 

a. Justification for any restraint; 

b. Time-limited approval for the use or continuation of 

restraint; and  

c. Any physical or psychological conditions that would 

place the individual at greater risk during restraint. 

13. Providers may use seclusion or mechanical restraint for 

behavioral purposes in an emergency only if a qualified 

professional involved in providing services to the 

individual has, within one hour of the initiation of the 

procedure: 

a. Conducted a face-to-face assessment of the individual 

placed in seclusion or mechanical restraint and 

documented that alternatives to the proposed use of 

seclusion or mechanical restraint have not been 

successful in changing the behavior or were not 

attempted, taking into account the individual's medical 

and mental condition, behavior, preferences, nursing and 

medication needs, and ability to function independently; 

b. Determined that the proposed seclusion or mechanical 

restraint is necessary to protect the individual or others 

from harm, injury, or death; 

c. Documented in the individual's services record the 

specific reason for the seclusion or mechanical restraint; 

d. Documented in the individual's services record the 

behavioral criteria that the individual must meet for 

release from seclusion or mechanical restraint; and 

e. Explained to the individual, in a way that he can 

understand, the reason for using mechanical restraint or 

seclusion, the criteria for its removal, and the individual's 

right to a fair review of whether the mechanical restraint 

or seclusion was permissible. 

14. Providers shall limit each approval for restraint for 

behavioral purposes or seclusion to four hours for 

individuals age 18 and older, two hours for children and 

adolescents ages nine through 17, and one hour for 

children under age nine. 

15. Providers shall not issue standing orders for the use of 

seclusion or restraint for behavioral purposes.  

16. Providers shall ensure that no individual is in time out 

for more than 30 minutes per episode. 

17. Providers shall monitor the use of restraint for 

behavioral purposes or seclusion through continuous face-

to-face observation, rather than by an electronic 

surveillance device. 

18. Providers may use restraint or time out in a behavioral 

treatment plan to address behaviors that present an 

immediate danger to the individual or others, but only after 

a qualified professional has conducted a detailed and 

systematic assessment of the behavior and the situations in 

which the behavior occurs. 

a. Providers shall develop any behavioral treatment plan 

involving the use of restraint or time out for behavioral 

purposes according to its policies and procedures, which 

ensure that: 

(1) Behavioral treatment plans are initiated, developed, 

carried out, and monitored by professionals who are 

qualified by expertise, training, education, or credentials 

to do so. 

(2) Behavioral treatment plans include nonrestrictive 

procedures and environmental modifications that address 

the targeted behavior. 

(3) Behavioral treatment plans are submitted to and 

approved by an independent review committee 

comprised of professionals with training and experience 

in applied behavior analysis who have assessed the 

technical adequacy of the plan and data collection 

procedures. 

b. Providers shall document in the individual's services 

record that the lack of success, or probable success, of 

less restrictive procedures attempted and the risks 

associated with not treating the behavior are greater than 

any risks associated with the use of restraint. 

c. Prior to the implementation of any behavioral treatment 

plan involving the use of restraint or time out, the provider 

shall obtain approval of the LHRC. If the LHRC finds that 

the plan violates or has the potential to violate the rights of 

the individual, the LHRC shall notify and make 

recommendations to the director.  

d. Behavioral treatment plans involving the use of restraint 

or time out shall be reviewed quarterly by the independent 

review committee and by, the LHRC to determine if the 
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use of restraint has resulted in improvements in functioning 

of the individual. 

19.Providers may not use seclusion in a behavioral 

treatment plan. 

12VAC35-115-130. Research.  

A. Each individual has a right to choose to participate or not 

participate in human research. 

B. The provider's duties. 

1. Providers shall obtain prior, written, informed consent of 

the individual or his authorized representative before any 

individual begins to participate in human research unless 

the research is exempt under § 32.1-162.17 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

2. Providers shall comply with all other applicable state 

and federal laws and regulations regarding human research, 

including the provisions under Chapter 5.1 (§ 32.1-162.16 

et seq.) of Title 32.1 and § 37.2-402 of the Code of 

Virginia and the regulations adopted under § 37.2-402 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

3. Providers shall obtain review and approval from an 

institutional review board or research review committee 

prior to performing or participating in a human research 

protocol. Documentation of this review and approval shall 

be maintained and made available on request by the 

individual or his authorized representative.  

4. Prior to participation by individuals in any human 

research project, the provider shall inform and provide a 

copy of the institutional review board or research review 

committee approval to the LHRC. Once the research has 

been initiated, the provider shall update the LHRC 

periodically on the status of the individual's participation. 

12VAC35-115-140. Complaint and fair hearing. 

(Repealed.)  

A. Each individual has a right to: 

1. Complain that the provider has violated any of the rights 

assured under these regulations; 

2. Have a timely and fair review of any complaint 

according to the procedures in Part V (12VAC35-115-150 

et seq.) of this chapter; 

3. Have someone file a complaint on his behalf; 

4. Use these and other complaint procedures; and 

5. Complain under any other applicable law, including 

complain to the protection and advocacy agency. 

B. The provider's duties. 

1. If an individual makes a complaint, the provider shall 

make every attempt to resolve the complaint at the earliest 

possible step. 

2. Providers shall not take, threaten to take, permit, or 

condone any action to retaliate against anyone filing a 

complaint or prevent anyone from filing a complaint or 

helping an individual to file a complaint. 

3. Providers shall assist the complainant in understanding 

the full complaint process, the options for resolution 

including the formal and informal processes, and the 

confidentiality elements involved. 

Part IV  

Substitute Decision Making 

12VAC35-115-145. Determination of capacity to give 

consent or authorization. 

If the capacity of an individual to consent to treatment, 

services, or research, or to authorize the disclosure of 

information is in doubt, the provider shall obtain an 

evaluation from conducted by or under the supervision of a 

licensed professional who is qualified by expertise, training, 

education, or credentials and not directly involved with the 

individual to determine whether the individual has capacity to 

consent or to authorize the disclosure of information. 

1. Capacity evaluations shall be obtained for all individuals 

who may lack capacity, even if they request that an 

authorized representative be designated or agree to submit 

to a recommended course of treatment. 

2. In conducting this evaluation, the professional may seek 

comments from representatives accompanying the 

individual pursuant to 12VAC35-115-70 A 4 about the 

individual's capacity to consent or to authorize disclosure. 

3. Providers shall determine the need for an evaluation of 

an individual's capacity to consent or authorize disclosure 

of information and the need for a substitute decision maker 

whenever the individual's condition warrants, the 

individual requests such a review, at least every six 

months, and at discharge, except for individuals receiving 

acute inpatient services. 

a. If the individual's record indicates that the individual is 

not expected to obtain or regain capacity, the provider 

shall document annually that it has reviewed the 

individual's capacity to make decisions and whether there 

has been any change in that capacity. 

b. Providers of acute inpatient services shall determine 

the need for an evaluation of an individual's capacity to 

consent or authorize disclosure of information whenever 

the individual's condition warrants or at least at every 

treatment team meeting. Results of such reviews shall be 

documented in the treatment team notes and 

communicated to the individual and his authorized 

representative. 

4. Capacity evaluations shall be conducted in accordance 

with accepted standards of professional practice and shall 

indicate the specific type of decision for which the 

individual's capacity is being evaluated (e.g., medical) and 

shall indicate what specific type of decision the individual 

has or does not have the capacity to make. Capacity 

evaluations shall address the type of supports that might be 

used to increase the individual's decision-making 

capabilities.  
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5. If the individual or his family objects to the results of the 

qualified licensed professional's determination, the 

provider shall immediately inform the human rights 

advocate. 

a. If the individual or family member wishes to obtain an 

independent evaluation of the individual's capacity, he 

may do so at his own expense and within reasonable 

timeframes consistent with his circumstances. If the 

individual or family member cannot pay for an 

independent evaluation, the individual may request that 

the LHRC consider the need for an independent 

evaluation pursuant to 12VAC35-115-200 B. The 

provider shall take no action for which consent or 

authorization is required, except in an emergency, 

pending the results of the independent evaluation. The 

provider shall take no steps to designate an authorized 

representative until the independent evaluation is 

complete. 

b. If the independent evaluation is consistent with the 

provider's evaluation, the provider's evaluation is 

binding, and the provider shall implement it accordingly. 

c. If the independent evaluation is not consistent with the 

provider's evaluation, the matter shall be referred to the 

LHRC for review and decision under 12VAC35-115-200 

through 12VAC35-115-250 [ and 12VAC35-115-210 ]. 

Part V  

Complaint Resolution, Hearing, and Appeal Procedures  

12VAC35-115-150. General provisions.  

A. [ Any action taken by the judicial system or Court orders 

or orders or decisions entered after an ] administrative hearing 

[ bodies is are ] not subject to review under the human rights 

complaint resolution process. 

A. B. The parties to any complaint are the individual and the 

director. Each party can also have anyone else represent him 

during resolution of the complaint. The director shall make 

every effort to resolve the complaint at the earliest possible 

stage.  

B. C. Meetings, reviews, Reviews and hearings will 

generally be closed to other people unless the individual 

making the complaint requests that other people attend or if 

an open meeting is required by the Virginia Freedom of 

Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

1. The LHRC and SHRC may conduct a closed hearing to 

protect the confidentiality of persons who are not a party to 

the complaint, but only if a closed meeting is otherwise 

allowed under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (see 

§ 2.2-3711 of the Code of Virginia). 

2. If any person alleges that implementation of an LHRC 

recommendation would violate the individual's rights or 

those of other individuals, the person may file a petition for 

a hearing with the SHRC, according to 12VAC35-115-210. 

C. D. In no event shall a pending hearing, review, or appeal 

prevent a director from taking corrective action based on the 

advice of the provider's legal counsel that such action is 

required by law or he otherwise if the director thinks such 

action is correct and justified. 

D. E. The LHRC or SHRC, on the motion of any party or on 

its own motion, may, for good cause, extend any time periods 

before or after the expiration of that time period. No director 

may extend any time periods for any actions he is required to 

take under these procedures without prior approval of the 

LHRC or SHRC. 

E. F. Except in the case of emergency proceedings, if a time 

period in which action must be taken under this part is not 

extended by the LHRC or SHRC, the failure of a party to act 

within that time period shall waive that party's further rights 

under these procedures. 

F. G. In making their recommendations regarding complaint 

resolution, the LHRC and the SHRC shall identify any rights 

or regulations that the provider violated and any policies, 

practices, or conditions that contributed to the violations. 

They shall also recommend appropriate corrective actions, 

including changes in policies, practices, or conditions, to 

prevent further violations of the rights assured under these 

regulations this chapter. 

G. H. If it is impossible to carry out the recommendations of 

the LHRC or the SHRC within a specified time, the LHRC or 

the SHRC, as appropriate, shall recommend any necessary 

interim action that gives appropriate and possible immediate 

remedies. 

H. I. Any action plan submitted by the director or 

commissioner in the course of these proceedings shall fully 

address final and interim recommendations made by the 

LHRC or the SHRC and identify financial or other 

constraints, if any, that prevent efforts to fully remedy the 

violation. 

I. J. All communication with the individual during the 

complaint resolution process shall be in the manner, format, 

and language most easily understood by the individual.  

12VAC35-115-170. Complaint resolution process. 

(Repealed.)  

A. Anyone who believes that a provider has violated an 

individual's rights under these regulations may report it to the 

director or the human rights advocate for resolution. 

1. If the report is made only to the director, the director or 

his designee shall immediately notify the human rights 

advocate. If the report is made on a weekend or holiday, 

then the director or his designee shall notify the human 

rights advocate on the next business day. 

2. If the report is made only to the human rights advocate, 

the human rights advocate shall immediately notify the 

director. If the report is made on a weekend or holiday, 

then the human rights advocate shall notify the director on 

the next business day.  

3. The human rights advocate or the director or his 

designee shall discuss the report with the individual and 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 9, 2017 

1098 

notify the individual of his right to pursue a complaint 

through the process established in these regulations. The 

steps in the informal and formal complaint process 

established in these regulations shall be thoroughly 

explained to the individual. The human rights advocate or 

the director or his designee shall ask the individual if he 

understands the complaint process and the choice that he 

has before asking the individual how he wishes to pursue 

the complaint. The individual shall then be given the 

choice of pursuing the complaint through the informal or 

formal complaint process. If the individual does not make a 

choice, the complaint shall be managed through the 

informal process. 

4. The following steps apply if the complaint is pursued 

through the informal process: 

Step 1: The director or his designee shall attempt to resolve 

the complaint immediately. If the complaint is resolved, no 

further action is required. 

Step 2: If the complaint is not resolved within five working 

days, the director or his designee shall refer it for 

resolution under the formal process. The individual may 

extend the informal process five-day time frame for good 

cause. All such extensions shall be reported to the human 

rights advocate by the director or his designee. 

5. The following steps apply if the complaint is pursued 

through the formal process: 

Step 1: The director or his designee shall try to resolve 

the complaint by meeting with the individual, any 

representative the individual chooses, the human rights 

advocate, and others as appropriate within 24 hours of 

receipt of the complaint or the next business day if that 

day is a weekend or holiday. The director or his designee 

shall conduct an investigation of the complaint, if 

necessary. 

Step 2: The director or his designee shall give the 

individual and his chosen representative a written 

preliminary decision and, where appropriate, an action 

plan for resolving the complaint within 10 working days 

of receiving the complaint. Along with the action plan, 

the director shall provide written notice to the individual 

about the time frame for the individual's response 

pursuant to Step 3 of this subdivision, information on 

how to contact the human rights advocate for assistance 

with the process, and a statement the complaint will be 

closed if the individual does not respond. 

Step 3: If the individual disagrees with the director's 

preliminary decision or action plan, he can respond to the 

director in writing within five working days after 

receiving the preliminary decision and action plan. If the 

individual has not responded within five working days, 

the complaint will be closed. 

Step 4: If the individual disagrees with the preliminary 

decision or action plan and reports his disagreement to 

the director in writing within five working days after 

receiving the decision or action plan, the director shall 

investigate further as appropriate and shall make a final 

decision regarding the complaint. The director shall 

forward a written copy of his final decision and action 

plan to the individual, his chosen representative, and the 

human rights advocate within five working days after the 

director receives the individual's written response. Along 

with the action plan, the director shall provide written 

notice to the individual about the time frame for the 

individual's response pursuant to Step 5 of this 

subdivision, information about how to contact the human 

rights advocate for assistance with the process, and a 

statement that if the individual does not respond that the 

complaint will be closed. 

Step 5: If the individual disagrees with the director's final 

decision or action plan, he may file a petition for a 

hearing by the LHRC using the procedures prescribed in 

12VAC35-115-180. If the individual has accepted the 

relief offered by the director, the matter is not subject to 

further review. 

B. If at any time during the formal complaint process the 

human rights advocate concludes that there is substantial risk 

that serious or irreparable harm will result if the complaint is 

not resolved immediately, the human rights advocate shall 

inform the director, the provider, the provider's governing 

body, and the LHRC. Steps 1 through 5 of subdivision A 5 of 

this section shall not be followed. Instead, the LHRC shall 

conduct a hearing according to the special procedures for 

emergency hearings in 12VAC35-115-180. 

12VAC35-115-175. Human rights complaint process. 

A. Each individual has a right to: 

1. Make a complaint that the provider has violated any of 

the rights assured under this chapter; 

2. Have a timely and fair review of any complaint in 

accordance with this chapter and the program's human 

rights complaint resolution policies and procedures; 

3. Have someone file a complaint on his behalf; 

4. Use these and other complaint procedures; and 

5. Make a complaint under any other applicable law, 

including to the protection and advocacy agency. 

B. The individual shall: 

1. Be contacted by the director or the director's designee 

regarding the complaint within 24 hours; 

2. Have access to a human rights advocate for assistance 

with the complaint; 

3. Be protected from retaliation and harm; 

4. Have the complaint reviewed, investigated, and resolved 

as soon as possible; 

5. Receive a report with the director's decision and action 

plan within 10 working days; and 
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6. Be notified in writing of his right to and the process for 

appealing the director's decision and action plan to the 

LHRC. 

C. Upon receipt of a complaint, providers shall: 

1. Notify the department of the complaint as soon as 

possible, but no later than the next business day; 

2. [ Ensure that the director or the director's designee 

contacts the individual regarding the complaint within 24 

hours; 

3. ] Initiate an impartial investigation into, or resolution of, 

the complaint as soon as possible, but no later than the next 

business day; 

[ 3. 4. ] Take all steps necessary to ensure that individuals 

involved in the complaint are protected from retaliation 

and harm; 

[ 4. 5. ] Assist the individual making a complaint in 

understanding the human rights complaint process, the 

provider's complaint resolution policies and procedures, 

and the confidentiality of involved information;  

[ 5. 6. ] Ensure that all communications to the individual 

are in the manner, format, and language most easily 

understood by the individual; 

[ 6. 7. ] Adhere to the reporting requirements in 12VAC35-

115-230; and 

[ 7. 8. ] Report the director's decision and action plan 

within 10 working days to the individual, authorized 

representative, if applicable, and human rights advocate. 

D. All providers shall have complaint resolution policies and 

procedures that address all of the requirements of [ 

subsection subsections ] C [ and E ] of this section.  

E. Provider complaint resolution policies and procedures 

shall be in writing and approved by the department prior to 

implementation. The policies and procedures shall: 

1. Ensure that anyone who believes that a provider has 

violated an individual's rights under this chapter can report 

it to the director or the human rights advocate for 

resolution; 

2. Ensure that employees shall not take, threaten to take, 

permit, or condone any action (i) to punish or retaliate 

against anyone filing a complaint or (ii) to prevent anyone 

from filing or helping an individual file a complaint either 

under this chapter or with an outside entity; 

3. Ensure that every attempt is made to resolve an 

individual's complaint as quickly as possible; 

4. Provide opportunities for timely negotiation and 

resolution for all complaints, including the additional 

requirements related to abuse, neglect, or exploitation in 

subsection F of this section; 

5. Establish a process for designating the director's 

responsibilities to ensure timely complaint reporting and 

resolution; 

6. Detail the program's complaint review or investigation 

process, including (i) specific actions the program will take 

to protect the individual and gather and document relevant 

information and (ii) how and when the individual and his 

authorized representative, if applicable, will receive 

updates on the progress of the review; 

7. Detail notification requirements and deadlines including 

procedures for providing: 

a. The program's complaint policies and procedures to all 

individuals and authorized representatives at admission 

to service; [ and ]  

b. Written notification to the individual regarding his 

right to and the process to appeal the director's decision 

and action plan to the LHRC; and 

8. Detail staff training requirements regarding the 

program's complaint resolution process and requirements. 

F. Additional requirements for complaints involving abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation: 

1. The program director shall take immediate steps to 

protect the individual until the investigation is complete, 

including appropriate personnel actions. 

2. Any instance of seclusion or restraint that does not 

comply with this chapter or an approved variance, or that 

results in injury to an individual, shall be reported to the 

authorized representative, as applicable, and the 

department in accordance with the requirements for 

reporting allegations of abuse. 

3. The program director shall notify the department and 

authorized representative, if applicable, of an allegation of 

abuse or neglect within 24 hours of the receipt of the 

allegation. 

4. The program director shall ensure that the investigation 

is conducted by a person trained to do investigations and 

who is not involved in the issues under investigation. 

5. The investigator shall provide a written report of the 

results of the investigation of abuse or neglect to the 

director and to the human rights advocate within 10 

working days from the date the investigation began unless 

an extension has been granted. 

6. The program director shall decide, based on the 

investigator's report and any other available information, 

whether the abuse, neglect, or exploitation occurred. 

Unless otherwise provided by law, the standard for 

deciding whether abuse, neglect, or exploitation has 

occurred is preponderance of the evidence. 

7. The program director shall submit the final decision and 

action plan, if applicable, to the individual, authorized 

representative, if applicable, and human rights advocate 

within 10 working days of its completion. 

G. If the human rights advocate concludes that there is 

substantial risk that serious or irreparable harm will result if 

the complaint is not resolved immediately, the human rights 
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advocate shall inform the director, the provider's governing 

body, and the LHRC. The LHRC shall conduct a hearing 

according to the special procedures for emergency hearings in 

12VAC35-115-190. 

H. The director shall cooperate fully with any abuse or 

neglect complaint investigation conducted by a local 

department of social services. 

I. If at any time the director has reason to suspect that the 

abusive, neglectful, or exploitive act is a crime and that it 

occurred on the program premises, the director or designee 

shall immediately contact the appropriate law-enforcement 

authorities and cooperate fully with any investigation that 

may result. 

12VAC35-115-180. Local Human Rights Committee 

human rights committee hearing and review procedures.  

A. Any individual or his authorized representative who does 

not accept the relief offered by the director or disagrees with 

(i) a director's final decision and action plan resulting from 

the complaint resolution; (ii) a director's final action 

following a report of abuse, neglect, or exploitation; or (iii) a 

director's final decision following a complaint of 

discrimination in the provision of services may request an 

LHRC hearing by following the steps provided in subsections 

B through I of this section. Any individual or his authorized 

representative who disagrees with a director's final decision 

or action plan resulting from any complaint resolution process 

under this chapter may request an LHRC hearing by 

following the process described in this section. 

B. Step 1: The individual or his authorized representative 

must shall file the petition for a hearing with the chairperson 

of the LHRC within 10 working days of from receipt of the 

director's action plan or final decision on the complaint. 

1. The petition for hearing must shall be in writing. It 

should shall contain all facts and arguments surrounding 

the complaint and reference any section of the regulations 

this chapter that the individual believes the provider 

violated. 

2. The human rights advocate or any person the individual 

chooses may help the individual in filing the petition. If the 

individual chooses a person other than the human rights 

advocate to help him, he and his chosen representative may 

request the human rights advocate's assistance in filing the 

petition. 

C. Step 2: The LHRC chair shall forward a copy of the 

petition to the director and the human rights advocate as soon 

as he receives it. A copy of the petition shall also be 

forwarded to the provider's governing body. 

D. Step 3: Within five working days, the director shall 

submit to the LHRC: 

1. A written response to everything contained in the 

petition; and 

2. A copy of the entire written record of the complaint. 

E. Step 4: The LHRC shall hold a hearing within 20 working 

days of receiving the petition. hearing procedures: 

1. The LHRC shall hold a hearing within 20 working days 

of receiving the petition. 

2. The parties shall have at least five working days' notice 

of the hearing. 

2. 3. The director or his designee shall attend the hearing. 

3. 4. The individual or his authorized representative 

making the complaint shall attend the hearing. 

5. The hearing is an informal process and, as such, the 

rules of [ legal proceedings evidence ] are not applicable. 

4. 6. At the hearing, the parties and chosen representatives 

and designees have the right to present witnesses and other 

evidence and the opportunity to be heard. 

7. The hearing shall be conducted in a nonadversarial 

manner. 

a. Each party shall be provided the opportunity to present 

its facts. 

b. Each party shall direct questions to the LHRC rather 

than to the other party. 

c. The LHRC shall ask questions, as appropriate, to each 

party. 

F. Step 5: Within 10 working days after the hearing ends, 

the LHRC shall give its written findings of fact and 

recommendations to the parties and their representatives. 

Whenever appropriate, the LHRC shall identify information 

that it believes the director shall take into account in making 

decisions concerning discipline or termination of personnel. 

G. Step 6: Within five working days of receiving the 

LHRC's findings and recommendations, the director shall 

give the individual, the individual's chosen representative, the 

human rights advocate, the governing body, and the LHRC a 

written action plan he intends to take implement to respond to 

the LHRC's findings and recommendations. Along with the 

action plan, the director shall provide written notice to the 

individual about the time frame timeframe for the individual's 

response pursuant to Step 7 (subsection H of this section) and 

a statement that if the individual does not respond that, then 

the complaint will be closed. The plan shall not be 

implemented for five working days after it is submitted, 

unless the individual agrees to its implementation sooner. 

H. Step 7: The individual, his chosen representative, the 

human rights advocate, or the LHRC may object to the action 

plan within five working days by stating the objection and 

what the director can do to resolve the objection. 

1. If an objection is made, the director may not implement 

the action plan, or until the objection is resolved. The 

provider may, however, implement only that any portion of 

the plan that to which the individual making the complaint 

agrees to, until he resolves the objection as requested or 

appeals to the SHRC for a decision under 12VAC35-115-

210. 
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2. If no one objects to the action plan, the director shall 

begin to implement the plan on the sixth working day after 

he submitted it, or as otherwise provided in the plan. 

I. Step 8: If an objection to the action plan is made and the 

director does not resolve the objection to the action plan to 

the individual's satisfaction within two working days 

following its receipt by the director, the individual may 

appeal to the SHRC under 12VAC35-115-210. 

12VAC35-115-190. Special procedures for emergency 

hearings by the LHRC.  

A. If the human rights advocate informs the LHRC of a 

substantial risk that serious and irreparable harm will result if 

a complaint is not resolved immediately, the LHRC shall hold 

and conclude a preliminary hearing within 72 hours of 

receiving this information. 

1. The director or his designee and the human rights 

advocate shall attend the hearing. The individual and his 

authorized representative may attend the hearing. 

2. The hearing shall be conducted according to the 

procedures in 12VAC35-115-180, but it shall be concluded 

conducted on an expedited basis. 

B. At the end of the hearing, the LHRC shall make 

preliminary findings and, if a violation is found, shall make 

preliminary recommendations to the director, the provider, 

and the provider's governing body. 

C. The director shall formulate and carry out an action plan 

within 24 hours of receiving the LHRC's preliminary 

recommendations. A copy of the plan shall be sent to the 

human rights advocate, the individual, his authorized 

representative, and the governing body. 

D. If the individual or the human rights advocate objects 

within 24 hours to the LHRC findings or recommendations or 

to the director's action plan, the LHRC shall conduct a full 

hearing within five working days of the objection, following 

the procedures outlined in 12VAC35-115-180. This objection 

shall be made in writing to the LHRC chairperson, with a 

copy sent to the director. 

E. Either party may appeal the LHRC's decision to the 

SHRC under 12VAC35-115-210. 

12VAC35-115-200. Special procedures for LHRC reviews 

involving consent and authorization.  

A. The individual, his authorized representative, or anyone 

acting on the individual's behalf may request in writing that 

the LHRC review the following situations and issue a 

decision: 

1. If an individual his authorized representative objects at 

any time to the appointment of a specific person as his 

authorized representative or any decision for which 

consent or authorization is required and has been given by 

his authorized representative, other than a legal guardian, 

he may ask the LHRC to decide whether his capacity was 

properly evaluated, the authorized representative was 

properly appointed, or his authorized representative's 

decision was made based on the individual's basic values 

and any preferences previously expressed by the individual 

to the extent that they are known, and if unknown or 

unclear in the individual's best interests. 

a. The provider shall take no action for which consent or 

authorization is required if the individual objects, except 

in an emergency or as otherwise permitted by law, 

pending the LHRC review. 

b. If the LHRC determines that the individual's capacity 

was properly evaluated, the authorized representative is 

properly designated, or the authorized representative's 

decision was made based on the individual's basic values 

and any preferences previously expressed by the 

individual to the extent that they are known, or if 

unknown or unclear in the individual's best interests, then 

the provider may proceed according to the decision of the 

authorized representative. 

c. If the LHRC determines that the individual's capacity 

was not properly evaluated or the authorized 

representative was not properly designated, then the 

provider shall take no action for which consent is 

required except in an emergency or as otherwise required 

or permitted by law, until the capacity review and 

authorized representative designation is are properly 

done. 

d. If the LHRC determines that the authorized 

representative's decision was not made based on the 

individual's basic values and any preferences preference 

previously expressed by the individual to the extent 

known, and if unknown or unclear, made in the 

individual's best interests, then the provider shall take 

steps to remove the authorized representative pursuant to 

12VAC35-115-146. 

2. If an individual or his family member has obtained an 

independent evaluation of the individual's capacity to 

consent to treatment or services or to participate in human 

research under 12VAC35-115-70, or to authorize the 

disclosure of information under 12VAC35-115-90 

12VAC35-115-80, and the opinion of that evaluator 

conflicts with the opinion of the provider's evaluator, the 

LHRC may be requested to decide which evaluation will 

control. 

a. If the LHRC agrees that the individual lacks the 

capacity to consent to treatment or services or authorize 

disclosure of information, the director may begin or 

continue treatment or research or disclose information, 

but only with the appropriate consent or authorization of 

the authorized representative. The LHRC shall advise the 

individual of his right to appeal this determination to the 

SHRC under 12VAC35-115-210. 

b. If the LHRC does not agree that the individual lacks 

the capacity to consent to treatment or services or 

authorize disclosure of information, the director shall not 
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begin any treatment or research, or disclose information 

without the individual's consent or authorization, or shall 

take immediate steps to discontinue any actions begun 

without the consent or authorization of the individual. 

The director may appeal to the SHRC under 12VAC35-

115-210 but may not take any further action until the 

SHRC issues its opinion. 

3. If a director makes a decision that affects an individual 

and the individual believes that the decision requires his 

personal consent or authorization or that of his authorized 

representative, he may object and ask the LHRC to decide 

whether consent or authorization is required. 

Regardless of the individual's capacity to consent to 

treatment or services or to authorize disclosure of 

information, if the LHRC determines that a decision made 

by a director requires consent or authorization that was not 

obtained, the director shall immediately rescind the stop 

such action unless and until such consent or authorization 

is obtained. The director may appeal to the SHRC under 

12VAC35-115-210 but may not take any further action 

until the SHRC issues its opinion. 

B. Before making such a decision, the LHRC shall review 

the action proposed by the director, any determination of lack 

of capacity, the opinion of the independent evaluator if 

applicable, and the individual's or his authorized 

representative's reasons for objecting to that determination. 

To facilitate its review, the LHRC may ask that a physician or 

licensed clinical psychologist not employed by the provider 

evaluate the individual at the provider's expense and give an 

opinion about his capacity to consent to treatment or to 

authorize disclosure of information. 

The LHRC shall notify all parties and the human rights 

advocate of the decision within 10 working days of the initial 

request. 

12VAC35-115-210. State Human Rights Committee 

appeals procedures.  

A. Any party may appeal to the SHRC if he is not satisfied 

disagrees with any of the following: 

1. An LHRC's final findings of fact, conclusions, and 

recommendations following a hearing; 

2. A director's final action plan following an LHRC 

hearing; 

3. An LHRC's final decision regarding the capacity of an 

individual to consent to treatment, services, or research or 

to authorize disclosure of information; or 

4. An LHRC's final decision concerning whether consent 

or authorization is needed for the director to take a certain 

action. 

The steps for filing an appeal are provided in subsections B 

[ through, C, and ] I D of this section. 

B. Step 1: Appeals shall be filed in writing with the SHRC 

by a party within 10 working days of receipt of the final 

decision or action plan. 

1. The appeal shall explain the reasons for disagreement 

with the final decision or action is not satisfactory plan. 

2. The human rights advocate or any other person may help 

in filing the appeal. If the individual chooses a person other 

than the human rights advocate to help him, he and his 

chosen representative may request the human rights 

advocate's help in filing the appeal. 

3. The party appealing must shall give a copy of the appeal 

to the other party, the human rights advocate, and the 

LHRC. 

4. If the director is the party appealing, he shall first 

request and get written permission to appeal from the 

commissioner or governing body of the provider, as 

appropriate. If the director does not get this written 

permission and note the appeal within 10 working days, his 

right to appeal is waived. 

C. Step 2: If the director is appealing, the individual may file 

a written statement with the SHRC within five working days 

after receiving a copy of the appeal. If the individual is 

appealing, the director shall file a written statement with the 

SHRC within five working days after receiving a copy of the 

appeal. 

D. Step 3: Within five working days of noting or being 

notified of an appeal, the director shall forward a complete 

record of the LHRC hearing to the SHRC. The record shall 

include, at a minimum: 

1. The original petition or information filed with the LHRC 

and any statement filed by the director in response; 

2. Parts of the individual's services record that the LHRC 

considered and any other parts of the services record 

submitted to, but not considered by, the LHRC that either 

party considers relevant; 

3. All written documents and materials presented to and 

considered by the LHRC, including any independent 

evaluations conducted; 

4. A tape or transcript of the LHRC proceedings, if 

available; 

5. The LHRC's findings of fact, conclusions, and 

recommendations; 

6. The director's action plan, if any; and 

7. Any written objections to the action plan or its 

implementation. 

E. Step 4: The SHRC shall hear the appeal at its next 

scheduled meeting after the chairperson receives the appeal. 

1. The SHRC shall give the parties at least 10 working 

days' notice of the appeal hearing. 

2. [ The SHRC shall notify the Office of the State Inspector 

General (§ 2.2-308 of the Code of Virginia) of the appeal. 
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3. ] The following rules govern appeal hearings: 

a. The SHRC shall not hear any new evidence. 

b. The SHRC is bound by the LHRC's findings of fact 

subject to subdivision 3 of this subsection unless it makes 

a determination that those findings of fact are clearly 

wrong or that the hearing procedures of the LHRC were 

inadequate. 

c. The SHRC shall limit its review to whether the facts, 

as found by the LHRC, establish a violation of these 

regulations this chapter and a determination of whether 

the LHRC's recommendations or the action plan 

adequately address the alleged violation. 

d. All parties and their representatives shall have the 

opportunity to appear before the SHRC to present their 

positions and answer questions the SHRC may have. 

[ e. The SHRC shall notify the Office of the State 

Inspector General (§ 2.2-308 of the Code of Virginia) of 

the appeal. 

3. 4. ] If the SHRC decides that the LHRC's findings of 

fact are clearly wrong or that the hearing procedures 

employed by the LHRC were inadequate, the SHRC may: 

a. Send the case back to the LHRC for another hearing to 

be completed within a time period specified by the 

SHRC; or 

b. Conduct its own fact-finding hearing. If the SHRC 

chooses to conduct its own fact-finding hearing, it may 

appoint a subcommittee of at least three of its members 

as fact finders. The fact-finding hearing shall be 

conducted within 30 working days of the SHRC's initial 

hearing. 

In either case, the parties shall have 15 working days' 

notice of the date of the hearing and the opportunity to be 

heard and to present witnesses and other evidence. 

F. Step 5: Within 20 working days after the SHRC appeal 

hearing, the SHRC shall submit a report, decision containing 

its findings of fact, if applicable, and its conclusions and 

recommendations to the commissioner and to the provider's 

governing body, with copies to the parties, the LHRC, and the 

human rights advocate. 

G. Step 6: Within 10 working days after receiving the 

SHRC's report decision, in the case of appeals involving a 

state facility, the commissioner shall submit an outline of 

actions to be taken in response to the SHRC's 

recommendations. In the case of appeals involving CSBs and 

private providers, the commissioner and the provider's 

governing body director shall each outline in writing the 

action or actions they that will take be taken in response to 

the recommendations of the SHRC. They shall also explain 

any reasons for not carrying out any of the recommended 

actions. Copies of their responses shall be forwarded to the 

SHRC, the LHRC, the director, the human rights advocate, 

and the individual. 

H. Step 7: If the SHRC objects in writing to the 

commissioner's or governing body's director's proposed 

actions, or both, their actions shall be postponed. The 

commissioner or governing body, or both, director shall meet 

with the SHRC at its next regularly scheduled meeting to 

attempt to arrange a mutually agreeable resolution. 

I. Step 8: Final determination regarding the action plan shall 

be as follows: 

1. In the case of services provided directly by the 

department, the commissioner's action plan shall be final 

and binding on all parties. However, when the SHRC 

believes the commissioner's action plan is incompatible 

with the purpose of these regulations this chapter, it shall 

notify the board, the protection and advocacy agency, 

and the Office of the State Inspector General (§ 2.2-308 

of the Code of Virginia). 

2. In the case of services delivered by all other providers, 

the action plan of the provider's governing body director 

shall be reviewed by the commissioner. If the 

commissioner determines that the provider has failed to 

develop and carry out an acceptable action plan, the 

commissioner shall notify the protection and advocacy 

agency and shall inform the SHRC of the sanctions the 

department will impose against the provider. 

J. Step 9: Upon completion of the process outlined in 

subsections B through I of this section, the SHRC shall notify 

the parties and the human rights advocate of the final 

outcome of the complaint. 

Part VII  

Reporting Requirements  

12VAC35-115-230. Provider requirements for reporting 

to the department. 

A. Providers shall collect, maintain, and report the following 

information concerning abuse, neglect, and exploitation: 

1. The director of a facility operated by the department 

shall report allegations of abuse and neglect via the 

[ department's ] web-based reporting application in 

accordance with all applicable operating instructions issued 

by the commissioner or his designee. 

2. The director of a service licensed or funded by the 

department shall report each allegation of abuse or neglect 

to the assigned human rights advocate via the 

[ department's ] web-based reporting application within 24 

hours from the of receipt of the allegation (see 12VAC35-

115-50) 12VAC35-115-175). 

3. The investigating authority shall provide a written report 

of the results of the investigation of abuse or neglect to the 

director and human rights advocate [ via the department's 

web-based reporting application ] within 10 working days 

from the date the investigation began unless an exemption 

extension has been granted by the department (see 

12VAC35-115-50) 12VAC35-115-175). This report shall 

include: 
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a. Whether abuse, neglect, or exploitation occurred; 

b. The type of abuse; and 

c. Whether the act resulted in physical or psychological 

injury. 

B. Providers shall collect, maintain, and report the following 

information concerning deaths and serious injuries: 

1. The director of a facility operated by the department 

shall report to the department deaths and serious injuries in 

accordance with all applicable operating instructions issued 

by the commissioner or his designee. 

2. The director of a service licensed or funded by the 

department shall report deaths and serious injuries in 

writing to the department within 24 hours of discovery and 

by telephone to the authorized representative within 24 

hours. 

3. All reports of death and serious injuries shall include: 

a. Date and place of the death or serious injury; 

b. Nature of the injuries and treatment required; and 

c. Circumstances of the death or serious injury. 

C. Providers shall collect, maintain and report the following 

information concerning seclusion and restraint: 

1. The director of a facility operated by the department 

shall report each instance of seclusion or restraint or both 

in accordance with all applicable operating instructions 

issued by the commissioner or his designee. 

2. The director of a service licensed or funded by the 

department shall submit an annual report of each instance 

of seclusion or restraint or both by the 15th of January each 

year, or more frequently if requested by the department. 

3. Each instance of seclusion or restraint or both shall be 

compiled on a monthly basis and the report shall include: 

a. Type(s) Type or types, to include: 

(1) Physical restraint (manual hold); 

(2) Mechanical restraint; 

(3) Pharmacological restraint; and or 

(4) Seclusion. 

b. Rationale for the use of seclusion or restraint, to 

include: 

(1) Behavioral purpose; 

(2) Medical purpose; or 

(3) Protective purpose. 

c. Duration of the seclusion or restraint, as follows: 

(1) The duration of seclusion and restraint used for 

behavioral purposes is defined as the actual time the 

individual is in seclusion or restraint from the time of 

initiation of seclusion or restraint until the individual is 

released. 

(2) The duration of restraint for medical and protective 

purposes is defined as the length of the episode as 

indicated in the order. 

4. Any instance of seclusion or restraint that does not 

comply with these regulations this chapter or approved 

variances, or that results in injury to an individual, shall be 

reported to the authorized representative, as applicable, and 

the assigned human rights advocate to the department via 

the [ department's ] web-based reporting application within 

24 hours. 

D. The director Providers shall provide report to the human 

rights advocate and the LHRC [ when requested ] information 

on the type, resolution level, and findings of each complaint 

of a human rights violation, including a description and its 

conclusions, and report on implementation of variances, in 

accordance with the LHRC meeting schedule [ or as 

requested by the advocate ]. 

E. Reports required under this section shall be submitted to 

the department on forms or in an automated format or both 

developed by the department. 

F. The department shall compile all data reported under this 

section and make this data available to the public and the 

Office of the State Inspector General (§ 2.2-308 of the Code 

of Virginia) upon request. 

1. The department shall provide the compiled data in 

writing or by electronic means. 

2. The department shall remove all provider-identifying 

information and all information that could be used to 

identify a person as an individual receiving services. 

G. In the reporting, compiling, and releasing of information 

and statistical data provided under this section, the 

department and all providers shall take all measures necessary 

to ensure that any information identifying individuals is not 

released disclosed to the public, including encryption of data 

transferred by electronic means. 

H. Nothing in this section is to be construed as requiring the 

reporting of proceedings, minutes, records, or reports of any 

committee or nonprofit entity providing a centralized 

credentialing service which that are identified as privileged 

pursuant to § 8.01-581.17 of the Code of Virginia. 

I. Providers shall report to the Department of Health 

Professions, Enforcement Division, violations of these 

regulations this chapter that constitute reportable conditions 

under §§ 54.1-2400.4, 54.1-2400.6, and 54.1-2909 of the 

Code of Virginia state law. 

Part IX  

Responsibilities and Duties  

12VAC35-115-250. Offices, composition and duties. 

(Repealed.)  

A. Providers and their directors shall: 
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1. Identify a person or persons accountable for helping 

individuals to exercise their rights and resolve complaints 

regarding services. 

2. Comply with all state laws governing the reporting of 

abuse and neglect and all procedures set forth in these 

regulations for reporting allegations of abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation. 

3. Require competency-based training on these regulations 

upon employment and at least annually thereafter. 

Documentation of such competency shall be maintained in 

the employee's personnel file. 

4. Take all steps necessary to assure compliance with these 

regulations in all services provided. 

5. Communicate information about the availability of a 

human rights advocate to individuals and authorized 

representatives. 

6. Assure one LHRC affiliation within the region as 

defined by the SHRC. The SHRC may require multi-site 

providers to have more than one LHRC affiliation within a 

region if the SHRC determines that additional affiliations 

are necessary to protect individuals' human rights. 

7. Assure that the appropriate staff attend LHRC meetings 

in accordance with the LHRC meeting schedule to report 

on human rights activities, to impart information to the 

LHRC at the request of the human rights advocate or 

LHRC, and discuss specific concerns or issues with the 

LHRC. 

8. Cooperate with the human rights advocate and the 

LHRC to investigate and correct conditions or practices 

interfering with the free exercise of individuals' human 

rights and make sure that all employees cooperate with the 

human rights advocate and the LHRC in carrying out their 

duties under these regulations. Notwithstanding the 

requirements for complaints pursuant to Part V 

(12VAC35-115-150 et seq.) of this chapter, the provider 

shall submit a written response indicating intended action 

to any written recommendation made by the human rights 

advocate or LHRC within 15 days of the receipt of such 

recommendation. 

9. Provide the advocate unrestricted access to individuals 

and individual services records whenever the human rights 

advocate deems access necessary to carry out rights 

protection, complaint resolution, and advocacy. 

10. Submit to the human rights advocate for review and 

comment any proposed policies, procedures, or practices 

that may affect individual human rights. 

11. Comply with requests by the SHRC, LHRC, and 

human rights advocate for information, policies, 

procedures, and written reports regarding compliance with 

these regulations. 

12. Name a liaison to the LHRC, who shall give the LHRC 

suitable meeting accommodations, clerical support and 

equipment, and assure the availability of records and 

employee witnesses upon the request of the LHRC. 

Oversight and assistance with the LHRC's substantive 

implementation of these regulations shall be provided by 

the SHRC. See subsection E of this section. 

13. Submit applications for variances to these regulations 

only as a last resort. 

14. Post in program locations information about the 

existence and purpose of the human rights program. 

15. Not influence or attempt to influence the appointment 

of any person to an LHRC associated with the provider or 

director. 

16. Perform any other duties required under these 

regulations. 

B. Employees of the provider shall, as a condition of 

employment: 

1. Become familiar with these regulations, comply with 

them in all respects, and help individuals understand and 

assert their rights. 

2. Protect individuals from any form of abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation (i) by not abusing, neglecting or exploiting 

any individual; (ii) by not permitting or condoning anyone 

else abusing, neglecting, or exploiting any individual; and 

(iii) by reporting all suspected abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation to the director. Protecting individuals 

receiving services from abuse also includes using the 

minimum force necessary to restrain an individual. 

3. Cooperate with any investigation, meeting, hearing, or 

appeal held under these regulations. Cooperation includes 

giving statements or sworn testimony. 

4. Perform any other duties required under these 

regulations. 

C. The human rights advocate shall: 

1. Represent any individual making a complaint or, upon 

request, consult with and help any other representative the 

individual chooses. 

2. Monitor the implementation of an advocacy system for 

individuals receiving services from the provider or 

providers to which the advocate is assigned. 

3. Promote and monitor provider compliance with these 

and other applicable individual rights laws, regulations, 

and policies. 

4. Investigate and try to prevent or correct, informally or 

formally, any alleged rights violations by interviewing, 

mediating, negotiating, advising, and consulting with 

providers and their respective governing bodies, directors, 

and employees. 

5. Whenever necessary, file a written complaint with the 

LHRC for an individual or, where general conditions or 

practices interfere with individuals' rights, for a group of 

individuals. 
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6. Investigate and examine all conditions or practices that 

may interfere with the free exercise of individuals' rights. 

7. Help the individual or the individual's chosen 

representative during any meeting, hearing, appeal, or 

other proceeding under these regulations unless the 

individual or his chosen representative chooses not to 

involve the human rights advocate. 

8. Provide orientation, training, and technical assistance to 

the LHRCs for which he is responsible. 

9. Tell the LHRC about any recommendations made to the 

director, the provider, the provider's governing body, the 

state human rights director, or the department for changes 

in policies, procedures, or practices that have the potential 

to adversely affect the rights of individuals. 

10. Make recommendations to the state human rights 

director concerning the employment and supervision of 

other advocates where appropriate. 

11. Submit regular reports to the state human rights 

director, the LHRC, and the SHRC about provider 

implementation of and compliance with these regulations. 

12. Provide consultation to individuals, providers and their 

governing bodies, directors, and employees regarding 

individuals' rights, providers' duties, and complaint 

resolution. 

13. Perform any other duties required under these 

regulations. 

D. The Local Human Rights Committee shall: 

1. Consist of five or more members appointed by the 

SHRC. 

a. Membership shall be broadly representative of 

professional and consumer interests. At least two 

members shall be individuals who are receiving or have 

received public or private mental health, mental 

retardation, or substance abuse treatment or habilitation 

services within five years of their initial appointment. At 

least one-third of the members shall be consumers or 

family members of consumers. Remaining appointments 

shall include persons with interest, knowledge, or 

training in the mental health, mental retardation, or 

substance abuse field. 

b. At least one member shall be a health care provider. 

c. No current employee of the department or a provider 

shall serve as a member of any LHRC that serves an 

oversight function for the employing facility or provider. 

d. Initial appointments to an LHRC shall be staggered, 

with approximately one-third of the members appointed 

for a term of three years, approximately one-third for a 

term of two years, and the remainder for a term of one 

year. After that, all appointments shall be for a term of 

three years. 

e. A person may be appointed for no more than two 

consecutive three-year terms. A person appointed to fill a 

vacancy may serve out that term and then be eligible for 

two additional consecutive terms. 

f. Nominations for membership to LHRCs shall be 

submitted directly to the SHRC through the state human 

rights director at the department's Office of Human 

Rights. 

2. Permit affiliations of local providers in accordance with 

the recommendations from the human rights advocate. 

SHRC approval is required for the denial of an affiliation 

request. 

3. Receive complaints of alleged rights violations filed by 

or for individuals receiving services from providers with 

which the LHRC is affiliated and hold hearings according 

to the procedures set forth in Part V (12VAC35-115-150 et 

seq.) of this chapter. 

4. Conduct investigations as requested by the SHRC. 

5. Upon the request of the human rights advocate, provider, 

director, or an individual or individuals, or on its own 

initiative, an LHRC may review any existing or proposed 

policies, procedures, practices, or behavioral treatment 

plans that could jeopardize the rights of individuals 

receiving services from the provider with which the LHRC 

is affiliated. In conducting this review, the LHRC may 

consult with any human rights advocate, employee of the 

provider, or anyone else. After this review, the LHRC shall 

make recommendations to the director concerning changes 

in these plans, policies, procedures, and practices. 

6. Receive, review, and act on applications for variances to 

these regulations according to 12VAC35-115-220. 

7. Receive, review and comment on all behavioral 

treatment plans involving the use of restraint or time out 

and seclusion, restraint, or time out policies for affiliated 

providers. 

8. Adopt written bylaws that address procedures for 

conducting business, electing the chairperson, secretary, 

and other officers, designating standing committees, and 

setting the frequency of meetings. 

9. Elect from its own members a chairperson to coordinate 

the activities of the LHRC and to preside at regular 

committee meetings and any hearings held pursuant to 

these regulations. 

10. Conduct a meeting every quarter or more frequently as 

necessary to adhere to all time lines as set forth in these 

regulations. 

11. Require members to recuse themselves from all cases 

wherein they have a financial or other conflict of interest. 

12. The LHRC may delegate summary decision-making 

authority to a subcommittee when expedited decisions are 

required before the next scheduled LHRC meeting to avoid 

seriously compromising an individual's quality of care, 

habilitation, or quality of life. The decision of the 
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subcommittee shall be reviewed by the full LHRC at its 

next meeting. 

13. Perform any other duties required under these 

regulations. 

E. The State Human Rights Committee shall: 

1. Consist of nine members appointed by the board. 

a. Members shall be broadly representative of 

professional and consumer interests and of geographic 

areas in the Commonwealth. At least two members shall 

be individuals who are receiving or have received public 

or private mental health, mental retardation, or substance 

abuse treatment or habilitation services within five years 

of their initial appointment. At least one-third of the 

members shall be consumers or family members of 

consumers. Remaining appointments shall include 

persons with interest, knowledge, or training in the 

mental health, mental retardation, or substance abuse 

field. 

b. At least one member shall be a health care 

professional. 

c. No member can be an employee or board member of 

the department or a CSB. 

d. If there is a vacancy, interim appointments may be 

made for the remainder of the unexpired term. 

e. A person may be appointed for no more than two 

consecutive three-year terms. A person appointed to fill a 

vacancy may serve out that term, and then be eligible for 

two additional consecutive terms. 

2. Elect a chairperson from its own members who shall: 

a. Coordinate the activities of the SHRC; 

b. Preside at regular meetings, hearings, and appeals; and 

c. Have direct access to the commissioner and the board 

in carrying out these duties. 

3. Upon request of the commissioner, human rights 

advocate, provider, director, or an individual or 

individuals, or on its own initiative, a SHRC may review 

any existing or proposed policies, procedures, or practices 

that could jeopardize the rights of individuals receiving 

services from any provider. In conducting this review, the 

SHRC may consult with any human rights advocate, 

employee of the director, or anyone else. After this review, 

the SHRC shall make recommendations to the director or 

commissioner concerning changes in these policies, 

procedures, and practices. 

4. Determine the appropriate number and geographical 

boundaries of LHRCs and consolidate LHRCs serving only 

one provider into regional LHRCs whenever consolidation 

would assure greater protection of rights under these 

regulations. 

5. Appoint members of LHRCs with the advice of the 

respective LHRC, human rights advocate, and the state 

human rights director. 

6. Advise the commissioner about the employment of the 

state human rights director and human rights advocates. 

7. Conduct at least eight regular meetings per year. 

8. Review decisions of LHRCs and, if appropriate, hold 

hearings and make recommendations to the commissioner, 

the board, and providers' governing bodies regarding 

alleged violations of individuals' rights according to the 

procedures specified in these regulations. 

9. Provide oversight and assistance to LHRCs in the 

performance of their duties hereunder, including the 

development of guidance documents such as sample 

bylaws, affiliation agreements, and minutes to increase 

operational consistency among LHRCs. 

10. Review denials of LHRC affiliations. 

11. Notify the commissioner and the state human rights 

director whenever it determines that its recommendations 

in a particular case are of general interest and applicability 

to providers, human rights advocates, or LHRCs and assure 

the availability of the opinion or report to providers, human 

rights advocates, and LHRCs as appropriate. No document 

made available shall identify the name of individuals or 

employees in a particular case. 

12. Grant or deny variances according to the procedures 

specified in Part VI (12VAC35-115-220) of this chapter 

and review approved variances at least once every year. 

13. Make recommendations to the board concerning 

proposed revisions to these regulations. 

14. Make recommendations to the commissioner 

concerning revisions to any existing or proposed laws, 

regulations, policies, procedures, and practices to ensure 

the protection of individuals' rights. 

15. Review the scope and content of training programs 

designed by the department to promote responsible 

performance of the duties assigned under these regulations 

by providers, employees, human rights advocates, and 

LHRC members, and, where appropriate, make 

recommendations to the commissioner. 

16. Evaluate the implementation of these regulations and 

make any necessary and appropriate recommendations to 

the board, the commissioner, and the state human rights 

director concerning interpretation and enforcement of the 

regulations. 

17. Submit to the board and publish an annual report of its 

activities and the status of human rights in mental health, 

mental retardation, and substance abuse treatment and 

services in Virginia and make recommendations for 

improvement. 

18. Adopt written bylaws that address procedures for 

conducting business; making membership 

recommendations to the board; electing a chairperson, vice 

chairperson, secretary, and other officers; appointing 

members of LHRCs; designating standing committees and 
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their responsibilities; establishing ad hoc committees; and 

setting the frequency of meetings. 

19. Review and approve the bylaws of LHRCs. 

20. Require members to recuse themselves from all cases 

where they have a financial or other conflict of interest. 

21. Perform any other duties required under these 

regulations. 

F. The state human rights director shall: 

1. Lead the implementation of the statewide human rights 

program and make ongoing recommendations to the 

commissioner, the SHRC, and LHRCs for continuous 

improvements in the program. 

2. Advise the commissioner concerning the employment 

and retention of human rights advocates. 

3. Advise providers, directors, advocates, LHRCs, the 

SHRC, and the commissioner concerning their 

responsibilities under these regulations and other 

applicable laws, regulations, policies, and departmental 

instructions that protect individuals' rights. 

4. Organize, coordinate, and oversee training programs 

designed to promote responsible performance of the duties 

assigned under these regulations. 

5. Periodically visit service settings to monitor the free 

exercise of rights enumerated in these regulations. 

6. Supervise human rights advocates in the performance of 

their duties under these regulations. 

7. Support the SHRC and LHRCs in carrying out their 

duties under these regulations. 

8. Review LHRC decisions and recommendations for 

general applicability and provide suggestions for training 

to appropriate entities. 

9. Monitor implementation of corrective action plans 

approved by the SHRC. 

10. Perform any other duties required under these 

regulations. 

G. The commissioner shall: 

1. Employ the state human rights director after consultation 

with the SHRC. 

2. Employ advocates following consultation with the state 

human rights director. 

3. Provide or arrange for assistance and training necessary 

to carry out and enforce these regulations. 

4. Cooperate with the SHRC and the state human rights 

director to investigate providers and correct conditions or 

practices that interfere with the free exercise of individuals' 

rights. 

5. Advise and consult with the SHRC and the state human 

rights director concerning the appointment of members of 

LHRCs. 

6. Maintain current and regularly updated data and perform 

regular trend analyses to identify the need for corrective 

action in the areas of abuse, neglect, and exploitation; 

seclusion and restraint; complaints; deaths and serious 

injuries; and variance applications. 

7. Assure regular monitoring and enforcement of these 

regulations, including authorizing unannounced 

compliance reviews at any time. 

8. Perform any other duties required under these 

regulations. 

H. The board shall: 

1. Adopt regulations that further define the rights of 

individuals receiving services from providers covered by 

these regulations. 

2. Appoint members of the SHRC. 

3. Review and approve the bylaws of the SHRC. 

4. Perform any other duties required under these 

regulations. 

12VAC35-115-260. Provider and department 

responsibilities. 

A. Providers, through their directors, shall: 

1. Designate a person or persons responsible for helping 

individuals exercise their rights and resolve complaints 

regarding services; 

2. Take all steps necessary to perform duties required by, 

and ensure compliance with, this chapter in all services 

provided; 

3. Post information in program locations about the 

existence and purpose of the human rights program; 

4. Communicate information about the availability of a 

human rights advocate to individuals and authorized 

representatives, in accordance with 12VAC35-115-40 B 1 

and B 2; 

5. Ensure access, as needed, to the LHRC for all 

individuals receiving services; 

6. Provide the human rights advocate unrestricted access to 

an individual and his services records whenever the 

advocate deems access is necessary to carry out rights 

protection, complaint resolution, and advocacy on behalf 

of the individual; 

7. Require competency-based training of employees on this 

chapter upon employment and at least annually thereafter. 

Documentation of such competency shall be maintained in 

the employee's personnel file; 

8. Comply with all state laws governing the reporting of 

abuse and neglect and all procedures set forth in this 

chapter for reporting allegations of abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation; 

9. Submit to the human rights advocate for review and 

comment proposed policies, procedures, or practices that 

may affect individual human rights; 
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10. Ensure appointment of a designated liaison to, and 

appropriate staff participation with, the LHRC, as required; 

11. Cooperate with the human rights advocate and the 

LHRC to investigate and correct conditions or practices 

interfering with the free exercise of individuals' human 

rights and make sure that all employees cooperate with the 

human rights advocate, the LHRC, and the SHRC in 

carrying out their duties under this chapter; 

12. Comply with requests by the SHRC, LHRC, or human 

rights advocate for information, policies, procedures, and 

written reports regarding compliance with this chapter; 

13. Ensure the availability of records and employee 

witnesses upon the request of the LHRC or SHRC; 

14. Submit applications for variances to this chapter only 

as a last resort; and 

15. Not influence or attempt to influence the appointment 

of any person to an LHRC affiliated with the provider or 

director. 

B. [ Employees of the provider shall, as a condition of 

employment Providers shall require their employees to ]: 

1. Become familiar with this chapter, comply with it in all 

respects, and help individuals understand and assert their 

rights; 

2. Protect individuals from any form of abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation by:  

a. Not abusing, neglecting, or exploiting any individual;  

b. Using the minimum force necessary to restrain an 

individual; 

c. Not permitting or condoning anyone else abusing, 

neglecting, or exploiting any individual; and 

d. Reporting all suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation 

to the director; and 

3. Cooperate with any investigation, meeting, hearing, or 

appeal held under this chapter. Cooperation includes giving 

statements or sworn testimony. 

C. Department human rights advocates shall:  

1. Represent any individual making a complaint or, upon 

request, consult with and help any other representative the 

individual chooses; 

2. Provide training to individuals, family members, and 

providers on this chapter; 

3. Investigate and try to prevent or correct any alleged 

rights violation by interviewing, mediating, negotiating, 

advising, or consulting with providers and their respective 

governing bodies, directors, and employees; 

4. Provide orientation, training, and technical assistance to 

the LHRCs for which he is responsible; and 

5. Investigate and examine all conditions or practices that 

may interfere with the free exercise of individuals' rights. 

D. The department shall: 

1. Employ the state human rights director to lead statewide 

implementation of the human rights program; 

2. Determine, in consultation with the SHRC, the 

appropriate number and geographical boundaries of 

LHRCs; 

3. Develop information, assistance, training tools, and 

other resources for individuals and constituents on this 

chapter; 

4. Provide for regular monitoring and enforcement of this 

chapter, including conducting unannounced compliance 

reviews at any time; 

5. Cooperate with and provide support to the SHRC and 

LHRCs, including: 

a. Training SHRC and LHRC members on their 

responsibilities, roles, and functions under this chapter; 

b. Providing access to topic area consultants as needed to 

support their fulfilling of their duties under this chapter; 

and 

c. Providing necessary support for SHRC and LHRC 

investigations, meetings, and hearings; and 

6. Maintain current and regularly updated data and perform 

regular trend analyses to identify the need for corrective 

action in the areas of abuse, neglect, and exploitation; 

seclusion and restraint; complaints; deaths and serious 

injuries; and variance applications. 

12VAC35-115-270. State Human Rights Committee and 

local human rights committees responsibilities. 

A. Local human rights committees shall: 

1. Review any restriction on the rights of any individual 

imposed pursuant to 12VAC35-115-50 or 12VAC35-115-

100 that lasts longer than seven days or is imposed 

[ multiple three or more ] times during a 30-day period for 

providers within the LHRC's jurisdiction in accordance 

with 12VAC35-115-100 B 5; 

2. Review next friend designations in accordance with 

12VAC35-115-146 B 2; 

3. Hold hearings according to the procedures set forth in 

Part V (12VAC35-115-150 et seq.) of this chapter for any 

individual served by a provider under the LHRC's 

jurisdiction; 

4. Review behavioral treatment plans in accordance with 

12VAC35-115-105; 

5. Receive, review, and act on applications for variances to 

this chapter in accordance with 12VAC35-115-220; 

6. Consist of five or more members appointed by the 

SHRC. 

a. Membership shall be broadly representative of 

professional and consumer interests as required in § 37.2-

204 of the Code of Virginia. 

b. At least one member shall be a health care provider. 
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c. No current employee of the department or a provider 

shall serve as a member of any LHRC that serves an 

oversight function for the employing facility or provider. 

d. Members shall recuse themselves from all cases in 

which they have a financial or other conflict of interest. 

e. Initial appointments to an LHRC shall be staggered, 

with approximately one-third of the members appointed 

for terms of three years, approximately one-third for 

terms of two years, and the remainder for a term or terms 

of one year. After that, all appointments shall be for 

terms of three years. 

f. A person may be appointed for no more than two 

consecutive three-year terms. A person appointed to fill a 

vacancy may serve out that term and then be eligible for 

two additional consecutive terms. 

g. Nominations for membership to LHRCs shall be 

submitted directly to the SHRC through the state human 

rights director at the department's Office of Human 

Rights; 

7. Elect a chairperson from its own members who shall: 

a. Coordinate the activities of the LHRC; and 

b. Preside at regular meetings and hearings held pursuant 

to this chapter; 

8. Meet every quarter or more frequently as necessary to 

adhere to all timelines as set forth in this chapter; and 

9. Adopt written bylaws that address procedures for 

conducting business; electing the chairperson, secretary, 

and other officers; designating standing committees; and 

setting the frequency of meetings. 

B. Local human rights committees may delegate authority to 

a subcommittee when expedited decisions are required before 

the next scheduled LHRC meeting to avoid seriously 

compromising an individual's quality of care, habilitation, or 

quality of life. The decision of the subcommittee shall be 

reviewed by the full LHRC at its next meeting. 

C. The State Human Rights Committee shall: 

1. Perform the following responsibilities with respect to the 

operation of LHRCs: 

a. Appoint LHRC members with the advice of the 

respective LHRC, human rights advocate, and the state 

human rights director; 

b. Review and approve the bylaws of LHRCs; and 

c. Provide oversight to and assist LHRCs in the 

performance of their duties under this chapter, including 

the development of guidance documents; 

2. Review LHRC decisions when required by this chapter 

and, if appropriate, hold hearings and make 

recommendations to the commissioner, the board, and 

providers' governing bodies regarding alleged violations of 

individuals' rights according to the procedures specified in 

this chapter; 

3. Notify the commissioner and the state human rights 

director whenever it determines that its recommendations 

in a particular case are of general interest and applicability 

to providers, human rights advocates, or LHRCs and 

ensure that: 

a. Its recommendations are communicated to providers, 

human rights advocates, and LHRCs as appropriate; and 

b. The communication of its recommendations does not 

identify the name of individuals or employees in a 

particular case; 

4. Grant or deny variances according to the procedures 

specified in Part VI (12VAC35-115-220) of this chapter 

and review approved variances at least once every year; 

5. Submit to the board and publish an annual report of its 

activities and the status of human rights in services 

licensed, funded, or operated by the department and make 

recommendations for improvement; 

6. Evaluate the implementation of this chapter and make 

necessary and appropriate recommendations to the board, 

the commissioner, and the state human rights director 

concerning its interpretation and enforcement; 

7. Review and make recommendations to the department 

and board, as appropriate, concerning: 

a. The scope and content of training programs designed 

by the department to promote responsible performance of 

the duties assigned under this chapter; 

b. Existing or proposed policies, procedures, or practices 

that could jeopardize the rights of individuals receiving 

services from any provider; 

c. Proposed revisions to this chapter; and 

d. Revisions to existing or proposed laws, regulations, 

policies, procedures, and practices that are needed to 

ensure the protection of individuals' rights; 

8. Consist of nine members appointed by the board. 

a. Members shall be broadly representative of 

professional and consumer interests as required in § 37.2-

204 of the Code of Virginia; 

b. Members shall recuse themselves from all cases in 

which they have a financial or other conflict of interest; 

c. If there is a vacancy, interim appointments may be 

made by the board for the remainder of the unexpired 

term; 

d. A person may be appointed for no more than two 

consecutive three-year terms. A person appointed to fill a 

vacancy may serve out that term and then be eligible for 

two additional consecutive terms; and 

e. No current employee of the department, a CSB, or a 

behavioral health authority may serve as a member of the 

SHRC; 

9. Elect a chairperson from its own members who shall: 

a. Coordinate the activities of the SHRC; 
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b. Preside at regular meetings, hearings, and appeals; and 

c. Have direct access to the commissioner and the board 

in carrying out these duties; 

10. Conduct at least eight regular meetings per year; and 

11. Adopt written bylaws that address procedures for 

conducting business; making membership 

recommendations to the board; electing a chairperson, vice 

chairperson, secretary, and other officers; appointing 

members of LHRCs; designating standing committees and 

their responsibilities; establishing ad hoc committees; and 

setting the frequency of meetings. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3502; Filed December 16, 2016, 4:08 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC15-11. Public Participation 

Guidelines (amending 16VAC15-11-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 40.1-6 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 8, 2017. 

Effective Date: February 24, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Holly Raney, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street Centre, 

600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-2631, FAX (804) 786-8418, or email 

holly.raney@doli.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Pursuant to § 40.1-6 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry is 

authorized to "make such rules and regulations as may be 

necessary for the enforcement of this title."  

The amendments conform the regulation to Chapter 795 of 

the 2012 Acts of Assembly, which provides that in 

formulating any regulation or in evidentiary hearings on 

regulations, an interested party shall be entitled to be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or other qualified 

representative. 

Purpose: The purpose of this amendment is to make the 

department's Public Participation Guidelines conform to those 

of the Administrative Process Act. Participation by the public 

in the regulatory process is essential to assist the department 

in the promulgation of regulations that will protect the public 

health and safety. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

amendment was recommended by the Department of 

Planning and Budget and is intended to merely conform the 

department's Public Participation Guidelines to subsection B 

of § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia. The rulemaking is 

not expected to be controversial and is appropriate for the 

fast-track rulemaking process. 

Substance: The amendment adds a requirement for the 

department to afford interested persons an opportunity to 

present their views and be accompanied by and represented 

by counsel or other representative in the promulgation of any 

regulatory action. 

Issues: Other than conformity and consistency between law 

and regulation, there are no primary advantages 

or disadvantages to the public in implementing the amended 

provisions since it is already in the Code of Virginia. There 

are no primary advantages or disadvantages for the agency or 

the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly,
1
 the 

Department of Labor and Industry (DOLI) proposes to 

specify in this regulation that interested persons shall be 

afforded an opportunity to be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other representative when 

submitting data, views, and arguments, either orally or in 

writing, to the agency.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current Public Participation 

Guidelines state that: "In considering any nonemergency, 

nonexempt regulatory action, the agency shall afford 

interested persons an opportunity to submit data, views, and 

arguments, either orally or in writing, to the agency." DOLI 

proposes to append "and (ii) be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other representative." 

Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly added to the Code 

of Virginia § 2.2-4007.02. "Public participation guidelines" 

that interested persons also be afforded an opportunity to be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or other 

representative. Since the Code of Virginia already specifies 

that interested persons shall be afforded an opportunity to be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or other 

representative, DOLI's proposal to add this language to the 

regulation will not change the law in effect, but will be 

beneficial in that it will inform interested parties who read 

this regulation but not the statute of their legal rights 

concerning representation.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

potentially affects all individuals who comment on pending 

regulatory changes. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

does not significantly affect employment. 
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Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment does not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 

does not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment does not 

affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment does not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect other entities. 

_________________________________ 
1 See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121+ful+CHAP0795+hil 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Labor and Industry has no additional comment 

in response to the economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia, the 

amendment provides that interested persons submitting 

data, views, and arguments on a regulatory action may be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or another 

representative. 

Part III  

Public Participation Procedures  

16VAC15-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 

action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 

opportunity to (i) submit data, views, and arguments, either 

orally or in writing, to the agency; and (ii) be accompanied by 

and represented by counsel or other representative. Such 

opportunity to comment shall include an online public 

comment forum on the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 

copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 

issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 

fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 

public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 

to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 

submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 

the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 

as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 

(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 

publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 

publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 

of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 

listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 

substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 

he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 

calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 

changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 

Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 

description of public comment to all public commenters on 

the proposed regulation at least five days before final 

adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 

Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4989; Filed December 13, 2016, 8:20 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC90-19. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing (adding 18VAC90-19-10 through 

18VAC90-19-280). 

18VAC90-20. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Nursing (repealing 18VAC90-20-10 through 18VAC90-20-

460). 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121+ful+CHAP0795+hil
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18VAC90-27. Regulations for Nursing Education 

Programs (adding 18VAC90-27-10 through 18VAC90-27-

240).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 8, 2017. 

Effective Date: February 24, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 authorizes the Board of Nursing to 

promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system. 

In addition, § 54.1-3005 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Board of Nursing to approve nursing education programs.  

Purpose: The amended regulation clarifies several provisions 

that have caused confusion for applicants or approved 

education programs. To the extent the elimination of 

unworkable requirements for nursing education programs 

facilitates the approval of such programs, the proposal may 

enable programs to enroll nursing students and encourage 

hospitals to serve as clinical sites for training. Such training is 

essential for students who will be licensed nurses to protect 

the health and safety of patients and clients whom they will 

serve. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

board is using the fast-track rulemaking process because the 

changes being made to the regulations for nursing education 

programs are eliminating burdensome and problematic 

requirements. Therefore, the board would like to promulgate 

those amendments as soon as possible. The amendments to 

the regulations for licensure and practice of nurses are 

clarifying only and do not change any current requirement for 

nurses or clinical nurse specialists. There should be no 

opposition to the amendments, so a fast-track action is 

appropriate. 

Substance: 18VAC90-20 is repealed and repromulgated into 

18VAC90-19, Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Nursing, and 18VAC90-27, Regulations Governing Nursing 

Education Programs. In 18VAC90-19, requirements for 

licensure of nurses are not changed, but there are several 

amendments to clarify the national examination required for 

licensure and the educational qualifications for persons whose 

nursing education was completed in another country. 

Amendments to the sections on clinical nurse specialists do 

not change the current requirements but are consistent with 

legislation passed in the 2016 Session of the General 

Assembly. 

In 18VAC90-27, amendments delete several requirements for 

nursing education programs that have been problematic and 

include the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia as 

the approving body for certain nursing education programs. 

Issues: There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to 

the public; clarification of the regulations will benefit 

applicants for licensure, and elimination of some current 

requirements will benefit nursing education programs. The 

primary advantage to the Board of Nursing is the clarification 

of qualifications for licensure, which may eliminate a few of 

the inquiries from applicants. Likewise, the elimination of 

several problematic requirements for education programs will 

reduce the time spent in assisting programs with compliance. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As the 

result of a general review, the Board of Nursing (Board) 

proposes to repeal its comprehensive nursing regulation and 

replace it with two new regulations. One of the replacement 

regulations will govern the practice of nursing and the other 

will govern nursing education programs. Although most of 

this proposed action will only divide up the current regulation 

and migrate it unchanged into the two new regulations, the 

Board also proposes several substantive changes to regulatory 

requirements.  

Specifically, the Board proposes to remove references to 

Board approval of clinical nursing specialist education 

programs and to add the State Council of Higher Education 

for Virginia (SCHEV) as an entity that may approve nursing 

education programs. The Board also proposes to require 

educational institutions to list the total clinical hours obtained 

in their program on student transcripts instead of having to 

list the number of clinic hours obtained from each course in 

their program. Further the Board proposes to eliminate the 

requirement that entities which provide clinical experience 

opportunities for educational programs specify the number of 

nursing students allowed in each nursing unit in their written 

agreements with educational programs. Finally, the Board 

proposes to remove general language that refers to passage of 

examinations and replace it with examination requirements 

that specifically reference the National Council Licensure 

Examination (NCLEX).  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, the Board has one 

comprehensive regulation that covers both nursing licensure 

and nursing education programs. In order to make the rules 

for nurses easier to search, the Board now proposes to repeal 

this regulation and promulgate two replacement regulations 

that will divide up the regulatory provisions into two parts. 

To the extent that this action migrates regulatory 

requirements unchanged to one of the new regulations, no 

regulated entity is likely to incur costs on account of that 

migration. Regulated entities, as well as other interested 

parties, are likely to benefit from this regulatory matter being 

split into shorter, easier to read regulations.  

In addition to dividing regulatory provisions into two separate 

regulations, the Board proposes several changes to actual 
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regulatory requirements. Current regulation references the 

Board's authority to approve educational programs for clinical 

nurse specialists. However, Chapter 83 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly removed this authority. The Board now proposes to 

conform nursing regulations to this legislation by removing 

these regulatory references. This change will benefit 

regulated entities as it removes now obsolete language. No 

entity is likely to incur costs on account of this change.  

Current regulation requires that institutions that wish to 

establish nursing education programs to be approved by the 

Virginia Department of Education. The Board proposes to 

add SCHEV as an entity that may also approve nursing 

education programs. No teaching institutions are likely to 

incur costs on account of this change. These institutions will 

likely benefit from the additional flexibility of having an 

additional entity that can approve programs. 

Current regulation requires that entities that contract with 

nursing education programs
1
 to provide clinical experience 

opportunities specify in their written agreements how many 

students will be allowed in each nursing unit. It also requires 

nursing education programs to keep student transcripts that 

include the number of clinical hours completed for each 

clinical course completed. Board staff reports that requiring 

written agreements to include the number of nursing students 

per nursing unit may discourage large hospitals with many 

nursing units from signing agreements with nursing education 

programs. Because of this, the Board now proposes to 

eliminate this requirement. The Board also proposes to 

modify transcript requirements so that nursing education 

programs will only have to keep records on the total number 

of clinical hours completed by any student because the Board 

does not need this information broken down by course. These 

changes will provide more flexibility to both nursing 

education programs and the clinical experience providers that 

contract with them.  

Finally, current regulation references licensure examinations 

(in the plural) in several places. Board staff reports that the 

only examination that is acceptable for licensure in Virginia 

and other states is the National Council Licensure 

Examination (NCLEX). In order to eliminate any confusion 

that applicants might experience because of language that 

implies that there is more than one acceptable licensure exam, 

the Board proposes to replace this general language with 

specific references to the NCLEX. This change will benefit 

affected entities by clarifying what examination they need to 

pass in order to be licensed. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This proposed regulatory 

action will affect all nursing education programs and all 

applicants for nursing licensure. Board staff reports that there 

are 82 registered nursing (RN) and 61 licensed practical 

nursing (LPN) education programs in the Commonwealth and 

that the Board receives approximately 10,000 applications for 

RN and LPN licensure each year. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes.  

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed changes will likely not affect the use or value of 

private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No small businesses are likely to 

incur any additional costs on account of these proposed 

changes. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 

businesses are likely to incur any additional costs on account 

of these proposed changes.  

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. No businesses are likely to incur any additional 

costs on account of these proposed changes. 

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 

see any adverse impacts on account of these proposed 

regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely 

affected by these proposed changes. 

_______________________________ 
1 These entities can include any agencies or institutions that provide skilled 

nursing services, like hospitals and nursing homes, where students can 
complete required supervised clinical experience hours.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Nursing concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The Board of Nursing repeals Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Nursing (18VAC90-20) and replaces it with 

two regulatory chapters derived from 18VAC60-20. The 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Nursing (18VAC60-

19) includes provisions that are applicable to the licensure 

and practice of nurses. The requirements for licensure of 

nurses are not changed, but several clarifying amendments 

are made to the national examination required for 

licensure and the educational qualifications for persons 

whose nursing education was completed in another 

country. The requirements for clinical nurse specialists are 

not changed but the board's authority to approve 

educational programs for clinical nurse specialists is 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 9, 2017 

1115 

removed consistent with Chapter 83 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly. Regulations for Nursing Education Programs 

(18VAC60-27) includes provisions that are applicable to 

nursing education programs. Amendments include (i) 

adding the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia 

as an approving body for certain nursing education 

programs, (ii) requiring an educational institution to list 

the total clinical hours obtained in its program on student 

transcripts instead of listing the number of clinic hours 

obtained from each course, (iii) eliminating the 

requirement that an entity providing clinical experience 

opportunities for educational programs specify the number 

of nursing students allowed in each nursing unit in its 

written agreements with educational programs, and (iv) 

replacing general language to passage of an examination 

with a specific reference to the National Council Licensure 

Examination.  

CHAPTER 19 

REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE PRACTICE OF 

NURSING 

Part I 

General Provisions 

18VAC90-19-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in §§ 54.1-3000 and 

54.1-3030 of the Code of Virginia, the following words and 

terms when used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Active practice" means activities performed, whether or not 

for compensation, for which an active license to practice 

nursing is required. 

"Board" means the Board of Nursing. 

"CGFNS" means the Commission on Graduates of Foreign 

Nursing Schools. 

"Contact hour" means 50 minutes of continuing education 

coursework or activity. 

"National certifying organization" means an organization 

that has as one of its purposes the certification of a specialty 

in nursing based on an examination attesting to the 

knowledge of the nurse for practice in the specialty area. 

"NCLEX" means the National Council Licensure 

Examination. 

"NCSBN" means the National Council of State Boards of 

Nursing. 

"Primary state of residence" means the state of a person's 

declared fixed, permanent, and principal home or domicile for 

legal purposes. 

18VAC90-19-20. Delegation of authority. 

The executive director shall be delegated the authority to 

issue licenses and certificates and execute all notices, orders, 

and official documents of the board unless the board directs 

otherwise. 

18VAC90-19-30. Fees. 

Fees required by the board are: 

1. Application for licensure by examination - 

RN 

$190  

2. Application for licensure by endorsement - 

RN 

$190 

3. Application for licensure by examination - 

LPN 

$170 

4. Application for licensure by endorsement - 

LPN 

$170 

5. Reapplication for licensure by examination $50 

6. Biennial licensure renewal - RN $140 

7. Biennial inactive licensure renewal - RN $70 

8. Biennial licensure renewal - LPN $120 

9. Biennial inactive licensure renewal - LPN $60 

10. Late renewal - RN $50 

11. Late renewal - LPN $40 

12. Reinstatement of lapsed license - RN $225 

13. Reinstatement of lapsed license - LPN $200 

14. Reinstatement of suspended or revoked 

license 

$300 

15. Duplicate license $15 

16. Replacement wall certificate $25 

17. Verification of license $35 

18. Transcript of all or part of applicant or 

licensee records 

$35 

19. Returned check charge $35 

20. Application for CNS registration $130 

21. Biennial renewal of CNS registration $80 

22. Reinstatement of lapsed CNS registration $125 

23. Verification of CNS registration to another 

jurisdiction 

$35 

24. Late renewal of CNS registration $35 

18VAC90-19-40. Duplicate license. 

A duplicate license for the current renewal period shall be 

issued by the board upon receipt of the required information 

and fee. 

18VAC90-19-50. Identification; accuracy of records. 

A. Any person regulated by this chapter who provides direct 

client care shall, while on duty, wear identification that is 

clearly visible and indicates the person's first and last name 
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and the appropriate title for the license, registration, or 

student status under which he is practicing in that setting. 

Any person practicing in hospital emergency departments, 

psychiatric and mental health units and programs, or in health 

care facilities units offering treatment for clients in custody of 

state or local law-enforcement agencies may use 

identification badges with first name and first letter only of 

last name and appropriate title. 

B. A licensee who has changed his name shall submit as 

legal proof to the board a copy of the marriage certificate, a 

certificate of naturalization, or court order evidencing the 

change. A duplicate license shall be issued by the board upon 

receipt of such evidence and the required fee. 

C. Each licensee shall maintain an address of record with the 

board. Any change in the address of record or in the public 

address, if different from the address of record, shall be 

submitted by a licensee electronically or in writing to the 

board within 30 days of such change. All notices required by 

law and by this chapter to be mailed by the board to any 

licensee shall be validly given when mailed to the latest 

address of record on file with the board. 

18VAC90-19-60. Data collection of nursing workforce 

information. 

A. With such funds as are appropriated for the purpose of 

data collection and consistent with the provisions of § 54.1-

2506.1 of the Code of Virginia, the board shall collect 

workforce information biennially from a representative 

sample of registered nurses, licensed practical nurses, and 

certified nurse aides and shall make such information 

available to the public. Data collected shall be compiled, 

stored, and released in compliance with § 54.1-3012.1 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

B. The information to be collected on nurses shall include (i) 

demographic data to include age, sex, and ethnicity; (ii) level 

of education; (iii) employment status; (iv) employment 

setting or settings such as in a hospital, physician's office, or 

nursing home; (v) geographic location of employment; (vi) 

type of nursing position or area of specialty; and (vii) number 

of hours worked per week in each setting. In addition, the 

board may determine other data to be collected as necessary. 

18VAC90-19-70. Supervision of licensed practical nurses. 

Licensed practical nursing shall be performed under the 

direction or supervision of a licensed medical practitioner, a 

registered nurse, or a licensed dentist. 

Part II 

Multistate Licensure Privilege 

18VAC90-19-80. Issuance of a license with a multistate 

licensure privilege. 

A. To be issued a license with a multistate licensure 

privilege by the board, a nurse currently licensed in Virginia 

or a person applying for licensure in Virginia shall submit a 

declaration stating that his primary residence is in Virginia. 

Evidence of a primary state of residence may be required to 

include:  

1. A driver's license with a home address;  

2. A voter registration card displaying a home address;  

3. A federal or state tax return declaring the primary state 

of residence; 

4. A Military Form No. 2058 – state of legal residence; or 

5. A W-2 from the United States government or any 

bureau, division, or agency thereof indicating the declared 

state of residence. 

B. A nurse on a visa from another country applying for 

licensure in Virginia may declare either the country of origin 

or Virginia as the primary state of residence. If the foreign 

country is declared as the primary state of residence, a single 

state license shall be issued by Virginia. 

C. A nurse changing the primary state of residence from 

another party state to Virginia may continue to practice under 

the former party state license and multistate licensure 

privilege during the processing of the nurse's licensure 

application by the board for a period not to exceed 90 days.  

1. If a nurse is under a pending investigation by a former 

home state, the licensure application in Virginia shall be 

held in abeyance and the 90-day authorization to practice 

stayed until resolution of the pending investigation.  

2. A license issued by a former party state shall no longer 

be valid upon issuance of a license by the board.  

3. If the board denies licensure to an applicant from 

another party state, it shall notify the former home state 

within 10 business days, and the former home state may 

take action in accordance with the laws and regulations of 

that state.  

D. A license issued by a party state is valid for practice in all 

other party states, unless clearly designated as valid only in 

the state that issued the license. When a party state issues a 

license authorizing practice only in that state and not 

authorizing practice in other party states, the license shall be 

clearly marked with words indicating that it is valid only in 

the state of issuance. 

18VAC90-19-90. Limitations of a multistate licensure 

privilege. 

A. The board shall include in all disciplinary orders that 

limit practice or require monitoring the requirement that the 

licensee subject to the order shall agree to limit practice to 

Virginia during the period in which the order is in effect. A 

nurse may be allowed to practice in other party states while 

an order is in effect with prior written authorization from both 

the board and boards of other party states.  

B. An individual who had a license that was surrendered, 

revoked, or suspended or an application denied for cause in a 

prior state of primary residence may be issued a single state 

license in a new primary state of residence until such time as 

the individual would be eligible for an unrestricted license by 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 9, 2017 

1117 

the prior state of adverse action. Once eligible for licensure in 

the prior state, a multistate license may be issued. 

18VAC90-19-100. Access to information in the 

coordinated licensure information system. 

A licensee may submit a request in writing to the board to 

review the public data relating to the licensee maintained in 

the coordinated licensure information system. In the event a 

licensee asserts that any related data is inaccurate, the burden 

of proof shall be upon the licensee to provide evidence that 

substantiates such claim. The board shall verify and correct 

inaccurate data in the information system within 10 business 

days. 

Part III 

Licensure and Renewal; Reinstatement 

18VAC90-19-110. Licensure by examination. 

A. The board shall authorize the administration of the 

NCLEX for registered nurse licensure and practical nurse 

licensure. 

B. A candidate shall be eligible to take the NCLEX 

examination (i) upon receipt by the board of the completed 

application, the fee, and an official transcript from the nursing 

education program and (ii) when a determination has been 

made that no grounds exist upon which the board may deny 

licensure pursuant to § 54.1-3007 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. To establish eligibility for licensure by examination, an 

applicant for the licensing examination shall: 

1. File the required application, any necessary 

documentation and fee, including a criminal history 

background check as required by § 54.1-3005.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

2. Arrange for the board to receive an official transcript 

from the nursing education program that shows either: 

a. That the degree or diploma has been awarded and the 

date of graduation or conferral; or 

b. That all requirements for awarding the degree or 

diploma have been met and that specifies the date of 

conferral. 

3. File a new application and reapplication fee if: 

a. The examination is not taken within 12 months of the 

date that the board determines the applicant to be 

eligible; or 

b. Eligibility is not established within 12 months of the 

original filing date. 

D. The minimum passing standard on the examination for 

registered nurse licensure and practical nurse licensure shall 

be determined by the board. 

E. Any applicant suspected of giving or receiving 

unauthorized assistance during the examination may be 

noticed for a hearing pursuant to the provisions of the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) to determine eligibility for licensure or 

reexamination. 

F. Practice of nursing pending receipt of examination 

results. 

1. A graduate who has filed a completed application for 

licensure in Virginia and has received an authorization 

letter issued by the board may practice nursing in Virginia 

from the date of the authorization letter. The period of 

practice shall not exceed 90 days between the date of 

successful completion of the nursing education program, as 

documented on the applicant's transcript, and the 

publication of the results of the candidate's first licensing 

examination. 

2. Candidates who practice nursing as provided in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection shall use the designation 

"R.N. Applicant" or "L.P.N. Applicant" on a nametag or 

when signing official records. 

3. The designations "R.N. Applicant" and "L.P.N. 

Applicant" shall not be used by applicants who either do 

not take the examination within 90 days following receipt 

of the authorization letter from the board or who have 

failed the examination. 

G. Applicants who fail the examination. 

1. An applicant who fails the licensing examination shall 

not be licensed or be authorized to practice nursing in 

Virginia. 

2. An applicant for licensure by reexamination shall file the 

required board application and reapplication fee in order to 

establish eligibility for reexamination. 

3. Applicants who have failed the examination for 

licensure in another United States jurisdiction but satisfy 

the qualifications for licensure in this jurisdiction may 

apply for licensure by examination in Virginia. Such 

applicants shall submit the required application and fee. 

Such applicants shall not, however, be permitted to 

practice nursing in Virginia until the requisite license has 

been issued. 

18VAC90-19-120. Licensure by endorsement. 

A. A graduate of an approved nursing education program 

who has been licensed by examination in another United 

States jurisdiction and whose license is in good standing, or is 

eligible for reinstatement if lapsed, shall be eligible for 

licensure by endorsement in Virginia provided the applicant 

satisfies the same requirements for registered nurse or 

practical nurse licensure as those seeking initial licensure in 

Virginia.  

1. Applicants who have graduated from approved nursing 

education programs that did not require a sufficient number 

of clinical hours as specified in 18VAC90-27-100 may 

qualify for licensure if they can provide evidence of at least 

960 hours of clinical practice with an active, 

unencumbered license in another United States 

jurisdiction. 
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2. Applicants whose basic nursing education was received 

in another country shall meet the requirements of 

18VAC90-19-130. 

3. A graduate of a nursing school in Canada where English 

was the primary language shall be eligible for licensure by 

endorsement provided the applicant has passed the 

Canadian Registered Nurses Examination and holds an 

unrestricted license in Canada. 

B. An applicant for licensure by endorsement who has 

submitted a criminal history background check as required by 

§ 54.1-3005.1 of the Code of Virginia and the required 

application and fee and has submitted the required form to the 

appropriate credentialing agency for verification of licensure 

may practice for 30 days upon receipt of an authorization 

letter from the board. If an applicant has not received a 

Virginia license within 30 days and wishes to continue 

practice, he shall seek an extension of authorization to 

practice by submitting a request and evidence that he has 

requested verification of licensure. 

C. If the application is not completed within one year of the 

initial filing date, the applicant shall submit a new application 

and fee. 

18VAC90-19-130. Licensure of applicants from other 

countries. 

A. With the exception of applicants from Canada who are 

eligible to be licensed by endorsement, applicants whose 

basic nursing education was received in another country shall 

be scheduled to take the licensing examination provided they 

meet the statutory qualifications for licensure. Verification of 

qualification shall be based on documents submitted as 

required in subsection B or C of this section. 

B. Such applicants for registered nurse licensure shall:  

1. Submit evidence from the CGFNS that the secondary 

education and nursing education are comparable to those 

required for registered nurses in the Commonwealth;  

2. Submit evidence of passage of an English language 

proficiency examination approved by the CGFNS, unless 

the applicant meets the CGFNS criteria for an exemption 

from the requirement; and 

3. Submit the required application and fee for licensure by 

examination.  

C. Such applicants for practical nurse licensure shall: 

1. Submit evidence from the CGFNS that the secondary 

education and nursing education are comparable to those 

required for practical nurses in the Commonwealth; 

2. Submit evidence of passage of an English language 

proficiency examination approved by the CGFNS, unless 

the applicant meets the CGFNS criteria for an exemption 

from the requirement; and 

3. Submit the required application and fee for licensure by 

examination. 

D. An applicant for licensure as a registered nurse who has 

met the requirements of subsections A and B of this section 

may practice for a period not to exceed 90 days from the date 

of approval of an application submitted to the board when he 

is working as a nonsupervisory staff nurse in a licensed 

nursing home or certified nursing facility. 

1. Applicants who practice nursing as provided in this 

subsection shall use the designation "foreign nurse 

graduate" on nametags or when signing official records. 

2. During the 90-day period, the applicant shall take and 

pass the licensing examination in order to remain eligible 

to practice nursing in Virginia. 

3. Any person practicing nursing under this exemption who 

fails to pass the licensure examination within the 90-day 

period may not thereafter practice nursing until he passes 

the licensing examination. 

E. In addition to CGFNS, the board may accept credentials 

from other recognized agencies that review credentials of 

foreign-educated nurses if such agencies have been approved 

by the board. 

18VAC90-19-140. Provisional licensure of applicants for 

licensure as registered nurses. 

A. Pursuant to § 54.1-3017.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

board may issue a provisional license to an applicant for the 

purpose of meeting the 500 hours of supervised, direct, 

hands-on client care required of an approved registered nurse 

education program. 

B. Such applicants for provisional licensure shall submit:  

1. A completed application for licensure by examination 

and fee, including a criminal history background check as 

required by § 54.1-3005.1 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. Documentation that the applicant has successfully 

completed a nursing education program; and 

3. Documentation of passage of the NCLEX in accordance 

with 18VAC90-19-110. 

C. Requirements for hours of supervised clinical experience 

in direct client care with a provisional license. 

1. To qualify for licensure as a registered nurse, direct, 

hands-on hours of supervised clinical experience shall 

include the areas of adult medical/surgical nursing, 

geriatric nursing, maternal/infant (obstetrics, gynecology, 

neonatal) nursing, mental health/psychiatric nursing, 

nursing fundamentals, and pediatric nursing. Supervised 

clinical hours may be obtained in employment in the role 

of a registered nurse or without compensation for the 

purpose of meeting these requirements. 

2. Hours of direct, hands-on clinical experience obtained as 

part of the applicant's nursing education program and noted 

on the official transcript shall be counted towards the 

minimum of 500 hours and in the applicable areas of 

clinical practice. 
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3. For applicants with a current, active license as an LPN, 

150 hours of credit shall be counted towards the 500-hour 

requirement. 

4. 100 hours of credit may be applied towards the 500-hour 

requirement for applicants who have successfully 

completed a nursing education program that: 

a. Requires students to pass competency-based 

assessments of nursing knowledge as well as a 

summative performance assessment of clinical 

competency that has been evaluated by the American 

Council on Education or any other board-approved 

organization; and 

b. Has a passage rate for first-time test takers on the 

NCLEX that is not less than 80%, calculated on the 

cumulative results of the past four quarters of all 

graduates in each calendar year regardless of where the 

graduate is seeking licensure. 

5. An applicant for licensure shall submit verification from 

a supervisor of the number of hours of direct client care 

and the areas in which clinical experiences in the role of a 

registered nurse were obtained. 

D. Requirements for supervision of a provisional licensee. 

1. The supervisor shall be on site and physically present in 

the unit where the provisional licensee is providing clinical 

care of clients. 

2. In the supervision of provisional licensees in the clinical 

setting, the ratio shall not exceed two provisional licensees 

to one supervisor at any given time. 

3. Licensed registered nurses providing supervision for a 

provisional licensee shall: 

a. Notify the board of the intent to provide supervision 

for a provisional licensee on a form provided by the 

board; 

b. Hold an active, unrestricted license or multistate 

licensure privilege and have at least two years of active 

clinical practice as a registered nurse prior to acting as a 

supervisor; 

c. Be responsible and accountable for the assignment of 

clients and tasks based on their assessment and 

evaluation of the supervisee's clinical knowledge and 

skills; 

d. Be required to monitor clinical performance and 

intervene if necessary for the safety and protection of the 

clients; and 

e. Document on a form provided by the board the 

frequency and nature of the supervision of provisional 

licensees to verify completion of hours of clinical 

experience. 

E. The provisional status of the licensee shall be disclosed to 

the client prior to treatment and shall be indicated on 

identification worn by the provisional licensee. 

F. All provisional licenses shall expire six months from the 

date of issuance and may be renewed for an additional six 

months. Renewal of a provisional license beyond the limit of 

12 months may be granted and shall be for good cause shown. 

A request for extension of a provisional license beyond 12 

months shall be made at least 30 days prior to its expiration. 

18VAC90-19-150. Renewal of licenses. 

A. Licensees born in even-numbered years shall renew their 

licenses by the last day of the birth month in even-numbered 

years. Licensees born in odd-numbered years shall renew 

their licenses by the last day of the birth month in odd-

numbered years. 

B. A nurse shall be required to meet the requirements for 

continued competency set forth in 18VAC90-19-160 to renew 

an active license. 

C. A notice for renewal of license shall be sent by the board 

to the last known address of the licensee. The licensee shall 

complete the renewal form and submit it with the required 

fee. 

D. Failure to receive the renewal form shall not relieve the 

licensee of the responsibility for renewing the license by the 

expiration date. 

E. The license shall automatically lapse if the licensee fails 

to renew by the expiration date. 

F. Any person practicing nursing during the time a license 

has lapsed shall be considered an illegal practitioner and shall 

be subject to prosecution under the provisions of § 54.1-3008 

of the Code of Virginia. 

G. Upon renewal, all licensees shall declare their primary 

state of residence. If the declared state of residence is another 

compact state, the licensee is not eligible for renewal. 

18VAC90-19-160. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of an active license. 

A. To renew an active nursing license, a licensee shall 

complete at least one of the following learning activities or 

courses: 

1. Current specialty certification by a national certifying 

organization, as defined in 18VAC90-19-10; 

2. Completion of a minimum of three credit hours of post-

licensure academic education relevant to nursing practice, 

offered by a regionally accredited college or university; 

3. A board-approved refresher course in nursing; 

4. Completion of nursing-related, evidence-based practice 

project or research study; 

5. Completion of publication as the author or co-author 

during a renewal cycle; 

6. Teaching or developing a nursing-related course 

resulting in no less than three semester hours of college 

credit, a 15-week course, or specialty certification; 

7. Teaching or developing nursing-related continuing 

education courses for up to 30 contact hours; 
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8. Fifteen contact hours of workshops, seminars, 

conferences, or courses relevant to the practice of nursing 

and 640 hours of active practice as a nurse; or 

9. Thirty contact hours of workshops, seminars, 

conferences, or courses relevant to the practice of nursing. 

B. To meet requirements of subdivision A 8 or A 9 of this 

section, workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses shall be 

offered by a provider recognized or approved by one of the 

following: 

1. American Nurses Credentialing Center American Nurses 

Association; 

2. National Council of State Boards of Nursing;  

3. Area Health Education Centers (AHEC) in any state in 

which the AHEC is a member of the National AHEC 

Organization; 

4. Any state nurses association; 

5. National League for Nursing;  

6. National Association for Practical Nurse Education and 

Service; 

7. National Federation of Licensed Practical Nurses;  

8. A licensed health care facility, agency, or hospital;  

9. A health care provider association; 

10. Regionally or nationally accredited colleges or 

universities; 

11. A state or federal government agency; 

12. The American Heart Association, the American Health 

and Safety Institute, or the American Red Cross for courses 

in advanced resuscitation; or 

13. The Virginia Board of Nursing or any state board of 

nursing. 

C. Dual licensed persons. 

1. Those persons dually licensed by this board as a 

registered nurse and a licensed practical nurse shall only 

meet one of the continued competency requirements as set 

forth in subsection A of this section. 

2. Registered nurses who also hold an active license as a 

nurse practitioner shall only meet the requirements of 

18VAC90-30-105 and, for those with prescriptive 

authority, 18VAC90-40-55. 

D. A licensee is exempt from the continued competency 

requirement for the first renewal following initial licensure by 

examination or endorsement. 

E. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing competency 

requirements upon written request from the licensee 60 days 

prior to the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the 

licensee of the continuing competency requirement. 

F. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing competency requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters. 

G. Continued competency activities or courses required by 

board order in a disciplinary proceeding shall not be counted 

as meeting the requirements for licensure renewal. 

18VAC90-19-170. Documenting compliance with 

continued competency requirements. 

A. All licensees are required to maintain original 

documentation of completion for a period of two years 

following renewal and to provide such documentation within 

30 days of a request from the board for proof of compliance.  

B. Documentation of compliance shall be as follows: 

1. Evidence of national certification shall include a copy of 

a certificate that includes name of licensee, name of 

certifying body, date of certification, and date of 

certification expiration. Certification shall be initially 

attained during the licensure period, have been in effect 

during the entire licensure period, or have been recertified 

during the licensure period. 

2. Evidence of post-licensure academic education shall 

include a copy of transcript with the name of the licensee, 

name of educational institution, date of attendance, name 

of course with grade, and number of credit hours received. 

3. Evidence of completion of a board-approved refresher 

course shall include written correspondence from the 

provider with the name of the licensee, name of the 

provider, and verification of successful completion of the 

course. 

4. Evidence of completion of a nursing research study or 

project shall include an abstract or summary, the name of 

the licensee, role of the licensee as principal or coprincipal 

investigator, date of completion, statement of the problem, 

research or project objectives, methods used, and summary 

of findings. 

5. Evidence of authoring or co-authoring a published 

nursing-related article, paper, book, or book chapter shall 

include a copy of the publication that includes the name of 

the licensee and publication date. 

6. Evidence of teaching a course for college credit shall 

include documentation of the course offering, indicating 

instructor, course title, course syllabus, and the number of 

credit hours. Teaching a particular course may only be 

used once to satisfy the continued competency requirement 

unless the course offering and syllabus has changed. 

7. Evidence of teaching a course for continuing education 

credit shall include a written attestation from the director 

of the program or authorizing entity including the date or 

dates of the course or courses and the number of contact 

hours awarded. If the total number of contact hours totals 

less than 30, the licensee shall obtain additional hours in 

continuing learning activities or courses. 
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8. Evidence of contact hours of continuing learning 

activities or courses shall include the name of the licensee, 

title of educational activity, name of the provider, number 

of contact hours, and date of activity. 

9. Evidence of 640 hours of active practice in nursing shall 

include documentation satisfactory to the board of the 

name of the licensee, number of hours worked in calendar 

or fiscal year, name and address of employer, and signature 

of supervisor. If self-employed, hours worked may be 

validated through other methods such as tax records or 

other business records. If active practice is of a volunteer 

or gratuitous nature, hours worked may be validated by the 

recipient agency. 

18VAC90-19-180. Inactive licensure. 

A. A registered nurse or licensed practical nurse who holds a 

current, unrestricted license in Virginia may, upon a request 

on the renewal application and submission of the required fee, 

be issued an inactive license. The holder of an inactive license 

shall not be entitled to practice nursing in Virginia or practice 

on a multistate licensure privilege but may use the title 

"registered nurse" or "licensed practical nurse." 

B. Reactivation of an inactive license. 

1. A nurse whose license is inactive may reactivate within 

one renewal period by: 

a. Payment of the difference between the inactive 

renewal and the active renewal fee; and 

b. Providing attestation of completion of at least one of 

the learning activities or courses specified in 18VAC90-

19-160 during the two years immediately preceding 

reactivation. 

2. A nurse whose license has been inactive for more than 

one renewal period may reactivate by: 

a. Submitting an application; 

b. Paying the difference between the inactive renewal 

and the active renewal fee; and 

c. Providing evidence of completion of at least one of the 

learning activities or courses specified in 18VAC90-19-

160 during the two years immediately preceding 

application for reactivation. 

3. The board may waive all or part of the continuing 

education requirement for a nurse who holds a current, 

unrestricted license in another state and who has engaged 

in active practice during the period the Virginia license 

was inactive. 

4. The board may request additional evidence that the 

nurse is prepared to resume practice in a competent 

manner. 

5. The board may deny a request for reactivation to any 

licensee who has been determined to have committed an 

act in violation of § 54.1-3007 of the Code of Virginia or 

any provision of this chapter. 

18VAC90-19-190. Reinstatement of lapsed licenses or 

license suspended or revoked. 

A. A nurse whose license has lapsed may be reinstated 

within one renewal period by: 

1. Payment of the current renewal fee and the late renewal 

fee; and 

2. Providing attestation of completion of at least one of the 

learning activities or courses specified in 18VAC90-19-

160 during the two years immediately preceding 

reinstatement. 

B. A nurse whose license has lapsed for more than one 

renewal period shall: 

1. File a reinstatement application and pay the 

reinstatement fee;  

2. Provide evidence of completing at least one of the 

learning activities or courses specified in 18VAC90-19-

160 during the two years immediately preceding 

application for reinstatement; and 

3. Submit a criminal history background check as required 

by § 54.1-3005.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. The board may waive all or part of the continuing 

education requirement for a nurse who holds a current, 

unrestricted license in another state and who has engaged in 

active practice during the period the Virginia license was 

lapsed. 

D. A nurse whose license has been suspended or revoked by 

the board may apply for reinstatement by filing a 

reinstatement application, fulfilling requirements for 

continuing competency as required in subsection B of this 

section, and paying the fee for reinstatement after suspension 

or revocation. A nurse whose license has been revoked may 

not apply for reinstatement sooner than three years from entry 

of the order of revocation. 

E. The board may request additional evidence that the nurse 

is prepared to resume practice in a competent manner. 

18VAC90-19-200. Restricted volunteer license and 

registration for voluntary practice by out-of-state 

licensees. 

A. A registered or practical nurse may be issued a restricted 

volunteer license and may practice in accordance with 

provisions of § 54.1-3011.01 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Any licensed nurse who does not hold a license to 

practice in Virginia and who seeks registration to practice on 

a voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly supported, 

all volunteer nonprofit organization that sponsors the 

provision of health care to populations of underserved people 

shall:  

1. File a complete application for registration on a form 

provided by the board at least five business days prior to 

engaging in such practice. An incomplete application will 

not be considered;  
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2. Provide evidence of current, unrestricted licensure in a 

United States jurisdiction;  

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization and the 

dates and location of the voluntary provision of services;  

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and  

5. Provide an attestation from a representative of the 

nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with 

provisions of subdivision 11 of § 54.1-3001 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

Part IV 

Clinical Nurse Specialists 

18VAC90-19-210. Clinical nurse specialist registration. 

A. Initial registration. An applicant for initial registration as 

a clinical nurse specialist shall: 

1. Be currently licensed as a registered nurse in Virginia or 

hold a current multistate licensure privilege as a registered 

nurse; 

2. Submit evidence of current specialty certification as 

required by § 54.1-3018.1 of the Code of Virginia or has 

an exception available from March 1, 1990, to July 1, 

1990; and 

3. Submit the required application and fee. 

B. Renewal of registration. 

1. Registration as a clinical nurse specialist shall be 

renewed biennially at the same time the registered nurse 

license is renewed. If registered as a clinical nurse 

specialist with a multistate licensure privilege to practice in 

Virginia as a registered nurse, a licensee born in even-

numbered years shall renew his license by the last day of 

the birth month in even-numbered years and a licensee 

born in odd-numbered years shall renew his license by the 

last day of the birth month in odd-numbered years. 

2. The clinical nurse specialist shall complete the renewal 

form and submit it with the required fee. An attestation of 

current specialty certification is required unless registered 

in accordance with an exception. 

3. Registration as a clinical nurse specialist shall lapse if 

the registered nurse license is not renewed or the multistate 

licensure privilege is lapsed and may be reinstated upon: 

a. Reinstatement of RN license or multistate licensure 

privilege; 

b. Payment of reinstatement and current renewal fees; 

and 

c. Submission of evidence of continued specialty 

certification unless registered in accordance with an 

exception. 

18VAC90-19-220. Clinical nurse specialist practice. 

A. The practice of a clinical nurse specialist shall be 

consistent with the education and experience required for 

clinical nurse specialist certification.  

B. The clinical nurse specialist shall provide those advanced 

nursing services that are consistent with the standards of 

specialist practice as established by a national certifying 

organization for the designated specialty and in accordance 

with the provisions of Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. Advanced practice as a clinical nurse specialist shall 

include performance as an expert clinician to:  

1. Provide direct care and counsel to individuals and 

groups;  

2. Plan, evaluate, and direct care given by others; and  

3. Improve care by consultation, collaboration, teaching, 

and the conduct of research. 

Part V 

Disciplinary and Delegation Provisions 

18VAC90-19-230. Disciplinary provisions. 

A. The board has the authority to deny, revoke, or suspend a 

license or multistate licensure privilege issued, or to 

otherwise discipline a licensee or holder of a multistate 

licensure privilege upon proof that the licensee or holder of a 

multistate licensure privilege has violated any of the 

provisions of § 54.1-3007 of the Code of Virginia. For the 

purpose of establishing allegations to be included in the 

notice of hearing, the board has adopted the following 

definitions: 

1. Fraud or deceit in procuring or maintaining a license 

means, but shall not be limited to: 

a. Filing false credentials; 

b. Falsely representing facts on an application for initial 

license, reinstatement, or renewal of a license; or 

c. Giving or receiving assistance in the taking of the 

licensing examination. 

2. Unprofessional conduct means, but shall not be limited 

to: 

a. Performing acts beyond the limits of the practice of 

professional or practical nursing as defined in Chapter 30 

(§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, or as provided by §§ 54.1-2901 and 54.1-2957 

of the Code of Virginia; 

b. Assuming duties and responsibilities within the 

practice of nursing without adequate training or when 

competency has not been maintained; 

c. Obtaining supplies, equipment, or drugs for personal 

or other unauthorized use; 

d. Employing or assigning unqualified persons to 

perform functions that require a licensed practitioner of 

nursing; 

e. Falsifying or otherwise altering patient, employer, 

student, or educational program records, including falsely 

representing facts on a job application or other 

employment-related documents; 
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f. Abusing, neglecting, or abandoning patients or clients; 

g. Practice of a clinical nurse specialist beyond that 

defined in 18VAC90-19-220 and § 54.1-3000 of the 

Code of Virginia; 

h. Representing oneself as or performing acts constituting 

the practice of a clinical nurse specialist unless so 

registered by the board; 

i. Delegating nursing tasks to an unlicensed person in 

violation of the provisions of Part VI (18VAC90-19-240 

et seq.) of this chapter; 

j. Giving to or accepting from a patient or client property 

or money for any reason other than fee for service or a 

nominal token of appreciation; 

k. Obtaining money or property of a patient or client by 

fraud, misrepresentation, or duress; 

l. Entering into a relationship with a patient or client that 

constitutes a professional boundary violation in which 

the nurse uses his professional position to take advantage 

of the vulnerability of a patient, a client, or his family, to 

include actions that result in personal gain at the expense 

of the patient or client, or a nontherapeutic personal 

involvement or sexual conduct with a patient or client; 

m. Violating state laws relating to the privacy of patient 

information, including § 32.1-127.1:03 the Code of 

Virginia;  

n. Providing false information to staff or board members 

in the course of an investigation or proceeding;  

o. Failing to report evidence of child abuse or neglect as 

required in § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia or elder 

abuse or neglect as required in § 63.2-1606 of the Code 

of Virginia; or 

p. Violating any provision of this chapter. 

B. Any sanction imposed on the registered nurse license of a 

clinical nurse specialist shall have the same effect on the 

clinical nurse specialist registration. 

Part VI 

Delegation of Nursing Tasks and Procedures 

18VAC90-19-240. Definitions for delegation of nursing 

tasks and procedures. 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the content clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Delegation" means the authorization by a registered nurse 

to an unlicensed person to perform selected nursing tasks and 

procedures in accordance with this part.  

"Supervision" means guidance or direction of a delegated 

nursing task or procedure by a qualified, registered nurse who 

provides periodic observation and evaluation of the 

performance of the task and who is accessible to the 

unlicensed person.  

"Unlicensed person" means an appropriately trained 

individual, regardless of title, who receives compensation, 

who functions in a complementary or assistive role to the 

registered nurse in providing direct patient care or carrying 

out common nursing tasks and procedures, and who is 

responsible and accountable for the performance of such tasks 

and procedures. With the exception of certified nurse aides, 

this shall not include anyone licensed or certified by a health 

regulatory board who is practicing within his recognized 

scope of practice. 

18VAC90-19-250. Criteria for delegation. 

A. Delegation of nursing tasks and procedures shall only 

occur in accordance with the plan for delegation adopted by 

the entity responsible for client care. The delegation plan 

shall comply with provisions of this chapter and shall 

provide:  

1. An assessment of the client population to be served;  

2. Analysis and identification of nursing care needs and 

priorities;  

3. Establishment of organizational standards to provide for 

sufficient supervision that assures safe nursing care to meet 

the needs of the clients in their specific settings;  

4. Communication of the delegation plan to the staff;  

5. Identification of the educational and training 

requirements for unlicensed persons and documentation of 

their competencies; and  

6. Provision of resources for appropriate delegation in 

accordance with this part.  

B. Delegation shall be made only if all of the following 

criteria are met:  

1. In the judgment of the delegating nurse, the task or 

procedure can be properly and safely performed by the 

unlicensed person and the delegation does not jeopardize 

the health, safety, and welfare of the client.  

2. The delegating nurse retains responsibility and 

accountability for nursing care of the client, including 

nursing assessment, planning, evaluation, documentation, 

and supervision.  

3. Delegated tasks and procedures are within the 

knowledge, area of responsibility, and skills of the 

delegating nurse.  

4. Delegated tasks and procedures are communicated on a 

client-specific basis to an unlicensed person with clear, 

specific instructions for performance of activities, potential 

complications, and expected results.  

5. The person to whom a nursing task has been delegated is 

clearly identified to the client as an unlicensed person by a 

name tag worn while giving client care and by personal 

communication by the delegating nurse when necessary.  

C. Delegated tasks and procedures shall not be reassigned by 

unlicensed personnel.  



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 9, 2017 

1124 

D. Nursing tasks shall only be delegated after an assessment 

is performed according to the provisions of 18VAC90-19-

260. 

18VAC90-19-260. Assessment required prior to 

delegation. 

Prior to delegation of nursing tasks and procedures, the 

delegating nurse shall make an assessment of the client and 

unlicensed person as follows:  

1. The delegating nurse shall assess the clinical status and 

stability of the client's condition; determine the type, 

complexity, and frequency of the nursing care needed; and 

delegate only those tasks that:  

a. Do not require the exercise of independent nursing 

judgment;  

b. Do not require complex observations or critical 

decisions with respect to the nursing task or procedure;  

c. Frequently recur in the routine care of the client or 

group of clients;  

d. Do not require repeated performance of nursing 

assessments;  

e. Utilize a standard procedure in which the tasks or 

procedures can be performed according to exact, 

unchanging directions; and  

f. Have predictable results and for which the 

consequences of performing the task or procedures 

improperly are minimal and not life threatening.  

2. The delegating nurse shall also assess the training, skills, 

and experience of the unlicensed person and shall verify 

the competency of the unlicensed person to determine 

which tasks are appropriate for that unlicensed person and 

the method of supervision required.  

18VAC90-19-270. Supervision of delegated tasks. 

A. The delegating nurse shall determine the method and 

frequency of supervision based on factors that include:  

1. The stability and condition of the client;  

2. The experience and competency of the unlicensed 

person;  

3. The nature of the tasks or procedures being delegated; 

and  

4. The proximity and availability of the registered nurse to 

the unlicensed person when the nursing tasks will be 

performed.  

B. In the event that the delegating nurse is not available, the 

delegation shall either be terminated or delegation authority 

shall be transferred by the delegating nurse to another 

registered nurse who shall supervise all nursing tasks 

delegated to the unlicensed person, provided the registered 

nurse meets the requirements of 18VAC90-19-250 B 3.  

C. Supervision shall include:  

1. Monitoring the performance of delegated tasks;  

2. Evaluating the outcome for the client;  

3. Ensuring appropriate documentation; and  

4. Being accessible for consultation and intervention.  

D. Based on an ongoing assessment as described in 

18VAC90-19-260, the delegating nurse may determine that 

delegation of some or all of the tasks and procedures is no 

longer appropriate. 

18VAC90-19-280. Nursing tasks that shall not be 

delegated. 

A. Nursing tasks that shall not be delegated are those that 

are inappropriate for a specific, unlicensed person to perform 

on a specific patient after an assessment is conducted as 

provided in 18VAC90-19-260.  

B. Nursing tasks that shall not be delegated to any 

unlicensed person are:  

1. Activities involving nursing assessment, problem 

identification, and outcome evaluation that require 

independent nursing judgment;  

2. Counseling or teaching except for activities related to 

promoting independence in personal care and daily living;  

3. Coordination and management of care involving 

collaboration, consultation, and referral;  

4. Emergency and nonemergency triage;  

5. Administration of medications except as specifically 

permitted by the Virginia Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia); and  

6. Circulating duties in an operating room.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC90-19) 

Licensure by examination: 

Instructions and Application for Licensure by Examination 

for Registered Nurses (rev. 8/2011) 

Instructions and Application for Licensure by Examination -

- Licensed Practical Nurse (rev. 8/2011) 

Instructions and Application for Licensure by Repeat 

Examination for Registered Nurse (rev.12/2014) 

Instructions and Application for Licensure by Repeat 

Examination for Licensed Practical Nurse (rev.12/2014) 

License by endorsement: 

Application for Licensure by Endorsement -- Registered 

Nurse (rev. 5/2011) 

Instructions for Licensure by Endorsement -- Registered 

Nurse (rev. 5/2011) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ae346003068~22&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ae346003068~22&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ef22a003068~23&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ef22a003068~23&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d61b2004643~1&typ=40&actno=004643&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d61b2004643~1&typ=40&actno=004643&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8361004643~2&typ=40&actno=004643&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8361004643~2&typ=40&actno=004643&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a20b0003068~16&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a20b0003068~16&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8c25003068~17&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8c25003068~17&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
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Instructions for Licensure by Endorsement -- Licensed 

Practical Nurse (rev. 5/2011) 

Application for Licensure by Endorsement -- Licensed 

Practical Nurse (rev. 6/2011) 

Verification of Clinical Practice -- Licensure by 

Endorsement (rev. 1/2010) 

Reinstatement: 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement -- Registered 

Nurse or Licensed Practical Nurse (rev. 10/2016) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of License as 

a Registered Nurse Following Suspension or Revocation (rev. 

6/2011) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of License as 

a Licensed Practical Nurse Following Suspension or 

Revocation (rev. 6/2011) 

Clinical nurse specialist: 

Procedure (rev. 3/10) and Application for Registration as a 

Clinical Nurse Specialist (rev. 6/2011) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of 

Registration as a Clinical Nurse Specialist (rev. 3/2014) 

Other: 

Declaration of Primary State of Residency for Purposes of 

the Nurse Licensure Compact (rev. 7/2015) 

License Verification Form (rev. 7/2016) 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice 

(undated, filed 12/2016) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 

8/2008) 

Verification of Supervised Clinical Practice -- Registered 

Nurse Provisional License (eff. 8/013) 

Notification of Intent to Supervise Clinical Practice -- 

Registered Nurse Provisional License (rev. 4/2015) 

Instructions and Application for Restricted Volunteer 

Nursing License (rev. 5/2016) 

Request to Change License Status: Inactive to Active for RN 

and LPN (rev. 8/2016) 

CHAPTER 27 

REGULATIONS FOR NURSING EDUCATION 

PROGRAMS 

Part I 

General Provisions 

18VAC90-27-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in § 54.1-3000 of the 

Code of Virginia, the following words and terms when used 

in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Accreditation" means having been accredited by the 

Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, the 

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, or a national 

nursing accrediting organization recognized by the board. 

"Advisory committee" means a group of persons from a 

nursing education program and the health care community 

who meets regularly to advise the nursing education program 

on the quality of its graduates and the needs of the 

community. 

"Approval" means the process by which the board or a 

governmental agency in another state or foreign country 

evaluates and grants official recognition to nursing education 

programs that meet established standards not inconsistent 

with Virginia law. 

"Associate degree nursing program" means a nursing 

education program preparing for registered nurse licensure, 

offered by a Virginia college or other institution and designed 

to lead to an associate degree in nursing, provided that the 

institution is authorized to confer such degree by SCHEV. 

"Baccalaureate degree nursing program" or "prelicensure 

graduate degree program" means a nursing education 

program preparing for registered nurse licensure, offered by a 

Virginia college or university and designed to lead to a 

baccalaureate or a graduate degree with a major in nursing, 

provided that the institution is authorized to confer such 

degree by SCHEV. 

"Board" means the Board of Nursing. 

"Clinical setting" means any location in which the clinical 

practice of nursing occurs as specified in an agreement 

between the cooperating agency and the school of nursing. 

"Conditional approval" means a time-limited status that 

results when an approved nursing education program has 

failed to maintain requirements as set forth in this chapter. 

"Cooperating agency" means an agency or institution that 

enters into a written agreement to provide clinical or 

observational experiences for a nursing education program. 

"Diploma nursing program" means a nursing education 

program preparing for registered nurse licensure, offered by a 

hospital and designed to lead to a diploma in nursing, 

provided the hospital is licensed in this state. 

"Initial approval" means the status granted to a nursing 

education program that allows the admission of students. 

"National certifying organization" means an organization 

that has as one of its purposes the certification of a specialty 

in nursing based on an examination attesting to the 

knowledge of the nurse for practice in the specialty area. 

"NCLEX" means the National Council Licensure 

Examination. 

"NCSBN" means the National Council of State Boards of 

Nursing. 

"Nursing education program" means an entity offering a 

basic course of study preparing persons for licensure as 

registered nurses or as licensed practical nurses. A basic 

course of study shall include all courses required for the 

degree, diploma, or certificate. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=86418003068~18&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=86418003068~18&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7c4bd003068~20&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7c4bd003068~20&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=31199003068~20&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=31199003068~20&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4786e004643~3&typ=40&actno=004643&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4786e004643~3&typ=40&actno=004643&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91f3d003068~33&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91f3d003068~33&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91f3d003068~33&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4c535003068~34&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4c535003068~34&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4c535003068~34&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60acb003068~36&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60acb003068~36&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=09a0d004643~4&typ=40&actno=004643&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=09a0d004643~4&typ=40&actno=004643&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8123e004643~5&typ=40&actno=004643&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8123e004643~5&typ=40&actno=004643&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b5039004643~6&typ=40&actno=004643&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cd4d7004643~7&typ=40&actno=004643&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cd4d7004643~7&typ=40&actno=004643&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8865f003068~43&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8865f003068~43&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bf803002989~3&typ=40&actno=002989&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bf803002989~3&typ=40&actno=002989&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=763ef004643~8&typ=40&actno=004643&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=763ef004643~8&typ=40&actno=004643&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ec3a0004643~9&typ=40&actno=004643&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ec3a0004643~9&typ=40&actno=004643&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4520a004643~10&typ=40&actno=004643&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4520a004643~10&typ=40&actno=004643&mime=application/pdf
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"Nursing faculty" means registered nurses who teach the 

practice of nursing in nursing education programs. 

"Practical nursing program" means a nursing education 

program preparing for practical nurse licensure that leads to a 

diploma or certificate in practical nursing, provided the 

school is authorized by the Virginia Department of Education 

or by an accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. 

Department of Education. 

"Preceptor" means a licensed nurse who is employed in the 

clinical setting, serves as a resource person and role model, 

and is present with the nursing student in that setting, 

providing clinical supervision. 

"Program director" means a registered nurse who holds a 

current, unrestricted license in Virginia or a multistate 

licensure privilege and who has been designated by the 

controlling authority to administer the nursing education 

program. 

"Recommendation" means a guide to actions that will assist 

an institution to improve and develop its nursing education 

program. 

"Requirement" means a mandatory condition that a nursing 

education program must meet to be approved or maintain 

approval. 

"SCHEV" means the State Council of Higher Education for 

Virginia. 

"Site visit" means a focused onsite review of the nursing 

program by board staff, usually completed within one day for 

the purpose of evaluating program components such as the 

physical location (skills lab, classrooms, learning resources) 

for obtaining initial program approval, in response to a 

complaint, compliance with NCLEX plan of correction, 

change of location, or verification of noncompliance with this 

chapter. 

"Survey visit" means a comprehensive onsite review of the 

nursing program by board staff, usually completed within two 

days (depending on the number of programs or campuses 

being reviewed) for the purpose of obtaining and maintaining 

full program approval. The survey visit includes the 

program's completion of a self-evaluation report prior to the 

visit, as well as a board staff review of all program resources, 

including skills lab, classrooms, learning resources, and 

clinical facilities, and other components to ensure compliance 

with this chapter. Meetings with faculty, administration, 

students, and clinical facility staff will occur. 

18VAC90-27-20. Fees. 

Fees required by the board are: 

1. Application for approval of a nursing 

education program. 

$1,650 

2. Survey visit for nursing education program. $2,200 

3. Site visit for NCLEX passage rate for 

nursing education program. 

$1,500 

Part II 

Initial Approval of a Nursing Education Program 

18VAC90-27-30. Application for initial approval. 

An institution wishing to establish a nursing education 

program shall: 

1. Provide documentation of attendance by the program 

director at a board orientation on establishment of a 

nursing education program prior to submission of an 

application and fee. 

2. Submit to the board an application to establish a nursing 

education program along with a nonrefundable application 

fee as prescribed in 18VAC90-27-20. 

a. The application shall be effective for 12 months from 

the date the application was received by the board. 

b. If the program does not meet the board's requirements 

for approval within 12 months, the institution shall file a 

new application and fee. 

3. Submit the following information on the organization 

and operation of a nursing education program: 

a. A copy of a business license and zoning permit to 

operate a school in a Virginia location, a certificate of 

operation from the State Corporation Commission, 

evidence of approval from the Virginia Department of 

Education or SCHEV, and documentation of 

accreditation, if applicable; 

b. The organizational structure of the institution and its 

relationship to the nursing education program therein; 

c. The type of nursing program, as defined in 18VAC90-

27-10; 

d. An enrollment plan specifying the beginning dates and 

number of students for each class for a two-year period 

from the date of initial approval including (i) the planned 

number of students in the first class and in all subsequent 

classes and (ii) the planned frequency of admissions. Any 

increase in admissions that is not stated in the enrollment 

plan must be approved by the board. Also, transfer 

students are not authorized until full approval has been 

granted to the nursing education program; and 

e. A tentative time schedule for planning and initiating 

the program through graduation of the first class and the 

program's receipt of results of the NCLEX examination. 

4. Submit to the board evidence documenting adequate 

resources for the projected number of students and the 

ability to provide a program that can meet the requirements 

of this part to include the following information: 

a. The results of a community assessment or market 

analysis that demonstrates the need for the nursing 

education program in the geographic area for the 

proposed school. The assessment or analysis shall 

include employment opportunities of nurses in the 

community, the number of clinical facilities or employers 

available for the size of the community to support the 
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number of graduates, and the number and types of other 

nursing education programs in the area; 

b. A projection of the availability of qualified faculty 

sufficient to provide classroom instruction and clinical 

supervision for the number of students specified by the 

program; 

c. Budgeted faculty positions sufficient in number to 

provide classroom instruction and clinical supervision; 

d. Availability of clinical training facilities for the 

program as evidenced by copies of contracts or letters of 

agreement specifying the responsibilities of the 

respective parties and indicating sufficient availability of 

clinical experiences for the number of students in the 

program, the number of students, and clinical hours 

permitted at each clinical site and on each nursing unit; 

e. Documentation that at least 80% of all clinical 

experiences are to be conducted in Virginia, unless an 

exception is granted by the board. There shall be 

documentation of written approval for any clinical 

experience conducted outside of Virginia by the agency 

that has authority to approve clinical placement of 

students in that state. The use of any clinical site in 

Virginia located 50 miles or more from the school shall 

require board approval; 

f. A diagram or blueprint showing the availability of 

academic facilities for the program, including 

classrooms, skills laboratory, and learning resource 

center. This information shall include the number of 

restrooms for the student and faculty population, 

classroom and skills laboratory space large enough to 

accommodate the number of the student body, and 

sufficient faculty office space; and 

g. Evidence of financial resources for the planning, 

implementation, and continuation of the program with 

line-item budget projections for the first three years of 

operations beginning with the admission of students. 

5. Respond to the board's request for additional 

information within a timeframe established by the board. 

18VAC90-27-40. Organization and administration. 

A. The governing or parent institution offering Virginia 

nursing education programs shall be approved by the Virginia 

Department of Education or SCHEV or accredited by an 

accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Department of 

Education.  

B. Any agency or institution used for clinical experience by 

a nursing education program shall be in good standing with 

its licensing body.  

C. The program director of the nursing education program 

shall: 

1. Hold a current license or multistate licensure privilege to 

practice as a registered nurse in the Commonwealth 

without any disciplinary action that currently restricts 

practice; 

2. Have additional education and experience necessary to 

administer, plan, implement, and evaluate the nursing 

education program; 

3. Ensure that faculty are qualified by education and 

experience to teach in the program or to supervise the 

clinical practice of students in the program; 

4. Maintain a current faculty roster, a current clinical 

agency form, and current clinical contracts available for 

board review and subject to an audit; and 

5. Only serve as program director at one location or 

campus.  

D. The program shall provide evidence that the director has 

authority to: 

1. Implement the program and curriculum;  

2. Oversee the admission, academic progression, and 

graduation of students; 

3. Hire and evaluate faculty; and 

4. Recommend and administer the program budget, 

consistent with established policies of the controlling 

agency. 

E. An organizational plan shall indicate the lines of authority 

and communication of the nursing education program to the 

controlling body, to other departments within the controlling 

institution, to the cooperating agencies, and to the advisory 

committee for the nursing education program. 

F. There shall be evidence of financial support and resources 

sufficient to meet the goals of the nursing education program 

as evidenced by a copy of the current annual budget or a 

signed statement from administration specifically detailing its 

financial support and resources. 

18VAC90-27-50. Philosophy and objectives. 

Written statements of philosophy and objectives shall be the 

foundation of the curriculum and shall be:  

1. Formulated and accepted by the faculty and the program 

director;  

2. Descriptive of the practitioner to be prepared; and  

3. The basis for planning, implementing, and evaluating 

the total program through the implementation of a 

systematic plan of evaluation that is documented in faculty 

or committee meeting minutes. 

18VAC90-27-60. Faculty. 

A. Qualifications for all faculty.  

1. Every member of the nursing faculty, including the 

program director, shall (i) hold a current license or a 

multistate licensure privilege to practice nursing in 

Virginia as a registered nurse without any disciplinary 

action that currently restricts practice and (ii) have had at 

least two years of direct client care experience as a 

registered nurse prior to employment by the program. 
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Persons providing instruction in topics other than nursing 

shall not be required to hold a license as a registered nurse.  

2. Every member of a nursing faculty supervising the 

clinical practice of students shall meet the licensure 

requirements of the jurisdiction in which that practice 

occurs. Faculty shall provide evidence of education or 

experience in the specialty area in which they supervise 

student clinical experience for quality and safety. Prior to 

supervision of students, the faculty providing supervision 

shall have completed a clinical orientation to the site in 

which supervision is being provided.  

3. The program director and each member of the nursing 

faculty shall maintain documentation of professional 

competence through such activities as nursing practice, 

continuing education programs, conferences, workshops, 

seminars, academic courses, research projects, and 

professional writing. Documentation of annual professional 

development shall be maintained in employee files for the 

director and each faculty member until the next survey 

visit and shall be available for board review. 

4. For baccalaureate degree and prelicensure graduate 

degree programs:  

a. The program director shall hold a doctoral degree with 

a graduate degree in nursing.  

b. Every member of the nursing faculty shall hold a 

graduate degree; the majority of the faculty shall have a 

graduate degree in nursing. Faculty members with a 

graduate degree with a major other than in nursing shall 

have a baccalaureate degree with a major in nursing.  

5. For associate degree and diploma programs:  

a. The program director shall hold a graduate degree with 

a major in nursing.  

b. The majority of the members of the nursing faculty 

shall hold a graduate degree, preferably with a major in 

nursing.  

c. All members of the nursing faculty shall hold a 

baccalaureate or graduate degree with a major in nursing.  

6. For practical nursing programs:  

a. The program director shall hold a baccalaureate degree 

with a major in nursing.  

b. The majority of the members of the nursing faculty 

shall hold a baccalaureate degree, preferably with a 

major in nursing.  

B. Number of faculty.  

1. The number of faculty shall be sufficient to prepare the 

students to achieve the objectives of the educational 

program and to ensure safety for clients to whom students 

provide care.  

2. When students are giving direct care to clients, the ratio 

of students to faculty shall not exceed 10 students to one 

faculty member, and the faculty shall be on site solely to 

supervise students.  

3. When preceptors are utilized for specified learning 

experiences in clinical settings, the faculty member may 

supervise up to 15 students.  

C. Functions. The principal functions of the faculty shall be 

to:  

1. Develop, implement, and evaluate the philosophy and 

objectives of the nursing education program;  

2. Design, implement, teach, evaluate, and revise the 

curriculum. Faculty shall provide evidence of education 

and experience necessary to indicate that they are 

competent to teach a given course;  

3. Develop and evaluate student admission, progression, 

retention, and graduation policies within the framework of 

the controlling institution;  

4. Participate in academic advisement and counseling of 

students in accordance with requirements of the Financial 

Educational Rights and Privacy Act (20 USC § 1232g);  

5. Provide opportunities for and evidence of student and 

graduate evaluation of curriculum and teaching and 

program effectiveness; and  

6. Document actions taken in faculty and committee 

meetings using a systematic plan of evaluation for total 

program review. 

18VAC90-27-70. Admission of students. 

A. Requirements for admission to a registered nursing 

education program shall not be less than the requirements of § 

54.1-3017 A 1 of the Code of Virginia that will permit the 

graduate to be admitted to the appropriate licensing 

examination. The equivalent of a four-year high school course 

of study as required pursuant to § 54.1-3017 shall be 

considered to be:  

1. A General Educational Development (GED) certificate 

for high school equivalence; or  

2. Satisfactory completion of the college courses required 

by the nursing education program.  

B. Requirements for admission to a practical nursing 

education program shall not be less than the requirements of § 

54.1-3020 A 1 of the Code of Virginia that will permit the 

graduate to be admitted to the appropriate licensing 

examination. 

C. Requirements for admission, readmission, advanced 

standing, progression, retention, dismissal, and graduation 

shall be available to the students in written form.  

D. Except for high school students, all applicants to a 

nursing education program shall be required to submit to a 

criminal background check prior to admission. 

E. Transfer students may not be admitted until a nursing 

education program has received full approval from the board. 
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18VAC90-27-80. Resources, facilities, publications, and 

services. 

A. Classrooms, conference rooms, laboratories, clinical 

facilities, and offices shall be sufficient to meet the objectives 

of the nursing education program and the needs of the 

students, faculty, administration, and staff and shall include 

private areas for faculty-student conferences. The nursing 

education program shall provide facilities that meet federal 

and state requirements, including:  

1. Comfortable temperatures;  

2. Clean and safe conditions;  

3. Adequate lighting;  

4. Adequate space to accommodate all students; and 

5. Instructional technology and equipment needed for 

simulating client care. 

B. The program shall have learning resources and 

technology that are current, pertinent, and accessible to 

students and faculty and sufficient to meet the needs of the 

students and faculty.  

C. Current information about the nursing education program 

shall be published and distributed to applicants for admission 

and shall be made available to the board. Such information 

shall include:  

1. Description of the program to include whether the 

program is accredited by a nursing education accrediting 

body;  

2. Philosophy and objectives of the controlling institution 

and of the nursing program;  

3. Admission and graduation requirements, including the 

policy on the use of a final comprehensive exam;  

4. Fees and expenses;  

5. Availability of financial aid;  

6. Tuition refund policy;  

7. Education facilities;  

8. Availability of student activities and services;  

9. Curriculum plan, to include course progression from 

admission to graduation, the name of each course, theory 

hours, skills lab hours, simulation hours (if used in lieu of 

direct client care hours), and clinical hours;  

10. Course descriptions, to include a complete overview of 

what is taught in each course;  

11. Faculty-staff roster;  

12. School calendar;  

13. Student grievance policy; and 

14. Information about implications of criminal convictions. 

D. Administrative support services shall be provided. 

E. There shall be written agreements with cooperating 

agencies that:  

1. Ensure full control of student education by the faculty of 

the nursing education program, including the selection and 

supervision of learning experiences, to include the 

dismissal of students from the clinical site if client safety is 

or may be compromised by the acts of the student; 

2. Provide that faculty members or preceptors are present 

in the clinical setting when students are providing direct 

client care;  

3. Provide for cooperative planning with designated agency 

personnel to ensure safe client care; and  

4. Provide that faculty be readily available to students and 

preceptors while students are involved in preceptorship 

experiences. 

F. Cooperating agencies shall be approved by the 

appropriate accreditation, evaluation, or licensing bodies, if 

such exist. 

18VAC90-27-90. Curriculum. 

A. Both classroom and online curricula shall reflect the 

philosophy and objectives of the nursing education program 

and shall be consistent with the law governing the practice of 

nursing.  

B. Nursing education programs preparing for licensure as a 

registered or practical nurse shall include: 

1. Evidence-based didactic content and supervised clinical 

experience in nursing, encompassing the attainment and 

maintenance of physical and mental health and the 

prevention of illness for individuals and groups throughout 

the life cycle and in a variety of acute, nonacute, 

community-based, and long-term care clinical settings and 

experiences to include adult medical/surgical nursing, 

geriatric nursing, maternal/infant (obstetrics, gynecology, 

neonatal) nursing, mental health/psychiatric nursing, 

nursing fundamentals, and pediatric nursing; 

2. Concepts of the nursing process that include conducting 

a focused nursing assessment of the client status that 

includes decision making about who and when to inform, 

identifying client needs, planning for episodic nursing care, 

implementing appropriate aspects of client care, 

contributing to data collection and the evaluation of client 

outcomes, and the appropriate reporting and 

documentation of collected data and care rendered; 

3. Concepts of anatomy, physiology, chemistry, 

microbiology, and the behavioral sciences; 

4. Concepts of communication, growth and development, 

nurse-client interpersonal relations, and client education, 

including: 

a. Development of professional socialization that 

includes working in interdisciplinary teams; and 

b. Conflict resolution; 
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5. Concepts of ethics and the vocational and legal aspects 

of nursing, including: 

a. Regulations and sections of the Code of Virginia 

related to nursing; 

b. Client rights, privacy, and confidentiality;  

c. Prevention of client abuse, neglect, and abandonment 

throughout the life cycle, including instruction in the 

recognition, intervention, and reporting by the nurse of 

evidence of child or elder abuse;  

d. Professional responsibility, to include the role of the 

practical and professional nurse;  

e. Professional boundaries, to include appropriate use of 

social media and electronic technology; and 

f. History and trends in nursing and health care; 

6. Concepts of pharmacology, dosage calculation, 

medication administration, nutrition, and diet therapy; 

7. Concepts of client-centered care, including: 

a. Respect for cultural differences, values, and 

preferences; 

b. Promotion of healthy life styles for clients and 

populations; 

c. Promotion of a safe client environment;  

d. Prevention and appropriate response to situations of 

bioterrorism, natural and man-made disasters, and 

intimate partner and family violence;  

e. Use of critical thinking and clinical judgment in the 

implementation of safe client care; and 

f. Care of clients with multiple, chronic conditions; and 

8. Development of management and supervisory skills, 

including: 

a. The use of technology in medication administration 

and documentation of client care;  

b. Participation in quality improvement processes and 

systems to measure client outcomes and identify hazards 

and errors; and 

c. Supervision of certified nurse aides, registered 

medication aides, and unlicensed assistive personnel. 

C. In addition to meeting curriculum requirements set forth 

in subsection B of this section, registered nursing education 

programs preparing for registered nurse licensure shall also 

include: 

1. Evidence-based didactic content and supervised clinical 

experiences in conducting a comprehensive nursing 

assessment that includes: 

a. Extensive data collection, both initial and ongoing, for 

individuals, families, groups, and communities 

addressing anticipated changes in client conditions as 

well as emerging changes in a client's health status;  

b. Recognition of alterations to previous client 

conditions;  

c. Synthesizing the biological, psychological, and social 

aspects of the client's condition;  

d. Evaluation of the effectiveness and impact of nursing 

care;  

e. Planning for nursing interventions and evaluating the 

need for different interventions for individuals, groups, 

and communities; 

f. Evaluation and implementation of the need to 

communicate and consult with other health team 

members; and  

g. Use of a broad and complete analysis to make 

independent decisions and nursing diagnoses; and 

2. Evidence-based didactic content and supervised 

experiences in: 

a. Development of clinical judgment;  

b. Development of leadership skills and unit 

management; 

c. Knowledge of the rules and principles for delegation of 

nursing tasks to unlicensed persons; 

d. Supervision of licensed practical nurses; 

e. Involvement of clients in decision making and a plan 

of care; and 

f. Concepts of pathophysiology. 

18VAC90-27-100. Curriculum for direct client care. 

A. A nursing education program preparing a student for 

licensure as a registered nurse shall provide a minimum of 

500 hours of direct client care supervised by qualified faculty. 

A nursing education program preparing a student for 

licensure as a practical nurse shall provide a minimum of 400 

hours of direct client care supervised by qualified faculty. 

Direct client care hours shall include experiences and settings 

as set forth in 18VAC90-27-90 B 1.  

B. Licensed practical nurses transitioning into prelicensure 

registered nursing programs may be awarded no more than 

150 clinical hours of the 400 clinical hours received in a 

practical nursing program. In a practical nursing to registered 

nursing transitional program, the remainder of the clinical 

hours shall include registered nursing clinical experience 

across the life cycle in adult medical/surgical nursing, 

maternal/infant (obstetrics, gynecology, neonatal) nursing, 

mental health/psychiatric nursing, and pediatric nursing. 

C. Any observational experiences shall be planned in 

cooperation with the agency involved to meet stated course 

objectives. Observational experiences shall not be accepted 

toward the 400 or 500 minimum clinical hours required. 

Observational objectives shall be available to students, the 

clinical unit, and the board. 

D. Simulation for direct client clinical hours. 

1. No more than 25% of direct client contact hours may be 

simulation. For prelicensure registered nursing programs, 

the total of simulated client care hours cannot exceed 125 
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hours (25% of the required 500 hours). For prelicensure 

practical nursing programs, the total of simulated client 

care hours cannot exceed 100 hours (25% of the required 

400 hours). 

2. No more than 50% of the total clinical hours for any 

course may be used as simulation. 

3. Skills acquisition and task training alone, as in the 

traditional use of a skills laboratory, do not qualify as 

simulated client care and therefore do not meet the 

requirements for direct client care hours. 

4. Clinical simulation must be led by faculty who meet the 

qualifications specified in 18VAC90-27-60.  

5. Documentation of the following shall be available for all 

simulated experiences:  

a. Course description and objectives;  

b. Type of simulation and location of simulated 

experience;  

c. Number of simulated hours; 

d. Faculty qualifications; and  

e. Methods of debriefing. 

18VAC90-27-110. Clinical practice of students. 

A. In accordance with § 54.1-3001 of the Code of Virginia, 

a nursing student, while enrolled in an approved nursing 

program, may perform tasks that would constitute the practice 

of nursing. The student shall be responsible and accountable 

for the safe performance of those direct client care tasks to 

which he has been assigned. 

B. Faculty shall be responsible for ensuring that students 

perform only skills or services in direct client care for which 

they have received instruction and have been found proficient 

by the instructor. Skills checklists shall be maintained for 

each student. 

C. Faculty members or preceptors providing onsite 

supervision in the clinical care of clients shall be responsible 

and accountable for the assignment of clients and tasks based 

on their assessment and evaluation of the student's clinical 

knowledge and skills. Supervisors shall also monitor clinical 

performance and intervene if necessary for the safety and 

protection of the clients.  

D. Clinical preceptors may be used to augment the faculty 

and enhance the clinical learning experience. Faculty shall be 

responsible for the designation of a preceptor for each student 

and shall communicate such assignment with the preceptor. A 

preceptor may not further delegate the duties of the 

preceptorship.  

E. Preceptors shall provide to the nursing education program 

evidence of competence to supervise student clinical 

experience for quality and safety in each specialty area where 

they supervise students. The clinical preceptor shall be 

licensed as a nurse at or above the level for which the student 

is preparing.  

F. Supervision of students. 

1. When faculty are supervising direct client care by 

students, the ratio of students to faculty shall not exceed 10 

students to one faculty member. The faculty member shall 

be on site in the clinical setting solely to supervise 

students. 

2. When preceptors are utilized for specified learning 

experiences in clinical settings, the faculty member may 

supervise up to 15 students. In utilizing preceptors to 

supervise students in the clinical setting, the ratio shall not 

exceed two students to one preceptor at any given time. 

During the period in which students are in the clinical 

setting with a preceptor, the faculty member shall be 

available for communication and consultation with the 

preceptor. 

G. Prior to beginning any preceptorship, the following shall 

be required: 

1. Written objectives, methodology, and evaluation 

procedures for a specified period of time to include the 

dates of each experience;  

2. An orientation program for faculty, preceptors, and 

students;  

3. A skills checklist detailing the performance of skills for 

which the student has had faculty-supervised clinical and 

didactic preparation; and  

4. The overall coordination by faculty who assume 

ultimate responsibility for implementation, periodic 

monitoring, and evaluation. 

18VAC90-27-120. Granting of initial program approval. 

A. Initial approval may be granted when all documentation 

required in 18VAC90-27-30 has been submitted and is 

deemed satisfactory to the board and when the following 

conditions are met:  

1. There is evidence that the requirements for organization 

and administration and the philosophy and objectives of 

the program, as set forth in 18VAC90-27-40 and 

18VAC90-27-50, have been met; 

2. A program director who meets board requirements has 

been appointed, and there are sufficient faculty to initiate 

the program as required in 18VAC90-27-60;  

3. A written curriculum plan developed in accordance with 

18VAC90-27-90 has been submitted and approved by the 

board; 

4. A written systematic plan of evaluation has been 

developed and approved by the board; and 

5. The program is in compliance with requirements of 

18VAC90-27-80 for resources, facilities, publications, and 

services as verified by a satisfactory site visit conducted by 

a representative of the board. 

B. If initial approval is granted: 

1. The advertisement of the nursing program is authorized. 
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2. The admission of students is authorized, except that 

transfer students are not authorized to be admitted until the 

program has received full program approval. 

3. The program director shall submit quarterly progress 

reports to the board that shall include evidence of progress 

toward full program approval and other information as 

required by the board. 

18VAC90-27-130. Denying or withdrawing initial 

program approval. 

A. Denial of initial program approval.  

1. Initial approval may be denied for causes enumerated in 

18VAC90-27-140. 

2. If initial approval is denied: 

a. The program shall be given an option of correcting the 

deficiencies cited by the board during the time remaining 

in its initial 12-month period following receipt of the 

application.  

b. No further action regarding the application shall be 

required of the board unless the program requests, within 

30 days of the mailing of the decision, an informal 

conference pursuant to §§ 2.2-4019 and 54.1-109 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

3. If denial is recommended following the informal 

conference, the recommendation shall be presented to the 

board or a panel thereof for review and action. 

4. If the recommendation of the informal conference 

committee to deny initial approval is accepted by the board 

or a panel thereof, the decision shall be reflected in a board 

order, and no further action by the board is required. The 

program may request a formal hearing within 30 days from 

entry of the order in accordance with § 2.2-4020 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

5. If the decision of the board or a panel thereof following 

a formal hearing is to deny initial approval, the program 

shall be advised of the right to appeal the decision to the 

appropriate circuit court in accordance with § 2.2-4026 of 

the Code of Virginia and Part 2A of the Rules of the 

Supreme Court of Virginia. 

B. Withdrawal of initial program approval. 

1. Initial approval shall be withdrawn and the program 

closed if: 

a. The program has not admitted students within six 

months of approval of its application; 

b. The program fails to submit evidence of progression 

toward full program approval; or  

c. For any of the causes enumerated in 18VAC90-27-

140. 

2. If a decision is made to withdraw initial approval, no 

further action shall be required by the board unless the 

program within 30 days of the mailing of the decision 

requests an informal conference pursuant to §§ 2.2-4019 

and 54.1-109 of the Code of Virginia.  

3. If withdrawal of initial approval is recommended 

following the informal conference, the recommendation 

shall be presented to the board or a panel thereof for 

review and action.  

4. If the recommendation of the informal conference 

committee to withdraw initial approval is accepted by the 

board or a panel thereof, the decision shall be reflected in a 

board order, and no further action by the board is required 

unless the program requests a formal hearing within 30 

days from entry of the order in accordance with § 2.2-4020 

of the Code of Virginia. 

5. If the decision of the board or a panel thereof following 

a formal hearing is to withdraw initial approval, the 

program shall be advised of the right to appeal the decision 

to the appropriate circuit court in accordance with § 2.2-

4026 of the Code of Virginia and Part 2A of the Rules of 

the Supreme Court of Virginia. 

18VAC90-27-140. Causes for denial or withdrawal of 

nursing education program approval. 

A. Denial or withdrawal of program approval may be based 

upon the following: 

1. Failing to demonstrate compliance with program 

requirements in Part II (18VAC90-27-30 et seq.), III 

(18VAC90-27-150 et seq.), or IV (18VAC90-27-210 et 

seq.) of this chapter. 

2. Failing to comply with terms and conditions placed on a 

program by the board. 

3. Advertising for or admitting students without authority, 

board approval, or contrary to a board restriction. 

4. Failing to progress students through the program in 

accordance with an approved timeframe.  

5. Failing to provide evidence of progression toward initial 

program approval within a timeframe established by the 

board. 

6. Failing to provide evidence of progression toward full 

program approval within a timeframe established by the 

board. 

7. Failing to respond to requests for information required 

from board representatives. 

8. Fraudulently submitting documents or statements to the 

board or its representatives. 

9. Having had past actions taken by the board, other states, 

or accrediting entities regarding the same nursing 

education program operating in another jurisdiction. 

10. Failing to maintain a pass rate of 80% on the NCLEX 

for graduates of the program as required by 18VAC90-27-

210.  
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11. Failing to comply with an order of the board or with 

any terms and conditions placed upon it by the board for 

continued approval.  

12. Having the program director, owner, or operator of the 

program convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor involving 

moral turpitude or his professional license disciplined by a 

licensing body or regulatory authority.  

13. Failing to pay the required fee for a survey or site visit.  

B. Withdrawal of nursing education program approval may 

occur at any stage in the application or approval process 

pursuant to procedures enumerated in 18VAC90-27-130, 

18VAC90-27-160, and 18VAC90-27-230.  

C. Programs with approval denied or withdrawn may not 

accept or admit additional students into the program effective 

upon the date of entry of the board's final order to deny or 

withdraw approval. Further, the program shall submit 

quarterly reports until the program is closed, and the program 

shall comply with board requirements regarding closure of a 

program as stated in 18VAC90-27-240. 

Part III 

Full Approval for a Nursing Education Program 

18VAC90-27-150. Granting full program approval. 

A. Full approval may be granted when: 

1. A self-evaluation report of compliance with Part II 

(18VAC90-27-30 et seq.) of this chapter and a survey visit 

fee as specified in 18VAC90-27-20 have been submitted 

and received by the board;  

2. The program has achieved a passage rate of not less than 

80% for the program's first-time test takers taking the 

NCLEX based on at least 20 graduates within a two-year 

period; and 

3. A satisfactory survey visit and report have been made by 

a representative of the board verifying that the program is 

in compliance with all requirements for program approval. 

B. If full approval is granted, the program shall continue to 

comply with all requirements in Parts II (18VAC90-27-30 et 

seq.) and III (18VAC90-27-150 et seq.) of this chapter, and 

admission of transfer students is authorized. 

18VAC90-27-160. Denying full program approval. 

A. Denial of full program approval may occur for causes 

enumerated in 18VAC90-27-140. 

B. If full program approval is denied, the board shall also be 

authorized to do one of the following: 

1. The board may continue the program on initial program 

approval with terms and conditions to be met within the 

timeframe specified by the board; or 

2. The board may withdraw initial program approval. 

C. If the board takes one of the actions specified in 

subsection B of this section, the following shall apply: 

1. No further action will be required of the board unless the 

program within 30 days of the mailing of the decision 

requests an informal conference pursuant to §§ 2.2-4019 

and 54.1-109 the Code of Virginia. 

2. If continued initial program approval with terms and 

conditions or withdrawal of initial approval is 

recommended following the informal conference, the 

recommendation shall be presented to the board or a panel 

thereof for review and action. 

3. If the recommendation of the informal conference 

committee is accepted by the board or a panel thereof, the 

decision shall be reflected in a board order, and no further 

action by the board regarding the application is required. 

The program may request a formal hearing within 30 days 

from entry of the order in accordance with § 2.2-4020 and 

subdivision 11 of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

4. If the decision of the board or a panel thereof following 

a formal hearing is to deny full approval or withdraw or 

continue on initial approval with terms or conditions, the 

program shall be advised of the right to appeal the decision 

to the appropriate circuit court in accordance with § 2.2-

4026 of the Code of Virginia and Part 2A of the Rules of 

the Supreme Court of Virginia. 

D. If a program is denied full approval and initial approval 

withdrawn, no additional students may be accepted into the 

program, effective upon the date of entry of the board's final 

order to deny or withdraw approval. Further, the program 

shall submit quarterly reports until the program is closed, and 

the program shall comply with board requirements regarding 

closure of a program as stated in 18VAC90-27-240. 

18VAC90-27-170. Requests for exception to requirements 

for faculty. 

After full approval has been granted, a program may request 

board approval for exceptions to requirements of 18VAC90-

27-60 for faculty as follows:  

1. Initial request for exception.  

a. The program director shall submit a request for initial 

exception in writing to the board for consideration prior 

to the academic year during which the nursing faculty 

member is scheduled to teach or whenever an unexpected 

vacancy has occurred. 

b. A description of teaching assignment, a curriculum 

vitae, and a statement of intent from the prospective 

faculty member to pursue the required degree shall 

accompany each request. 

c. The executive director of the board shall be authorized 

to make the initial decision on requests for exceptions. 

Any appeal of that decision shall be in accordance with 

the provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-

4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

2. Request for continuing exception. 

a. Continuing exception will be based on the progress of 

the nursing faculty member toward meeting the degree 
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required by this chapter during each year for which the 

exception is requested. 

b. The program director shall submit the request for 

continuing exception in writing prior to the next 

academic year during which the nursing faculty member 

is scheduled to teach. 

c. A list of courses required for the degree being pursued 

and college transcripts showing successful completion of 

a minimum of two of the courses during the past 

academic year shall accompany each request. 

d. Any request for continuing exception shall be 

considered by the informal factfinding committee, which 

shall make a recommendation to the board. 

18VAC90-27-180. Records and provision of information. 

A. Requirements for admission, readmission, advanced 

standing, progression, retention, dismissal, and graduation 

shall be readily available to the students in written form. 

B. A system of records shall be maintained and be made 

available to the board representative and shall include:  

1. Data relating to accreditation by any agency or body.  

2. Course outlines.  

3. Minutes of faculty and committee meetings, including 

documentation of the use of a systematic plan of evaluation 

for total program review and including those faculty 

members in attendance.  

4. Record of and disposition of complaints. 

C. A file shall be maintained for each student. Provision 

shall be made for the protection of student and graduate files 

against loss, destruction, and unauthorized use. Each file shall 

be available to the board representative and shall include the 

student's:  

1. Application, including the date of its submission and the 

date of admission into the program;  

2. High school transcript or copy of high school 

equivalence certificate, and if the student is a foreign 

graduate, a transcript translated into English; 

3. Current record of achievement to include classroom 

grades, skills checklists, and clinical hours for each course; 

and  

4. A final transcript retained in the permanent file of the 

institution to include dates of admission and completion of 

coursework, graduation date, name and address of 

graduate, the dates of each semester or term, course grades, 

and authorized signature. 

D. Current information about the nursing education program 

shall be published and distributed to students and applicants 

for admission and shall be made available to the board. In 

addition to information specified in 18VAC90-27-80 C, the 

following information shall be included:  

1. Annual passage rates on NCLEX for the past five years; 

and 

2. Accreditation status. 

18VAC90-27-190. Evaluation of resources; written 

agreements with cooperating agencies. 

A. Periodic evaluations of resources, facilities, and services 

shall be conducted by the administration, faculty, students, 

and graduates of the nursing education program, including an 

employer evaluation for graduates of the nursing education 

program. Such evaluation shall include assurance that at least 

80% of all clinical experiences are conducted in Virginia 

unless an exception has been granted by the board.  

B. Current written agreements with cooperating agencies 

shall be maintained and reviewed annually and shall be in 

accordance with 18VAC90-27-80 E.  

C. Upon request, a program shall provide a clinical agency 

summary on a form provided by the board.  

D. Upon request and if applicable, the program shall provide 

(i) documentation of board approval for use of clinical sites 

located 50 or more miles from the school, and (ii) for use of 

clinical experiences conducted outside of Virginia, 

documented approval from the agency that has authority to 

approve clinical placement of students in that state. 

18VAC90-27-200. Program changes. 

A. The following shall be reported to the board within 10 

days of the change or receipt of a report from an accrediting 

body:  

1. Change in the program director, governing body, or 

parent institution;  

2. Adverse action taken by a licensing authority against the 

program director, governing body, or parent institution;  

3. Conviction of a felony or misdemeanor involving moral 

turpitude against the program director, owner, or operator 

of the program;  

4. Change in the physical location of the program;  

5. Change in the availability of clinical sites; 

6. Change in financial resources that could substantively 

affect the nursing education program;  

7. Change in content of curriculum, faculty, or method of 

delivery that affects 25% or more of the total hours of 

didactic and clinical instruction; 

8. Change in accreditation status; and 

9. A final report with findings and recommendations from 

the accrediting body. 

B. Other curriculum or faculty changes shall be reported to 

the board with the annual report required in 18VAC90-27-

220 A. 

Part IV 

Continued Approval of Nursing Education Programs 

18VAC90-27-210. Passage rate on national examination. 

A. For the purpose of continued approval by the board, a 

nursing education program shall maintain a passage rate for 
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first-time test takers on the NCLEX that is not less than 80%, 

calculated on the cumulative results of the past four quarters 

of all graduates in each calendar year regardless of where the 

graduate is seeking licensure. 

B. If an approved program falls below 80% for one year, it 

shall submit a plan of correction to the board. If an approved 

program falls below 80% for two consecutive years, the board 

shall place the program on conditional approval with terms 

and conditions, require the program to submit a plan of 

correction, and conduct a site visit. Prior to the conduct of 

such a visit, the program shall submit the fee for a site visit 

for the NCLEX passage rate as required by 18VAC90-27-20. 

If a program falls below 80% for three consecutive years, the 

board may withdraw program approval. 

C. For the purpose of program evaluation, the board may 

provide to the program the NCLEX examination results of its 

graduates. However, further release of such information by 

the program shall not be authorized without written 

authorization from the candidate. 

18VAC90-27-220. Maintaining an approved nursing 

education program. 

A. The program director of each nursing education program 

shall submit an annual report to the board.  

B. Each nursing education program shall be reevaluated as 

follows:  

1. Every nursing education program that has not achieved 

accreditation as defined in 18VAC90-27-10 shall be 

reevaluated at least every five years by submission of a 

comprehensive self-evaluation report based on Parts II 

(18VAC90-27-30 et seq.) and III (18VAC90-27-150 et 

seq.) of this chapter and a survey visit by a representative 

or representatives of the board on dates mutually 

acceptable to the institution and the board. 

2. A program that has maintained accreditation as defined 

in 18VAC90-27-10 shall be reevaluated at least every 10 

years by submission of a comprehensive self-evaluation 

report as provided by the board. As evidence of 

compliance with specific requirements of this chapter, the 

board may accept the most recent study report, site visit 

report, and final decision letter from the accrediting body. 

The board may require additional information or a site visit 

to ensure compliance with requirements of this chapter. If 

accreditation has been withdrawn or a program has been 

placed on probation by the accrediting body, the board may 

require a survey visit. If a program fails to submit the 

documentation required in this subdivision, the 

requirements of subdivision 1 of this subsection shall 

apply. 

C. Interim site or survey visits shall be made to the 

institution by board representatives at any time within the 

initial approval period or full approval period as deemed 

necessary by the board. Prior to the conduct of such a visit, 

the program shall submit the fee for a survey visit as required 

by 18VAC90-27-20. 

D. Failure to submit the required fee for a survey or site visit 

may subject an education program to board action or 

withdrawal of board approval. 

18VAC90-27-230. Continuing and withdrawal of full 

approval. 

A. The board shall receive and review the self-evaluation 

and survey reports required in 18VAC90-27-220 B or 

complaints relating to program compliance. Following 

review, the board may continue the program on full approval 

so long as it remains in compliance with all requirements in 

Parts II (18VAC90-27-30 et seq.), III (18VAC90-27-150 et 

seq.), and IV (18VAC90-27-210 et seq.) of this chapter. 

B. If the board determines that a program is not maintaining 

the requirements of Parts II, III, and IV of this chapter or for 

causes enumerated in 18VAC90-27-140, the board may: 

1. Place the program on conditional approval with terms 

and conditions to be met within the timeframe specified by 

the board; or  

2. Withdraw program approval. 

C. If the board either places a program on conditional 

approval with terms and conditions to be met within a 

timeframe specified by the board or withdraws approval, the 

following shall apply: 

1. No further action will be required of the board unless the 

program requests an informal conference pursuant to §§ 

2.2-4019 and 54.1-109 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. If withdrawal or continued program approval with terms 

and conditions is recommended following the informal 

conference, the recommendation shall be presented to the 

board or a panel thereof for review and action. 

3. If the recommendation of the informal conference 

committee is accepted by the board or a panel thereof, the 

decision shall be reflected in a board order and no further 

action by the board is required unless the program requests 

a formal hearing within 30 days from entry of the order in 

accordance with § 2.2-4020 of the Code of Virginia. 

4. If the decision of the board or a panel thereof following 

a formal hearing is to withdraw approval or continue on 

conditional approval with terms or conditions, the program 

shall be advised of the right to appeal the decision to the 

appropriate circuit court in accordance with § 2.2-4026 of 

the Code of Virginia and Part 2A of the Rules of the 

Supreme Court of Virginia. 

D. If a program approval is withdrawn, no additional 

students may be admitted into the program effective upon the 

date of entry of the board's final order to withdraw approval. 

Further, the program shall submit quarterly reports until the 

program is closed, and the program must comply with board 

requirements regarding closure of a program as stated in 

18VAC90-27-240. 
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18VAC90-27-240. Closing of an approved nursing 

education program; custody of records. 

A. When the governing institution anticipates the closing of 

a nursing education program, the governing institution shall 

notify the board in writing, stating the reason, plan, and date 

of intended closing.  

The governing institution shall assist in the transfer of 

students to other approved programs with the following 

conditions:  

1. The program shall continue to meet the standards 

required for approval until all students are transferred and 

shall submit a quarterly report to the board regarding 

progress toward closure.  

2. The program shall provide to the board a list of the 

names of students who have been transferred to approved 

programs, and the date on which the last student was 

transferred.  

3. The date on which the last student was transferred shall 

be the closing date of the program.  

B. When the board denies or withdraws approval of a 

program, the governing institution shall comply with the 

following procedures:  

1. The program shall be closed according to a timeframe 

established by the board.  

2. The program shall provide to the board a list of the 

names of students who have transferred to approved 

programs and the date on which the last student was 

transferred shall be submitted to the board by the 

governing institution.  

3. The program shall provide quarterly reports to the board 

regarding progress toward closure. 

C. Provision shall be made for custody of records as 

follows:  

1. If the governing institution continues to function, it shall 

assume responsibility for the records of the students and 

the graduates. The governing institution shall inform the 

board of the arrangements made to safeguard the records.  

2. If the governing institution ceases to exist, the academic 

transcript of each student and graduate shall be transferred 

by the institution to the board for safekeeping. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC90-27) 

Application to Establish a Nursing Education Program (rev. 

10/2016) 

Survey Visit Report (rev. 10/2016) 

Survey Visit Report for Programs Having Accreditation 

(rev. 10/2016) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4643; Filed December 17, 2016, 1:47 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 8, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish that (i) except in an emergency, 

a pharmacy cannot require a pharmacist to work longer 

than 12 continuous hours in any work day and shall allow 

at least six hours of off-time between consecutive shifts and 

(ii) a pharmacist working longer than six continuous hours 

is allowed to take a 30-minute break. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part IV  

Pharmacies  

18VAC110-20-110. Pharmacy permits generally.  

A. A pharmacy permit shall not be issued to a pharmacist to 

be simultaneously in charge of more than two pharmacies.  

B. Except in an emergency, a permit holder shall not require 

a pharmacist to work longer than 12 continuous hours in any 

work day [ without being allowed and shall allow ] at least six 

hours of off-time between consecutive shifts. A pharmacist 

working longer than six continuous hours shall be allowed to 

take a 30-minute break. 

B. C. The pharmacist-in-charge (PIC) or the pharmacist on 

duty shall control all aspects of the practice of pharmacy. Any 

decision overriding such control of the PIC or other 

pharmacist on duty shall be deemed the practice of pharmacy 

and may be grounds for disciplinary action against the 

pharmacy permit.  

C. D. When the PIC ceases practice at a pharmacy or no 

longer wishes to be designated as PIC, he shall immediately 

return the pharmacy permit to the board indicating the 

effective date on which he ceased to be the PIC.  

D. E. Although not required by law or regulation, an 

outgoing PIC shall have the opportunity to take a complete 

and accurate inventory of all Schedule II through V controlled 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3f6ff004643~11&typ=40&actno=004643&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3f6ff004643~11&typ=40&actno=004643&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8e84d004643~13&typ=40&actno=004643&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cdcc7004643~12&typ=40&actno=004643&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cdcc7004643~12&typ=40&actno=004643&mime=application/pdf
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substances on hand on the date he ceases to be the PIC, unless 

the owner submits written notice to the board showing good 

cause as to why this opportunity should not be allowed.  

E. F. A PIC who is absent from practice for more than 30 

consecutive days shall be deemed to no longer be the PIC. 

Pharmacists-in-charge having knowledge of upcoming 

absences for longer than 30 days shall be responsible for 

notifying the board and returning the permit. For 

unanticipated absences by the PIC, which exceed 15 days 

with no known return date within the next 15 days, the owner 

shall immediately notify the board and shall obtain a new 

PIC.  

F. G. An application for a permit designating the new PIC 

shall be filed with the required fee within 14 days of the 

original date of resignation or termination of the PIC on a 

form provided by the board. It shall be unlawful for a 

pharmacy to operate without a new permit past the 14-day 

deadline unless the board receives a request for an extension 

prior to the deadline. The executive director for the board 

may grant an extension for up to an additional 14 days for 

good cause shown.  

G. H. Only one pharmacy permit shall be issued to conduct 

a pharmacy occupying the same designated prescription 

department space. A pharmacy shall not engage in any other 

activity requiring a license or permit from the board, such as 

manufacturing or wholesale-distributing, out of the same 

designated prescription department space. 

H. I. Before any permit is issued, the applicant shall attest to 

compliance with all federal, state and local laws and 

ordinances. A pharmacy permit shall not be issued to any 

person to operate from a private dwelling or residence after 

September 2, 2009. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-19; Filed December 16, 2016, 4:23 p.m.  

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC115-20. Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Professional Counseling 

(amending 18VAC115-20-20). 

18VAC115-30. Regulations Governing the Certification of 

Substance Abuse Counselors and Substance Abuse 

Counseling (amending 18VAC115-30-30). 

18VAC115-40. Regulations Governing the Certification of 

Rehabilitation Providers (amending 18VAC115-40-20). 

18VAC115-50. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Marriage and Family Therapy (amending 18VAC115-50-

20). 

18VAC115-60. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners 

(amending 18VAC115-60-20).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 8, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) increase renewal fees for licensed 

professional counselors, marriage and family therapists, 

and substance abuse professionals (licensed professions) 

from $105 to $130 and for certified substance abuse 

counselors and rehabilitation providers (certified 

professions) from $55 to $65; (ii) increase application and 

initial licensure fees for the licensed professions from $140 

to $175 and for the certified professions from $90 to $115; 

and (iii) increase all other fees by approximately 25%. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

18VAC115-20-20. Fees required by the board.  

A. The board has established the following fees applicable 

to licensure as a professional counselor:  

Active annual license renewal $105 

$130 

Inactive annual license renewal $55 $65 

Initial licensure by examination: 

Application processing and initial 

licensure 

$140 

$175 

Initial licensure by endorsement: 

Application processing and initial 

licensure 

$140 

$175 

Registration of supervision $50 $65 

Add or change supervisor $25 $30 

Duplicate license $5 $10 

Verification of licensure to another 

jurisdiction 

$25 $30 

Late renewal $35 $45 

Reinstatement of a lapsed license $165 

$200 

Replacement of or additional wall 

certificate 

$15 $25 

Returned check $35 

Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension 

$500 

$600 

B. All fees are nonrefundable.  

C. Examination fees shall be determined and made payable 

as determined by the board.  
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18VAC115-30-30. Fees required by the board.  

A. The board has established the following fees applicable 

to the certification of substance abuse counselors and 

substance abuse counseling assistants:  

Substance abuse counselor annual 

certification renewal 

$55 $65 

Substance abuse counseling assistant 

annual certification renewal 

$40 $50 

Substance abuse counselor initial 

certification by examination:  

Application processing and initial 

certification 

  

$90 $115 

Substance abuse counseling assistant 

initial certification by examination:  

Application processing and initial 

certification 

  

$90 $115 

Initial certification by endorsement of 

substance abuse counselors:  

Application processing and initial 

certification 

  

$90 $115 

Registration of supervision $50 $65 

Add or change supervisor $25 $30 

Duplicate certificate $5 $10 

Late renewal $20 $25 

Reinstatement of a lapsed certificate $100 

$125 

Replacement of or additional wall 

certificate 

$15 $25 

Returned check $35 

Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension 

$500 

$600 

B. All fees are nonrefundable.  

18VAC115-40-20. Fees required by the board.  

A. The board has established the following fees applicable 

to the certification of rehabilitation providers:  

Initial certification by examination: 

Processing and initial certification  

$90 $115 

Initial certification by endorsement: 

Processing and initial certification  

$90 $115 

Certification renewal $55 $65 

Duplicate certificate $5 $10 

Late renewal $20 $25 

Reinstatement of a lapsed certificate $100 

$125 

Replacement of or additional wall 

certificate  

$15 $25 

Returned check $35 

Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension  

$500 

$600 

B. Fees shall be paid to the board. All fees are 

nonrefundable.  

18VAC115-50-20. Fees.  

A. The board has established fees for the following:  

Registration of supervision  $50 $65 

Add or change supervisor  $25 $30 

Initial licensure by examination: 

Processing and initial licensure 

$140 

$175 

Initial licensure by endorsement: 

Processing and initial licensure  

$140 

$175 

Active annual license renewal  $105 

$130 

Inactive annual license renewal $55 $65 

Penalty for late renewal  $35 $45 

Reinstatement of a lapsed license  $165 

$200 

Verification of license to another 

jurisdiction  

$25 $30 

Additional or replacement licenses  $5 $10 

Additional or replacement wall certificates  $15 $25 

Returned check  $35 

Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension  

$500 

$600 

B. All fees are nonrefundable.  

C. Examination fees shall be determined and made payable 

as determined by the board.  

18VAC115-60-20. Fees required by the board.  

A. The board has established the following fees applicable 

to licensure as a substance abuse treatment practitioner:  

Registration of supervision (initial)  $50 $65 

Add/change supervisor  $25 $30 

Initial licensure by examination: 

Processing and initial licensure  

$140 

$175 

Initial licensure by endorsement: 

Processing and initial licensure  

$140 

$175 
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Active annual license renewal  $105 

$130 

Inactive annual license renewal $55 $65 

Duplicate license  $5 $10 

Verification of license to another 

jurisdiction  

$25 $30 

Late renewal  $35 $45 

Reinstatement of a lapsed license  $165 

$200 

Replacement of or additional wall 

certificate  

$15 $25 

Returned check  $35 

Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension  

$500 

$600 

B. All fees are nonrefundable.  

C. Examination fees shall be determined and made payable 

as determined by the board.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4525; Filed December 16, 2016, 4:22 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-20. Provision of Vocational 

Rehabilitation Services (amending 22VAC30-20-10 

through 22VAC30-20-40, 22VAC30-20-60 through 

22VAC30-20-181, 22VAC30-20-200; repealing 22VAC30-

20-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 51.5-131 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 8, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Vanessa S. Rakestraw, Ph.D., CRC, Policy 

Analyst, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 

8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone 

(804) 662-7612, FAX (804) 662-7663, TTY (800) 464-9950, 

or email vanessa.rakestraw@dars.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove or change the maximum 

amounts that the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services (DARS) pays for certain services; (ii) require that 

an individual seeking assistance with a four-year academic 

program must first attend two years at a community 

college unless the program is not offered or the disability-

related need cannot be met at a community college; (iii) 

clarify that the minimum grade requirement established by 

the academic program must be met for continued 

sponsorship in postsecondary schools; (iv) clarify that 

DARS follows the federal poverty guidelines in 

establishing the amount individuals are required to 

contribute to their vocational rehabilitation programs; (v) 

add specific procedures and specific guidelines to the 

review of determinations by DARS; and (vi) remove 

unnecessary or redundant provisions. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

22VAC30-20-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise.  

"Act" means the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 USC § 701 

et seq.), as amended.  

"Applicant" means an individual who submits an application 

for vocational rehabilitation services.  

"Appropriate modes of communication" means specialized 

aids and supports that enable an individual with a disability to 

comprehend and respond to information that is being 

communicated. Appropriate modes of communication 

include, but are not limited to, the use of interpreters, open 

and closed captioned videos, specialized telecommunications 

services and audio recordings, Brailled and large-print 

materials, materials in electronic formats, augmentative 

communication devices, graphic presentations, and simple 

language materials.  

"Assistive technology" means any item, piece of equipment, 

or product system, whether acquired commercially off the 

shelf, modified, or customized, that is used to increase, 

maintain, or improve the functional capabilities of an 

individual with a disability.  

"Assistive technology service" means any service that 

directly assists an individual with a disability in the selection, 

acquisition, or use of an assistive technology device, 

including:  

1. The evaluation of the needs of an individual with a 

disability, including a functional evaluation of the 

individual in his customary environment;  

2. Purchasing, leasing, or otherwise providing for the 

acquisition by an individual with a disability of an assistive 

technology device;  

3. Selecting, designing, fitting, customizing, adapting, 

applying, maintaining, repairing, or replacing assistive 

technology devices;  

4. Coordinating and using other therapies, interventions, or 

services with assistive technology devices, such as those 

associated with existing education and rehabilitation plans 

and programs;  

5. Training or technical assistance for an individual with a 

disability or, if appropriate, the family members, 
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guardians, advocates, or authorized representatives of the 

individual; and  

6. Training or technical assistance for professionals 

(including individuals providing education and 

rehabilitation services), employers, or others who provide 

services to, employ, or are otherwise substantially involved 

in the major life functions of individuals with disabilities, 

to the extent that training or technical assistance is 

necessary to the achievement of an employment outcome 

by an individual with a disability.  

"Audiological examination" means the testing of the sense 

of hearing.  

"Board" means the Board of Rehabilitative Services.  

"Clear and convincing evidence" means that the designated 

state unit shall have a high degree of certainty before it can 

conclude that an individual is incapable of benefiting from 

services in terms of an employment outcome. The clear and 

convincing standard constitutes the highest standard used in 

our civil system of law and is to be individually applied on a 

case-by-case basis. The term "clear" means unequivocal. 

Given these requirements, a review of existing information 

generally would not provide clear and convincing evidence. 

For example, the use of an intelligence test result alone would 

not constitute clear and convincing evidence. Clear and 

convincing evidence might include a description of 

assessments, including situational assessments and supported 

employment assessments, from service providers who have 

concluded that they would be unable to meet the individual's 

needs due to the severity of the individual's disability. The 

demonstration of clear and convincing evidence must include, 

if appropriate, a functional assessment of skill development 

activities, with any necessary supports (including assistive 

technology), in real life settings. (S. Rep. No. 357, 102d 

Cong., 2d. Sess. 37-38 (1992))  

"Client Assistance Program" means the program located 

within the disAbility Law Center of Virginia for the purpose 

of advising applicants or eligible individuals about all 

available services under the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 

USC § 701 et seq.), as amended, and to assist applicants and 

eligible individuals in their relationship with programs, 

projects, and facilities providing vocational rehabilitation 

services. [ " ] 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services.  

"Community rehabilitation program" means a program that 

directly provides or facilitates the provision of one or more of 

the following vocational rehabilitation services to individuals 

with disabilities to enable those individuals to maximize their 

opportunities for employment, including career advancement:  

1. Medical, psychiatric, psychological, social, and 

vocational services that are provided under one 

management;  

2. Testing, fitting, or training in the use of prosthetic and 

orthotic devices;  

3. Recreational therapy;  

4. Physical and occupational therapy;  

5. Speech, language, and hearing therapy;  

6. Psychiatric, psychological, and social services, including 

positive behavior management;  

7. Assessment for determining eligibility and vocational 

rehabilitation needs;  

8. Rehabilitation technology;  

9. Job development, placement, and retention services;  

10. Evaluation or control of specific disabilities;  

11. Orientation and mobility services for individuals who 

are blind;  

12. Extended employment;  

13. Psychosocial rehabilitation services;  

14. Supported employment services and extended services;  

15. Services to family members, if necessary, to enable the 

applicant or eligible individual to achieve an employment 

outcome;  

16. Personal assistance services; or  

17. Services similar to the services described in 

subdivisions 1 through 16 of this definition.  

For the purposes of this definition, the word "program" 

means an agency, organization, or institution, or unit of an 

agency, organization, or institution, that directly provides or 

facilitates the provision of vocational rehabilitation services 

as one of its major functions.  

"Comparable services and benefits" means services and 

benefits that are provided or paid for, in whole or in part, by 

other federal, state, or local public agencies, by health 

insurance, or by employee benefits; available to the individual 

at the time needed to ensure the individual's progress toward 

achieving the employment outcome in the individual's 

individualized plan for employment; and commensurate to the 

services that the individual would otherwise receive from the 

vocational rehabilitation agency. For the purposes of this 

definition, comparable benefits do not include awards and 

scholarships based on merit.  

"Competitive employment" means work in the competitive 

labor market that is performed on a full-time or part-time 

basis in an integrated setting, and for which an individual is 

compensated at or above the minimum wage, but not less 

than the customary wage and level of benefits paid by the 

employer for the same or similar work performed by 

individuals who are not disabled.  

"Department" means the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services. The department is considered the 

"designated state agency" or "state agency," meaning the sole 

state agency designated in accordance with 34 CFR 361.13(a) 

to administer or supervise local administration of the state 
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plan for vocational rehabilitation services. The department 

also is considered the "designated state unit" or "state unit," 

meaning the state agency, vocational rehabilitation bureau, 

division, or other organizational unit that is primarily 

concerned with vocational rehabilitation or vocational and 

other rehabilitation of individuals with disabilities and that is 

responsible for the administration of the vocational 

rehabilitation program of the state agency as required under 

34 CFR 361.13(b), or the state agency that is primarily 

concerned with vocational rehabilitation or vocational and 

other rehabilitation of individuals with disabilities.  

"Designated state agency" or "state agency" means the sole 

state agency designated in accordance with 34 CFR 361.13(a) 

to administer or supervise local administration of the state 

plan for vocational rehabilitation services.  

"Designated state unit" or "state unit" means either the state 

agency, vocational rehabilitation bureau, division, or other 

organizational unit that is primarily concerned with 

vocational rehabilitation or vocational and other rehabilitation 

of individuals with disabilities and that is responsible for the 

administration of the vocational rehabilitation program of the 

state agency as required under 34 CFR 361.13(b), or the state 

agency that is primarily concerned with vocational 

rehabilitation or vocational and other rehabilitation of 

individuals with disabilities.  

"Eligible individual" means an applicant for vocational 

rehabilitation services who meets the eligibility requirements 

of 22VAC30-20-30 and 22VAC30-20-40.  

"Employment outcome" means, with respect to an 

individual, entering or retaining full-time or, if appropriate, 

part-time competitive employment in the integrated labor 

market; supported employment; or any other type of 

employment in an integrated setting including self-

employment, telecommuting, or business ownership that is 

consistent with an individual's strengths, resources, priorities, 

concerns, abilities, capabilities, interests, and informed 

choice. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(16))  

"Evaluation of vocational rehabilitation potential" means, as 

appropriate, in each case (i) a preliminary diagnostic study to 

determine that an individual is eligible for vocational 

rehabilitation services; (ii) a thorough diagnostic study 

consisting of a comprehensive evaluation of pertinent factors 

bearing on the individual's impediment to employment and 

vocational rehabilitation potential, in order to determine 

which vocational rehabilitation services may be of benefit to 

the individual in terms of employability; (iii) any other the 

provision of goods or services necessary to determine the 

nature of the disability and whether it may reasonably be 

expected that the individual can benefit from vocational 

rehabilitation services in terms of an employment outcome; 

(iv) referral referrals to other agencies or organizations for 

services, when appropriate; and (v) the provision of 

vocational rehabilitation services to an individual during an 

extended evaluation of rehabilitation potential for the purpose 

of determining whether the individual with a disability is 

capable of achieving an employment outcome.  

"Extended employment" means work in a nonintegrated or 

sheltered setting for a public or private nonprofit agency or 

organization that provides compensation in accordance with 

the Fair Labor Standards Act (29 USC § 201 et seq.). 

(34 CFR 361.5(b)(20))  

"Extended evaluation" means the provision of vocational 

rehabilitation services necessary for a determination of 

vocational rehabilitation potential.  

"Extended services" as used in the definition of "supported 

employment" means ongoing support services and other 

appropriate services that are needed to support and maintain 

an individual with a most significant disability in supported 

employment and that are provided by a state agency, a private 

nonprofit organization, employer, or any other appropriate 

resource, from funds other than funds received under this 

section, 34 CFR Part 363 after an individual with a most 

significant disability has made the transition from support 

provided by the designated state unit department.  

"Extreme medical risk" means a probability of substantially 

increasing functional impairment or death if medical services, 

including mental health services, are not provided 

expeditiously.  

"Family member" or "member of the family" means an 

individual (i) who is either a relative or guardian of an 

applicant or eligible individual, or lives in the same 

household as an applicant or eligible individual; (ii) who has 

a substantial interest in the well-being of that individual; and 

(iii) whose receipt of vocational rehabilitation services is 

necessary to enable the applicant or eligible individual to 

achieve an employment outcome.  

"Higher education/institutions of higher education" means 

training or training services provided by universities, 

colleges, community or junior colleges, vocational schools, 

technical institutes, or hospital schools of nursing.  

"Impartial hearing officer" means an individual who is not 

an employee of a public agency (other than an administrative 

law judge, hearing examiner, or employee of an institution of 

higher education); is not a member of the State Rehabilitation 

Council for the designated state unit department; has not been 

involved previously in the vocational rehabilitation of the 

applicant or eligible individual; has knowledge of the delivery 

of vocational rehabilitation services, the state plan, and the 

federal and state regulations governing the provision of 

services; has received training with respect to the 

performance of official duties; and has no personal, 

professional, or financial interest that would be in conflict 

with the objectivity of the individual. An individual may is 

not be considered to be an employee of a public agency for 

the purposes of this definition solely because the individual is 

paid by the agency to serve as a hearing officer. (34 CFR 

361.5(b)(25))  
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"Individual who is blind" means a person who is blind 

within the meaning of the applicable state law.  

"Individual with a disability," except as provided in 34 CFR 

361.5(b)(29), means an individual (i) who has a physical or 

mental impairment; (ii) whose impairment constitutes or 

results in a substantial impediment to employment; and (iii) 

who can benefit in terms of an employment outcome from the 

provision of vocational rehabilitation services. (34 CFR 

361.5(b)(28))  

"Individual with a disability," for purposes of 34 CFR 361.5 

(b)(14), 34 CFR 361.13(a), 34 CFR 361.13(b)(1), 34 CFR 

361.17(a), (b), (c), and (j), 34 CFR 361.18(b), 34 CFR 

361.19, 34 CFR 361.20, 34 CFR 361.23(b)(2), 34 CFR 

361.29(a) and (d)(5) and 34 CFR 361.51(b), means an 

individual (i) who has a physical or mental impairment that 

substantially limits one or more major life activities; (ii) who 

has a record of such an impairment; or (iii) who is regarded as 

having such an impairment. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(29))  

"Individual with a most significant disability" means an 

individual with a significant disability who meets the 

designated state unit's department's criteria for an individual 

with a most significant disability. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(30))  

"Individual with a significant disability" means an individual 

with a disability (i) who has a severe physical or mental 

impairment that seriously limits one or more functional 

capacities (such as mobility, communication, self-care, self-

direction, interpersonal skills, work tolerance, or work skills) 

in terms of an employment outcome; (ii) whose vocational 

rehabilitation can be expected to require multiple vocational 

rehabilitation services over an extended period of time; and 

(iii) who has one or more physical or mental disabilities 

resulting from amputation, arthritis, autism, blindness, burn 

injury, cancer, cerebral palsy, cystic fibrosis, deafness, head 

injury, heart disease, hemiplegia, hemophilia, respiratory or 

pulmonary dysfunction, mental retardation intellectual 

disability, mental illness, multiple sclerosis, muscular 

dystrophy, musculoskeletal disorders, neurological disorders 

(including stroke and epilepsy), spinal cord conditions 

(including paraplegia and quadriplegia), sickle cell anemia, 

specific learning disability, end-stage renal disease, or another 

disability or combination of disabilities determined on the 

basis of an assessment for determining eligibility and 

vocational rehabilitation needs to cause comparable 

substantial functional limitation. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(31))  

"Individual's representative" means any representative 

chosen by an applicant or eligible individual, as appropriate, 

including a parent, guardian, other family member, or 

advocate, unless a representative has been appointed by a 

court to represent the individual, in which case the court-

appointed representative is the individual's representative. 

(34 CFR 361.5(b)(32))  

"Integrated setting," with respect to the provision of 

services, means a setting typically found in the community in 

which applicants or eligible individuals interact with 

nondisabled individuals other than nondisabled individuals 

who are providing services to those applicants or eligible 

individuals. "Integrated setting," with respect to an 

employment outcome, means a setting typically found in the 

community in which applicants or eligible individuals interact 

with nondisabled individuals, other than nondisabled 

individuals who are providing services to those applicants or 

eligible individuals, to the same extent that nondisabled 

individuals in comparable positions interact with other 

persons. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(33))  

"Local workforce investment board" means a local 

workforce investment board established under section § 117 

of the Workforce Investment Act of 1998. (34 CFR 

361.5(b)(34))  

"Maintenance" means monetary support provided to an 

individual for expenses, such as food, shelter, and clothing, 

that are in excess of the normal expenses of the individual and 

that are necessitated by the individual's participation in an 

assessment for determining eligibility and vocational 

rehabilitation needs or the individual's receipt of vocational 

rehabilitation services under an individualized plan for 

employment. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(35))  

"Mediation" means the act or process of using an 

independent third party to act as a mediator, intermediary, or 

conciliator to assist persons or parties in settling differences 

or disputes prior to pursuing formal administrative or other 

legal remedies. Mediation under the program must be 

conducted in accordance with the requirements in 34 CFR 

361.57(d) by a qualified impartial mediator. (34 CFR 

361.5(b)(36))  

"Mental disability" means (i) having a disability attributable 

to mental retardation, autism, or any other neurologically 

disabling condition closely related to mental retardation and 

requiring treatment similar to that required by mentally 

retarded individuals; or (ii) an organic or mental impairment 

that has substantial adverse effects on an individual's 

cognitive or volitional functions, including central nervous 

system disorders or significant discrepancies among mental 

functions of an individual.  

"Nonprofit," with respect to a community rehabilitation 

program, means a community rehabilitation program carried 

out by a corporation or association, no part of the net earnings 

of which inures, or may lawfully inure, to the benefit of any 

private shareholder or individual and the income of which is 

exempt from taxation under § 501(c)(3) of the Internal 

Revenue Code of 1986. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(37))  

"One-stop center" means a center designed to provide a full 

range of assistance to job seekers under one roof. Established 

under the Workforce Investment Act of 1998, the centers 

offer training, career counseling, job listings, and similar 

employment related services. 

"Ongoing support services," as used in the definition of 

"supported employment," means services that are needed to 

support and maintain an individual with a most significant 
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disability in supported employment; identified based on a 

determination by the designated state unit department of the 

individual's needs as specified in an individualized plan for 

employment; and furnished by the designated state unit 

department from the time of job placement until transition to 

extended services, unless post-employment services are 

provided following transition, and thereafter by one or more 

extended services providers throughout the individual's term 

of employment in a particular job placement or multiple 

placements if those placements are being provided under a 

program of transitional employment. These services must 

shall include an assessment of employment stability and 

provision of specific services or the coordination of services 

at or away from the worksite that are needed to maintain 

stability based on, at a minimum, twice-monthly monitoring 

at the worksite of each individual in supported employment; 

or if under specific circumstances, especially at the request of 

the individual, the individualized plan for employment 

provides for off-site monitoring, twice-monthly meetings 

with the individual. These services must shall consist of any 

particularized assessment supplementary to the 

comprehensive assessment of rehabilitation needs described 

in this section subsection A of 22VAC30-20-100; the 

provision of skilled job trainers who accompany the 

individual for intensive job skill training at the work site 

worksite; job development and placement training; social 

skills training; regular observation or supervision of the 

individual; follow-up services including regular contact with 

the employers, the individuals, the parents, family members, 

guardians, advocates or authorized representatives of the 

individuals, and other suitable professional and informed 

advisors in order to reinforce and stabilize the job placement; 

facilitation of natural supports at the worksite; any other 

service identified in the scope of vocational rehabilitation 

services for individuals described in 22VAC30-20-120; or 

any service similar to the foregoing services. (34 CFR 

361.5(b)(38))  

"Otological examination" means any examination conducted 

by a physician skilled in otology.  

"Personal assistance services" means a range of services 

provided by one or more persons designed to assist an 

individual with a disability to perform daily living activities 

on or off the job that the individual would typically perform 

without assistance if the individual did not have a disability. 

The services must be designed to increase the individual's 

control in life and ability to perform everyday activities on or 

off the job. The services must be necessary to the 

achievement of an employment outcome and may be 

provided only while the individual is receiving other 

vocational rehabilitation services. The services may include 

training in managing, supervising, and directing personal 

assistance services.  

"Physical and mental restoration services" means corrective 

surgery or therapeutic treatment that is likely, within a 

reasonable period of time, to correct or modify substantially a 

stable or slowly progressive physical or mental impairment 

that constitutes a substantial impediment to employment; 

diagnosis of and treatment for mental or emotional disorders 

by qualified personnel in accordance with state licensure 

laws; dentistry; nursing services; necessary hospitalization 

(either inpatient or outpatient care) in connection with surgery 

or treatment and clinic services; drugs and supplies; 

prosthetic, orthotic, or other assistive devices, including 

hearing aids; eyeglasses and visual services, including visual 

training, and the examination and services necessary for the 

prescription and provision of eyeglasses, contact lenses, 

microscopic lenses, telescopic lenses, and other special visual 

aids provided by the department in accordance with the 

cooperative agreement established with the Department for 

the Blind and Vision Impaired and prescribed by personnel 

that are qualified in accordance with state licensure laws; 

podiatry; physical therapy; occupational therapy; speech or 

hearing therapy; mental health services; treatment of either 

acute or chronic medical complications and emergencies that 

are associated with or arise out of the provision of physical 

and mental restoration services or that are inherent in the 

condition under treatment; special services for the treatment 

of individuals with end-stage renal disease, including 

transplantation, dialysis, artificial kidneys, and supplies; and 

other medical or medically related rehabilitation services.  

"Physical or mental impairment" means any physiological 

disorder or condition, cosmetic disfigurement, or anatomical 

loss affecting one or more of the following body systems: 

neurological, musculo-skeletal musculoskeletal, special sense 

organs, respiratory (including speech organs), cardiovascular, 

reproductive, digestive, genitourinary, hemic, and lymphatic, 

skin, and endocrine; or any mental or psychological disorders 

such as mental retardation intellectual disability, organic 

brain syndrome, emotional or mental illness, and specific 

learning disabilities. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(41))  

"Post-employment services" means one or more of the 

services identified in 22VAC30-20-120 that are provided 

subsequent to the achievement of an employment outcome 

and that are necessary for an individual to maintain, regain, or 

advance in employment consistent with the individual's 

strengths, resources, priorities, concerns, abilities, 

capabilities, and interests and informed choice. (34 CFR 

361.5(b)(42))  

"Prevocational training" means individual and group 

instruction or counseling, the controlled use of varied 

activities, and the application of special behavior 

modification techniques; individuals. Individuals or patients 

are helped to: (i) develop physical and emotional tolerance for 

work demands and pressures, (ii) acquire personal-social 

behaviors which would make them acceptable employees and 

coworkers on the job, and (iii) develop the basic manual, 

academic, and communication skills needed to acquire basic 

job skills.  
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"Prosthetic and orthotic appliances" means any mechanical 

equipment that improves or substitutes for one or more of 

man's senses or for impaired mobility or motor coordination.  

"Public safety officer" means an individual who performs 

duties directly related to the enforcement, execution, and 

administration of law or fire prevention, firefighting, or 

related public safety activities, and whose substantially 

limiting condition arose from a disability sustained in the line 

of duty while performing as a public safety officer and the 

immediate cause of such disability was a criminal act, 

apparent criminal act, or a hazardous condition.  

"Qualified and impartial mediator" means an individual who 

is not an employee of a public agency (other than an 

administrative law judge, hearing examiner, employee of a 

state office of mediators, or employee of an institution of 

higher education); is not a member of the State Rehabilitation 

Council for the designated state unit department; has not been 

involved previously in the vocational rehabilitation of the 

applicant or eligible individual; is knowledgeable of the 

vocational rehabilitation program and the applicable federal 

and state laws, regulations, and policies governing the 

provision of vocational rehabilitation services; has been 

trained in effective mediation techniques consistent with any 

state approved or recognized certification, licensing, 

registration, or other requirements; and has no personal, 

professional, or financial interest that would be in conflict 

with the objectivity of the individual during the mediation 

proceedings. An individual serving as a mediator is not 

considered to be an employee of the designated state agency 

or designated state unit department for the purposes of this 

definition solely because the individual is paid by the 

designated state agency or designated state unit department to 

serve as a mediator. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(43))  

"Rehabilitation facility" means a facility which is operated 

for the primary purpose of providing vocational rehabilitation 

services to individuals with disabilities, and which provides 

singly or in combination one or more of the following 

services for individuals with disabilities: (i) vocational 

rehabilitation services, including under one management, 

medical, psychiatric, psychological, social, and vocational 

services; (ii) testing, fitting, or training in the use of prosthetic 

and orthotic devices; (iii) prevocational conditioning or 

recreational therapy; (iv) physical and occupational therapy; 

(v) speech and hearing therapy; (vi) psychological and social 

services; (vii) evaluation of rehabilitation potential; (viii) 

personal and work adjustment; (ix) vocational training with a 

view toward career advancement (in combination with other 

rehabilitation services); (x) evaluation or control of specific 

disabilities; (xi) orientation and mobility services and other 

adjustment services to individuals who are blind; and (xii) 

transitional or extended employment for those individuals 

with disabilities who cannot be readily absorbed in the 

competitive labor market.  

"Rehabilitation technology" means the systematic 

application of technologies, engineering methodologies, or 

scientific principles to meet the needs of, and address the 

barriers confronted by, individuals with disabilities in areas 

that include education, rehabilitation, employment, 

transportation, independent living, and recreation. The term 

includes rehabilitation engineering, assistive technology 

devices, and assistive technology services.  

"Services to groups" means the provision of facilities and 

services which may be expected to contribute substantially to 

the vocational rehabilitation of a group of individuals, but 

which are not related directly to the individualized 

rehabilitation program of any one individual with a disability.  

"State" means the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"State plan" means the state plan for vocational 

rehabilitation services or the vocational rehabilitation services 

part of a consolidated rehabilitation plan submitted under 

34 CFR 361.10(c). (34 CFR 361.5(b)(51))  

"State workforce investment board" means a state workforce 

investment board established under § 111 of the Workforce 

Investment Act of 1998. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(49))  

"Substantial impediment to employment" means that a 

physical or mental impairment (in light of attendant medical, 

psychological, vocational, educational, and other related 

factors) hinders an individual from preparing for, entering 

into, engaging in, or retaining employment consistent with the 

individual's abilities and capabilities.  

"Supported employment" means (i) competitive employment 

in an integrated setting, or employment in integrated work 

settings in which individuals are working toward competitive 

employment, consistent with the strengths, resources, 

priorities, concerns, abilities, capabilities, interests, and 

informed choice of the individuals with ongoing support 

services for individuals with the most significant disabilities 

for whom competitive employment has not traditionally 

occurred or for whom competitive employment has been 

interrupted or intermittent as a result of a significant 

disability; and who, because of the nature of their disabilities, 

need intensive supported employment services from the 

designated state unit department and extended services after 

transition to perform this work or (ii) transitional employment 

for individuals with the most significant disabilities due to 

mental illness. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(53))  

"Supported employment services" means ongoing support 

services and other appropriate services needed to support and 

maintain an individual with a most significant disability in 

supported employment that are provided by the designated 

state unit department (i) for a period of time not to exceed 18 

months, unless under special circumstances the eligible 

individual and the rehabilitation counselor or coordinator 

jointly agree to extend the time in order to achieve the 

employment outcome identified in the individualized plan for 

employment; and (ii) following transition, as post-

employment services that are unavailable from an extended 
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services provider and that are necessary to maintain or regain 

the job placement or advance in employment. (34 CFR 

361.5(b)(54))  

"Transition services" means a coordinated set of activities 

for a student designed within an outcome-oriented process 

that promotes movement from school to post-school 

activities, including post-secondary postsecondary education, 

vocational training, integrated employment (including 

supported employment), continuing and adult education, adult 

services, independent living, or community participation. The 

coordinated set of activities must be based upon the 

individual student's needs, taking into account the student's 

preferences and interests, and must include instruction, 

community experiences, the development of employment and 

other post-school adult living objectives, and, if appropriate, 

acquisition of daily living skills and functional vocational 

evaluation. Transition services must promote or facilitate the 

achievement of the employment outcome identified in the 

student's individualized plan for employment. (34 CFR 

361.5(b)(55))  

"Transitional employment," as used in the definition of 

"supported employment," means a series of temporary job 

placements in competitive work in integrated settings with 

ongoing support services for individuals with the most severe 

significant disabilities due to mental illness. In transitional 

employment, the provision of ongoing support services must 

include continuing sequential job placements until job 

permanency is achieved.  

"Transportation" means travel and related expenses that are 

necessary to enable an applicant or eligible individual to 

participate in a vocational rehabilitation service, including 

expenses for training in the use of public transportation 

vehicles and systems. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(57))  

"Vocational rehabilitation potential" mean the ability of the 

individual with a disability to benefit in terms of an 

employment outcome from the provision of vocational 

rehabilitation services. 

"Vocational rehabilitation services" means those services 

listed in 22VAC30-20-120.  

"Work adjustment training" means a treatment and training 

process utilizing individual and group work, or work related 

activities, to assist individuals in understanding the meaning, 

value and demands of work; to modify or develop attitudes, 

personal characteristics, work behavior, and to develop 

functional capacities, as required in order to assist individuals 

toward their optimum level of vocational development.  

22VAC30-20-20. Processing referrals and applications.  

A. Referrals. The designated state unit department must 

establish and implement standards for the prompt and 

equitable handling of referrals of individuals for vocational 

rehabilitation services, including referrals of individuals made 

through the One-Stop service delivery systems established 

under § 121 of the Workforce Investment Act of 1998 a one-

stop center. The standards must include timelines for making 

good faith efforts to inform these individuals of application 

requirements and to gather information necessary to initiate 

an assessment for determining eligibility and priority for 

services. (34 CFR 361.41(a))  

B. Applications.  

1. Once an individual has submitted an application for 

vocational rehabilitation services, an eligibility 

determination shall be made within 60 days, unless (i) 

exceptional and unforeseen circumstances beyond the 

control of the designated state unit department preclude 

making a determination within 60 days and the designated 

state agency department and the individual agree to a 

specific extension of time or (ii) an exploration of the 

individual's abilities, capabilities, and capacity to perform 

in work situations is carried out in accordance with 

22VAC30-20-50 or, if appropriate, an extended evaluation 

is necessary. (34 CFR 361.41(b)(1))  

2. An individual is considered to have submitted an 

application when the individual or the individual's 

representative, as appropriate (i) has completed and signed 

an agency application form, a common intake application 

form in a One-Stop one-stop center requesting vocational 

rehabilitation services, or has otherwise requested services 

from the designated state unit department; (ii) has provided 

information to the designated state unit department that is 

necessary to initiate an assessment to determine eligibility 

and priority for services; and (iii) is available to complete 

the assessment process. (34 CFR 361.41(b)(2))  

3. The designated state unit department shall ensure that its 

application forms are widely available throughout the state, 

particularly in the One-Stop one-stop centers established 

under § 121 of the Workforce Investment Act of 1998. 

(34 CFR 361.41(b)(3))  

4. A face-to-face interview with the applicant is required.  

22VAC30-20-30. Assessment for determining eligibility 

and priority for services.  

In order to determine whether an individual is eligible for 

vocational rehabilitation services and the individual's priority 

under an order of selection for services (if the state is 

operating under an order of selection), the designated state 

unit will department shall conduct an assessment for 

determining eligibility and priority for services. The 

assessment must shall be conducted in the most integrated 

setting possible, consistent with the individual's needs and 

informed choice, and in accordance with the following 

provisions:  

1. Eligibility requirements are applied without regard to 

race, age, gender, color, or national origin;  

2. No applicant or group of applicants is excluded or found 

ineligible solely on the basis of the type of disability;  

3. The eligibility requirements are applied without regard 

to the particular service needs or anticipated cost of 
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services required by an applicant or the income level of an 

applicant or applicant's family, or the type of expected 

employment outcome, or the source of referral for 

vocational rehabilitation services; and  

4. No duration of residence requirement is imposed that 

excludes from services any individual who is present in the 

state. (34 CFR 361.42(c))  

22VAC30-20-40. Eligibility requirements. 

A. Basic requirements. The designated state unit's 

department's determination of an applicant's eligibility for 

vocational rehabilitation services is shall be based only on the 

following requirements: (i) a determination by qualified 

personnel that the applicant has a physical or mental 

impairment; (ii) a determination by qualified personnel that 

the applicant's physical or mental impairment constitutes or 

results in a substantial impediment to employment for the 

applicant; (iii) a presumption, in accordance with subsection 

B of this section, that the applicant can benefit in terms of an 

employment outcome from the provision of vocational 

rehabilitation services; and (iv) a determination by a qualified 

vocational rehabilitation counselor employed by the 

designated state unit department that the applicant requires 

vocational rehabilitation services to prepare for, secure, 

retain, or regain employment consistent with the applicant's 

strengths, resources, priorities, concerns, abilities, 

capabilities, and informed choice.  

B. Presumption of benefit. The designated state unit will 

department shall presume that an applicant who meets the 

basic eligibility requirements in clauses (i) and (ii) of 

subsection A of this section can benefit in terms of an 

employment outcome unless it the department demonstrates, 

based on clear and convincing evidence, that the applicant is 

incapable of benefiting in terms of an employment from 

vocational rehabilitation services due to the severity of the 

applicant's disability.  

C. Presumption of eligibility for Social Security 

beneficiaries. The designated state unit must department shall 

assure that, if an applicant has appropriate evidence, such as 

an award letter, that establishes the applicant's eligibility for 

Social Security benefits under Title II or Title XVI of the 

Social Security Act, the designated state unit will department 

shall presume that the applicant (i) meets the eligibility 

requirements in clauses (i) and (ii) of subsection A of this 

section and (ii) is an individual with a significant disability as 

defined in 22VAC30-20-10.  

D. Achievement of an employment outcome. Any eligible 

individual, including an individual whose eligibility for 

vocational rehabilitation services is based on the individual 

being eligible for Social Security benefits under Title II or 

Title XVI of the Social Security Act, must intend to achieve 

an employment outcome that is consistent with the applicant's 

individual's unique strengths, resources, priorities, concerns, 

abilities, capabilities, interests, and informed choice.  

1. The state unit is department shall be responsible for 

informing individuals, through its application process for 

vocational rehabilitation services, that individuals who 

receive services under the program must intend to achieve 

an employment outcome.  

2. The applicant's completion of the application process for 

vocational rehabilitation services is shall be sufficient 

evidence of the individual's intent to achieve an 

employment outcome, and no additional demonstration on 

the part of the applicant is required for purposes of 

satisfying this section.  

E. Interpretation of entitlement. Nothing in this section is to 

shall be construed to create an entitlement to any vocational 

rehabilitation service.  

F. Review and assessment of data for eligibility 

determination. Except as provided in 22VAC30-20-60, the 

designated state unit department shall base its determination 

of each of the basic eligibility requirements in subsection A 

of this section on:  

1. A review and assessment of existing data, including 

counselor observations, education records, information 

provided by the individual or the individual's family, 

information used by the Social Security Administration, 

and determinations made by officials of other agencies; 

and  

2. To the extent existing data do not describe the current 

functioning of the individual or are unavailable, 

insufficient, or inappropriate to make an eligibility 

determination, an assessment of additional data resulting 

from the provision of vocational rehabilitation services, 

including assistive technology devices and services and 

worksite assessments, that are necessary to determine 

whether an individual is eligible.  

G. Trial work experience for individuals with significant 

disabilities. Prior to any determination that an individual with 

a disability is incapable of benefiting from vocational 

rehabilitation services in terms of an employment outcome 

because of the severity of that individual's disability, an 

exploration of the department shall explore the individual's 

abilities, capabilities, and capacity to perform in a realistic 

work situation is required in accordance with 34 CFR 361.42 

to determine whether or not there is clear and convincing 

evidence to support such a determination.  

22VAC30-20-50. Evaluation of vocational rehabilitation 

potential. (Repealed.) 

A. Required evaluations. The current general health of the 

individual shall be assessed, based, to the maximum extent 

possible, on available medical information. In all cases of 

mental or emotional disorders an examination shall be 

provided by a physician licensed to diagnose and treat such 

disorders or a psychologist licensed or certified in accordance 

with state laws and regulations. If eligibility cannot be 

determined from medical evidence of record, medical 
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specialist examinations needed to determine eligibility shall 

be provided.  

B. Hospitalization for diagnosis may be provided when all 

of the following conditions are met:  

1. This service is required in order to determine eligibility 

for services or type of services needed; and  

2. This service is recommended by a licensed medical 

doctor.  

The maximum period of diagnostic hospitalization shall be 

three days.  

22VAC30-20-60. Extended evaluation for individuals with 

significant disabilities.  

A. Under limited circumstances, if an individual cannot take 

advantage of trial work experiences or if options for trial 

work experiences have been exhausted before the state unit 

department is able to make an eligibility determination for 

vocational rehabilitation services, the state unit must 

department shall conduct an extended evaluation to make the 

determination that (i) there is sufficient evidence to conclude 

that the individual can benefit from the provision of 

vocational rehabilitation services in terms of an employment 

outcome or (ii) there is clear and convincing evidence that the 

individual is incapable of benefiting from vocational 

rehabilitation services in terms of an employment outcome 

due to the severity of the individual's disability  

B. During the extended evaluation period, which may not 

exceed 18 months, vocational rehabilitation services must 

shall be provided in the most integrated setting possible, 

consistent with the informed choice and rehabilitation needs 

of the individual.  

C. During the extended evaluation period, the designated 

state unit must department shall develop a written plan for 

providing services that are necessary to make the 

determinations in subsection A of this section. The state unit 

department may provide during this period only those 

services that are necessary to make these two determinations. 

(34 CFR 361.42)  

D. The state unit department shall assess the individual's 

progress as frequently as necessary, but at least once every 90 

days, during the extended evaluation period.  

E. The state unit department shall terminate extended 

evaluation services at any point during the 18-month 

extended evaluation period if the state unit department 

determines that (i) there is sufficient evidence to conclude 

that the individual can benefit from vocational rehabilitation 

services in terms of an employment outcome or (ii) there is 

clear and convincing evidence that the individual is incapable 

of benefiting from vocational rehabilitation services in terms 

of an employment outcome.  

22VAC30-20-70. Certification of eligibility.  

A. For vocational rehabilitation services;, before or at the 

same time the applicant is accepted for services, the 

department shall certify that the applicant has met the basic 

eligibility requirements as specified in 22VAC30-20-40.  

B. For extended evaluation;, as a basis for providing an 

extended evaluation to determine vocational rehabilitation 

potential, there shall be certification that the applicant has met 

the requirements as specified in 22VAC30-20-60.  

22VAC30-20-80. Procedures for ineligibility 

determination. 

A. Certification of ineligibility. If the state unit department 

determines that an applicant is ineligible for vocational 

rehabilitation services or determines that an individual 

receiving services under an individualized plan for 

employment is no longer eligible for services, that state unit 

must the department shall:  

1. Make the determination only after providing an 

opportunity for full consultation with the individual or, as 

appropriate, with the individual's representative.; 

2. Inform the individual in writing, supplemented as 

necessary by other appropriate modes of communication 

consistent with the informed choice of the individual, of 

the ineligibility determination, including the reasons for 

that determination, the requirements under this section and 

the means by which the individual may express and seek 

remedy for any dissatisfaction, including the procedures 

for review of a state unit department personnel 

determination in accordance with 22VAC30-20-181.; 

3. Provide the individual with a description of services 

available under the Client Assistance Program, Virginia 

Office of Protection and Advocacy, and information on 

how to contact that program.; 

4. Refer the individual to other training or employment-

related programs that are part of the One-Stop service 

delivery system under the Workforce Investment Act. one-

stop centers or, if the ineligibility determination is based on 

a finding that the individual is incapable of achieving an 

employment outcome as defined in 22VAC30-20-10, to 

local extended employment providers; and 

5. Review within 12 months and annually thereafter if 

requested by the individual or, if appropriate, by the 

individual's representative, any ineligibility determination 

that is based on a finding that the individual is incapable of 

achieving an employment outcome. The review need not 

be conducted in situations in which the individual has 

refused it, the individual is no longer present in the 

Commonwealth state, the individual's whereabouts are 

unknown, or the individual's medical condition is rapidly 

progressive or terminal.  

B. Case closure without eligibility determination. The state 

unit may department shall not close an applicant's record of 

services prior to making an eligibility determination unless 

the applicant declines to participate in, or is unavailable to 

complete, an assessment for determining eligibility and 

priority for services, and the state unit department has made a 
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reasonable number of attempts to contact the applicant or, if 

appropriate, the applicant's representative to encourage the 

applicant's participation.  

22VAC30-20-90. Order of selection for services.  

A. In the event that the full range of vocational rehabilitation 

services cannot be provided to all eligible individuals who 

apply for services because of insufficient resources, an order 

of selection system may be implemented by the commissioner 

following consultation with the State Rehabilitation Council. 

The order of selection shall determine those persons to be 

provided services. It shall be the policy of the department to 

encourage referrals and applications of all persons with 

disabilities and, to the extent resources permit, provide 

services to all eligible persons.  

The following order of selection is implemented when 

services cannot be provided to all eligible persons:  

1. Person Persons eligible and presently receiving services 

under an individualized plan for employment.; 

2. Those persons Persons referred and needing diagnostic 

services to determine eligibility.; and  

3. Persons determined to be eligible for services, but not 

presently receiving services under an individualized plan 

for employment, shall be served according to the following 

order of priorities:  

a. Priority I. An individual with a most significant 

disability in accordance with the definition in 22VAC30-

20-10.; 

b. Priority II. An individual with a significant disability 

that results in serious functional limitations in two 

functional capacities.; 

c. Priority III. An individual with a significant disability 

that results in a serious functional limitation in one 

functional capacity.; and 

d. Priority IV. Other persons determined to be disabled, 

in order of eligibility determination.  

B. An order of selection may shall not be based on any other 

factors, including (i) any duration of residency requirement, 

provided the individual is present in the state; (ii) type of 

disability; (iii) age, gender, race, color, or national origin; (iv) 

source of referral; (v) type of expected employment outcome; 

(vi) the need for specific services or anticipated cost of 

services required by the individual; or (vii) the income level 

of an individual or an individual's family.  

C. In administering the order of selection, the designated 

state unit must department shall (i) implement the order of 

selection on a statewide basis; (ii) notify all eligible 

individuals of the priority categories in a state's the order of 

selection, their assignment to a particular category, and their 

right to appeal their category assignment; (iii) continue to 

provide all needed services to any eligible individual who has 

begun to receive services under an individualized plan for 

employment prior to the effective date of the order of 

selection, irrespective of the severity of the individual's 

disability; and (iv) ensure that its funding arrangements for 

providing services under the state plan, including third-party 

arrangements and awards under the establishment authority, 

are consistent with the order of selection. If any funding 

arrangements are inconsistent with the order of selection, the 

designated state unit must department shall renegotiate these 

funding arrangements so that they are consistent with the 

order of selection.  

D. Consultation with the State Rehabilitation Council must 

shall include (i) the need to establish an order of selection, 

including any reevaluation of the need; (ii) priority categories 

of the particular order of selection; (iii) criteria for 

determining individuals with the most significant disabilities; 

and (iv) administration of the order of selection.  

22VAC30-20-95. Information and referral services.  

A. The designated state unit will department shall 

implement an information and referral system adequate to 

ensure that individuals with disabilities, including eligible 

individuals who do not meet the state unit's department's 

order of selection criteria for receiving vocational 

rehabilitation services if the agency department is operating 

on under an order of selection, are provided accurate 

vocational rehabilitation information and guidance (which 

may include counseling and referral for job placement) using 

appropriate modes of communication to assist them in 

preparing for, securing, retaining, or regaining employment.  

B. The state unit will department shall refer individuals with 

disabilities to other appropriate federal and state programs, 

including other components of the statewide workforce 

investment system. In making these referrals, the designated 

state unit must department shall:  

1. Refer the individuals to federal or state programs, 

including programs carried out by other components of the 

statewide workforce investment system, best suited to 

address the specific employment needs of an individual 

with a disability; and  

2. Provide the individual who is being referred (i) a notice 

of the referral by the designated state unit department to 

the agency carrying out the program; (ii) information 

identifying a specific point of contact within the agency to 

which the individual is being referred; and (iii) information 

and advice regarding the most suitable services to assist the 

individual to prepare for, secure, retain, or regain 

employment.  

22VAC30-20-100. The individualized plan for 

employment procedures.  

A. General requirements.  

1. An individualized plan for employment meeting the 

requirements of this section shall be developed and 

implemented in a timely manner for each individual 

determined to be eligible for vocational rehabilitation 

services, or, if the designated state unit department is 
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operating under an order of selection in accordance with 

22VAC30-20-90, for each eligible individual to whom the 

state unit department is able to provide services. Services 

will shall be provided in accordance with the provisions of 

the individualized plan for employment.  

2. The state unit must department shall conduct an 

assessment for determining vocational rehabilitation needs, 

if appropriate, for each eligible individual, or, if the state 

department is operating under an order of selection, the 

department shall conduct an assessment for each eligible 

individual to whom the state department is able to provide 

services. The purpose of this assessment is to determine the 

employment outcome and the nature and scope of 

vocational rehabilitation services to be included in the 

individualized plan for employment.  

a. To the extent possible, the employment outcome and 

the nature and scope of rehabilitation services to be 

included in the individualized plan for employment must 

shall be determined based on data from assessment of 

eligibility and priority of services under 22VAC30-20-

30.  

b. If additional data are necessary to determine the 

employment outcome and the nature and scope of 

services, the state unit must department shall conduct a 

comprehensive assessment of the unique strengths, 

resources, priorities, concerns, abilities, capabilities, 

interests, and informed choice, including the need for 

supported employment services, of the eligible 

individual, in the most integrated setting possible. In 

preparing the comprehensive assessment, the state unit 

must department shall use, to the maximum extent 

possible and appropriate and in accordance with 

confidentiality requirements, existing information that is 

current as of the date of the development of the 

individualized plan for employment. This includes 

information (i) available from other programs and 

providers, particular particularly information used by the 

education system and the Social Security Administration; 

(ii) information provided by the individual and the 

individual's family; and (iii) information obtained under 

the assessment for determining the individual's eligibility 

and vocational needs.  

3. The individualized plan for employment shall be a 

written document prepared on forms provided by the state 

unit department.  

4. Vocational rehabilitation services shall be provided in 

accordance with the provisions of the individualized plan 

for employment. An eligible individual or, as appropriate, 

the individual's representative may develop all or part of 

the individualized plan for employment with or without 

assistance from the state unit department or other entity. 

The individualized plan for employment must shall be 

approved and signed by the qualified vocational 

rehabilitation counselor employed by the designated state 

unit department and the individual or, as appropriate, the 

individual's representative. The state unit department shall 

establish and implement standards for the prompt 

development of individualized plans for employment for 

the individuals identified in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection, including timelines that take into consideration 

the needs of the individual.  

5. The state unit department shall promptly provide each 

individual or, as appropriate, the individual's representative 

a written copy of the individualized plan for employment 

and its amendments in the native language or appropriate 

mode of communication of the individual or, as 

appropriate, of the individual's representative.  

6. The state unit department shall advise in writing each 

individual or, as appropriate, the individual's representative 

of all state unit department procedures and requirements 

affecting the development and review of an individualized 

plan for employment, including the availability of 

appropriate modes of communication.  

7. The individualized plan for employment for a student 

with a disability who is receiving special education 

services must be coordinated with the IEP individualized 

education program for that individual in terms of goals, 

objectives, and services identified in the IEP individualized 

education program.  

B. Individualized plan for employment review. The state 

unit department shall review the plan with the individual or, 

as appropriate, the individual's representative as often as 

necessary, but at least once each year to assess the 

individual's progress in achieving the identified employment 

outcome. The plan may be amended as necessary if there are 

substantive changes in the employment outcome, the 

vocational rehabilitation services to be provided, or the 

providers of the vocational rehabilitation services. 

Amendments to the plan do not take effect until agreed to and 

signed by the individual or, as appropriate, the individual's 

representative and by a qualified vocational rehabilitation 

counselor employed by the designated state unit department.  

C. Review of ineligibility determination. If the state unit 

determines that an applicant is ineligible for vocational 

rehabilitation services or determines that an individual 

receiving services under an individualized plan for 

employment is no longer eligible for services, the state unit 

shall:  

1. Make the determination only after providing an 

opportunity for full consultation with the individual or, as 

appropriate, with the individual's representative;  

2. Inform the individual in writing, supplemented as 

necessary by other appropriate modes of communication 

consistent with the informed choice of the individual, of 

the ineligibility determination, including the reasons for 

that determination, the requirements under this section, and 

the means by which the individual may express and seek 

remedy for any dissatisfaction, including the procedures 
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for review of a determination by the rehabilitation 

counselor or coordinator. The state unit shall provide the 

individual with a description of services available from the 

Client Assistance Program, Virginia Office of Protection 

and Advocacy, established under 34 CFR Part 370, and 

information on how to contact that program;  

3. Refer the individual to other training or employment-

related programs that are part of the One-Stop delivery 

system under the Workforce Investment Act; and  

4. Review within 12 months and annually thereafter if 

requested by the individual or, if appropriate, by the 

individual's representative, any ineligibility determination 

that is based on a finding that the individual is incapable of 

achieving an employment outcome. This review need not 

be conducted in situations in which the individual has 

refused it, the individual is no longer present in the state, 

the individual's whereabouts are unknown, or the 

individual's medical condition is rapidly progressive or 

terminal (34 CFR 361.43).  

22VAC30-20-110. Individualized plan for employment 

content.  

A. Regardless of the option in 22VAC30-20-100 chosen by 

the eligible individual for developing the individualized plan 

for employment, each plan for employment must shall 

include the following:  

1. A description of the specific employment outcome, as 

defined in 22VAC30-20-10, that is chosen by the eligible 

individual and is consistent with the individual's unique 

strengths, resources, priorities, concerns, abilities, 

capabilities, career interests, and informed choice of the 

individual, and results in employment in an integrated 

setting;  

2. A description of the specific vocational rehabilitation 

services provided under 22VAC30-20-120 that are needed 

to achieve the employment outcome, including, as 

appropriate, the provision of assistive technology devices 

and services and personal assistance services, including 

training in the management of those services, and 

providing in the most integrated setting that is appropriate 

for the services involved and is consistent with the 

informed choice of the eligible individual;  

3. Timelines for the achievement of the employment 

outcome and for the initiation of services;  

4. A description of the entity or entities chosen by the 

eligible individual or, as appropriate, the individual's 

representative that will provide the vocational 

rehabilitation services and the methods used to procure 

those services;  

5. A description of the criteria that will be used to evaluate 

progress toward achievement of the employment outcome;  

6. The terms and conditions of the individualized plan for 

employment, including, as appropriate, information 

describing the responsibilities of the designated state unit 

department, the responsibilities the eligible individual will 

shall assume in relation to achieving the employment 

outcome, the extent of the eligible individual's 

participation in paying for the cost of services, the 

responsibility of the individual with regard to applying for 

and securing comparable services and benefits as described 

in 22VAC30-20-170, and the responsibilities of other 

entities as the result of arrangements made pursuant to 

comparable services or benefits requirements in 22VAC30-

20-170;  

7. The A statement of the rights of the individual under this 

part chapter and the means by which the individual may 

express and seek remedy for any dissatisfaction, including 

the opportunity for a review of determinations made by 

designated state unit department personnel;  

8. The A statement of the availability of the Client 

Assistance Program, with the Virginia Office of Protection 

and Advocacy;  

9. The basis on which the individual has been determined 

to have achieved an employment outcome;  

10. A statement concerning the expected need for post-

employment services prior to closing the record of services 

of an individual who has achieved an employment 

outcome;  

11. A description of the terms and conditions for the 

provision of any post-employment services; and  

12. If appropriate, a statement of how post-employment 

services will shall be provided or arranged through other 

entities as the result of arrangements made pursuant to the 

comparable benefits and services requirement.  

B. Supported employment. In addition to the requirements in 

subsection A of this section, the individualized plan for 

employment for an individual with a most significant 

disability for whom supported employment has been 

determined appropriate must shall also:  

1. Specify the supported employment services to be 

provided by the designated state unit department;  

2. Specify the expected extended services needed, which 

may include natural supports;  

3. Identify the source of extended services or, to the extent 

that it is not possible to identify the source of extended 

services at the time the individualized plan for employment 

is developed, include a description of the basis for 

concluding that there is a reasonable expectation that those 

sources will become available;  

4. Provide for periodic monitoring to ensure that the 

individual is making satisfactory progress toward meeting 

the weekly work requirement established in the 

individualized plan for employment by the time of 

transition to extended services;  

5. Provide for the coordination of services provided under 

an individualized plan for employment with services 
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provided under other individualized plans established 

under other federal or state programs;  

6. To the extent that job skills training is provided, identify 

that the training will shall be provided on site; and  

7. Include placement in an integrated setting for the 

maximum number of hours possible based on the unique 

strengths, resources, priorities, concerns, abilities, 

capabilities, interests, and informed choice of individuals 

with the most significant disabilities.  

22VAC30-20-120. Scope of vocational rehabilitation 

services for individuals.  

As appropriate to the vocational rehabilitation needs of each 

individual and consistent with each individual's informed 

choice, the designated state unit must department shall ensure 

that the following vocational rehabilitation services are 

available to assist the individual with a disability in preparing 

for, securing, retaining, or regaining an employment outcome 

that is consistent with the individual's strengths, resources, 

priorities, concerns, abilities, capabilities, interests, and 

informed choice:  

1. Assessment for determining eligibility and priority for 

services and assessment for determining vocational 

rehabilitation needs by qualified personnel including, if 

appropriate, an assessment by personnel skilled in 

rehabilitation technology in accordance with 22VAC30-

20-10.  

2. Vocational rehabilitation counseling and guidance, 

including information and support services to assist an 

individual in exercising informed choice.  

3. Referral and other services necessary to assist applicants 

and eligible individuals to secure needed services from 

other agencies, including other components of the 

statewide workforce investment system and to advise those 

individuals about the Client Assistance Program under the 

Virginia Office of Protection and Advocacy.  

4. Physical and mental restoration services, in accordance 

with the definition of 22VAC30-20-10, to the extent that 

financial support is not readily available from a source 

other than the designated state unit department (such as 

through health insurance or comparable services and 

benefits as defined in 22VAC30-20-10).  

a. These services include but are not limited to:  

(1) Convalescent care, nursing or rest home care when 

the services are directly related to the vocational 

rehabilitation objective for an individual who needs 

continued medical supervision after department-

sponsored treatment for his condition. This service must 

be recommended by the proper medical practitioner 

before the service is authorized and is contingent upon 

the individual being able to reengage in the vocational 

rehabilitation program. This service may be provided for 

30 days, and the commissioner or his designee may 

approve an additional 30 days of service.  

(2) Dentistry.  

(3) Drugs and supplies. When medication is to be 

continuous (e.g., treatment of diabetes or epilepsy), and 

while the individual is receiving vocational training, the 

department may purchase medication during the training 

period and for a period not to exceed 90 days after 

achieving employment. When counseling, medication 

and placement are the only services provided, the 

department may pay for medication for a period not to 

exceed 90 days. Generic drugs shall be utilized when 

possible.  

(4) Necessary hospitalization (either inpatient or 

outpatient care, in connection with surgery or treatment 

and clinic services). The department may pay for 

hospitalization for medical diagnosis, surgical or medical 

treatment when deemed necessary for the vocational 

rehabilitation of the individual and recommended by a 

licensed practitioner. Hospitalization shall be provided in 

hospitals, medically oriented treatment facilities, or 

continuing care facilities in Virginia or out of state, with 

which the department has a contract. Payment to 

hospitals, medically oriented treatment facilities, or 

continuing care facilities shall be made in accordance 

with the department fee schedules. The maximum period 

of hospitalization, excluding diagnostic, to be authorized 

based upon financial resources available to the 

department shall be 10 days. Extension of the maximum 

period of hospitalization shall be allowed when due to 

acute medical complications and emergencies associated 

with or arising out of the provision of physical or mental 

restoration services. Treatment of acute medical 

complications or emergencies which impact negatively 

on the individual's progress toward the individual's 

vocational goal shall be provided.  

(5) Eyeglasses and visual services, including visual 

training, and the examination and services necessary for 

the prescription and provision of eyeglasses, contact 

lenses, microscopic lenses, telescopic lenses, and other 

special visual aids prescribed by personnel that are 

qualified in accordance with state licensure laws. These 

services may be provided to an individual when their 

visual disability, as established by an opthalmological or 

an optometric examination, is of such severity that their 

employment opportunities are considerably limited. 

Visual services shall be provided by the department in 

accordance with the cooperative agreement established 

with the Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired. 

Visual aids may also be provided to individuals who are 

unable to satisfactorily pursue their vocational 

rehabilitation program due to impaired vision.  

(6) Nursing services.  

(7) Physical restoration in a rehabilitation facility.  

(8) Physical and occupational therapy when prescribed 

by a doctor of medicine.  
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(9) Prosthetic, orthotic, or other assistive devices, 

including hearing aids. The department may purchase an 

original appliance only upon the recommendation of the 

medical specialist. When an individual has a history of 

satisfactory appliance use and the general medical 

examination report indicates no pathological change, this 

report may be sufficient medical basis for the 

replacement or repair of the appliance. The department 

shall purchase prosthetic or othotic appliances from 

vendors approved in accordance with the department's 

vendor approval process.  

(10) Mental health services or diagnosis of and treatment 

for mental or emotional disorders by qualified personnel 

in accordance with state licensure laws shall be provided 

by a psychiatrist or psychologist. If the department 

purchases the services from either, they must be qualified 

in the area of psychotherapy and be licensed in 

accordance with the laws of the Commonwealth. The 

maximum number of sessions to be sponsored shall be 

27. If the individual needs additional psychotherapy, the 

department will make an effort to assist the individual in 

securing it.  

(11) Speech or hearing therapy. Speech therapy may be 

provided to individuals when treatment is recommended 

by a speech pathologist who is licensed in accordance 

with the laws of the Commonwealth. Hearing aid 

orientation and lip reading may be provided when 

recommended by a specialist in hearing disabilities.  

(12) Corrective surgery or therapeutic treatment that is 

likely, within a reasonable period of time, to correct or 

substantially modify a stable or slowly progressive 

physical or mental impairment that constitutes a 

substantial impediment to employment.  

(13) Podiatry.  

(14) Treatment of either acute or chronic medical 

complications and emergencies that are associated with 

or arise out of the provision of physical and mental 

restoration services that are inherent in the condition 

under treatment.  

(15) Special services for the treatment of individuals with 

end stage renal disease, including transplantation, 

dialysis, artificial kidneys, and supplies.  

(16) Chiropractic services, after consultation with a 

doctor of medicine.  

(17) Cardiac exercise therapy for individuals who have 

had a myocardial infarction or a coronary bypass not 

more than six months prior to the recommended exercise 

therapy. A maximum of 24 sessions may be authorized.  

(18) Other medical or medically related rehabilitation 

services.  

b. a. Eligibility requirements.  

(1) Stable or slowly progressive. The physical or mental 

condition must shall be stable or slowly progressive. The 

condition must shall not be acute or transitory, or of such 

recent origin that the resulting functional limitations and 

the extent to which the limitations affect occupational 

performance cannot be identified.  

(2) Refusal of service. When an individual has a physical 

or mental disability with resulting limitations that 

constitute a handicap barrier to employment, and when in 

the opinion of licensed medical personnel these 

limitations can be removed by physical or mental 

restoration services without injury to the individual, they 

the individual shall not be eligible for any rehabilitation 

services, except counseling, guidance and placement if 

they refuse he refuses to accept the appropriate physical 

or mental restoration services. A second opinion may be 

provided at the individual's request. In the event of 

conflicting medical opinions, the department shall secure 

a third opinion and the decision shall be made on the two 

concurring opinions.  

c. b. Provision of physical and mental restoration 

services. These services are shall be provided only when:  

(1) Recommended by a licensed practitioner;  

(2) Services are not available from another source; and  

(3) They are provided in conjunction with counseling and 

guidance, and other services, as deemed appropriate.  

The department shall not make case expenditures for 

acute or intermediate medical care except for medical 

complications and emergencies which that are associated 

with or arise out of the provision of Vocational 

Rehabilitation (VR) vocational rehabilitation services 

under an individualized plan for employment and which 

that are inherent in the condition under treatment.  

d. c. Services not sponsored by the department. The 

board department, in consultation with appropriate 

medical resources, shall determine those physical 

restoration services that shall not be provided by the 

department. The following circumstances or conditions 

procedures shall not be considered provided:  

(1) Experimental procedures shall not be sponsored;  

(2) High risk procedures;  

(3) Procedures with limited vocational outcomes or 

procedures not related to the vocational outcome; and  

(4) Procedures with uncertain outcomes.  

5. Vocational and other training services, including 

personal and vocational adjustment training, books, tools, 

and other training materials, except that no training or 

training services in institutions of higher education 

(universities, colleges, community/junior community or 

junior colleges, vocational schools, technical institutes, or 

hospital schools of nursing) may be paid for with funds 

under this section unless maximum efforts have been made 

by the state unit department and the individual to secure 
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grant assistance in whole or in part from other sources to 

pay for that training.  

All training services provided shall be related to attainment 

of the vocational objective or provide for the determination 

of eligibility for vocational rehabilitation services. 

Vocational training includes any organized form of 

instruction which that provides the knowledge and skills 

essential for performing the tasks involved in an 

occupation. Vocational training may be obtained in 

institutions such as colleges, universities, business schools, 

nursing schools, and trade and technical schools. It may 

also be obtained by on-the-job training, apprenticeship 

programs, tutorial training, or correspondence study.  

a. Business schools and business colleges, trade and 

technical schools, and two-year college terminal courses. 

The training institution selected shall be approved in 

accordance with the department's vendor approval 

process. Approved training institutions. Only training 

institutions approved in accordance with the department's 

vendor approval process shall be used. 

b. College and university academic training.  

(1) Academic requirements. The individual shall take 

sufficient academic credit hours based on the 

requirement of the college attended for classification as a 

full-time student, unless this is, in the opinion of the 

department, contraindicated by the individual's disability. 

Courses shall meet the institution's requirement towards 

the obtainment of the degree or certificate. Continuation 

of financial assistance by the department shall be 

dependent upon the individual maintaining a "C" average 

calculated on an academic year the grade average 

required by the institution for the particular course of 

study. When the institution has no grade requirement, 

continuation of financial assistance by the department 

shall be dependent upon the individual maintaining a "C" 

average calculated over the academic year. When the 

individual fails to maintain a "C" the required academic 

grade average, assistance may be discontinued. The 

department's assistance may be reinstated when the 

individual completes one semester or quarter with a the 

minimum of a "C" required grade average.  

Each individual shall be advised that failure to provide 

grades to the department shall be grounds for termination 

of departmental financial assistance.  

(2) Graduate degree program. The department shall assist 

only eligible individuals with severe disabilities in 

securing a graduate degree and only when it is judged 

essential to achieving an employment goal agreed to by 

the department and the individual.  

(3) Virginia colleges and universities. Vocational 

training, including college or university training, shall be 

provided by the department in any department approved 

institution department-approved institutions located 

within the boundaries of the Commonwealth, unless such 

training is not available within the Commonwealth. 

Institutions in the areas of Washington, D.C.; Bristol-

Johnson City-Kingsport, Tennessee; the city of Bluefield, 

West Virginia; and other cities where the services may be 

provided more effectively and economically and shall be 

treated as if located in Virginia.  

(4) Tuition and mandatory fees. The department may pay 

tuition for college and university training in an amount 

not in excess of the highest amount charged for tuition by 

a state-supported institution or the rate published in the 

catalog, whichever is less, except where out-of-state or 

private college is necessary, published. Published tuition 

costs in excess of the highest amount charged by a state-

supported institution may be necessary and may be paid 

by the department if no state-supported institution is 

available that offers the degree program needed to 

achieve the established employment goal, if no state-

supported program offers disability-related supports to 

enable the individual to achieve the established 

employment goal, or if an out-of-state or private program 

is more economical for the department. 

Any individual enrolling into any college/university 

course or courses for the primary purpose of course or 

program certification and not for the purpose of obtaining 

a degree shall be exempt from the application of the 

annual maximum tuition rate.  

(5) Scholarships and grants. Training services in 

institutions of higher education shall be paid for with 

departmental funds only after maximum efforts have 

been made by the individual to secure assistance in 

whole or in part from other sources; however, any 

individual eligible for vocational rehabilitation training 

services but not meeting the financial need test of the 

department may be provided an assistance grant annually 

in an amount not to exceed the equivalent of one 

quarter's tuition of a full time full-time community 

college student.  

c. Correspondence study. The correspondence study 

training may be authorized only when:  

(1) The individual requires specific preliminary training 

in order to enter a training program or training cannot be 

arranged by any other method; and  

(2) Satisfactory progress is maintained.  

d. On-the-job training. The department may enter into 

agreements with employers in the private or public sector 

to provide on-the-job training services. The terms and 

conditions of each individual agreement shall be 

established by the department.  

e. Part-time training. Part-time training may be utilized 

only when the severity of the individual's disability shall 

not allow the individual to pursue training on a full-time 

basis.  
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Part-time training shall be authorized only at department-

approved facilities and schools.  

f. Work adjustment training. Work adjustment training 

may be provided if needed for the individual to engage in 

subsequent vocational rehabilitation services as indicated 

by the thorough diagnostic study assessment of medical, 

vocational, psychological, and other factors. This service 

may be provided only by the department or approved 

vendors.  

g. Prevocational training. Prevocational training may be 

provided if needed for the individual to engage in 

subsequent vocational rehabilitation services as indicated 

by the thorough diagnostic study assessment of medical, 

vocational, psychological, and other factors. This service 

may be provided only by the department or approved 

vendors.  

h. Tutorial training. Tutorial training may be provided if 

needed for the individual to achieve a vocational goal as 

indicated by the thorough diagnostic study assessment of 

medical, vocational, psychological, and other factors. 

This service may be provided only by the department or 

approved vendors.  

i. Other higher education training concerns.  

(1) Required textbooks and supplies. The maximum 

amount of department departmental financial assistance 

for required textbooks and supplies (pencils, paper, etc.) 

shall be $400 annually for a normal school year or $500 

if summer school is attended not exceed the amount 

determined by the institution for books and supplies in 

the student's school budget.  

(2) Required training materials. Training materials may 

be provided when required by the instructor.  

6. Maintenance in accordance with the definition of that 

term in 22VAC30-20-10.  

a. Clothes. Clothes are shall be provided when 

specifically required for participation in a training 

program or for placement in a specialized job area as 

determined by the department.  

b. Room, board, and utilities. The maximum rate paid for 

room, board, and utilities shall be established annually by 

the board department.  

c. (1) Training cases. The maximum amount of 

department departmental financial assistance for room 

and board at a training institution (college, vocational 

school, rehabilitation center facility), when the institution 

is able to provide room and board, shall not exceed the 

published room and board rates charged by the 

institution, or the actual cost, whichever is less.  

d. (2) While living at home. Maintenance shall be 

provided for an individual living at home only when the 

individual's income supports the family unit of the 

individual, when it is more cost effective for the 

department, or when it is in the best interest of the 

individual's vocational rehabilitation program based on 

mutual agreement of the rehabilitation counselor and the 

individual.  

7. Transportation in connection with the rendering of any 

vocational rehabilitation service and in accordance with the 

definition of that term in 22VAC30-20-10. Transportation 

may include relocation and moving expenses necessary for 

achieving a vocational rehabilitation objective.  

a. Transportation costs. The department shall pay the 

most economical rate for accessible public transportation. 

When public transportation is not available, or the 

individual, because of disability, cannot travel by public 

transportation, transportation may be provided at a rate 

not to exceed $0.12 a mile established by the department. 

b. For and during training services. When the individual 

must live at the training location, the department may 

only pay for a one-way trip from the residence to the 

training location at the beginning of the training, and a 

one-way trip from the training location to the residence 

or job site at the conclusion of the training program. 

Transportation may be paid to and from the residence in 

case of emergency (severe illness, or death in family; 

acute business emergency or prolonged school closing 

such as Christmas holidays). Local bus fare also may be 

furnished also provided. When the individual's physical 

condition is such that travel by public conveyance is 

impossible, taxi fare may be allowed from place of 

residence to training site and return. When the individual 

lives at home and the training site requires daily 

transportation, the cost of such transportation may be 

paid.  

8. Vocational rehabilitation services to family members of 

an applicant or eligible individual if necessary to enable 

the applicant or eligible individual to achieve an 

employment outcome. Services to family members of the 

individual may be provided when such services may be 

expected to contribute substantially to the determination of 

vocational rehabilitation potential or to the rehabilitation of 

the individual. In order for the department to furnish these 

services, they shall not be available from any other source.  

a. Family member is defined in 22VAC30-20-10.  

b. Day care services for dependent children. The 

department may pay up to the amount paid per child, per 

day, by the local social services department in the 

locality in which the child is located. When more than 

one child is involved, rates for the additional children 

should may be lower. When satisfactory 

accommodations can be secured at a rate lower than that 

paid by the local social services department, the lower 

rate shall be paid by the department.  

9. Interpreter services, including sign language and oral 

interpreter services, for individuals who are deaf or hard of 

hearing and; tactile interpreting services for individuals 

who are deaf-blind; and reader services, rehabilitation 
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teaching services, and orientation and mobility services for 

individuals who are blind.  

a. Upon request of the individual or as needed, these 

services may be provided at any stage during the 

rehabilitation process. Interpreting may be primarily in 

the form of sign language (manual method) or oral 

interpretation (oral method).  

b. The department shall pay for interpreting services 

when these services contribute to the individual's 

vocational rehabilitation program.  

c. The interpreter must be, whenever possible, certified 

by the National Registry of the Deaf, Virginia Registry of 

the Deaf, or approved by the Virginia Department for the 

Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing shall hold at least one of the 

credentials approved by the Virginia Department for the 

Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing pursuant to § 51.5-113 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

d. When individuals with deafness are in a training 

program, the department shall arrange for note taking or 

reader services, unless the individual indicates such 

service is not needed or desired.  

10. Rehabilitation technology, in accordance with the 

definition of that term in 22VAC30-20-10, including 

vehicular modification, telecommunications, sensory, and 

other technological aids and devices.  

a. Telecommunications system. Services related to use of 

a telecommunications system shall meet established 

federal or state health and safety standards and be 

consistent with written state policies.  

b. Sensory and other technological aids and devices. The 

department may provide electronic or mechanical pieces 

of equipment or hardware intended to improve or 

substitute for one or more of the human senses, or for 

impaired mobility, or motor coordination.  

Services related to use of sensory and other technological 

aids and devices shall meet established federal or state 

health and safety standards and be consistent with state 

law and regulations.  

(1) An otological evaluation may be required, and an 

audiological examination is shall be required before the 

department may purchase a hearing aid.  

(2) The department shall purchase hearing aids only for 

those individuals identified as benefiting in terms of 

employability as a direct result of such aid.  

(3) Cross and bicross aids may be purchased only when it 

is justifiable on the basis of the vocational objective.  

(4) Eyeglasses and hearing aids may be purchased only 

when they are equal in performance in terms of volume 

and speech discrimination and if the cost is not higher 

than that of a comparable body aid or a behind the ear 

aid.  

11. Technical assistance and other consultation services to 

conduct market analyses, develop business plans, and 

otherwise provide resources, to the extent those resources 

are authorized to be provided through the statewide 

workforce investment system, to eligible individuals who 

are pursuing self-employment or telecommuting or 

establishing a small business operation as an employment 

outcome.  

12. Job search and placement assistance and job retention 

services, follow-up services, and follow-along services. 

Placement shall be in accordance with the mutually agreed 

upon vocational objective and is the responsibility of both 

the individual and the department, particularly the 

rehabilitation counselor.  

13. Post-employment services, in accordance with the 

definition of that term in 22VAC30-20-10.  

a. Selection criteria. Any rehabilitated All individuals 

whose vocational rehabilitation cases have been closed as 

achieving an employment outcome may be considered 

for post-employment services. The department may 

evaluate with each individual the need for such services.  

b. All of the following criteria shall be met for the 

selection of individuals an individual to receive post-

employment services:  

(1) The individual has shall have been determined to be 

rehabilitated have achieved an employment outcome;  

(2) The disabling medical condition shall be stable or 

slowly progressive;  

(3) Post-employment services are shall be necessary to 

assist the individual in maintaining employment; and  

(4) Solution of the problem The problem interfering with 

the individual maintaining employment does not require 

a complex or comprehensive rehabilitation effort, i.e. that 

is, a new and distinct handicapping disabling condition 

has not occurred which should be handled as a new case 

that requires a new application.  

If needed services exceed any of the aforementioned 

conditions in subdivisions 13 b (1) through 13 b (4) of this 

section, the department may take a new application.  

14. Supported employment services, in accordance with 

the definition of that term as defined in 22VAC30-20-10, 

to any individual with a most significant disability who:. 

a. An individual with a most significant disability shall 

be eligible for supported employment services if he 

meets all of the following criteria: 

a. (1) Has not worked, or has worked only intermittently, 

in competitive employment.; 

b. (2) Has been determined on the basis of any evaluation 

of rehabilitation and career needs, including a 

consideration of whether supported employment is a 

possible vocational outcome, to meet the eligibility 

criteria for the State Vocational Rehabilitation Services 
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Program as established in federal regulations. 22VAC30-

20-40; and 

c. (3) Has a need for ongoing support services in order to 

perform competitive work.  

b. The following activities are shall be authorized under 

this the supported employment program:  

a. (1) Evaluation of rehabilitation and career needs of 

individuals with the most severe significant disabilities in 

terms of a supported employment outcome.; 

b. (2) Development of and placement in jobs for 

individuals with the most severe significant disabilities.; 

and 

c. (3) Provision of time-limited services needed to 

support individuals with the most severe significant 

disabilities in employment, including:  

(1) (a) Intensive on-the-job skills training provided by 

skilled job trainers, coworkers, and other qualified 

individuals.; 

(2) (b) Ongoing support services needed to support and 

maintain an individual's supported employment 

placement. These must that shall include, at a minimum, 

twice monthly monitoring to assess the individual's 

employment stability. Monitoring activities generally 

take place at the work site unless the individualized plan 

for employment provides for off-site monitoring. If off-

site monitoring is determined to be appropriate, it must, 

at a minimum, consist of two meetings with the 

individual and one contact with the employer each 

month.; 

(3) Follow-up (c) Extended services designed to 

reinforce and stabilize the job placement.; and 

(4) (d) Discrete post-employment services unavailable 

from the extended services provider that are necessary to 

maintain the job placement, including but not limited to 

job station redesign, repair and maintenance of assistive 

technology, and replacement of prosthetic and orthotic 

devices.  

d. c. Transitional employment services for individuals 

with chronic mental illness may be provided under the 

State Supported Employment Program supported 

employment program. Transitional employment means a 

series of temporary job placements in competitive work 

in an integrated work setting with ongoing support 

services. Ongoing support services must shall include 

continuing sequential job placements until job 

permanency is achieved.  

e. d. The agency department shall provide for the 

transition of an individual with the most severe 

significant disabilities to extended services no later than 

18 months after placement in supported employment, 

unless a longer period to achieve job stabilization has 

been established in the individualized plan for 

employment, before an individual with a most significant 

disability makes the transition to extended services as 

defined in 22VAC30-20-10.  

15. Occupational licenses, tools, equipment, initial stocks 

(including livestock), and supplies.  

a. Licenses. Licenses required for entrance into selected 

vocations may be provided. These may be occupational 

or business licenses as required by the local governing 

body, state board examinations required by the 

Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation, and motor vehicle operator's license.  

b. Tools and equipment. Tools and equipment shall be 

provided for an individual when:  

(1) They are required for a job or occupation that is best 

suited to the utilization of their the individual's abilities 

and skills;  

(2) The employer does not ordinarily furnish these 

articles; and  

(3) They are for the exclusive use of the individual.  

Such articles shall be for the individual's own use in the 

performance of his work and must remain in his 

possession and under his control as long as he engages in 

the job or occupation for which they are provided.  

If the individual alleges that tools and equipment are 

stolen, the individual shall file a stolen property report 

with the local police.  

Computer equipment and software shall be provided 

either if required as indicated in subdivision subdivisions 

15 b (1), 15 b (2), and 15 b (3) of this subsection section, 

or if it is necessary for vocational training. The 

department's financial participation in the cost of such 

equipment and software shall not exceed $3,500.  

c. Title retention and release. The department shall 

comply with state law laws and regulations on the 

retention of title and release of title of equipment to 

individuals.  

d. Repossession of tools and equipment. The department 

shall repossess all occupational tools and equipment to 

which the department retains title when they are no 

longer being used for the purposes intended by the 

individual for whom they were purchased.  

16. Transition services, in accordance with the definition of 

that term in 22VAC30-20-10.  

17. Personal assistance services, in accordance with the 

definition of that term in 22VAC30-20-10.  

18. Other goods and services determined necessary for the 

individual with a disability to achieve an employment 

outcome. These include, but are not limited to, such 

services as: peer counseling, independent living skills 

training, attendant care, and attendant training if they can 

reasonably be expected to benefit an individual in terms of 

employability.  
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The department's financial participation in the cost of 

certain goods and services shall be limited as follows: 

home modifications, $7,500; and vehicle modifications, 

$7,500. The department shall not purchase or participate in 

the purchase of automotive vehicles.  

19. Services to groups. The department may provide 

vocational rehabilitation services to groups of individuals 

with disabilities when the services may contribute 

substantially to the needs of the group,; although they the 

services are not related directly to the individualized 

employment plan of any one person with a disability.  

22VAC30-20-130. Individuals determined to have 

achieved an employment outcome.  

An individual is determined to have achieved an 

employment outcome only if all of the following 

requirements have been are met:  

1. The provisions provision of services under the 

individual's individualized plan for employment has 

contributed to the achievement of an employment 

outcome;  

2. The employment outcome is consistent with the 

individual's strengths, resources, priorities, concerns, 

abilities, capabilities, interests, and informed choice;  

3. The employment outcome is in an integrated setting;  

4. The individual has maintained the employment outcome 

for a period of at least 90 days; and  

5. At the end of the appropriate applicable period under 

this section, the individual and the rehabilitation counselor 

or coordinator consider the employment outcome to be 

satisfactory and agree that the individual is performing 

well on the job.  

22VAC30-20-140. Authorization of services.  

Written authorization for services shall be made, either 

before or at the same time as the purchase of services. When 

an oral authorization is given in an emergency situation, there 

shall be prompt documentation and the authorization shall be 

confirmed in writing and forwarded to the provider of the 

services.  

22VAC30-20-150. Written standards for facilities and 

providers of services.  

The designated state unit department shall establish, 

maintain, make available to the public, and implement written 

minimum standards for the various types of facilities and 

providers of services used by the state unit department in 

providing vocational rehabilitation services, in accordance 

with the following requirements:  

1. Accessibility of facilities. Any facility in which 

vocational rehabilitation services are provided must be 

accessible to individuals receiving services and must 

comply with the requirements of the Architectural Barriers 

Act of 1968, the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, 

and § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 Act, as 

amended, and regulations implementing these laws. (34 

CFR 361.51)  

2. Personnel standards.  

a. Qualified personnel. Providers of vocational 

rehabilitation services shall use qualified personnel, in 

accordance with any applicable national or state 

approved or recognized certification, licensing, or 

registration requirements or, in the absence of these 

requirements, other comparable requirements (including 

state personnel requirements) that apply to the profession 

or discipline in which that category of personnel is 

providing vocational rehabilitation services.  

b. Affirmative action. Providers of vocational 

rehabilitation services shall take affirmative action to 

employ and advance in employment qualified individuals 

with disabilities.  

c. Special communication needs personnel. Providers of 

vocational rehabilitation services shall include among 

their personnel, or obtain the services of, individuals able 

to communicate in the native languages of applicants and 

eligible individuals who have limited English speaking 

ability; and ensure that appropriate modes of 

communication for all applicants and eligible individuals 

are used.  

3. Fraud, waste, and abuse. Providers of vocational 

rehabilitation services shall have adequate and appropriate 

policies and procedures to prevent fraud, waste, and abuse.  

22VAC30-20-160. Participation of individuals in the cost 

of services based on financial need.  

A. A financial need needs test is established because of the 

limited resources of the department.  

B. A financial need needs test shall be utilized to determine 

the extent of participation by eligible individuals or 

individuals receiving services during an extended evaluation 

in the cost of vocational rehabilitation services.  

1. The state unit department shall maintain written policies 

covering the determination of financial need.  

2. The state plan must specify the types of vocational 

rehabilitation services for which the unit department has 

established a financial needs test. No financial needs test 

shall be applied and no financial participation shall be 

required as a condition for furnishing the following 

vocational rehabilitation services: assessment for 

determining eligibility and priority for services, except 

those nonassessment services that are provided during an 

extended evaluation for an individual with a significant 

disability; assessment for determining vocational 

rehabilitation needs; counseling, guidance, and referral 

services; interpreter and reader services; personal 

assistance services; placement services; on-the-job 

training; and unpaid work experience. Also excluded from 

financial participation shall be services necessary to assist 

in the diagnostic and evaluation process, such as 
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transportation, maintenance, and interpreter service for the 

deaf. Services which that require an economic need a 

financial needs test are: physical and mental restoration; 

training other than on-the-job training (OJT); maintenance; 

transportation; services to family members; 

telecommunications; recruitment and training services; 

post-employment [ services ]; occupational licenses and 

other goods and services.  

3. The policies must shall be applied uniformly to all 

individuals in similar circumstances; the policies may 

require different levels of need for different geographic 

regions in the state, but must shall be applied uniformly to 

all individuals within each geographic region; and the 

policies must shall ensure that the level of an individual's 

participation in the cost of vocational rehabilitation 

services is reasonable based on the individual's financial 

need, including consideration of any disability-related 

expenses paid by the individual, and not so high as to 

effectively deny the individual a necessary service.  

C. Groups exempt from a financial needs test are:  

1. Recipients of General Relief;  

2. Recipients of Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 

(TANF) by the individual or family on which the 

individual is dependent; and  

3. Individuals determined eligible for Social Security 

benefits under Titles II or XVI of the Social Security Act.  

D. Income and resources of the family are to be used when 

the client is a part of the family unit. The client is a part of the 

parent or legal guardian family unit upon occurrence of 

either: 1. Dependency of support evidenced on the last federal 

income tax return of the parent or legal guardian regardless of 

residency; or 2. When temporarily absent from the home due 

to illness, school, vacation, or military leave. The family unit 

is every person listed on the client's most recent federal 

income tax return.  

E. The financial need needs test shall consider the following 

income:  

1. Annual taxable income (gross income).  

2. Annual nontaxable income such as social security 

benefits, retirement benefits, workers' compensation, and 

veterans' benefits.  

3. Total cash assets, including checking and savings 

accounts, certificates, stocks, and bonds.  

F. The financial need test shall provide for the following 

allowances and exclusions:  

1. The gross income shall be adjusted by the for annual 

taxes, health insurance, and retirement savings by the 

applicable percentage indicated in the table below:  

Gross Income Allowance 

Under $10,000 15% 

$10,000 to $14,999 20% 

$15,000 to $24,999 25% 

$25,000 to $34,999 30% 

Over $34,999 35% 

2. Income shall be excluded from consideration based upon 

family size using the table below:  

Size of Family Income Exclusion 

1 $10,608 

2 $13,143 

3 $15,678 

4 $18,213 

5 $20,748 

6 $23,283 

7 $25,818 

8 $28,353 

For each additional dependent, add $2,535. The table 

above is based upon the federal law income for a family of 

four. It shall be updated annually by the department. 

federal poverty guidelines updated periodically in the 

Federal Register by the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services under the authority of 42 USC § 9902(2). 

The department shall use the federal poverty level for a 

family of four to determine the income exclusion for a 

family of one. The family income exclusion shall be 

increased by the amount established in the annual federal 

poverty guidelines for each additional dependent.  

3. Excluded from income shall be estimated client cost 

specifically related to the client's disability and disabilities 

of family unit members not covered by comparable 

services and benefits.  

4. Excluded from cash assets is $5,000.  

5. Individual retirement accounts shall be excluded from 

income considerations.  

G. Determination of the annual client financial contribution 

results from an examination of: (i) the number of persons in 

the family unit; (ii) annual taxable income minus allowances; 

(iii) annual nontaxable income; (iv) cash assets minus 

exclusions; and (v) exceptional exclusions based on client 

cost specifically related to client's disability.  

The financial resources to be considered shall be tabulated 

using the method noted herein in this section. The positive 

balance (resources exceeding exclusions) shall be determined 

to be available for participation in the rehabilitation program.  
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22VAC30-20-170. Availability of comparable services and 

benefits.  

A. Prior to providing any vocational rehabilitation services 

to an eligible individual or to members of the individual's 

family, except those services listed in subsection D of this 

section, the state unit department shall determine whether 

comparable services and benefits as defined in 22VAC30-20-

10 exist under any other program and whether those services 

and benefits are available to the individual.  

B. If comparable services or benefits exist under any other 

program and are available to the eligible individual at the 

time needed to achieve the rehabilitation objectives in the 

individual's individualized plan for employment, the state unit 

department shall use those comparable services or benefits to 

meet, in whole or in part, the cost of vocational rehabilitation 

services.  

C. If comparable services or benefits exist under any other 

program but are not available to the individual at the time 

needed to achieve ensure the rehabilitation objectives 

progress of the individual toward achieving the employment 

outcome in the individual's individualized plan for 

employment, the state unit department shall provide 

vocational rehabilitation services until those comparable 

services and benefits become available.  

D. The following services are shall be exempt from a 

determination of the availability of comparable services and 

benefits under subsection A of this section: assessment for 

determining eligibility and priority for services; assessment 

for determining vocational rehabilitation needs; vocational 

rehabilitation counseling, guidance, and referral services; job-

related services, including job search and placement services; 

job retention services,; follow-up services; rehabilitation 

technology; and post-employment services consisting of those 

services listed in this subsection.  

E. The requirements of subsection A of this section also do 

shall not apply if the determination of the availability of 

comparable services and benefits under any other program 

would delay the provision of vocational rehabilitation 

services to any individual who is determined to be at extreme 

medical risk based on medical evidence provided by an 

appropriate qualified medical professional; or an immediate 

job placement would be lost due to a delay in the provision of 

comparable services and benefits.  

22VAC30-20-181. Review of rehabilitation counselor or 

coordinator determinations made by the department.  

A. The designated state unit must establish and implement 

procedures, including standards of review under subsection D 

of this section, established by the Commissioner of the 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services to ensure 

that any An applicant, or eligible individual, or, if 

appropriate, individual's representative who is dissatisfied 

with any determinations determination made by a 

rehabilitation counselor or coordinator concerning the 

furnishing or denial of department personnel that affects the 

provision of vocational rehabilitation services may request, 

or, if appropriate, may request through the individual's 

representative, a timely review of those determinations the 

determination. The procedures established by the 

Commissioner of the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services must be in accordance with this 

section.  

B. Informal dispute resolution. The Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services may establish an informal process 

to resolve a request for review without conducting mediation 

or a formal hearing. However, the  

1. A request for review shall be made within 60 days after 

the determination. The applicant, eligible individual, or, if 

appropriate, the individual's representative may request a 

meeting with the supervisor of the staff member who made 

the determination and request an informal administrative 

review conducted by the supervisor.  

2. Within 10 working days of the request, the supervisor 

shall send a written decision and grounds to the applicant 

or eligible individual, with a copy to the individual's 

representative, if applicable, and it shall become part of the 

case record.  

3. The informal dispute resolution process must shall not 

be used to deny or delay the right of an applicant or 

eligible individual to proceed directly to a hearing under 

subsection D of this section or mediation under subsection 

C of this section. The informal resolution or the mediation 

process or both must be conducted and concluded within 

the time period established under subdivision D 1 of this 

section for holding a formal hearing. If neither the informal 

resolution nor mediation is successful, a formal hearing 

must be conducted by the end of this same period, unless 

the parties agree to a specific extension of time.  

C. Mediation.  

1. The department shall establish mediation procedures that 

allow an applicant or eligible individual and the state unit 

to resolve disputes. The procedures shall provide that:  

1. The mediation process is conducted by a qualified and 

impartial mediator as defined in 22VAC30-20-10 who 

must be selected from a list of qualified and impartial 

mediators maintained by the state;  

2. Mediation be available, at a minimum, whenever an 

applicant, eligible individual or, as appropriate, the 

individual's representative requests an impartial due 

process hearing under this section;  

3. Participation in the mediation process is voluntary on the 

part of the applicant or eligible individual, as appropriate, 

and on the part of the state unit;  

4. The mediation process not be used to deny or delay the 

applicant or eligible individual's right to pursue resolution 

of the dispute through a formal hearing process in the time 

specified in subsection D of this section or any other rights 

provided under this part;  
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5. Either party or the mediator may elect to terminate 

mediation at any time and pursue resolution through a 

formal hearing if desired;  

6. Mediation sessions are scheduled and conducted in a 

timely manner and held in a location and manner 

convenient to the parties in dispute;  

7. Discussions that occur during mediation remain 

confidential and may not be used as evidence in any 

subsequent due process hearing or civil proceeding and 

parties may be required to sign a confidentiality pledge 

prior to mediation;  

8. Any agreement reached by the parties to the dispute will 

be described in a written mediation agreement that is 

developed by the parties with the assistance of the 

mediator, signed by both parties, with a copy given to both 

parties; and  

9. The cost of the mediation process will be paid by the 

state, but the state is not required to pay for any costs 

related to the representation of an applicant or eligible 

individual.  

a mediation process conducted by a qualified and impartial 

mediator as defined in 22VAC30-20-10, who shall be 

selected from a list of qualified and impartial mediators 

maintained by the department. Mediation shall be 

requested within 60 days after a determination or informal 

administrative review decision. The department shall 

include in the mediation process the guardian of an 

applicant or eligible individual who has been judged 

incompetent. Participation in the mediation process is 

voluntary on the part of the applicant or eligible individual 

and on the part of the department. Mediation may be 

requested while a hearing is pending but shall not be used 

to deny or delay the applicant or eligible individual's right 

to a hearing conducted and concluded within the time 

period established under subdivision D 1 of this section.  

2. The mediator shall schedule and conduct the mediation 

sessions in a timely manner and in a location convenient to 

the parties in dispute. The mediator shall afford both 

parties an opportunity to be represented by counsel or other 

advocate and to submit evidence or other information. 

Discussions that occur during mediation remain 

confidential and shall not be used as evidence in any 

subsequent hearing or civil proceeding, and parties shall be 

required to sign a confidentiality pledge prior to mediation. 

Either party or the mediator may terminate mediation at 

any time, and the applicant, eligible individual, or the 

department may seek resolution through a hearing.  

3. Any agreement reached by the parties in a mediation 

shall be described in a written mediation agreement. Both 

parties to the dispute shall have an opportunity to review 

the agreement with their representative, supervisor, or legal 

advisor before signing it. An agreement signed by both 

parties shall become part of the case record, with a copy 

given to the applicant or eligible individual and any 

representative.  

4. The cost of the mediation process shall be paid by the 

department, but the department is not required to pay for 

any costs related to the representation of an applicant or 

eligible individual.  

D. The department shall establish formal review procedures 

that provide that: Due process hearing. 

1. A The applicant, eligible individual, or, if appropriate, 

individual's representative may request a hearing within 60 

days after the determination to be reviewed, meeting or 

informal administrative review decision under subsection 

B of this section, or mediation refusal or mediation 

termination date. Department personnel may request a 

hearing within 60 days after termination of the mediation 

process under subsection C of this section.  

a. The hearing shall be scheduled and conducted by an a 

qualified and impartial hearing officer, as defined and 

selected in accordance with subsection E of this section, 

must be held according to subdivision 2 of this 

subsection.  

b. The hearing officer shall conduct the hearing within 60 

days of the department receiving an individual's request 

for review, unless informal resolution is achieved prior to 

before the 60th day, or the parties agree to a specific 

extension of time; 2. The department may not institute a 

suspension, reduction, or termination of services being 

provided under an individualized plan for employment 

pending a final determination of the formal hearing under 

this subdivision, informal resolution under subsection B 

of this section, or mediation under subsection C of this 

section unless the individual or, in an appropriate case, 

the individual's representative so requests or the agency 

has evidence that the services have been obtained 

through misrepresentation, fraud, collusion, or criminal 

conduct on the part of the individual or the individual's 

representative; 3. The individual or, if appropriate, the 

individual's representative must be afforded, or the 

hearing officer grants a postponement request for good 

cause that would result in a fair representation of the 

issues.  

c. The hearing officer shall provide both parties to the 

dispute an opportunity to present additional evidence, 

information, and witnesses to the impartial hearing 

officer,; to be represented by counsel or other appropriate 

advocate,; and to examine all witnesses and other 

relevant sources of, information, and evidence; 4. The 

impartial. All testimony shall be given under oath. 

Hearsay testimony and redundant evidence may be 

admitted at the discretion of the hearing officer. Because 

the hearing officer cannot issue subpoenas, the 

department shall be responsible for the appearance of 

current department personnel on the witness list of either 

party.  



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 9, 2017 

1161 

d. Within 30 days after the hearing, the hearing officer 

shall make issue a written decision with a full report of 

the findings and grounds for the decision to the applicant, 

eligible individual, individual's representative, and the 

department. The decision shall be based on the 

provisions of the approved state plan, the federal 

Rehabilitation Act of 1973 as amended (the Act), federal 

vocational rehabilitation regulations, and state 

regulations and policies that are consistent with federal 

requirements and shall provide to the individual or, if 

appropriate, the individual's representative and to the 

commissioner a full written report of the findings and 

grounds for the decision within 30 days of the 

completion of the hearing; 5. The hearing officer's 

decision is shall be final, except that a party may request 

an impartial administrative review under subdivision 6 of 

this subsection if the state has established procedures for 

review, and a party involved in a hearing may bring a 

civil action under subsection H G of this section;. 

6. The state may establish procedures to enable a party 

who is dissatisfied with the decision of the impartial 

hearing officer to seek an impartial administrative review 

of the decision consistent with 34 CFR 361.57;  

7. Except for the time limitations established in subdivision 

1 of this subsection, each state's review procedures may 

provide for reasonable time extensions for good cause 

shown at the request of a party or at the request of both 

parties.  

E. Selection of impartial hearing officers.  

2. The impartial hearing officer for a particular case must 

shall be selected (i) randomly by the department from 

among the pool of persons qualified to be an impartial 

hearing officer, as defined in 34 CFR 361.5(b)(22) and 29 

USC § 722(b) and (d), who are identified jointly by the 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services 

commissioner and those members of the State 

Rehabilitation Council designated in § 102(d)(2)(C) of the 

Act (29 USC § 722(b) and (d)) and (ii) on a random basis.  

E. Administrative review of hearing officer decision.  

1. If the state has established procedures for an 

administrative review, the request and statutory, 

regulatory, or policy grounds for the request shall be made 

in writing to the department within 20 days of the hearing 

decision date. The review shall be a paper review of the 

entire hearing record and shall be conducted by a designee 

of the [ governor's Governor's ] office who shall not 

delegate the review to any personnel of the department.  

2. The reviewing official shall provide both parties an 

opportunity to submit additional written evidence and 

information relevant to the final decision concerning the 

matter under review. The reviewing official may not 

overturn or modify the hearing officer's decision, or any 

part of that decision, that supports the position of the 

applicant or eligible individual, unless the reviewing 

official concludes, based on clear and convincing evidence, 

that the hearing officer's decision is clearly erroneous on 

the basis of being contrary to the approved state plan, the 

Act, federal vocational rehabilitation regulations, and state 

regulations and policies that are consistent with federal 

requirements.  

3. Within 30 days after the request, the reviewing official 

shall issue an independent decision and full report of the 

findings and the statutory, regulatory, or policy grounds for 

the decision to the applicant, eligible individual, 

individual's representative, and department. The decision 

of the reviewing official is final and shall be implemented 

pending review by the court if either party chooses under 

subsection G of this section to bring a civil action 

regarding the matter in dispute. 

F. Informing affected individuals. The department shall 

inform, through appropriate modes of communication, all 

applicants and eligible individuals of: 1. Their right to review 

under this section their right to request a review of a 

determination made by department personnel that affects 

provision of vocational rehabilitation services, including the 

names and addresses of individuals with whom appeals 

mediation and hearing requests may be filed and how the 

mediator and hearing officer shall be selected; and their right 

to proceed directly to a hearing; their right to an informal 

administrative review; their right to pursue mediation; and 

their right to contact the Client Assistance Program to assist 

during mediation and hearing processes. Notification shall be 

provided in writing at the time of application for vocational 

rehabilitation services; assignment to a priority category if the 

department is operating under an order of selection; 

individualized plan for employment development; and 

reduction, suspension, or termination of services. 

2. The manner in which an impartial hearing officer will be 

selected consistent with the requirements of subsection E 

of this section.  

G. Implementation of final decisions. If a party brings a civil 

action under subsection H of this section to challenge the 

final decision of a hearing officer under subsection D of this 

section or to challenge the final decision of a state reviewing 

official under subsection D of this section, the final decision 

of the hearing officer or state reviewing official must be 

implemented pending review by the court.  

H. G. Civil action. Any party who disagrees with the 

findings or decisions decision of an impartial hearing officer 

under subdivision D 4 of this section if the state that has not 

established administrative review procedures under 

subdivision D 6 of this section, and any party who disagrees 

with the findings and decision under subdivision D 6 of this 

section, if the state has established an administrative review 

procedure, has a subsection D of this section or an 

administrative review under subsection E of this section shall 

have the right to bring a civil action with respect to the matter 

in dispute. The action may be brought in any state court of 
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competent jurisdiction or in a district court of the United 

States of competent jurisdiction without regard to the amount 

in controversy. In any action brought under this section 

subsection, the court receives the records related to the 

impartial due process hearing and the records related to the 

administrative review, if applicable; hears additional evidence 

at the request of a party; and basing its decision on the 

preponderance of the evidence, grants the relief that the court 

determines to be appropriate.  

22VAC30-20-200. Review of extended employment and 

other employment under special certificate provisions of 

the Fair Labor Standards Act.  

A. For two years after the an individual's record of services 

is closed (and thereafter if requested by the individual or, if 

appropriate, the individual's representative), the state unit 

department shall annually review and reevaluate the status of 

each individual determined by the state unit department to 

have achieved an employment outcome in which the 

individual is compensated in accordance with § 14(c) of the 

Fair Labor Standards Act or whose record of services is 

closed while the individual is in extended employment on the 

basis that the individual is unable to achieve an employment 

outcome consistent with 22VAC30-20-10 or that the 

individual made an informed choice to remain in extended 

employment. This The annual review or and reevaluation 

must shall include input from the individual or, in an 

appropriate case if appropriate, the individual's representative 

to determine the interests, priorities, and needs of the 

individual with respect to competitive employment.  

B. The state unit department shall make maximum effort, 

including the identification of vocational rehabilitation 

services, reasonable accommodations, and other support 

services, to enable the eligible individual to engage in 

competitive employment.  

C. The state unit department shall obtain the individual's 

signed acknowledgment of the individual, or, as appropriate, 

the individual's representative's signed acknowledgement 

representative, that the annual review and reevaluations have 

been conducted.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3609; Filed December 16, 2016, 4:10 p.m.  

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-80. Auxiliary Grants 

Program (amending 22VAC30-80-10, 22VAC30-80-20, 

22VAC30-80-30, 22VAC30-80-45 through 22VAC30-80-

70; adding 22VAC30-80-35).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 51.5-131 and 51.5-160 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Dates: January 9, 2017, through July 8, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Tishaun Harris-Ugworji, Program 

Consultant, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, 

telephone (804) 662-7531, or email 

tishaun.harrisugworji@dars.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

The second enactment of Chapter 567 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly directed the Commissioner of the Department for 

Aging and Rehabilitative Services to promulgate 

regulations for the provision of supportive housing for 

individuals receiving auxiliary grants within 180 days. 

Therefore, emergency regulations are needed to meet this 

requirement. 

Currently, the Auxiliary Grants Program regulations 

address standards for the two settings, assisted living 

facility (ALF) and adult foster care home (AFC), in which 

an individual has traditionally received the auxiliary grant. 

The intent of this emergency action is to (i) add supportive 

housing, which is a new living arrangement that 

individuals who receive auxiliary grant payments may 

choose, as a third setting in which individuals may receive 

the auxiliary grant, (ii) define requirements to participate 

in the supportive housing setting, (iii) clarify providers' 

responsibilities for each setting, and (iv) update 

terminology and guidelines for the Auxiliary Grant 

Program. As ALF and AFC placements are limited, 

amending the auxiliary grant regulations to allow 

supportive housing settings will assist individuals who may 

be unable to locate an ALF or AFC placement to meet 

their needs. Adding supportive housing as an approved 

setting for the auxiliary grant will protect the health, 

safety, and welfare of individuals who choose this living 

arrangement by ensuring that they will receive safe, high 

quality support to meet their daily living needs. 

22VAC30-80-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Adult foster care" or "AFC" means a locally optional 

program that provides room and board, supervision, and 

special services to an adult who has a physical or mental 

health need. Adult foster care may be provided for up to three 

adults by any one provider who is approved by the local 

department of social services. 

"Assisted living care" means a level of service provided by 

an assisted living facility for adults who may have physical or 

mental impairments and require at least moderate assistance 

with the activities of daily living. Included in this level of 

service are individuals who are dependent in behavior pattern 

(i.e., abusive, aggressive, disruptive) as documented on the 

Uniform Assessment Instrument.  

"Assisted living facility" or "ALF" means, as defined in 

§ 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia, any congregate residential 

setting that provides or coordinates personal and health care 

services, 24-hour supervision, and assistance (scheduled and 

unscheduled) for the maintenance or care of four or more 

adults who are aged, infirm or disabled and who are cared for 

in a primarily residential setting, except (i) a facility or 

portion of a facility licensed by the State Board of Health or 
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the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, but including any portion of such facility not so 

licensed; (ii) the home or residence of an individual who 

cares for or maintains only persons related to him by blood or 

marriage; (iii) a facility or portion of a facility serving infirm 

or disabled persons between the ages of 18 and 21, or 22 if 

enrolled in an educational program for the handicapped 

pursuant to § 22.1-214 of the Code of Virginia, when such 

facility is licensed by the department as a children's 

residential facility under Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of 

Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia, but including any portion 

of the facility not so licensed; and (iv) any housing project for 

persons 62 years of age or older or the disabled that provides 

no more than basic coordination of care services and is 

funded by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban 

Development, by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, or by 

the Virginia Housing Development Authority. Included in 

this definition are any two or more places, establishments or 

institutions owned or operated by a single entity and 

providing maintenance or care to a combined total of four or 

more aged, infirm or disabled adults. Maintenance or care 

means the protection, general supervision and oversight of the 

physical and mental well-being of an aged, infirm or disabled 

individual. Assuming responsibility for the well-being of 

individuals residing in an ALF, either directly or through 

contracted agents, is considered "general supervision and 

oversight." 

"Auxiliary Grants Program" or "AG" means a state and 

locally funded assistance program to supplement income of 

an individual receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI) 

or adult who would be eligible for SSI except for excess 

income, who resides in an ALF or in, an AFC, or a supportive 

housing setting with an established rate. The total number of 

individuals within the Commonwealth of Virginia eligible to 

receive AG in a supportive housing setting shall not exceed 

the number designated in the signed agreement between the 

department and the Social Security Administration.  

"Certification" means a form provided by the department 

and prepared by the an ALF or a supportive housing provider. 

Each ALF shall annually certifying certify that the ALF it has 

properly managed the personal funds and personal needs 

allowances of individuals residing in the ALF and is in 

compliance with program regulations and appropriate 

licensing regulations. Each supportive housing provider shall 

annually certify that it is in compliance with the regulations 

for the administration of the auxiliary grants programs 

(22VAC30-80). 

"Department" means the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services. 

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services.  

"Established rate" means the rate as set forth in the 

appropriation act or as set forth to meet federal maintenance 

of effort requirements. 

"Personal needs allowance" means an amount of money 

reserved for meeting the adult's personal needs when 

computing the amount of the AG payment.  

"Personal representative" means the person representing or 

standing in the place of the individual for the conduct of his 

affairs. This may include a guardian, conservator, attorney-in-

fact under durable power of attorney, next-of-kin, descendent, 

trustee, or other person expressly named by the individual as 

his agent. 

"Personal toiletries" means hygiene items provided to the 

individual by the ALF or AFC home including deodorant, 

razor, shaving cream, shampoo, soap, toothbrush, and 

toothpaste. 

"Program" means the Auxiliary Grant Program. 

"Provider" means an ALF that is licensed by the Department 

of Social Services or an AFC provider that is approved by a 

local department of social services or a supportive housing 

provider as defined in § 37.2-421.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Provider agreement" means a document written agreement 

that the ALF ALFs and supportive housing providers must 

complete and submit to the department when requesting to be 

approved for admitting approval to admit individuals 

receiving AG. 

"Qualified assessor" means an individual who is authorized 

by 22VAC30-110 to perform an assessment, reassessment, or 

change in level of care for an individual applying for AG or 

residing in an ALF or a supportive housing setting. For 

individuals receiving services from a community services 

board or behavioral health authority, a qualified assessor is an 

employee or designee of the community services board or 

behavioral health authority.  

"Rate" means the established rate.  

"Residential living care" means a level of service provided 

by an ALF for adults who may have physical or mental 

impairments and require only minimal assistance with the 

activities of daily living. Included in this level of service are 

individuals who are dependent in medication administration 

as documented on the Uniform Assessment Instrument (UAI).  

"Supportive housing" or "SH" means a residential setting 

with access to supportive services for an AG recipient in 

which tenancy as described in § 37.2-421.1 of the Code of 

Virginia is provided or facilitated by a provider licensed to 

provide mental health community support services, intensive 

community treatment, programs of assertive community 

treatment, supportive in-home services, or supervised living 

residential services that has entered into an agreement with 

the DBHDS pursuant to § 37.2-421.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Uniform Assessment Instrument" or "UAI" means the 

department-designated assessment form. It is used to record 

assessment information for determining the level of service 

that is needed. 
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22VAC30-80-20. Assessment.  

A. In order to receive payment from the program for care in 

an ALF or in AFC, an individual applying for AG shall have 

been assessed by a qualified assessor using the UAI and 

determined to need residential or assisted living care or AFC.  

B. As a condition of eligibility for the program, a UAI shall 

be completed on an individual prior to admission, except for 

an emergency placement as documented and approved by a 

Virginia adult protective services worker, at least once 

annually, and whenever there is a significant change in the 

individual's level of care, and a determination is made that the 

individual needs residential or assisted living care in an ALF 

or AFC. 

C. The ALF or AFC provider is prohibited from charging a 

security deposit or any other form of compensation for 

providing a room and services to the individual. The 

collection or receipt of money, gift, donation or other 

consideration from or on behalf of an individual for any 

services provided is prohibited. 

D. In order to receive payment from the AG program for 

care in the SH setting, an individual shall be evaluated by a 

qualified assessor in accordance with § 51.5-160 E of the 

Code of Virginia. Eligible individuals shall be notified of the 

SH setting option and the availability of approved SH 

providers at the time of their annual level of care assessment.  

22VAC30-80-30. Basic services in an assisted living 

facility or an adult foster care home. 

A. The rate established under the program for the ALF 

setting shall cover the following services:  

1. Room and board.  

a. Provision of a furnished room;  

b. Housekeeping services based on the needs of the 

individual;  

c. Meals and snacks provided in accordance with 

22VAC40-72 including, but not limited to food service, 

nutrition, number and timing of meals, observance of 

religious dietary practices, special diets, menus for meals 

and snacks, and emergency food and water. A minimum 

of three well-balanced meals shall be provided each day. 

When a diet is prescribed for an individual by his 

physician, it shall be prepared and served according to 

the physician's orders. Basic and bedtime snacks shall be 

made available for all individuals desiring them and shall 

be listed on the daily menu. Unless otherwise ordered in 

writing by the individual's physician, the daily menu, 

including snacks, for each individual shall meet the 

guidelines of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Food 

Guide Pyramid guidance system or the dietary 

allowances of the Food and Nutritional Board of the 

National Academy of Sciences, taking into consideration 

the age, sex, and activity of the resident. Second servings 

shall be provided, if requested, at no additional charge. 

At least one meal each day shall include a hot main dish; 

and 

d. Clean bed linens and towels as needed by the 

individual and at least once a week.  

2. Maintenance and care.  

a. Minimal assistance with personal hygiene including 

bathing, dressing, oral hygiene, hair grooming and 

shampooing, care of clothing, shaving, care of toenails 

and fingernails, arranging for haircuts as needed, and 

care of needs associated with menstruation or occasional 

bladder or bowel incontinence;  

b. Medication administration as required by licensing 

regulations including insulin injections;  

c. Provision of personal toiletries including toilet paper;  

d. Minimal assistance with the following:  

(1) Care of personal possessions;  

(2) Care of personal funds if requested by the individual 

and provider policy allows this practice, and in 

compliance with 22VAC40-72-140 and 22VAC40-72-

150, Standards for Licensed Assisted Living Facilities; 

(3) Use of the telephone;  

(4) Arranging transportation;  

(5) Obtaining necessary personal items and clothing;  

(6) Making and keeping appointments; and 

(7) Correspondence;  

e. Securing health care and transportation when needed 

for medical treatment;  

f. Providing social and recreational activities; and 

g. General supervision for safety.  

B. The AFC provider shall adhere to the standards in 

22VAC30-120-40. 

22VAC30-80-35. Basic services in supportive housing 

settings. 

A. The rate established under the program for SH, as defined 

in 22VAC30-80-10, shall cover a residential setting with 

access to SH services that include: 

1. Development of individualized SH service plans; 

2. Access to skills training; 

3. Assistance with accessing available community-based 

services and supports; 

4. Initial identification and ongoing review of the level of 

care needs; and 

5. Ongoing monitoring of services described in the 

individual's individualized SH plan. 

B. The residential setting covered under the program for SH, 

as defined in 22VAC30-80-10, shall be the least restrictive 

and most integrated setting practicable for the individual and 

shall: 

1. Comply with federal habitability standards; 
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2. Provide cooking and bathroom facilities in each unit; 

3. Afford dignity and privacy to the individual; and 

4. Include rights of tenancy pursuant to the Virginia 

Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (§ 55-248.2 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia). 

22VAC30-80-45. Conditions of participation in the 

program. 

A. Provider agreement for ALF.  

1. As a condition of participation in the program, the ALF 

provider is required to complete and submit to the 

department a signed provider agreement as stipulated 

below in this section. The agreement is to be submitted 

prior to the ALF accepting AG payment for qualified 

individuals. A copy of the ALF's current license must be 

submitted with the provider agreement. 

2. The ALF provider shall agree to the following 

conditions in the provider agreement to participate in the 

program: 

a. Provide services in accordance with all laws, 

regulations, policies, and procedures that govern the 

provision of services in the facility; 

b. Submit an annual certification form by October 1 of 

each year; 

c. Care for individuals with AG in accordance with the 

requirements herein at the current established rate; 

d. Refrain from charging the individual, his family, or his 

authorized personal representative a security deposit or 

any other form of compensation as a condition of 

admission or continued stay in the facility; 

e. Accept the established rate as payment in full for 

services rendered; 

f. Account for the personal needs allowances in a 

separate bank account and apart from other facility funds 

and issue a monthly statement to each individual 

regarding his account balance; 

g. Provide a 60-day written notice to the regional 

licensing office in the event of the facility's closure or 

ownership change;  

h. Provide written notification of the date and place of an 

individual's discharge or the date of an individual's death 

to the local department of social services determining the 

individual's AG eligibility and to the qualified assessor 

within 10 days of the individual's discharge or death; and 

i. Return to the local department of social services 

determining the individual's AG eligibility, all AG funds 

received after the death or discharge date of an individual 

in the facility. 

B. As a condition of participation in the program, the AFC 

provider shall be approved by a local department of social 

services and comply with the requirements set forth in 

22VAC30-120. 

C. Provider agreement for SH. As a condition of 

participating in the AG program, the SH provider shall enter 

an agreement with DBHDS pursuant to § 37.2-421.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. The SH provider shall submit a copy of the 

executed agreement and a copy of its current DBHDS license 

prior to the SH provider receiving payments from the AG 

program on behalf of qualified individuals. The SH provider 

shall provide SH services for each individual in accordance 

with § 37.2-421.1 of the Code of Virginia and all other 

applicable laws, regulations, and policies and procedures. 

22VAC30-80-50. Establishment of rate. 

The established rate for individuals authorized to reside in 

an ALF or in, an AFC, or a supportive housing setting is the 

established rate as set forth in the appropriation act or as set 

forth by changes in the federal maintenance of effort formula. 

The AG payment is determined by adding the rate plus the 

personal needs allowance minus the individual's countable 

income. The effective date is the date of the individual's 

approval for AG by the local department of social services.  

22VAC30-80-60. Reimbursement. 

A. Any moneys contributed toward the cost of care basic 

services as defined in 22VAC30-80-30 and 22VAC30-80-35 

pending AG eligibility determination shall be reimbursed to 

the individual or contributing party by the ALF or, AFC, or 

SH provider once eligibility for AG is established and that 

payment received. The payment shall be made payable to the 

individual, who will then reimburse the provider for care 

appropriate providers for basic services. If the individual is 

not capable of managing his finances, his personal 

representative is responsible for reimbursing the provider.  

B. In the event an ALF is closed, the facility shall prorate 

the rate up to the date of the individual's discharge and return 

the balance to the local department of social services that 

determined the individual's eligibility for the grant. If the 

facility maintained the individual's personal needs allowance, 

the facility shall provide a final accounting of the individual's 

personal needs allowance account within 60 days of the 

individual's discharge. Verification of the accounting and of 

the reimbursement to the individual shall be mailed to the 

case management agency responsible for the individual's 

annual reassessment. In the event of the individual's death, 

the provider shall give to the individual's personal 

representative a final accounting of the individual's funds 

within 60 calendar days of the event. All AG funds received 

after the death or discharge date shall be returned to the local 

department of social services responsible for determining the 

individual's AG eligibility as soon as practicable. Providers 

who do not comply with the requirements of this regulation 

may be subject to adverse action. 

22VAC30-80-70. Certification. 

A. ALFs ALF and SH providers shall submit to the 

department an annual certification form by October 1 of each 

year for the preceding state fiscal year. The certification shall 

include the following: identifying information about the ALF 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 9, 2017 

1166 

provider, census information including a list of individuals 

who resided in the facility or SH setting and received AG 

during the reporting period and personal needs allowance 

accounting information if such personal needs accounting 

information is required by the setting. If a provider fails to 

submit an annual certification form, the provider will not be 

authorized to accept additional individuals with AG.  

B. All information reported by an ALF or SH provider on 

the certification form shall be subject to audit by the 

department. Financial information that is not reconcilable to 

the provider's general ledger or similar records could result in 

establishment of a liability to the provider. Records shall be 

retained for three years after the end of the reporting period or 

until audited by the department, whichever is first.  

C. All records maintained by an AFC provider, as required 

by 22VAC30-120, shall be made available to the department 

or the approving local department of social services upon 

request. All records are subject to audit by the department. 

Financial information that is not reconcilable to the provider's 

records could result in establishment of a liability to the 

provider. Records shall be retained for three years after the 

end of the reporting period or until audited by the department, 

whichever is first. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4816; Filed December 16, 2016, 4:22 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 23. TAXATION 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Fast-Track Regulation  

Title of Regulation: 23VAC10-220. Aircraft Sales and Use 

Tax (amending 23VAC10-220-5, 23VAC10-220-10, 

23VAC10-220-20).  

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: March 10, 2017. 

Effective Date: March 27, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Joe Mayer, Lead Policy Analyst, 

Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA 

23261-7185, telephone (804) 371-2299, FAX (804) 371-

2355, or email joseph.mayer@tax.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Tax Commissioner to issue regulations relating to the 

interpretation and enforcement of the laws governing taxes 

administered by the Department of Taxation. The Aircraft 

Sales and Use Tax is administered by the Department of 

Taxation pursuant to § 58.1-1503 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: This regulatory action is needed to remove 

references to a previous retail sales and use tax rate that 

provide no guidance regarding the aircraft sales and use tax. 

The regulatory action does not reflect any change in current 

tax policy and will have no impact on the administration of 

the aircraft sales and use tax. Removal of the retail sales and 

use tax rate from the regulation will eliminate confusion 

caused by listing the wrong rate in the regulation and will 

eliminate the need to update the rate in the event that it is 

changed again. The action does not have an impact on the 

health, safety, and welfare of the public. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: 

Amending the Aircraft Sales and Use Tax regulation to repeal 

references to a previous retail sales and use tax rate that 

provide no guidance regarding the aircraft sales and use tax is 

expected to be noncontroversial and appropriate for the fast-

track rulemaking process. 

Substance: This action will amend 23VAC10-220-5, 

23VAC10-220-10, and 23VAC10-220-20 to remove 

references to the previous rate of the retail sales and use tax.  

The rate of the retail sales and use tax has been increased 

twice since the rate listed in the regulation, 4.0%, was in 

effect. The retail sales and use tax rate is currently 5.3% 

statewide, with an additional 0.7% state tax in the Northern 

Virginia and Hampton Roads Regions. Removal of the retail 

sales and use tax rate from the Aircraft Sales and Use Tax 

regulation will have no impact on the usefulness of the 

regulation. The listing of the retail sales and use tax rate 

provides no guidance regarding the aircraft sales and use tax. 

The retail sales and use tax rate is not necessary for any 

examples or explanation provided in the regulation. Removal 

of the retail sales and use tax rate from the regulation will 

eliminate confusion caused by listing the wrong rate in the 

regulation and will eliminate the need to update the regulation 

in the event that it is changed in the future. 

The aircraft sales and use tax is generally imposed at the rate 

of 2.0% on the retail sale of every aircraft sold in Virginia and 

upon the use in Virginia of any aircraft required to be licensed 

by the Department of Aviation. However, commercial dealers 

may elect to pay the aircraft sales and use tax at the rate of 

2.0% of the monthly gross receipts from the lease, charter, or 

other use of any aircraft licensed for commercial use instead. 

Revenues from the tax are deposited into a special fund 

within the Commonwealth Transportation Fund for the 

administration of aviation laws by the Department of 

Aviation; for the construction, maintenance, and 

improvement of airports and landing fields; and for the 

promotion of aviation. 

The regulatory action does not reflect any change in current 

tax policy and will have no impact on the administration of 

the aircraft sales and use tax. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this action for the public 

and the agency is that it will remove an incorrect listing of the 

retail sales and use tax rate that may cause confusion. As this 

regulatory action will repeal references to a former retail sales 

and use tax rate that provide no guidance regarding the 

aircraft sales and use tax, there are no issues or disadvantages 
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to the public or the Commonwealth associated with this 

regulatory action. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department of Taxation (Department) proposes to amend its 

regulation for the Aircraft Sales and Use Tax to make 

clarifying changes and to remove references to a now 

obsolete retail sales and use tax rate. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits outweigh costs for all proposed 

changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Department proposes 

several changes to this regulation that do not change current 

rules or practice. For instance, the Department proposes to 

reword the preface to the definition section of the regulation 

to make it more easily understandable. Changes such as these 

do not impose any costs on any affected entity but provide the 

benefit of additional clarity to interested parties reading the 

regulation.  

Currently, this regulation states that the retail sales and use 

tax for aircraft is four percent. Department staff report, 

however, that this tax rate has increased twice in statute since 

it was listed in this regulation. The tax as mandated by the 

General Assembly is currently five and three tenths percent 

state wide with an additional seven tenths percent tax in the 

Northern Virginia and Hampton Roads regions. Because the 

tax rate listed in this regulation is obsolete, the Department 

proposes to remove it. No entity will incur any costs on 

account of this change. Removing this obsolete language will 

benefit interested parties by ensuring that the regulation does 

not cause confusion by representing that the tax rate is lower 

than it actually is. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulatory 

changes will affect all entities who are subject to the Aircraft 

Sales and Use Tax. The Department reports that 228 entities 

paid this tax in fiscal year 2014, 226 paid it in fiscal year 

2015 and 278 paid it in fiscal year 2016. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes.  

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No small businesses will be 

adversely affected by these proposed regulatory changes. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 

businesses will be adversely affected by these proposed 

regulatory changes.  

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. No businesses will be adversely affected by these 

proposed regulatory changes. 

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 

see any adverse impacts on account of these proposed 

regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely 

affected by these proposed changes. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Taxation agrees with the Department of 

Planning and Budget's economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments amend the aircraft sales and use tax 

provisions by removing outdated references to the rate of 

the retail sales and use tax. 

23VAC10-220-5. Definitions.  

The following words, terms and phrases are defined herein 

for the tax imposed by Chapter 15 of Title 58.1-1501 of the 

Code of Virginia only and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Aircraft" means any contrivance used or designed for and 

capable of untethered navigation or flight in the air carrying 

one or more persons at an altitude greater than twenty-four 24 

inches above the ground, except such term shall not include a 

parachute or a "hang glider." (See § 5.1-1 of the Code of 

Virginia.)  

"Commissioner" means the Tax Commissioner.  

"Dealer" means any person the Tax Commissioner finds to 

be in the regular business of selling aircraft and who owns 

five or more aircraft at anytime during the calendar year 

which that are held for resale or used for compensation. For 

purposes of this chapter, the The term "owns" includes 

aircraft acquired under leases qualifying as sales as defined in 

this section.  

"Gross receipts" means hourly rental, maintenance, and all 

other charges for use of such aircraft. Also, unless separately 

stated on the invoice, "gross receipts" includes all charges for 

services of pilots or instructors in such aircraft.  

"Person" means every natural person, firm, partnership, 

association, corporation, or other entity.  

"Sale" means any transfer of ownership or possession, or 

both, exchange, barter, lease or rental, conditional or 

otherwise, in any manner or by any means whatsoever, of an 
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aircraft, including transactions whereby possession is 

transferred but title is retained by the seller as security. For 

purposes of this chapter, the The term "lease or rental" shall 

be restricted to include only a lease or rental for a period of 

time substantially equal to the remaining life of the aircraft as 

determined at the beginning of the lease term or a lease or 

rental in which the payments during the term of the lease will 

substantially equal the value of the aircraft.  

1. The remaining life of the aircraft shall be estimated in 

accordance with generally accepted accounting principles, 

considering factors such as physical deterioration, normal 

obsolescence, maintenance, and intensity of use.  

2. For purposes of this chapter, the The term "substantially 

equal" shall mean "equal to or exceeds eighty percent." 

80%."  

3. For purposes of this chapter, the The term "value of the 

aircraft" shall mean the current market value of the aircraft 

in accordance with such publications or other data as are 

customarily employed in ascertaining the maximum sale 

price of an aircraft.  

The same sale will not be subject to the tax more than once. 

However, unless it is an exempt transfer, each time a transfer 

of ownership or possession takes place, the new owner will 

be subject to the tax on the transfer.  

As used in this chapter, the term "sale" "Sale" does not 

include the following:  

1. Any transfer of ownership or possession which transfer 

is made to secure payment of an obligation.  

2. Any transfer of ownership or possession which that is 

incidental to repossession under a lien and under which 

ownership is transferred to the lien holder, his nominee, or 

a trustee, pending ultimate disposition or sale of the 

collateral.  

3. Any transfer of ownership or possession which that is 

part of the sale of all or substantially all the assets of a 

business. The exemption applies only to aircraft upon 

which Virginia aircraft sales and use tax has been paid 

upon acquisition or use by the transferor and does not 

include nonlicensed aircraft held for resale by a dealer or 

manufacturer or any other aircraft held or used for exempt 

purposes by the transferor. The tax status of such aircraft 

will be determined by the transferee's purposes and use of 

the aircraft. For purposes of this chapter, the The term 

"substantially all the assets" shall mean "eighty percent 

"80% or more."  

4. Any transfer of ownership or possession by 

survivorship, inheritance, or gift. The exclusion from 

"sale" referred to in this paragraph subdivision 4 is limited 

to bona fide gifts without consideration. A gift for services 

rendered or any other form of consideration is a sale and is 

subject to Virginia aircraft sales tax.  

5. Any transfer of ownership or possession from an 

individual or partnership to a corporation or from a 

corporation to an individual or partnership if the transfer is 

incidental to the formation, organization, reorganization, or 

dissolution of a corporation in which the individual or 

partnership holds a controlling interest. For purposes of 

this exclusion, a controlling interest means the ownership 

of at least eighty percent 80% of all outstanding shares of 

voting stock.  

6. Any transfer of ownership from a partner to the 

partnership in which he is a partner will be deemed a 

taxable sale only to the extent of the aggregate interests of 

partners other than the transferring partner. Similarly, any 

transfer of ownership from a partnership to a partner will 

be deemed a taxable sale only to the extent of the 

aggregate interests of partners other than the transferee 

partner.  

7. Any transfer of ownership or possession between 

affiliated corporations if Virginia aircraft sales and use tax 

or Virginia retail sales and use tax was paid on the 

acquisition or use of the transferred aircraft by the 

transferring corporation. For purposes of this exclusion, 

two or more corporations shall be deemed affiliated if (i) 

one corporation owns at least 80% of the outstanding 

shares of voting stock of the other or others or (ii) at least 

80% of the outstanding shares of voting stock of two or 

more corporations is owned by the same interests.  

Example 1: Corporation A purchased in 1980 an aircraft 

and paid Virginia aircraft sales and use tax on the 

purchase. In 1983, Corporation A acquired all of the 

capital stock of Corporation B and transferred its aircraft 

to Corporation B. The transfer would not be subject to 

Virginia aircraft sales and use tax because it would 

represent a transfer between qualified affiliates (parent 

owning as least 80 percent 80% of subsidiary).  

Example 2: Corporation C purchased an aircraft in 

Delaware in March 1982. In June 1982, Corporation C 

acquired all of the capital stock of Corporation D, a 

Virginia corporation, and transferred its aircraft to 

Corporation D. The acquisition of the aircraft by 

Corporation D is subject to Virginia aircraft sales and use 

tax. While this would represent a transfer between 

qualified affiliates, Virginia aircraft sales and use tax was 

not paid on the acquisition of the transferred asset by the 

transferring corporation.  

Example 3: Individual A owns 100 percent 100% of the 

voting stock of Corporation E and 85 percent 85% of the 

voting stock of Corporation F. Both corporations operate 

businesses in Virginia. In 1982, Corporation E transfers 

to Corporation F an aircraft which it had previously 

purchased and on which that it had paid aircraft sales and 

use tax. The transfer would not be subject to Virginia 

aircraft sales and use tax because it would represent a 

transfer between qualified affiliates (at least 80 percent 

80% of the voting stock of each corporation is owned by 

the same owner) and because Virginia aircraft sales and 
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use tax was paid on the acquisition of the transferred 

aircraft by the transferring corporation.  

Example 4: Individual A is the sole owner of an aircraft. 

A transfers the aircraft to Partnership ABC in which he is 

a partner owning a 1/3 interest in the partnership 

property. A's 1/3 interest in the aircraft is not subject to 

tax since A is deemed to have retained 1/3 of his 

previous 100% ownership on which he had paid aircraft 

sales and use tax. The 2/3 interest in the aircraft owned 

by Partners B and C is subject to the aircraft sales and 

use tax. To the extent of this interest, a transfer 

qualifying as a sale took place.  

Example 5: Partnership XYZ transferred its aircraft 

which that it had purchased and on which it had paid 

Virginia aircraft sales and use tax to Partner Z on January 

1, 1983. Each partner is deemed to own a 1/3 interest in 

the aircraft. The taxable portion of the transfer is the 2/3 

interest owned by Partners X and Y.  

8. Transfer of aircraft repair parts, accessories, 

attachments, and lubricants, not included in the same 

transaction with the transfer of aircraft. Sales of all such 

tangible personal property are subject to the Virginia retail 

sales and use tax and reportable on Form ST-9, Dealer's 

Retail Sales and Use Tax Return.  

"Retail sale," as used in this chapter, sale" means a sale to a 

consumer or to any person for any purpose other than for 

resale and includes any transaction the Commissioner 

commissioner, upon investigation, finds to be in lieu of a sale.  

"Retail sale" does not include the mere transfer of titled 

ownership between husband and wife, where there has been 

no contractual consideration for the transfer and where no 

loss resulting from the transfer would constitute an allowable 

deduction for federal or state income tax purposes. No 

substantive change in equity ownership has occurred and the 

transfer is not subject to Virginia aircraft sales and use tax. 

Likewise, a similar transfer, as described above, to joint 

ownership with husband and wife would not be subject to tax 

as a retail sale.  

"Sale price," as used in this chapter, price" means the total 

price paid for an aircraft and all attachments thereon and 

accessories thereto, without any allowance or deduction for 

trade-ins or unpaid liens or encumbrances, but exclusive of 

any federal manufacturers' excise tax.  

"Attachments thereon" and "accessories thereto" as used 

herein mean all tangible personal property that is 

physically attached to the aircraft, including installation 

charges, or property that is customarily used in aircraft, 

whether or not affixed to the structure of the aircraft, and 

which that was transferred in the same transaction as the 

aircraft as a part of the aircraft sale. Such tangible personal 

property transferred other than in the same transaction with 

the aircraft will be subject to the four percent Virginia 

retail sales and use tax imposed pursuant to Chapter 6 

(§ 58.1-600 et seq.) of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

Charges for lettering and get-ready charges (i.e., cleaning, 

washing, and preparing) are also included in the sale price 

when made in the same transaction with the aircraft 

transfer.  

Charges for federal manufacturer's excise tax, insurance, 

and gasoline are excluded from the sale price, when 

separately stated on the invoice.  

23VAC10-220-10. Tax levied.  

A. Generally. The Virginia aircraft sales and use tax is 

imposed at the rate of two percent 2.0% upon the retail sale of 

every aircraft sold in this state the Commonwealth and upon 

the nonexempt use in Virginia of any aircraft.  

B. Tax rate application. The tax is to be collected by 

applying the 2% 2.0% rate as follows:  

1. Aircraft sold in Virginia. For aircraft sold in Virginia, 

the amount of tax is two percent 2.0% of the sale price of 

the aircraft. The tax is levied on the date the application 

was required to be made to the Department of Aviation to 

obtain the license to operate the aircraft. See 23VAC10-

220-50.  

a. The Virginia aircraft sales tax applies to all aircraft 

sold and required to be licensed in Virginia, including 

occasional sales. "Occasional sale" refers to means a sale 

of an aircraft by anyone not a dealer in aircraft. See 

23VAC10-220-50 for information concerning payment 

of tax.  

b. No tax is applicable to an aircraft which that is not 

required to be licensed by the Department of Aviation.  

Example 1: Individual A purchased a plane in Virginia 

on January 1, 1983, and applied for a license to operate 

the aircraft on the same day. The purchase price of the 

plane was $12,000. The tax is levied on the date of 

purchase and A must pay the Virginia aircraft sales tax of 

$240 based upon the sale price.  

Example 2: Individual B purchased a plane in Virginia 

for $25,000 on January 1, 1982, and stored the plane for 

use in Virginia while she took flying lessons. B applied 

to the Department of Aviation for a license to operate the 

aircraft on September 1, 1982. The tax is levied 

September 1, 1982, on the original purchase price of 

$25,000.  

Note: 23VAC10-220-50 requires the aircraft sales and 

use tax to be paid prior to the time the owner applies to 

the Department of Aviation for and obtains a license to 

operate the aircraft. 23VAC10-220-20 requires the tax to 

be based upon the current market value of the aircraft if 

first used or stored for use in Virginia six months or more 

after its acquisition. The current market value is not 

applicable in the case at hand because the plane qualified 

as an aircraft when purchased on January 1, 1982, and 

was first stored for use in this state on that date, even 

though the aircraft was not required to be licensed until 

nine months later.  
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Example 3: Individual C purchased a plane kit in 

Virginia on June 1, 1982. The kit is subject to the 4.0% 

retail sales and use tax when purchased since the kit does 

not meet the definition of an aircraft at the time of 

purchase. When the kit is assembled, and qualifies as an 

aircraft, it is subject to the 2.0% aircraft sales and use tax 

on the assembled cost. See 23VAC10-220-30 D C.  

2. Aircraft not sold in Virginia. For aircraft not sold in 

Virginia but required to be licensed for use in Virginia, the 

amount of tax is two percent 2.0% of the sale price of the 

aircraft, wherever sold; however, if the aircraft is not sold 

in Virginia and is first required to be licensed in Virginia 

six months or more after its acquisition, the tax is imposed 

at two percent 2.0% of the current market value of the 

aircraft if such current market value is less than the sale 

price of the aircraft including the cost of any modifications, 

improvements, or additions subsequent to initial 

acquisition. Also, see See 23VAC10-220-20.  

a. The term "required to be licensed" as used in this 

section refers to the licensing provisions of Chapter 1 (§ 

5.1-1 et seq.) of Title 5.1 of the Code of Virginia. Section 

5.1-5 requires that before operating any aircraft, the 

owner must obtain from the Department of Aviation an 

aircraft license for such aircraft.  

b. The term "current market value" as used in this section 

means an average value considering age, make, model, 

and included accessories in accordance with such 

publications or other data as are customarily employed in 

ascertaining the sale price of used aircraft.  

c. The same transaction will not be subject to the tax 

more than once. However, each time a sale takes place, 

or an aircraft is brought into use in Virginia and required 

to be licensed, the new owner or new user in Virginia 

will be subject to the tax on the transaction.  

d. The Virginia aircraft sales and use tax is not applicable 

to the use of any aircraft which that is not required to be 

licensed by the Department of Aviation.  

3. Aircraft leased, rented, or chartered. Dealers in aircraft 

as defined in 23VAC10-220-5 may elect to license for 

commercial use one or more aircraft held for lease, rental, 

charter, or other compensatory use, without payment of the 

Virginia aircraft sales and use tax based upon the sale 

price, subject to certain requirements and restrictions as 

regulated.  

Any person who revokes his election immediately becomes 

liable for the Virginia aircraft sales and use tax as regulated 

in Paragraph B above subdivisions 1 and 2 of this 

subsection.  

C. Tax levy on lease or rental defined as sale. The Virginia 

aircraft sales tax is imposed upon the retail sale of an aircraft; 

however, the purchaser is responsible for payment of the tax. 

For purposes of a lease or rental defined as a sale under 

23VAC10-220-5, the lessee or person renting the aircraft is 

deemed the purchaser of the aircraft and is responsible for 

payment of the applicable tax.  

23VAC10-220-20. Basis of tax; estimate of tax; penalty for 

misrepresentation.  

A. Basis of tax for sale or use. The Commissioner 

commissioner shall levy and collect tax for the use or sale of 

an aircraft upon the basis of the sale price of the aircraft.  

1. Invoice required. Any person who sells an aircraft in 

Virginia must supply the buyer with an invoice signed by 

the seller or his representative. The invoice must state the 

sale price of the aircraft. The buyer must present the 

invoice to the Commissioner commissioner with his return 

and payment of the tax.  

2. Basis of tax. The basis of the tax is the sale price, 

including any amount credited for trade-in or any other 

transaction of like nature, except that if the aircraft is first 

used or stored for use in Virginia six months or more after 

its acquisition, the tax will be based on the current market 

value.  

a. Under the regulated definition of "aircraft," the six 

month six-month period referred to in this section begins 

only when a plane is capable of flight.  

Example 1: Individual D purchased in Virginia on 

January 1, 1982, an inoperable wrecked plane. The 

aircraft was stored for repairs until September 1, 1982, 

when the aircraft license application was made. The 

aircraft sales and use tax is levied on the acquisition cost 

on September 1, 1982, when the plane qualified as an 

"aircraft." No credit is allowable for the 4.0% retail sales 

and use tax imposed pursuant to Chapter 6 (§ 58.1-600 et 

seq.) of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia paid on the 

purchase of repair parts.  

Example 2: Individual E purchased an aircraft in 

Maryland on January 1, 1982, and used it in Maryland 

until September 1, 1982, when licensed for use in 

Virginia. The tax is levied on the current market value of 

the aircraft on September 1, 1982, since it was brought 

into Virginia for use more than six months after 

acquisition.  

Example 3: On January 1, 1982, individual A purchased 

an inoperable wrecked plane in North Carolina and 

transported the wreckage to Virginia on the day of 

purchase. The plane was brought into Virginia for 

restoration and ultimate use in this state the 

Commonwealth. The repairs were completed and the 

aircraft license application was made on September 1, 

1982. The tax is levied on September 1, 1982, on the 

original cost of the wrecked plane plus restoration cost. 

The plane did not qualify as an aircraft in Virginia until 

capable of flight and therefore the tax is levied at such 

date.  

B. Basis of tax for monthly gross receipts return. An 

approved and registered dealer must submit monthly returns 
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to the Department department and remit Virginia aircraft 

sales and use tax upon the gross receipts from the lease, 

rental, charter, or other compensatory use of any aircraft he 

elects to exclude from the sales tax at time of purchase. 1. For 

purposes of this section, the terms "lease" and "rental" refer 

only to leases or rentals not qualifying as sales under 

23VAC10-220-5.  

C. Invoice not available, assessment by Commissioner 

commissioner. Where the invoice is not available, or where 

the Commissioner commissioner has reason to believe the 

invoice does not reflect the true sale price, or the aircraft was 

purchased more than six months prior to its use or storage in 

Virginia, the Commissioner commissioner may assess the tax. 

Under these circumstances, the tax may be assessed in 

accordance with such publications or other data as are 

customarily employed in ascertaining the maximum sale price 

of aircraft.  

D. Fair price for rental or use. If the Commissioner 

commissioner finds that a dealer has made a charge for the 

rental or use of an aircraft that is lower than the fair market 

value of such rental or use, he may estimate a fair price. An 

estimate of fair price as used here means in accordance with 

the cost of the aircraft, the cost of maintenance, the normal 

rental value as shown in similar transactions, or other relevant 

data. The amount by which the fair price estimated under this 

section exceeds the charge actually made by the dealer will be 

included in "gross receipts" as used in this section.  

E. Misrepresentation. Any person who knowingly 

misrepresents on an invoice between buyer and seller, on any 

return, or to the Commissioner commissioner the value of an 

aircraft or the amount of tax due shall be, upon conviction, 

guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (23VAC10-220)  

Dealer's Aircraft Sales and Use Tax Return, Form AST-2 

(rev. 5/06).  

Virginia Aircraft Sales and Use Tax Return, Form AST-3 

(rev. 12/06).  

Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption (For dealers 

who purchase tangible personal property for resale, lease or 

rental), Form ST-10 (rev. 10/99).  

Business Registration Application, Form R-1 (rev. 3/08).  

Virginia Aircraft Sales and Use Tax Return, Form AST-3 

(rev. 7/2012) 

Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption, Form ST-10 

(rev. 9/2015) (For a Virginia dealer who purchases tangible 

personal property for resale, or for lease or rental, or who 

purchases materials or containers to package tangible 

personal property for sale.) 

Retail Sales and Use Tax Return, Form ST-9 (rev. 3/2013) 

Business Registration Application, Form R-1 (rev. 9/2016) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4842; Filed December 14, 2016, 4:07 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 23VAC10-310. Tax on Wills and 

Administration (amending 23VAC10-310-20, 23VAC10-

310-30).  

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: March 10, 2017. 

Effective Date: March 27, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Joe Mayer, Lead Policy Analyst, 

Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA 

23261-7185, telephone (804) 371-2299, FAX (804) 371-

2355, or email joseph.mayer@tax.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia provides that 

the "Tax Commissioner shall have the power to issue 

regulations relating to the interpretation and enforcement of 

the laws of this Commonwealth governing taxes administered 

by the Department." The authority for the current regulatory 

action is discretionary. 

Purpose: This regulatory action amends 23VAC10-310, Tax 

on Wills and Administration, to update references to sections 

of the Code of Virginia to reflect the changes made by 

Chapter 614 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly, which recodified 

Title 64.1 of the Code of Virginia to Title 64.2. The 

regulation section affected by this action was promulgated 

prior to the enactment of Chapter 614. This regulatory action 

does not reflect any change in current tax policy and has no 

impact on the administration of any taxes. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

fast-track rulemaking process is intended for proposed 

regulations that are expected to be noncontroversial. As this 

regulatory action will merely correct references to sections of 

the Code of Virginia, this action is not expected to be 

controversial. 

Substance: This regulatory action will amend 23VAC10-310, 

Tax on Wills and Administration, to update references to 

sections of the Code of Virginia to reflect the recodification 

changes made by Chapter 614 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly. 

Specifically, references to sections of Title 64.1 are corrected 

to the appropriate sections of Title 64.2. 

Issues: As this regulatory action will merely correct 

references to sections of the Code of Virginia, there are no 

issues or disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth 

associated with this regulatory action.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1e3c5004842~1&typ=40&actno=004842&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1e3c5004842~1&typ=40&actno=004842&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e4139004842~4&typ=40&actno=004842&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e4139004842~4&typ=40&actno=004842&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1c3cc004842~3&typ=40&actno=004842&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34c3e004842~2&typ=40&actno=004842&mime=application/pdf
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Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 

regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department of Taxation proposes several amendments to 

update references to sections of the Code of Virginia to 

reflect the recodification changes made by 2012 Acts of 

Assembly, Chapter 614. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The proposed updating of Code 

of Virginia references will not affect tax rates, rules and 

policies, but will be beneficial by increasing clarity and 

reducing potential confusion for readers of the regulation. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

affect anyone who may potentially read the regulation. The 

regulation pertains to anyone who may have a will or may be 

the beneficiary of a will.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments do not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 

significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not create adverse impact for small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Taxation agrees with the Department of 

Planning and Budget's economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments update references to sections of the Code 

of Virginia to reflect changes enacted by Chapter 614 of 

the 2012 Acts of Assembly, which recodified Title 64.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

23VAC10-310-20. Levy.  

The following are examples of the application or 

nonapplication of the tax:  

1. The tax is imposed even if a will is probated without 

qualification.  

2. A will, already admitted to probate and on which a tax has 

been paid in a Virginia court, will not be taxed in order to be 

recorded in any other Virginia county or city where there is 

real or personal property subject to the will. See § 64.1-94, 

64.2-455 of the Code of Virginia.  

3. The qualification of an administrator de bonis non 

(D.B.N.), is ordinarily not subject to tax when the tax has 

been paid on the original qualification of the personal 

representative; however, if the estate value has been 

determined to be in excess of the originally taxed value, the 

excess is taxable.  

4. The filing of an affidavit with the clerk of court relating to 

real estate of an intestate decedent is not subject to tax. See 

§ 64.1-135 64.2-510 of the Code of Virginia.  

5. A recovery for death by wrongful act is not taxable 

because it does not pass property by will or by intestacy.  

23VAC10-310-30. Value of estate.  

A.1. Resident. Upon the probate of the will of a resident 

decedent who owned real, tangible and intangible personal 

property, the tax is measured by the value of all intangible 

property wherever located and the value of the real and 

tangible property located in Virginia. "Resident" means a 

decedent who was domiciled in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia at his death.  

2. Nonresident. Upon the probate of an authenticated copy 

of the will of a nonresident decedent, the tax is measured 

only by the value of the real or tangible property located in 

the Commonwealth. See § 64.1-92 64.2-450 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

3. B. The following are examples of property not included in 

the valuation of the estate for purposes of the tax:  

a. 1. Property passing by the exercise of a power of 

appointment.  

b. 2. Jointly held property with right of survivorship.  

c. 3. Insurance proceeds, unless payable to the estate.  

d. 4. Property that passes by inter vivos trust.  

e. 5. Bonds payable on debt to a named beneficiary.  

4. C. Assets owned as tenants in common or joint tenants 

without right of survivorship are included to the extent of the 

interest of the deceased tenant.  
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5. D. Where a testator owned several parcels of real estate, 

but only devised certain of the parcels by will, leaving other 

parcels to pass according to the law of descent, the tax should 

be based upon all the real estate in the Commonwealth owned 

by the decedent at the date of valuation, and not only on the 

value of the parcels devised by will.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4893; Filed December 12, 2016, 1:25 p.m.  



GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

Volume 33, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 9, 2017 

1174 

GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

State Implementation Plan Proposed Revision - 
2008 Ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standards 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 

proposed revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia State 

Implementation Plan (SIP). The SIP is a plan developed by 

the Commonwealth in order to fulfill its responsibilities under 

the federal Clean Air Act to attain and maintain the ambient 

air quality standards promulgated by the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency (EPA) under the Act. The Commonwealth 

intends to submit the regulations to the EPA as a revision to 

the SIP in accordance with the requirements of § 110(a) of the 

federal Clean Air Act. 

Regulations affected: The regulations of the board affected by 

this action are 9VAC5-20-204, Nonattainment areas, Part II 

of 9VAC5-20 (General Provisions); 9VAC5-30-55, Ozone 

(8-hour, 0.08 ppm) of 9VAC5-30 (Ambient Air Quality 

Standards); 9VAC5-151-20, Applicability, of Part II of 

9VAC5-151 (Regulation for Transportation Conformity); and 

9VAC5-160-30, Applicability, of Part II of 9VAC5-160 

(Regulation for General Conformity); Revision G16. 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comment on the issue of 

whether the regulation amendments should be submitted as a 

revision to the SIP. 

Public comment period: January 9, 2017, to February 8, 2017. 

Public hearing: A public hearing may be conducted if a 

request is made in writing to the contact listed at the end of 

this notice. In order to be considered, the request must include 

the full name, address, and telephone number of the person 

requesting the hearing and be received by DEQ by the last 

day of the comment period. Notice of the date, time, and 

location of any requested public hearing will be announced in 

a separate notice, and another 30-day comment period will be 

conducted. 

Public comment stage: The regulation amendments are 

exempt from the state administrative procedures for adoption 

of regulations contained in Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act by the provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code 

of Virginia because they are necessary to meet the 

requirements of the federal Clean Air Act and do not differ 

materially from the pertinent EPA regulations. Since the 

amendments are exempt from administrative procedures for 

the adoption of regulations, DEQ is accepting comment only 

on the issue cited under "purpose of notice" and not on the 

content of the regulation amendments. 

Description of proposal: On March 6, 2015 (80 FR 12264), 

EPA established a final rule for implementing the 2008 ozone 

national ambient air quality standards (NAAQS). This rule 

addresses a range of nonattainment area state implementation 

plan (SIP) requirements for the 2008 ozone NAAQS, 

including how to address the revoked 1997 ozone NAAQS. 

The board's ambient air quality regulation must be amended 

accordingly, as well as the list of nonattainment areas to 

reflect this change. Clarifying text has also been added to the 

Regulation for Transportation Conformity and the Regulation 

for General Conformity. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 

public participation requirements of federal regulations 

(40 CFR 51.102) and not any provision of state law. The 

proposal will be submitted as a revision to the 

Commonwealth of Virginia SIP under § 110(a) of the federal 

Clean Air Act in accordance with 40 CFR 51.104. It is 

planned to submit all provisions of the proposal as a revision 

to the SIP. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments 

must include the full name, address, and telephone number of 

the person commenting and be received by DEQ by the last 

day of the comment period. All materials received are part of 

the public record. 

To review regulation documents: The proposal and any 

supporting documents are available on the DEQ Air Public 

Notices for Plans website at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airp

lansandprograms.aspx. The documents may also be obtained 

by contacting the DEQ representative named below. The 

public may review the documents between 8:30 a.m. and 

4:30 p.m. of each business day until the close of the public 

comment period at the following DEQ locations:  

1) Main Street Office, 8th Floor, 629 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4070,  

2) Southwest Regional Office, 355 Deadmore Street, 

Abingdon, VA, telephone (276) 676-4800,  

3) Blue Ridge Regional Office, Roanoke Location, 3019 

Peters Creek Road, Roanoke ,VA, telephone (540) 562-6700,  

4) Blue Ridge Regional Office, Lynchburg Location, 7705 

Timberlake Road, Lynchburg, VA, telephone (434) 582-

5120,  

5) Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, Harrisonburg, 

VA, telephone (540) 574-7800,  

6) Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 

VA, telephone (804) 527-5020,  

7) Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 

Woodbridge, VA, telephone (703) 583-3800, and  

8) Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA, telephone (757) 518-2000. 

Contact Information: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
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Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 

698-4510, or email karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Sunnybrook Farm Solar, LLC Notice of Intent - 
Small Renewable Energy (Solar) Project Permit by 

Rule - Halifax County 

The Department of Environmental Quality has received a 

notice of intent to submit the necessary documentation for a 

permit by rule for a small renewable energy project (solar) 

from Sunnybrook Farm Solar, LLC. The project is proposed 

to be located in Halifax County. It will be a 51-megawatt 

alternating current photovoltaic solar facility on portions of 

five parcels totaling approximately 340 acres off of Long 

Branch Lane outside Scottsburg. The project will be 

comprised of approximately 210,000 polycrystalline solar 

colletors and associated equipment. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, or email 

mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

January 2017 - Drinking Water State Revolving 
Funds 

The Virginia Department of Health (VDH) is pleased to 

announce several opportunities for funding drinking water 

infrastructure. All applications may be submitted year round; 

however, VDH will conduct one round of evaluations for 

requests submitted by the deadlines. Applications 

postmarked/received after the due date will be considered for 

funding in the following round. Funding is made possible by 

the Drinking Water State Revolving Fund (DWSRF) Program 

and the Water Supply Assistance Grant Fund (WSAG) 

Program (if funds are available). The fiscal year (FY) 2018 

DWSRF Intended Use Plan will be developed using collected 

input on these issues. 

(1) Public Comments and Set-Aside Suggestions Invited 

(Submission deadline April 1, 2017) 

To identify ways to improve this program, VDH seeks 

meaningful input from the public, the waterworks industry, 

or other interested parties. Anyone may make comments or 

recommendations to support or revise the program. Anyone 

has the opportunity to suggest new or continuing set-aside 

(nonconstruction) activities. Set-aside funds help VDH 

assist waterworks owners to prepare for future drinking 

water challenges and assure the sustainability of safe 

drinking water. 

(2) Construction and Refinance Fund Requests 

(Application deadline April 1, 2017)  

Owners of community waterworks and nonprofit 

noncommunity waterworks are eligible to apply for 

construction funds. VDH makes selections based on criteria 

described in the DWSRF Program Design Manual, such as 

existing public health problems, noncompliance, 

affordability, regionalization, and the availability of 

matching funds. VDH anticipates a funding level of $25 

million.   

(3) 1452(k) Source Water Protection Initiatives 

(Application deadline April 1, 2017) 

Loan funds are available to (1) community and nonprofit 

noncommunity waterworks to acquire land or conservation 

easements and (2) community waterworks to establish local 

voluntary incentive-based protection measures. 

(4) Lead Service Line (LSL) Replacement Program: 

(Application deadline April 1, 2017) 

In an effort to accelerate the removal of lead in drinking 

water the DWSRF Program has made funding available for 

the complete removal of the public and private portions of 

the LSLs. In conjunction with other available funds this 

program intends to provide up to $5,000 dollars as grant 

funds (of which up to $500 may be eligible as an 

administrative fee) for each service line replaced on a 

homeowner's side of the meter. The LSL includes pipe 

entry into the structure (up to and including a shut-off 

valve) but excludes the premise plumbing. 

(5) Planning and Design Awards (Applications received 

and reviewed for award year-round.) 

Private and public owners of community and nonprofit 

noncommunity waterworks are eligible to apply for funds, 

which can be up to $50,000 per project for small, 

financially stressed waterworks serving fewer than 10,000 

persons. Eligible projects may include preliminary 

engineering planning, design of plans and specifications, 

performance of source water quality and quantity studies, 

drilling test wells to determine source feasibility, or other 

similar technical assistance projects. These funds are to 

assist waterworks owners with future applications to 

construction funding agencies.   

The VDH's DWSRF Program Design Manual describes the 

features of the listed opportunities for funding. After 

receiving public input, VDH will develop a draft Intended 

Use Plan (IUP) for public review and comment. When 

developed the draft IUP will describe specific details for use 

of the funds. A public meeting is planned and written 

comments will be accepted before submittal of a final version 

to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency for approval. 

Applications, set-aside suggestion forms, program design 

manuals, and information materials are available on the 

department website: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-

water/financial-construction-assistance-programs/drinking-

mailto:karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/financial-construction-assistance-programs/drinking-water-funding-program-details/
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/financial-construction-assistance-programs/drinking-water-funding-program-details/
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water-funding-program-details/. This information can also be 

obtained from Steven Pellei, PE, FCAP Director, by 

telephone (804) 864-7500, FAX (804) 864-7521, or writing to 

Virginia Department of Health, Office of Drinking Water, 

109 Governor Street, 6th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219. Any 

comments can be directed to Mr. Pellei. 

 

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/financial-construction-assistance-programs/drinking-water-funding-program-details/
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VIRGINIA LOTTERY 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery were 

filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on December 

19, 2016. The orders may be viewed at the Virginia Lottery, 

900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of 

the Registrar of Regulations, 201 North 9th Street, 2nd Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia. 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Sixty-Seven (16) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 

Blackjack Classic" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 

January 8, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Sixty-Eight (16) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 

Bullseye Bingo" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 

January 8, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Sixty-Nine (16) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 

Horoscope Crossword" Final Rules for Game Operation 

(effective January 8, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seventy (16) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 

Money Bag Crossword" Final Rules for Game Operation 

(effective January 8, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seventy-One (16) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 

Rockin' Bingo" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 

January 8, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seventy-Two (16) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1758 "Virginia Loteria" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective December 9, 2016) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seventy-Three (16) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1771 "Gold Bar Bonanza" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective December 9, 2016) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seventy-Four (16) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1743 "$40,000 Taxes Paid" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective December 9, 2016) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seventy-Five (16) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1761 "Blackjack" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective December 9, 2016) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seventy-Seven (16) 

Certain Virginia Print 'n Play Game; Prize Symbol Correction 

- Print 'n Play Lucky Bingo (133 16) (effective December 15, 

2016) 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Requirement for One Hour of Continuing Education 
in 2017 

Pursuant to § 54.1-3314.1 J of the Code of Virginia and to 

address in 2017 the opioid abuse crisis in Virginia, which the 

Health Commissioner recently declared a public health 

emergency, the Board of Pharmacy determined at its 

December full board meeting that all pharmacists must obtain 

at least one hour of continuing education (CE) in 2017 in any 

of the following subject areas: proper opioid use, opioid 

overdose prevention, or naloxone administration. The one-

hour minimum requirement is part of the required 15 hours of 

CE that must be obtained during 2017 and is not in addition 

to the required 15 hours. This is a one-time requirement; 

further action of the board would be required to mandate CE 

in a specific topic in future years. This requirement applies 

only to pharmacists, not pharmacy technicians. 

This requirement does not identify specific objectives that 

must be included in selected CE program, nor has a list of 

approved CE programs been identified from which to choose. 

The requirement is intended to be general to allow each 

pharmacist the flexibility in choosing an appropriate CE 

program that focuses on the proper use of opioids, opioid 

overdose prevention, or naloxone administration. The CE 

must be obtained between January 1, 2017, and December 31, 

2017. 

Contact Information: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive 

Director, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4578, FAX (804) 527-4472, or email 

caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Total Maximum Daily Loads for Kerr Reservoir 
Tributaries 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 

written and oral comments from interested persons on the 

development of total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for Kerr 

Reservoir Tributaries Bacteria in Charlotte, Mecklenburg, and 

Brunswick Counties. These streams are listed on the § 303(d) 

TMDL Priority List and Report as impaired due to violations 

of the state's water quality standards for the recreation use due 

to elevated levels of bacteria.  

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 

of the State Water Control Law require the DEQ to develop 

TMDLs for pollutants responsible for each impaired water 

contained in Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and 

Report.  

Little Bluestone Creek (VAC-L77R_LNE01A98) is located 

in Mecklenburg County. It is 9.38 miles in length and begins 

at the fork upstream of Route 696 to Kerr Reservoir.  

mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
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Bluestone Creek (VAC-L77R_BST02A06) is located in 

Charlotte and Mecklenburg Counties. It is 8.25 miles in 

length and begins from its headwaters to Moddy Creek.  

Allen Creek, Unnamed Tributary (VAC-L78R_XUQ01A04) 

is located in Mecklenburg County. It is 1.24 miles in length 

and includes the entire tributary located just south of the 

intersection of Redlawn and Baskerville Roads.  

Allen Creek (VAC-L78R_ALN03A04) is located in 

Mecklenburg County. It is 8.97 miles in length and begins at 

Layton Creek downstream to Cox Creek.  

Allen Creek (VAC-L78R_ALN04A06) is located in 

Mecklenburg County. It is 15.28 miles in length and begins 

from its headwaters to Layton Creek.  

Layton Creek (VAC-L78R_LYT01A06 is located in 

Mecklenburg County. It is 8.64 miles in length and begins 

from its headwaters to its confluence with Allen Creek.  

Cotton Creek (VAC-L78R_CTT01A08) is located in 

Mecklenburg County. It is 4.39 miles in length and begins 

from its headwaters to its mouth on the Roanoke River.  

Kettles Creek (VAC-L78R_KTT01A12) is located in 

Mecklenburg County. It is 5.48 miles in length and begins 

from its headwaters to the mouth.  

Smith Creek (VACL79R_SMI01A08) is located in 

Mecklenburg County. It is 1.89 miles in length and begins at 

the Virginia-North Carolina state line to its mouth on Kerr 

Reservoir.  

Lizard Creek (VAC-L81R_LIZ01A10) is located in 

Brunswick County. It is 2.73 miles in length and begins from 

its headwaters to Lake Gaston.  

The final public meeting on the development of the TMDL to 

address the primary contact use for these segments will be 

held on:  

January 19, 2017, 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m., 461 Madison Street 

(Council Chambers), Boydton, VA 23917  

In case of inclement weather, the alternate meeting date is:  

January 23, 2017, 6:30 p.m. to - 8:30 p.m., 461 Madison 

Street (Council Chambers), Boydton, VA 23917  

The public comment period begins January 19, 2017, and 

ends February 21, 2017.  

A component of a TMDL is the wasteload allocation (WLA); 

therefore, this notice is provided pursuant to § 2.2-4006 A 14 

of the Administrative Process Act for any future adoption of 

the TMDL WLAs.  

Information on the development of the TMDLs for the 

impairments is available upon request. Questions or 

information requests should be addressed to the DEQ contact 

person listed below. Please note, all written comments should 

include the name, address, and telephone number of the 

person submitting the comments and should be sent to Paula 

Main, Department of Environmental Quality, 7705 

Timberlake Road, Lynchburg, VA 24502, telephone (434) 

582-6216, or email paula.main@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for Archer 
Western Contractors, LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Archer Western 

Contractors, LLC for violations at the P984 Regimental 

Headquarters and P985 Bachelor Enlisted Quarters at the 

Yorktown Naval Weapons Station in Yorktown, Virginia. 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a special 

order by consent to Archer Western Contractors, LLC to 

address noncompliance with the State Water Control Law and 

regulations. A description of the proposed action is available 

at the Department of Environmental Quality office named 

below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Carla Pool will 

accept comments by email at carla.pool@deq.virginia.gov, 

FAX at (804) 698-4277, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Central Office, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, from January 9, 2017, to February 8, 

2017. 

Proposed Consent Order for the Town of Bowling 
Green 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Town of 

Bowling Green in Caroline County, Virginia. The consent 

order describes a settlement to resolve violations of State 

Water Control Law and the applicable regulations associated 

with the Bowling Green Wastewater Treatment Facility. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Daniel Burstein will accept 

comments by email at daniel.burstein@deq.virginia.gov or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 

VA 22193, from January 10, 2017, through February 9, 2017. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for the Henry 
County Industrial Development Authority 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Henry 

County Industrial Development Authority for violations at the 

Patriot Centre at Beaver Creek Industrial Park in Martinsville, 

Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a 

special order by consent to the Henry County Industrial 

Development Authority to address noncompliance with the 

State Water Control Law and regulations. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Carla Pool will accept comments by 

email at carla.pool@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 698-

4277, or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Central Office, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, from 

January 9, 2017, to February 8, 2017. 

mailto:paula.main@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:carla.pool@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:daniel.burstein@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:carla.pool@deq.virginia.gov
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Proposed Enforcement Action for Matthew Miller 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Matthew Miller 

for 1124 Kathleen Lane in Chesapeake, Virginia, for 

violations of the State Water Control Law. A description of 

the proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Russell Deppe will accept comments 

by email at russell.deppe@deq.virginia, FAX at (804) 698-

4277, or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Central Office, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, from 

January 9, 2017, to February 8, 2017 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Real Investments, 
Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Real 

Investments, Inc. for violations of the State Water Control 

Law in Virginia Beach, Virginia. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. John Brandt will accept comments by 

email at john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-

2009, or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from January 9, 2017, to 

February 8, 2017. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
Russell.deppe@deq.virginia
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov
file://legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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